Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Sugar Bowl

Additional Locations

Phone: (530) 426-3651 629 Sugar Bowl Rd, Northstar, CA 96161 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.sugarbowl.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Sugar Bowl meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Sugar Bowl include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Sugar Bowl
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 23, 2006 Business started: 12/20/1939 in CA Business started locally: 03/24/1976 Business incorporated 03/24/1976 in CA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Rob Kautz, President Nicole Lieberman, Secretary Ms. Patty Bruns, Accounts Payable
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Rob Kautz, President
Principal: Nicole Lieberman, Secretary
Business Category

Ski Centers & Resorts Sports & Recreation

Alternate Business Names
Sugar Bowl Resort

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    629 Sugar Bowl Rd

    Northstar, CA 96161 (530) 426-3651

  • PO Box 5

    Norden, CA 95724

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/23/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We paid for a mid-week pass, which includes use of the lodges - most important, the bathrooms. Today we were told that the new lodge, located next to the parking lot, will probably be closed mid-week for the rest of the season. This leaves us without use of bathrooms, they say we must travel across the resort to a building only accessible by way of ski lift or gondola, to use the bathrooms. This is onerous, especially for small children (and older women!).They also routinely close the terrain park or the access lift (Judah) during mid-week, but open it for the Friday through Sunday crowd. They admit there's plenty of snow on this run, but say they are closing it for "financial" reasons. We paid for our passes, now they want change the nature of what we paid for.When we bought our "mid-week" passes, we were told we would be restricted from weekend use, but were told there would be full services for us during the week, with no restrictions. When this resort was permitted an extensive expansion in 1991-2, the agreement they made with various local, state and federal agencies was that they would "encourage mid-week users" and encourage use of the new parking lot and lodge to avoid congestion problems for the town and residents of Norden on the weekends caused by out-of-towners swarming the Gondola parking lot every Saturday and Sunday. We feel they are reneging on the agreement. They are discouraging mid-week use and discouraging the use of the newly expanded lodge and lifts.

Desired Settlement: We would like them to open the bathrooms at the Judah Lodge and keep the Judah lift running during the week. If these facilities will not be available, that should have been disclosed to the pass holder at the time of purchase.

Business Response: To Whom It May Concern:

We here at Sugar Bowl understand the frustration expressed by the mid-week passholder in the complaint registered with the Better
Business Bureau.  Unfortunately, the continued drought conditions have resulted in dramatically reduced business volume
and we have been forced to reduce operations as a result.  Temporarily closing facilities in response to reduced business levels is standard practice in many industries including the ski industry.  Sugar Bowl quickly recognized that is was a mistake not to have restroom facilities at the Judah portal so we opened Mountain Sports Learning Center the next day an they are now available seven days a week. All services are offered at the Village Lodge including two dining options, a bar, three separate restroom facilities, rentals and ski or snowboard lesson.  The lodge can be accessed via the Gondola or a short walk from the Mt. Judah parking lot.  Despite drought conditions, currently, well over two-thirds of Sugar Bowl’s terrain is currently open.  We will resume full operations as soon as we receive more snow and business volume increases.  Sugar Bowl has been and remains committed to increasing mid-week visits. 

I am happy to discuss the matter further with the passholder if they would like to contact me directly.


Sincerely,

****** ********* ******** ** ************** ********
Risk Management

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because: She's mistaken when she says over 2/3's of the resort is still available. The Judah and Jerome lifts and runs are being reserved for weekend only. They're just not being groomed Monday through Thursday. This is not a snow issue, it's a labor issue - have they laid people off, or just cut hours to avoid having to pay Obamacare? There is plenty of snow for the weekend crowd, why not open those runs during the week? 

Business Response: To Whom It May Concern:

The pass holder is mistaken in their assertions.  Our business decisions have been based on the dramatically reduced skier visits resulting from the lack of snow.  It has not snowed since late December and day time temperatures ranged from the low to mid-40's and have reached 50 degrees from time to time.  The resulting snow melt has forced us to close the terrain serviced by the Judah and Jerome chairlifts.  This terrain can not be opened until it snows.   There is simply not enough snow to cover the trails.  We have not laid-off employees to-date. There has been a reduction in hours due to the reduced business levels.  Our decisions are not in any way influenced by the Affordable Health Care Act.  As we are unable to satisfy this guest we can refund the purchase price of his/her season pass minus the ticket price of the days they have skied.  

Sincerely,

 

****** ********* ******** ** ************** ********
Risk Management

Consumer Response: I was told ".  As we are unable to satisfy this guest we can refund the purchase price of his/her season pass minus the ticket price of the days they have skied."  There are three other pass holders in my family - will they also receive the same refund?

Business Response: Yes, we will refund the difference between the purchase price and ticket price for the number of days skied for your family.  For example if you purchased and adult midweek pass for $269 and skied two days we would charge you $95 per day (price of an adult lift ticket).  The refund would be for $79 which is $269 - $190.  Please contact me directly and I will facilitate the refunds.  I can not tell you the exact amount of the refund with out knowing your names and pass numbers.   

Sincerely,
****** ********* ******** ** ************** ********
Risk Management
************

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because: I don't want the refund, it's not a good deal.  But I realize the BBB has done as much as they are willing to do, and you can close the complaint. 

2/27/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My wife and i have a season pass with sugarbowl which is basically a prepaid lift ticket for the entire season. My season pass does have some restrictions/black out dates (12/26/13 - 12/31/131/18/14 - 1/19/14 2/15/14 - 2/16/14) Our season pass is also set up with my credit card info so that i dont need to carry my credit card, it will work as my credit card so if i want to purchase something at the lodge like food or merchandise i can do so. Keep in mind if i purchased something like food or merchandise it would require my signature. On jan 19th my wife and i made the mistake of going to sugarbowl unaware that it was a blackout date (not sugarbowls fault im fully aware of this) we rode for a couple hours and went home mainly because THERES NO SNOW. Then on jan 27th i notice 2 un-autherized $52 charges on my credit card from sugarbowl???? I called and was told what had happened???? I was furious...my argument is my pass isnt valid on those days...it shouldnt have worked...i went through the lift lines like any other day they sscanned my pass and i was on my way....no one said a word. When i went to the lift i should have been told "your pass isnt valid today because of blackout restrictions if you want to ride you need to purchase a lift ticket" Thats exactly what would have been said had i not set up my credit card with the season pass. if i had been told this i would have turned around and went home. Instead they didnt say anything they just took advantage of having my credit card info. THERES NO SNOW why would i pay to ride crappy conditions when i can ride for free on any other day????

Desired Settlement: $104.00

Business Response: ****** ****** does have a restricted pass that does not allow pass skiing benefits on certain black out dates.  The black out dates, holiday dates for his pass, are clearly presented on-line where you can purchase the pass, at the resort, and on the web page. The price for these passes is lower than unrestricted passes that give you skiing privileges on all days.  This is a common pass type in the ski industry.  We offer the ability to all pass holders to attach a credit card for their convenience.  Most pass holders appreciate this set up so they can go directly to the lift when they need a day ticket rather than having to wait in a ticket line before going to the lifts.  It is unfortunate Mr. ****** did not realize that Sunday of Martin Luther King weekend was a blackout date for his pass.  Our system does show he skied that day from 9:30 in the morning until 12:38 or later in the afternoon.