BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Northeast California

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Sugar Bowl meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Sugar Bowl include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Sugar Bowl
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: June 23, 2006 Business started: 12/20/1939 in CA Business started locally: 03/24/1976 Business incorporated: 03/24/1976 in CA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Rob Kautz, President Nicole Lieberman, Secretary Ms. Patty Bruns, Accounts Payable
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Rob Kautz, President
Principal: Nicole Lieberman, Secretary
Business Category

Ski Centers & Resorts Sports & Recreation

Alternate Business Names
Sugar Bowl Resort

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    629 Sugar Bowl Rd

    Northstar, CA 96161 (530) 426-3651

  • PO Box 5

    Norden, CA 95724

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Email Addresses

  • - Communication/Mass Email
  • - eQuote
  • - Technical Support
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

2/27/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My wife and i have a season pass with sugarbowl which is basically a prepaid lift ticket for the entire season. My season pass does have some restrictions/black out dates (12/26/13 - 12/31/131/18/14 - 1/19/14 2/15/14 - 2/16/14) Our season pass is also set up with my credit card info so that i dont need to carry my credit card, it will work as my credit card so if i want to purchase something at the lodge like food or merchandise i can do so. Keep in mind if i purchased something like food or merchandise it would require my signature. On jan 19th my wife and i made the mistake of going to sugarbowl unaware that it was a blackout date (not sugarbowls fault im fully aware of this) we rode for a couple hours and went home mainly because THERES NO SNOW. Then on jan 27th i notice 2 un-autherized $52 charges on my credit card from sugarbowl???? I called and was told what had happened???? I was furious...my argument is my pass isnt valid on those days...it shouldnt have worked...i went through the lift lines like any other day they sscanned my pass and i was on my way....no one said a word. When i went to the lift i should have been told "your pass isnt valid today because of blackout restrictions if you want to ride you need to purchase a lift ticket" Thats exactly what would have been said had i not set up my credit card with the season pass. if i had been told this i would have turned around and went home. Instead they didnt say anything they just took advantage of having my credit card info. THERES NO SNOW why would i pay to ride crappy conditions when i can ride for free on any other day????

Desired Settlement: $104.00

Business Response: ****** ****** does have a restricted pass that does not allow pass skiing benefits on certain black out dates.  The black out dates, holiday dates for his pass, are clearly presented on-line where you can purchase the pass, at the resort, and on the web page. The price for these passes is lower than unrestricted passes that give you skiing privileges on all days.  This is a common pass type in the ski industry.  We offer the ability to all pass holders to attach a credit card for their convenience.  Most pass holders appreciate this set up so they can go directly to the lift when they need a day ticket rather than having to wait in a ticket line before going to the lifts.  It is unfortunate Mr. ****** did not realize that Sunday of Martin Luther King weekend was a blackout date for his pass.  Our system does show he skied that day from 9:30 in the morning until 12:38 or later in the afternoon.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1