BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Northeast California

BBB Accredited Business since

Tokay Shell

Phone: (209) 369-2790 420 W Kettleman Ln, Lodi, CA 95240 http://www.tokayshell.com View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Tokay Shell meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Tokay Shell include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Tokay Shell
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: September 06, 2001 Business started: 03/12/1992 Business started locally: 03/12/1992
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

CA Bureau of Auto Repair- BAR
10949 North Mather Blvd, Rancho Cordova CA 95670
http://www.bar.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 952-5210

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Perminder Kaur Singh, Owner Jazz Singh, Business Manager Sukh Singh
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Perminder Kaur Singh, Owner
Business Category

Service Stations - Gasoline & Oil Auto Smog Inspection Auto Services

Alternate Business Names
Shell Gas Station

Additional Locations

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Web Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

8/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On July 22RD 2014 went to tokay shell station had my car smogged after car was done while getting the receipt the lady behind the counter stated with a smog came a free oil change. She said come back tomorrow for the oil change when i asked her if i needed a receipt she stated she would remember me. I went back on july 23rd for oil change they took my car in did the oil change and said i owed 49.00 when i said it was supose to be free the man told me i needed ro wait for the lady to return. When she got back i told her oil change was done and it was with the smog like she stated yesterday then she proceeded to say she didnt say that and that i needed to pay for it.

Desired Settlement: I would like to get my money back for at least the oil change.

Business Response:

To whom it may concern
This letter is in responce to complaint #********
On July 22nd Mr. **** visited our facility(Tokay Shell) for a smog inspection. After the smog inspection was completed Mr. **** stated he needed an oil change preformed on his vehicle, Mr.**** was informed that I was not avalible at the present time to preform the service as I was not at the location. Mr. **** stated thet he may return later on in the day or the next morning.
On July 23rd Mr.**** returned to the location and stated to me that he wanted an oil change preformed on his vehicle. I then filled out a work order stating the work to be preformed, oil and filter change check and top off all fluids.
the total stated on the work order clearly states the total estimate of $50.00.
Mr. **** NEVER stated to me that he was to recive a "free" oil change.
After the service was completed I informed Mr.**** that the vehicle was completed and I would settle the bill inside the office, that is when Mr.**** informed me that he was not going to pay for the service and that the smog inspection included a free oil change. I then informed Mr. **** that the oil change service is a completly different service from a smog inspection and that we have never offered both services together.
Mr. **** became very upset and stated the "lady inside told me to come back so you could take care of it" I then informed Mr.**** that she may have meant because I wasn't at the location at the time you first stated you needed the service, to return at a later time so I could take care of it, meaning I could preform the service requested.
Mr. **** was clearly upset and started using profanity towards me and my co-workers.
I then told Mr. **** I would phone my supervisor
as he stated she was the one who had told him the service was free of charge. After speaking to my supervisor she informed me that it was never stated for the service to be free of charge and that when he returned, I myself would be able to quote the service requested. Mr.**** then stated to me that he would rather wait to speak to my supervisor about payment for service  rather than deal with me I then informed Mr.**** she would not be at the location until later in the morning. Mr. **** than stated to me to go "F" off or he would become very violent. I then asked him to have a seat and we would work things out.
Mr.**** asked me to just leave which i did and went about my other duties.
About 30 minutes later my supervisor arrived at the location before she could exit her vehicle Mr.**** had started using profanity towards her.
I then approached Mr.**** and asked him to settle down or to leave the property and return later once he had calmed down. Mr. **** then phoned a family member to pick him up as I would not release the vehilce to him without payment.
A few hours later an Uncle of Mr. **** returned and settled payment, the Uncle did appologize for the Actions of Mr. ****.
After payment was settled Mr.**** retrived his vehicle with no further incident
I personally appoligized to Mr. **** and his Uncle for any incovenience and hope they can return to our location for a better experience.
                       Thank~You
                     ****** **********
                     ******* * ***** *****

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

8/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had my Volks for smog test (4-11-13). Shell gas stn (address above) to my surprise. I was charged $74.75. So I talked to the guy - mechanic, referred me to the lady owner. I felt so disappointed because I gave them the Penny Saver coupon w/c is $21.75. Since they (she) insist that its a new ordinance from DMV. So I got no choice, I paid for $74.75. My complaint, What is the penny Saver coupon for when they don't follow. The charge was too much. I've checked from other smog test bus agencies. Its not that much. They follow the coupon price. So is Penny Saver coupon doing a false advertisement?

Desired Settlement: This Shell gas station has charged me too much. I want them investigated. If DMV has something to do w/ the overpricing (accord to the owner). I want my partial money back.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
On X-XX-XXXX @ 1:35 pm Mrs. ****** entered our facility requesting a smog imspection. I then wrote a work order (XXXXX) for the inspection at the stated price of $74.75 plus the $8.25 certificate for a total of $83.00. She then handed me a coupon for $20.00 off regular smog price that was applied to her total. I then completed the inspection on her vehicle the vehicle did not pass the inspection as it had a tampered emission control system, also the on board computer control system had been reset and was not ready to test. I explained to Mrs. ****** that the vehicle would need to be repaired and that the on board computer would reset itself by driving the vehicle about 75-100 miles. i then explained to Mrs. ****** that there would be a re-test fee off $44.75 she then asked why I then explained to her that discounted rates do not include a free retest as stated on the coupon, she then asked if she could pay regular price as it would save her money in the long run Mrs. ****** paid the full price. i explained to her that she needed to return with in 20 days to honor the free retest. Mrs. ****** later returned on X-XX-XX @ 12:30 pm for the re-test and was only charged $8.25 for the certificate - work order (XXXXX) I fell that Mrs. ****** received all the services that were requested and that this case should be closed with no further action.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

10/26/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: From the first interaction with a heavier set man that is covered in tatoos named "******" I was treated very poorly and he was very reluctant to service my truck for smog he told me that retest was free if I failed and I just so happened to fail, I went to get my truck fixed came back and talked to him about a retest then he said he had to charge me again and I reminded him of what he said to me in the past so he decides to get angry and he starts telling me how long hes been in the business which would be nine years in his terms and how I don't know what I am talking about and I had to pay a second time, so I told him I would just take my business somewhere else because if I can't trust your word I can't trust you with my truck then he starts saying to me "fine go somewhere else" so I get into my truck to leave and he walks up to my truck driver side door and then he gets in my face and begins to provoke me to "do something" which was his exact words and he decided to threatin me with my life on top of it and claims he owns the property as well which was kind of ironic considering one of the owners had talked to me in the past which just basically told me this guy is a liar and can't be trusted I only went there to smog my truck I did not go thinking I was going to be harassed it is a shame this place calls themselves a business I would rather have been triple charged by the owner and have had great service then get a cheap price and bad service to say the least Product_Or_Service: Smog Test Order_Number: XXXXX Account_Number: Aj XXXXXX

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund fire this man he clearly don't enjoy coming to work everyday I understand he had a bad day and everyone has bad days however he just took it to far ...maybe he just needs a day or two off he is there seven days a week so maybe he just is stressed however no excuse if he choose to go to work he needs to man up and do his job and that includes being worthy to the customers

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
I have read the customers complaint and I must state that most of his statements are untrue on or about the first of October 2012 Mr. ****** visited or location at about 7:30am he stated that he had a discount coupon, I told him no problem the price would be $44.75+cert of $8.25 for a total of $53.00 providing the vehicle passes if not the total would be the $44.75 and that the discounted price would not include a free retest that being said the total price is 104.75+cert. It clearly states on the invoice in big bold red lettering that free retest is with regular price only. The next day Mr.****** returned with his vehicle and stated he needed a retest I asked him for his dmv paper work and filled out a new work order and asked him to sign it, stating to him verbally that the retest was $44.75. Mr. ****** than became irate and said its a free retest you told me that, I explained to him it was not and pointed this out to him on his first invoice,he then asked me how long I have been here I told him 8 years for what ever reason he was very persistant on knowing that he that stated to me that he would take his vehicle else where and that I had better "step out of my face before you get hurt" with that being said I just laughed and told him with his attitude he could leave or to settle down and we will work something out. He then stated he would take his vehicle back to his mechanic to be sure it would pass. About 30 minuets later his mechanic phones me and informs me of Mr.******' situation and politely asked me if I could retest the vehicle at no charge and that he (mechanic)would pay for the cert. The mechanic transported the vehicle to our location the next day for reinspection. Mr. ******' vehicle did pass the test and a cert was issued. I feel this issue has been resolved and I wish to appoligize to all parties that have been inconvenianced. With Sincere Apology ****** ****** 10-10-12

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

5/7/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues