BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Northeast California

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that GHS Interactive Security, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Find a Location

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for GHS Interactive Security, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 13 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

13 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 7 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 6
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 13

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on GHS Interactive Security, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: December 28, 2006 Business started: 07/19/2005 in CA Business started locally: 07/19/2005
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

CA Bureau of Security and Investigative Services
2420 Del Paso Rd Ste 270, Sacramento CA 95834
Phone Number: (916) 322-4000

Type of Entity

Limited Partnership (LP)

Business Management
Mr. John M. Bergher, Executive Vice President Marketing & Customer Care Mr. Gordon Johnson, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. John M. Bergher, Executive Vice President Marketing & Customer Care
Principal: Mr. Gordon Johnson, President
Business Category

Security Control Equipment & System Monitors Security Systems Consultants Video Equipment - Supplies & Parts Home Automation Burglar Alarm Systems - Dealers, Monitoring & Service

Products & Services

LifeLine Security and Automation, Inc. provides full home security service. LifeLine Security and Automation,Inc. is a GE Security Authorized Dealer.


Additional Locations

  • 2081 Arena Blvd Ste 260

    Sacramento, CA 95834

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1250 45th Stree, Suite #315

    Emeryville, CA 94608

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1320 Willow Pass Rd Ste 420

    Concord, CA 94520 (916) 285-9078

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (855) 208-2447(Phone)
X

Additional Email Addresses

  • - Communication/Mass Email
  • - Technical Support
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

7/15/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Sales agent under supervision of Commercial Account Manager **** ****** did the following1. Misrepresented company initially as associated with our current security company, Guardian. It was only later as paperwork was being filled out that they admitted they were in competition with our current security system company, Guardian when we questioned the new contract time and we still had an existing contract with our current company so this didn't make sense.2. Misrepresented the reason for visit, in the early evening by the way, as due to a necessary upgrade because Galt City ordinance was to change and police would no longer respond to alarm calls unless a speaker/ camera system was installed or we provided a private security company hired by us to verify the alarm as legitimate and not an accidental false alarm. We called police next day and found this to be untrue.3. Assured us that the credit check would be soft and it indeed turned out (as I was alerted by email) to be a hard inquiry that goes on my credit record for two years and can lower my credit score.4. Their visit was late not allowing us to phone - checking and verifying information as it was after normal business hours.

Desired Settlement: 1. The hard inquiry be removed from my credit report.2. The contract be cancelled with no fuss as I faxed and mailed the cancellation form (return receipt requested) all on 6/19/2014.3. No further sales contact be made with us4. A public notice be available on the BBB website outlining the complaint and resulting outcome (solution). 4. No payments be collected through my bank as result of voided check they received

Business Response: Please find our response and resolution to this customer’s complaint, below.

The customer states:

1)     “**** ****** misrepresented the company.” **** ****** did follow up with the plaintiff whom stated that they could not entirely remember what **** said that was misleading, and that he is a victim of stroke.  Unfortunate, but that his memory is affected.  We feel this was misunderstanding and not misrepresentation.

2)     “Misrepresented reason for visit.” Same as #1, above.  The reason for the visit was to obtain new business for GHS within field sales guidelines set forth in our policies and procedures.  Again, we feel this was miscommunication of details, not manipulation of fact.

3)      “Assured us the credit check would be soft…but turned out to be a hard inquiry.” GHS has filed a Credit Reversal with Trans-union and will be sending written documentation to the customer indicating there will be no charges nor changes to their account. It is unfortunate that there was this misunderstanding, but charges are being reversed.

4)     “Their visit was late…not allowing us to phone to check/verify information.” GHS offices are open until 9:00 PM PST; while we are unable to verify the time of this event, we do not allow our employees to knock on consumer’s doors after 8:30 PM (in compliance with municipal guidelines) which means our offices were still open and did not receive a call to verify credibility. We will reiterate to our employees and marketing contractors all municipal guidelines, and remind them to remain compliant and also allow for verification with local office during staffed hours.  Apology has been extended to the customer via phone call.

The customer indicates that they want the following in order to settle the situation, which we have done:

1)     “Hard inquiry be removed from credit report.” Done and verified with the credit union today, written documentation to be sent to the customer.

2)     “Contract be cancelled.” The customer was cancelled with no penalties the moment we became aware of the request.

3)     “No further sales be done with us.” We have made note of the customer’s name and address in our Customer Relationship Software to ensure that no GHS representative initiates contact with this customer again.

4)     “No payments be collected through my bank.” No payments have been collected from this customer from GHS.

We are complying with the consumers wishes, and there is no reason for this complaint to be on our BBB record as we have successfully resolved the situation specifically as the
consumer desired. In addition, this person is not a customer of our business and this complaint should not reflect negatively on our company as it is not a true representation of how we serve our customers.

Please work with us to remove this complaint from our record as we work hard to maintain our A+ rating with the BBB and continuously strive to maintain excellent relationships with both our customers and other consumers!

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

4/2/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Incredibly rude and overly persistent sales people. They came by way late (near 9pm) in the evening waking my children up. Flat out rude and discourteous sales people. Had two salespeople come by in 24 hours after telling them both we didn't want them at our house. Even after telling him to leave, he just stood there and started going into another sales pitch.

Desired Settlement: Stop soliciting at my house!

Business Response:

The consumer making this complaint is NOT a customer of ours and does not do business with us. Our company and our sales rep technically did not do anything wrong; they were just doing their job and were in compliance with any neighborhood sanctions regarding door-knocking.

Please work with us to remove this complaint from our account as we work hard to maintain our A+ rating with the BBB and continuously strive to maintain excellent relationships with both our customers and other consumers alike.

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because:

There is clarification needed on my part in regards to the complaint. The salesperson came by twice in a 24 hour period even though he was requested to not solicit again. He violated our request to not solicit. That is not in compliance with neighborhood soliciting guidelines.

Sincerely,

****

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

3/27/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On March 13,2014 A mini van wrapped with GHS dropped off salesmen at 830pm. That is way too late for professional business to work. The salesman that came to my house was talking loud enough for anyone with a window open to hear. After telling salesman I already have a system, he tries to talk down my system, which is actually the same quality as their system. Again 830pm in my neighborhood is usually time for little kids to be going to sleep, not doorbell ringing.

Desired Settlement: send out flyers instead of people going door to door. Use USPS or have door to door man hang flyers on doors.

Business Response:

The consumer making this complaint is NOT a customer of ours and does not do business with us. Our company and our sales rep technically did not do anything wrong; the consumers opinion of what is “professional” shouldn't affect our BBB rating. Our sales reps were just doing their job and were in compliance with any neighborhood sanctions regarding door-knocking. In addition, we do have a direct-mail campaign that we use to market the company to consumers as well, but the majority of our customers are signed up by our door to door sales reps.

 

Please work with us to remove this complaint from our record as we work hard to maintain our A+ rating with the BBB and continuously strive to maintain excellent relationships with both our customers and other consumers.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

12/5/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have a contract for an alarm system that Was installed in my home. The house burned down and the alarm system is now gone. I was billed for the next month of service after the fire june 18th 2013, but was able to suspend the service until the house is rebuilt and a new alarm installed. Please not that the alarm was mostly pre installed in my home and lifeline only supplied the main keypad and a smoke alarm. This month nov 2013 billing started again. I have not had the home fully rebuilt or an alarm installed yet. I contacted the service (monitronics) who then connected me back to lifeline securities. The were to call me back Tuesday nov 19th it is now the 27th and (**** who I was told would call) has not. Monitronics refuses to suspend or cancel service, lifeline will not get back to me on suspending service or installing a new complete system that includes the pre wired sysem the "pirated" off of. However I was told for 80 percent of the contract cost I could cancel. That 54.99 per month times three years. Over 1500 dollars from a fire caused by an act of god to cancel or 54.99 a month for services I am not receiving. either case is a blunt disrespect and greedy factor. I was also told That when the sysem is installed it would only cover 2 doors and three windows on a wireless set up. My previous install was hard wired 12 windows 4 doors. so they can not even re install what I had if they wanted to.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I would request that 1. service is cancelled and contract removed without any further charges or 2. service suspended with out charges until the house is rebuilt and has a working alarm in it( est. jan / feb 2014), the 3 months of charges that were automatically withdrawled from my bank account be refunded, and new alarm be equal to what I had to include all doors and windows plus fire alarm.

Business Response: Final Consumer Response
This complaint has been resloved by the company with above satisfactory results from customer service.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

12/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was told upon signing with GHS that I would be refunded the penalty charges from monitronics for switching. I would not have switch if there was no refund. I have called numerous times and wish the last conversation. I was told the check was in the mail. Never came 0 further calls, just went to voice mail. This is fraud, saying there is a rebate and failing to follow through. I would like my rebate and for others to be warned. There is a Fresno Office, but it doesn't appear on the invoice. The peanalty was paid by my credit card and is highlighted.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) Send me a check for $349.54 from GHS and warn others.

Business Response: Initial Business Response
Thank you for following up. I think my Admin explained our emails had changed and one person in our company received it, but I didn't to follow up. I did find that ********** was mailed to Mrs. ***** on 11/4 for $349.54. Per our bank records, the check has been cashed, so we are confident Mrs. ***** should be satisfied at this time. If you need any more information, please do not hestitate to call me. Thank you, **** ******

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

9/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We are at odds because I need to cancel the contract. I think I am within the tree days. They say I am not. Please check the conflicting dates. 1.We started the contract on July 18. we completed the signing of the contract July 22, 2013. Other conflicting dates. GHS theft guarantee 07/22/13. 2. alarm certificate 7/14/13 changed to 07/22/13. 3. Welcome to alarm.com 07/19/13 to 07/22/2013 Schedule of Protection & Services. 07/18/13 is incomplete (items) 6,7,8,9 & 10. After mailing the letter of cancellation, I phone to speak to the CEO of the company. I was told he would be in around noon. I asked for a return call. To this date that has not happened. They gave the info. to the installer & he called gain saying there was nothing he could do.

Desired Settlement: TO cancel the agreement!

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
We spoke with Mrs. ***** and removed her system for her. We voided her agreement and refunded her the month of monitoring she had paid. She agreed to pay the install fee of $99 and was very content that things were handled in the way we did. She also said she would withdraw her complaint.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

9/9/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The salesmen pushed me to sign up before telling me the exact cost. ON 8/8/13 I was at a friends house when the door to door salesman came by and introduced this product i asked if they were in my area and they said yes. the salesman i was dealing with was new so he called in someone else that was in the neighborhood this new person named ***** came in the home and tried to sell us on the product which i was impressed with. ***** pushed me to sign up with them which in turn caused the other salesman to go through the entire presentation and all the paperwork with me after I had already informed them that i had to discuss the matter with my husband before i could accept anything. I was pressured to give out my social # and address just so they could tell me the price for what i was told would be a free installation. Later that night i called and cancelled the installation as my husband was upset i had signed up without his input. After cancelling I realized this company now has my social and my address but what upset me the most was ***** then called me and was rude to me for cancelling even after i had explained the situation. I guess he didn't understand that i couldn't afford to pay $170.00 to start and then pay $50 a month. Times are harder than i thought and it just doesn't fit our budget but that does not mean this employee has the right to call and harass me after he pressured me into signing up to begin with. I fell this company should really see what there salesman are up to because i had to give all my info before they could give me a price now i feel like i have no security for my own credit. The salesman that gave me the run down i believe his name was ***** he was nice but new and kinda just went with what ***** said. You probably shouldn't have people like ***** going door to door. i don't want anyone else to have to deal with this i feel i was taken advantage of all while trying to find out about security for my home and family.

Desired Settlement: I do not wish to receive settlement for this just the satisfaction that hopefully my personal information was destroyed or that it be returned to me to destroy.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
We spoke with Ms. ********* and assured her all her documentation had been shredded and destroyed as we do with all cancelled accounts. She was very satisfied and actually said when she could work the system into her budget, she would be calling us back.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

7/31/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The service did not meet the stated level of security. I canceled within the three day limit. The technician cut two plugs off my own system. On May 22nd I signed a service agreement which was to take my cameras, motion detectors, smoke detectors, carbon monoxide monitor, six door sensors and make them accessible to me on my cell phone and computer as well as from the speaker in the house. Without telling me they consolidated all that input to three detection points. Even those were not accessible on my computer as advertised. To get the cancellation to them within the three days my friend drove to the office on Saturday afternoon to find the building and office closed. Through a stroke of luck he was able to enter the building and slip the cancellation notice under their office door. When the technician came to retrieve their equipment, he cut and removed the plugs and transformer which operated my own camera and security system. I called several times to resolve the issue. They have not responded. I can no longer use over $5,000 worth of surveillance items which depended upon MY plugs and transformers.

Desired Settlement: I want them to replace and install my plugs and equipment

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: **** ******/Office Manage Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *******@ghssecurity.com When our sales rep, ***** ***** was in Ms. ************ home filling out paperwork for the install of her security system, she specifically told ***** that her cameras and surveillance equipment was non-operable. She asked if our system would incorporate her cameras and if after our system was installed, would her cameras work? ***** told her no. We sent out our lead technician on 5/30 to help her with a piece of equipment she was having trouble with. At that time, cameras were not working. After she cancelled, our technician, ***** ***** who had done the original install on 5/22, went to remove the equipment from her home. ***** only took what he had previously installed. He did not cut any wires to anything she had existing. The only wire he cut was on our transformer that was plugged into the wall. Ms. ********* called after the removal and asked why he didn't hook back up her old system. Her old system was inoperable and it states in our agreement "If the equipment is removed, I understand that I am responsible for all required repairs to walls and/or frames". It would impossible for us to hook up any other company's system. Security panels have lock codes and cannot be accessed without proper authorization. Ms. ********* had no valid reason to cancel. We honestly believe at this point with the several interactions we have had with her, that she has issues and is incapable of making legal decisions and decided it was better to just remove the system without any further delay. She told our technician and sales reps that she has "booby traps" set up around her house to catch intruders she believes are breaking in and carving out her concrete steps from the inside (?) and trying to poison her coffee with "liquid acid".

Consumer's Final Response
I received my first information on this response by GHS today, when I received a letter the case was resolved w/o letter. I opened the letter after I checked on-line to see how the case was going. I was surprised at the content when I down loaded my case number. I received no letter "Forward Business response to Consumer 6/20/2013" First, I did not tell ***** **** that my cameras were non-operable, and I relied upon them, but did not always have them on. Of course, that would make my "reported" statement, Would my cameras work after you install your system? sound ludicrous. But that is patently untrue. I have some disks taken from my operable camera system during the period at issue, which I would be glad to present to you. **** states that on 5/30, their lead technician come to help me with some equipment I was suppose to be having trouble with. Sounds bad for me. But, the problem was a piece of their equipment which was supposed to take pictures activated by motion. The piece had not been installed. He installed it, and I thought we worked well together, but I did have a finely tuned scope of where a camera would work, and where it would be of no avail. He placed it where I thought best, I have no problem with that--except that when I tried to access the pictures on my MacBook Pro, no image came up, even though there were about five pictures of the technician, and I was supposed to be able to access them while I was traveling. They write as thought I am the problem, but the service did not work as it was said to work. I gave them a great deal of my time, trying to make myself available for their entry, helping them by continually accepting less than what I was promised, but when they could not make it work at all, I had to cancel. They write as though I am the problem, but the service did not work as it was said to work. I gave them a great deal of my time, trying to make myself available for their entry, helping them by continually accepting less than what I was promised, but when they could not make it work at all, I had to cancel. Then I read the personal lible, as a means of discrediting me, and falsifying their testimony...My old system was operable. I did not ask them to hook up my old system. The only part I thought was "broken" until tonight, was the power connection, because the plugs which ran my systems had been cut at the plug.. I will try to copy the draft I wrote, before I close up for the night. I do have more to offer regarding my complaint about GHS Interactive Security. I was to told were given 30 days to respond, so I might start looking at my case on line about June 27th to see what was happening. I looked to find the case closed. 1. I can provide evidence against each statement Mr. ******* made to take an expeditious but scurrilous approach to avoid reprimand. 2. You may find it used by unethical businessmen: Expeditious, egregious slander and libel, to call an older woman with exigent security needs "incompetent", rather than letting the woman have a chance to defend herself. 3. Since he has put my competency at issue, I now request that he back that up with paying for an independent psychological battery of tests. That was a cruel thing to do to someone who has just lost all her security coverage, because they use a new client's existing wiring, to put it out over the internet, so a person can monitor their system from their iphone, or my MacBook Pro,and actually see what is going on in real time. Well, he did not get his system to operate properly (perhaps it was because he was trying to get too much information into three portals.) But, it did not work; and I made every effort to help get it to work, before the three days were up on the trial period. 4. Now I find, that the wires were not mistakenly cut off the power plugs, because they thought the adapters were theirs.(I didn't think the old one from 1992 Brink's could be mistaken for their power supply--they look like tank trucks next to Tonka Toys. But, some people are not that bright, and mistakes do happen.) I went to get photos of the box and key, because Mr. ******* testified that the security panels are code protected so they could not have gotten into the boxes. When I went in to get a photo, and opened the box with the key placed on top, as security companies will do, the adapters, wires, their stripped box, and cover plates fell out on top of me. The entire box was gutted, and stripped of its order. I have pictures of the wires, where their wire was cut in on my system. and that the removal of the plugs by cutting the plugs off, was just vandalism. I was willing to take the holes in the wall, because they explained that in words, and writing. But, the wonton destruction of my existing system, I believe, merits another look, and a new remedy. 5. First my entire system needs to be brought up to the level of function it was at before their company destroyed mine. Next, since he accused me of incompetency, we both be given a serious battery of psychological testing at hiss company's expense. He can have his test of my mental capacity; but how does Mr. ******* treat the world around him? Is it that he is a psychopathic deviant, or is he just a liar? He has gotten you, BBB,, to find in his favor, with no chance for me to rebut his lies he has presented to you. (I was told to check June 27th), and no mail reached me for GHS.) He can obviously manipulate the system, and come across as very likable, even perhaps sympathetic, " sorry for the poor woman who shouldn't be be held to the terms of the contract." (He did not meet the terms of the contract with me, and despite his trying to keep me from canceling on time, he had no legal right to hold me to a contract.(Does that sound like I am "incompetent?") If you look at my evidence, you will find that there was more damage done to my equipment than I could possibly have expected when I first filed the complaint. BBB,I am saddened that General Electric, the company our family has worked with and for for two generations, has its name attached to this corporation. Service, Reliability and Integrity are what gave GE its reputation for Quality Products and Service. I am going to write our new CEO immediately. He has taken GE back on the path our family believed in, and he will appreciate learning what GHS is doing to its customers. The worst of our society come s across like this author, or the persons who conned you. I will show you what me code protected security panel looks like now. 6. P.S. If their case is that my camera system was not working, I have disks taken form my cameras after their installation, but when I went to look at my video display after the man left, the monitor showed, "no signal". It was wireless system in part. The man who removed the power supply did look surprised when I told them that much of my system was wireless. I tried to be nice to *****, and said if he would just fix my power cord, I would not tell his employers. But, instead of treating me with equal courtesy, he apparently told some of the problems I was contending with regarding a serious threat to my to my life, safety and security. With adroit twisting, they can make an exigent need of rapid security response sound unreasonable. Finally, I would like to thank the astute woman I spoke with regarding this complaint. She seemed to understand the significance of the three day cancellation period ending on a weekend. I wonder if you will understand the significance of GHS responding quickly to impugn me personally.

Business' Final Response
We stand by our original response. When our sales rep, ***** ***** was in Ms. ************ home filling out paperwork for the install of her security system, she specifically told ***** that her cameras and surveillance equipment was non-operable. She asked if our system would incorporate her cameras and if after our system was installed, would her cameras work? ***** told her no. We sent out our lead technician on 5/30 to help her with a piece of equipment she was having trouble with. At that time, cameras were not working. After she cancelled, our technician, ***** ***** who had done the original install on 5/22, went to remove the equipment from her home. ***** only took what he had previously installed. He did not cut any wires to anything she had existing. The only wire he cut was on our transformer that was plugged into the wall. Ms. ********* called after the removal and asked why he didn't hook back up her old system. Her old system was inoperable and it states in our agreement "If the equipment is removed, I understand that I am responsible for all required repairs to walls and/or frames". It would impossible for us to hook up any other company's system. Security panels have lock codes and cannot be accessed without proper authorization. Ms. ********* had no valid reason to cancel. We honestly believe at this point with the several interactions we have had with her, that she was not going to be satisfied no matter how many trips we made to the house or what we did, so we decided it was better to just remove the system without any further delay. We released her from her binding agreement voided the whole transaction.

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

3/29/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Door to door sales using false claims This company canvasses my neighborhood regularly using aggressive high pressure sales tactics and makes false claims that you are in danger if you don't use them and your neighbor has it. They have a long list of complaints on yelp.com. Me and my neighbors are tired of being harassed by them.

Desired Settlement: A cease and desist of these door to door harrasments.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
In response to the conplaint above. We have installed 10,000 plus happy customers in Northern California by selling door to door. We have had a few complaints in the past and we address them as well as suspend any employees for false claims. I understand that people can sometimes get upset because we knock door to door for our business but if we aren't truthful to our customers, we wouldn't have any. We have installed hundreds of happy customers in the Oakland area and will continue to do so and we will also continue repremand our employee if they are using false sales tactics. We are not in the business of trying to upset anyone, we are just trying to help people better protect their families with a system that is less likely to be defeated in an emergency situation. We have had complaints on yelp in the past but have resolved the problems and they have stopped. We also have customers thanking us for what we did for them. We aren't going to always make everyone happy but we want to do our best to do so. We will continue to do our best to limit these complaints and train our employees to say the proper things. I promise that there are no pushy or false training tactics that our company is training to our employees and we will address this complaint today with anyone who was in that area. Thank you for letting us know about the incident so we can handle the situation promply.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

3/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: CANCELLED BEFORE 3 DAY NOTICED AND MONEY WAS KEPT CANCELLED ON 2ND BUSINESS DAY, THEN MY CHECK WAS CASHED ON 8TH DAY AFTER THERE PAPERWORK STATES ALL MONEY NEGOTIATED AND PROMISED WILL BE RETURNED WITHIN 10 DAYS. THEY HAVE 2 PAPERWORK WHICH I HAVE THAT CONTRIDICT THEMSELFS. ONE STATES WHICH I DIDNT CIRCLE ANY BOXES THE TECH ALREADY DID SO AND I DIDNT CATCH TILL AFTER CANCELLED THAT AFTER INSTALL MY INSTALL MONEY WILL BE KEPT. THE OTHER FORM WHICH I SIGNED LAST STATED THE 3 DAYS TO CANCEL FORM: THIS FORM IS THE ONE IM GOING BY AND IT STATES: YOU MAY CANCEL THIS TRANSACTION, WITHOUT ANY PENALTY OR OBLIGATION, WITHIN THREE BUSINESS DAYS FROM THE ABOVE DATE. IF YOU CANCEL, ANY PROPERTY TRADED IN, ANY PAYMENT MADE BY YOU UNDER THE CONTRACT OR SALE, AND ANY NEGOTIABLE INSTRUMENT EXECUTED BY YOU WILL BE RETURNED WITHIN 10 DAYS. THINKING ABOUT FILLING FOR REFUND THROUGH STOCKTON SMALL CLAIMS COURT AS I HAVE BEEN ADVISED.

Desired Settlement: MY 99 DOLLARS RETURNED, I'M WILLING TO ME HALF WAY.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
We do have a policy that if the customer cancels after the install, they willing wave the returning of the activation fee. Being that Mr. ****** claims that he did not circle the acknowledgment of that himself and it was done by the technician, we will be refunding the $99 to Mr. ******. This is the first we have heard anything regarding this issue. We have no record that Mr. ****** has called our office regarding this issue.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

10/19/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Sales Representative from company has not fulfilled his agreement with us regarding previous ADT contract with other company. Sales representative from Lifeline came to our home and talked us into switching from our old ADT provider to Lifeline. As part of the agreement for switching Lifeline agreed to pay the rest of our contact with our old provider (total was $725.46) and we would pay Lifeline the new monthly fee for monitoring. We signed up on July 31st, 2012. It is now October 1st, 2012 and we have not received a payment from Lifeline yet. I had to pay off the old contract 10 days after cancelling with them and expected a check from Lifeline as promised a few days after that. I have called and emailed my Sales rep several times and he always tells me he will take care of it and that he has sent out other buyouts but I have yet to receive anything. At one point I was told 3 checks would be sent out, one a week, to pay off the buyout owed me. I feel that after 2 months this should have been resolved by now. I am willing to keep my contract with Lifeline if they can please give me the money owed me. If I do not get the money owed me I would like my contract to be voided and automatic monthly payments for my monitoring to stop.

Desired Settlement: I am seeking the payment of $725.46 owed to me plus 2 months of interest (since I had to put on my credit card)for $15, total settlement of 740.46.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Stated it seems she was calling the old rep. directly, and not their office.Also stated had they known about the amount due it would have been taken care of immediately. Also stated they left a message for the consumer letting her know they are happy to pay the bill.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

8/14/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: got a new alarm system when we set it an hour later it activates that there is an intruder and in reality no one is near the house sest off by itself. On july X XXXX i put a new alarm system in i used to have adt switched carriers to lifeline on july 4th we went out on vacation set the alarm and the system activated by itself they called the police because they could not get a hold of me and it was a false alarm the police is charging me $364 for coming to my home. So i called lifeline and the technition came back July 10th he said that the sensor box was open no one had touched that box besides him. So he fixed that problem. I thought good no more problems. Well i was wrong then i set the alarm again on July 11th and not even a half hour i was gone the alarm came on they called me this time i did answer the phone they said it was the window sensor i told her not to call the police and i will be there in 5 minuetes. I got their and their was No intrudor. I set the alarm acouple of more times and same thing they will call me my alarm came on again by itself. So finally i called them back the technition came on Saturday the 14th. He said my sensor was no good but it was good when adt was using and he wanted to charge me 35.00 dollars to put a new one. at this point i told him not to put it on i have my windows with no sensors now. I did pay 118.00 for the first month service and installation fee. So my husband called lisa the manager and she argued with my husband that that was not their fault we tried to cancel but i did sign a 3 year contract with them. I didnt get the bill from the police deparment till last week July 18 they gave me 15 days to pay it all i want is for them take in consideration it was their technitions who did not install corrrectly and to pay for the 364.00 cause i am still stuck paying a 49.99 a month for 3 years for their not so good service.

Desired Settlement: i want them to pay for the vallejo Police department fine of 364.00

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: **** ******/Office Manage Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *****@lifelinesecure.com We installed an alarm system in the home of ****** ****** on 7/3/12. At the time of the install, the technician used some of the customer's existing ADT equipment and installed some new sensors and a new upgraded keypad. When the technician left the home, he had received a confirmation number that all signals had been registered with the monitoring station. On July 4, the alarm was tripped twice by a piece of existing equipment that our company did not install. We do not warranty exiting equipment. The monitoring station made a total of 6 phone calls on the two alarms. No one answered any of the calls and messages were left. Dispatches were made per the policies and procedures outlined in the customer's agreement. If dispatches weren't made, and a real emergency were taking place, our company would have been liable. When I asked the customer why no one answered any of the 6 calls, I was told it was a holiday and they don't answer their phones on holidays. (?) When we went back on 7/10, the request on the service ticket was for extra training. There was no mention of the sensor being tampered. Our technician didn't touch any equipment at that time besides the keypad during the training. We returned again on the 23d of July to check the sensors and it was determined it was the existing sensors falsing at that time. Yesterday we scheduled another service for the customer to go out and replace the old existing ADT sensor with a new wireless sensor at no charge to the customer. (normally trip fee and sensor charge would be $85). The alarm we installed performed as it should. The monitoring station followed all procedures by calling all numbers listed and dispatching when no contact was made. As I stated to the customer, we did everything we were obligated to do, the equipment that failed was existing non warrantied equipment, and if an alarm company were to call 6 times in one day, regardless of it being a holiday or not, it would probably have been a good idea to answer the phone. That would avoided all charges incurred by customer.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Because the technician did touch the existing sensors he opened one by the kitchen and probably did not snap it back together because when he came on July 10 the technician seen that it was opened and said that could be the problem. I asked if our sensors that we had prior to Adt which we never had a problem would work they said yes. I was paying Adt 33.99 never had problems. Now I am paying 49.99 . They should at least pay half of the city of Vallejo bill for not installing the system correct in the first place..

Business' Final Response
When our technician went out on 7/10, that was to give the customer additional training. The technician did not touch the piece of equipment that caused the false alarms. The issue of the false alarm fees comes directly from the customer not answering repeated phone calls from the monitoring station. A total of 6 calls were made and a total of 6 messages were left. When the customer stated they received all the calls and messages but did not respond or answer because, "it was a holiday" doesn't seem sufficient enough reason for our company to pay fines inccured by them. If they would have answered ONE of the calls, there would have been no false alarm fees. Again, the equipment that falsed and caused the issues was existing equipment not installed by our company. The day we received the first BBB complaint, our company was already scheduled to go out to replace the existing equipment at our cost and waived the service trip fee, totaling about $85. That is approximately 1/3 of the false alarm fees and we feel based on the customer not responding to the repeated emergency phone calls placed to them and their emergency contacts, that that is a fair settlement of charges. If they would have answered one of the first 3 calls, the second false alarm would not have occurred and their fee would have been half of what they received. They caused the second fee by not answering on the first calls.

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

10/4/2011 Advertising/Sales Issues
1