BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Northeast California

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Bay Alarm Co. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • Complaints against this business are handled by another BBB.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Bay Alarm Co.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: January 16, 1990 Business started: 04/01/1985 Business started locally: 04/01/1985 Business incorporated: 10/20/2000 in CA
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

CA Bureau of Security and Investigative Services
2420 Del Paso Rd Ste 270, Sacramento CA 95834
Phone Number: (916) 322-4000

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Margaret Blair, Office Manager ED JENKS, President Ms. Diann Souza, Office Manager Bruce Westphal, Chairman
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Margaret Blair, Office Manager
Business Category

Security Control Equipment & System Monitors

Alternate Business Names
Bay Alarm Company

Additional Locations

  • 3475 Orange Grove Ave

    N Highlands, CA 95660 (916) 484-2132

  • 3819 Duck Creek Dr

    Stockton, CA 95215

  • 441 Lake Blvd

    Redding, CA 96003

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (209) 940-2551(Phone)
  • (916) 484-2132(Phone)
  • (209) 943-6083 (Fax)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

2/28/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On January 21st, 2013 my store was broken into around 12:30am. Mothion detector faild and alarm did not activate! On January 21st, 2013 my store was broken into around 12:30am. The burglar smashed the front window of my store and did a $4000 worth of damage and stolen items. The motion detector failed to activate the alarm until the cops arrived and entered the store. Bay Alarm sent their top technician to investigate and after watching the security camera video and reviewing the alarm system records, he could not explain the failure of the motion detectors. He installed two more motion detectors and left. Three weeks prior to the burglary, I contacted Bay Alarm (******** *******) and asked to add Window sensors and after inspecting my shop, I was advised by ******** that the window sensors were not needed and that the motion detectors were adequate enough. I called Bay Alarm (****** at XXX-XXX-XXXX) after the incident and asked to compensate me for a portion of the $4000 lose. He denied any failure of equipment and refused to compensate me for any lose. Per contract, I'm entitled to $1500 to compensate for costs involved with the failiure of equipment.

Desired Settlement: I'm asking Bay Alarm to pay for my insurance company deductible of $1000

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Customer notified Bay Alarm on 1/21/13 that a break-in had occurred at his business and explained that he had not been contacted by Bay Alarm regarding an alarm activation. Bay Alarm responded by sending out a technician to investigate and check the system on 1/21/13. The technician checked the system thoroughly, including the infrared motion detectors, and found the system to be operational. At that time, Bay Alarm offered to install two (2) glass break detectors at no additional charge while on site and the customer accepted our offer. On 6/14/12 the customer met with a Bay Alarm Sales Representative and agreed upon a system design that met the customers' expectation. The customer was extremely price conscience and made it clear to the Sales Representative that he was only willing to pay a $99 installation fee, although he received a system valued at $257 originally. Between the time the job was sold and the time the job was installed the customer decided he wanted a hold-up button, but didn't feel that he should have to pay for the additional equipment. Again, due to the demands of the customer the hold-up button was installed at no charge, (a $40 value), and added $2 to the monthly fee. Finally, while on site the customer then requested an additional motion detector that he did not feel he should have to pay for, and again this was done by Bay Alarm at no charge ($63 value). Despite all of this, the customer signed a Bay Alarm Agreement, and in doing so was agreeing to all of Bay Alarm's terms and conditions on the front and back of the agreement. Customer is requesting that Bay Alarm pay his insurance deductible in the amount of $1000.00. Customer was explained to over the phone with our Service Manager that Bay Alarm is not an insurer and it is understood and agreed to that insurance, if any, shall be obtained by the User; and that the payments provided for herein are based solely on the value of the system. Bay Alarm makes no guaranty or warranty, including any implied warranty of merchantability or fitness that the equipment or services supplied will avert or prevent occurrences or the consequences there from which the System or service is designed to detect or avert. Motion Detectors are commonly used in the industry to act as a back-up form of protection to the perimeter door contacts that were used. In the industry and over the course of time they have proven to be very effective in detecting motion under the right environmental conditions and installed to the manufacturers recommendation. With electronic equipment, a variety of environmental conditions can play a role in whether it operates as advertised some of which the alarm company can not control. Three weeks prior to the break in, a discussion occurred with a Bay Alarm sales rep regarding whether or not glass break detectors were needed. Glass break detectors can be effective to help provide added security. However, glass break detectors have limitations as well and will not provide protection under some circumstances (i.e. removing of glass, someone coming through a roof or wall, certain types of glass, window shades that muffle the sound). Because of this, as long as the coverage is adequate in the size of the room we are protecting, motion detectors are a viable option to act alone as a means of secondary protection. The reality is both types of protections can work under the right circumstances, and both types of protection may not stop a burglar from burglarizing a store. There is no way a sales rep is going to be able to assure a customer that a particular type of protection is exactly what a customer needs to stop a crime in progress 100% of the time. Bay Alarm Company is not the cause of the loss for the customer; the vandal/burglar is the direct cause of the loss and/or damage to property. As a security company, we can do no more than detect and the process of detection is not perfect, nor a failsafe against a customer being burglarized. Bay Alarm is not liable for reimbursement of the insurance deductible as requested.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Bay Alarm keep denying the fact that their equipment failed. Yes, the failure of the equipment would not have prevented the rubbery, but had the motion sensors operate properly, the damage could have been only broken window and not broken window and $2000 of stolen items. FACTS: On January 21st Bay Alarm Contacted me at 6:43am informing me of an active alarm at my shop. According to the police report, Deputy Harrington had arrived at 6:43am, after receiving a 911 call from the owner of the doughnut shop next door, and upon entering my shop, he activated the motion detector and set the alarm off. Bay Alarm sent a senior technician (*****) to investigate and after watching the security camera video and reviewing the alarm system records, he concluded that a break-in had occurred at 12:36am and that the motion detector had failed to activate the alarm during the rubbery and the alarm had activated when the police entered the property. Bay alarm equipment had failed and had the equipment operate properly, the damage could have been broken window instead of broken window and $2000 of stolen items. On February 6th, the burglar came back, probably thinking that the shop was not protected by an alarm. This time the damage was limited to a broken window. The burglar smashed the window and once heard the alarm, he ran. I appreciate the fact that Bay Alarm decided to install window glass sensors for free, but I believe an apology is in order for the failure of equipment and for not admitting fault. Their manager ****** ******* was arrogant not sympathetic with my situation. He never apologized once. His attitude was poor and he almost implied that I was lying about what had happened. He should have talked to his technician first and got all his facts straight. I'm asking for (1) 6 months of free service as per the contract to compensate for part of my lose. (2) an apology from Mr ******* about the failure of equipment and his poor attitude. It is my livelihood and I trusted Bay Alarm to protect my business in my absence and they failed me. The least they could do is be apologetic and empathetic with my situation.

Business' Final Response
In response to the complaint dated 2/11/2013, Bay Alarm would like to resolve this matter with the customer. Bay Alarm will agree to issue a credit to the customer's account in the amount of $222.00, equal to six months of monitoring service. This credit is offered as liquidated damages and is not a penalty or admission of liability. Bay Alarm was sorry to learn that the customer's store was burglarized, and it must have been a very unsettling feeling for him that his business was violated. When the Service Manager spoke with the owner, he explained in that Bay Alarm is not an insurance company and answered the customer's questions in a professional, polite and respectful manner. In a heightened state of sensitivity after the terrible events of the burglary, it is possible that the customer felt that the Manager's polite denial to pay compensation for the customer's loss was disingenuous. This case should be closed. Thank You.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

1