Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Action Security of Sacramento, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Action Security of Sacramento, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Action Security of Sacramento, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 24, 1997 Business started: 06/01/1996 in CA Business started locally: 06/01/1996 Business incorporated 05/07/1999 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

CA Bureau of Security and Investigative Services
2420 Del Paso Rd Ste 270, Sacramento CA 95834
Phone Number: (916) 322-4000
The number is 5206.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. James A. Sloan Sr., President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. James A. Sloan Sr., President
Business Category

Security Control Equipment & System Monitors

Alternate Business Names
A A Action Security

Additional Locations

  • 5325 Elkhorn Blvd Ste 300

    Sacramento, CA 95842

  • PO Box 41678

    Sacramento, CA 95841

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/8/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I would like to address all highlighted items: When I went to pay my bill the address of 5325 Elkhorn Blvd. #300 Sacramento CA XXXXX did not exist. I called Action Security after my purse was stolen which had both my car and house keys in it. I had just been robbed and was very vulnerable and afraid that someone might be able to come into my home when I was not present. After called several companies I took the company that would be able to install my alarm system the soonest. One of the companies that I called and had talked to a person by the name of ******, told me I could get a system installed that Sunday and that it would be only $100.00. So he came out to my house and then informed me that the $100.00 would only cover installing security equipment for only 1/2 of my house. So I agreed to pay the extra $100.00 so that I could feel totally safe in my home. After the system was almost all the way installed, he informed me that if I would agree to a 3 year service instead of the 1 year service that I could get $50.00 off Since I was short of money I went ahead and agreed to this. At this time I asked him "what if something happens that I can't pay", and he skirted around the whole issue saying "people always pay their security system even when they can't pay their other bills". He never once informed me that if I could not pay, that it would be turned over to collections and all of the money would be expected of me and that I would have to pay all of the money and no service for the rest of the contract either, they would come take out my equipment. This is a very important issue: He never gave me a copy of my contract but only gave me a sticky with his Phone # and the phone number of his son (which actually installed my security system) but no copy of my contract. Note also: 2 section of my contract he said I paid (0) zero amount of money to him. This is not true I paid him a total of $150.00 to him. This is a false contract statement. I signed up for a 3 year contract (under duress) and he never once informed me of the #(11) ownership, that I would not own any of the equipment until after 4 years not the 3 years he verbally stated to me. I never wanted a 4 year contract. That is way too long. He never either informed me that this contract would automatically renew itself if I did not inform them in writing that I would not longer wish to have my security system. After I did have this system installed I became upon the unforeseen hardship of not being able to pay my bill because my social security check was stopped for 8 months. I paid my house, other utilities, food before I felt I could pay this bill. I thought I could catch up later and everything would be ok but instead they sent me to collection and was going to take out my equipment but I would still have to pay the entire bill. This shocked me and it was at this time I realized that I had no copy of my contract nor did I even know the person that sold me the equipment last name (he never gave me a business card just a sticky note with his first name on it which was ******). After the 2nd time of requesting a copy of my contract I did finally did get one and I have been trying to fix this problem ever since. When I did call the Action Security office and talked with a person named ******, she was verbally abusive to me. My opinion it should not matter that I could not pay my bill even if it was 500 months behind I did not deserve to be verbally abused period! I feel that this salesperson (******) was very good at selling, leaving off many important information that as a consumer I needed to be informed of just to get the money without regards for my vulnerability of my situation. I think his action were dishonest and deceptive. He conned me into a longer contract, did not give me the contract so that I could examine it, and then said I put (00) amount of money down (this is totally dishonest). I know this is probably too late for me to fix. It took me a long time to figure out how to make this complaint, but maybe I might save other consumers from this unfortunate experience.

Desired Settlement: I want out of contract and to come get their equipment

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
The customer was given a yellow carbon copy of her contract upon installation as all customers do. Monthly billing started in January and every month there after. On the monthly invoicing is the name and phone numbers of the sales person (first and last name)and the installer. The customer did not bother to call any of the phone numbers listed on her bills nor did she bother to send payments for over six months. Most alarm services would have disconnected her service after 60 days delinquency, but Action Security continued her service and paid for her monthly monitoring through the monitoring station. Action Security sent several collection notices requesting payment and made phone calls with no return call. The account was then referred to our collection agency and that is when the customer decided to contact our office and stated she "knew the numbers were listed on her bill and was meaning to call." When requested for payment to reinstate her service she then threatened to contact her attorney to "get her out of her obligation." As I mentioned to the customer if she would have contacted our office we would have happily worked out arrangements with her, and there is no cost to calling. She requested another copy of her contract which was sent. A month later she called again requesting another copy and it was sent again. The customer then worked out arrangements and Action Security REMOVED her from collections and reinstated her service with out any further cost and began monthly billing again. The collection agency charges a fee to remove a customer from collections but the cost was not charged to the customer, Action Security absorbed the cost. To date the customer is again behind on her account while receiving alarm monitoring services. The contract that this customer and all other customers sign is a legal size form that discloses all the terms. There are no surprises or misleading in anyway. The contract clearly states the terms and conditions. The customer signed the agreement stating she understood and agreed to the terms within the contract. The address for Action Security is legitimate through a mail center. Action Security does not incur the cost of leasing office space since the sales and technician are always in the field. This allows Action Security to charge less than its competitors. We are sorry that this customer is not happy and have made every attempt to satisfy her and continue her service.

Consumer's Final Response
Consumer states (JLS): I would like to readdress all issues that are high lighted on Action Security's response (enclosed): 1. I was never given a yellow carbon copy of my contract upon installation, and only after my second request for a copy of my contract did I receive it. 2. I am not going to apologize for having a financial hardship paying this bill. After my social security check was delayed for 8 months I bought food, paid my house payment, and paid my utilities that were on disconnect notice during that 8 months. 3. I have since paid this bill with much difficulty since my social security check has finally been restored but must pay it after I get my check on the 25th of each month. 4. I doubt seriously if ****** (office worker) would have worked with me since when I did try to talk to her she was in my opinion verbally abusive. I would like to readdress all issues that are high lighted on my original statements which was in my original complaint: 1. My first request for a copy of my contract was never given to me and I received a copy of it after my second request only. 2. Paragraph 2 and 3 were conveniently never addressed by Action Security. I was originally quoted over the telephone that this security system would cost me only $100.00 but was later manipulated into paying $200 or "I would only have 1/2 of my house protected". With $50.00 off that (only "if I would agree to a 3 year contract and not a 1 year contract"). 3. As you can see Action Security (******) wrote on my contract that I paid ($0) amount of money (NOT TRUE) this was not at all true and shows both the manipulation of this salesperson and deceit of him also (NOT ONE COMPANY THAT I CALLED WOULD PLACE A SECURITY SYSTEM IN MY HOME FOR FREE) nor did they!!!!! 4. Paragraph 4 and 5 was never addressed by Action Security????? 5. Paragraph 6 never addressed by Action Security? 6. Paragraph 8 never addressed by Action Security? I realize this will not help me right now but I have learned an expensive, valuable lesson. I am seeking help from an attorney and other resources to resolve this whole situation. I believe if there was an undercover investigation of this company, they would find recurrent duplicate issues regarding this company. Let this be known to Action Security company on this day that I am paying my monthly payment "OUT OF PROTEST" and DO NOT WISH TO RENEW MY SECURITY CONTRACT once it expires.

Business' Final Response
We have stated our position in our original response and feel that this customer is purposely trying to get out of her contact and from paying for our services. I have noticed that she is again behind on her payments and we are currently ready to refer the account back to our collection agency. Thank you.