BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Northeast California

This Business is not BBB accredited

USA People Search

Phone: (800) 248-1544 PO Box 188860, Sacramento, CA 95818 http://www.usa-people-search.com View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for USA People Search include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 25 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

25 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 10 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 3
Billing/Collection Issues 7
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 15
Total Closed Complaints 25

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on USA People Search
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: December 28, 2004 Business started: 09/01/2004 Business started locally: 09/01/2004
Business Management
Mr. Bryce Lane, President & COO Mr. Dustin Weirich, CEO/Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Bryce Lane, President & COO
Principal: Mr. Dustin Weirich, CEO/Owner
Business Category

Searchers of Records Screening - Background & Employment

Products & Services

USA People Search is an online resource to get public records, background checks and criminal records.


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

USA People Search has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    PO Box 188860

    Sacramento, CA 95818 (800) 248-1544

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Web Addresses

  • http://www.facebook.com/usapeoplesearch
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

10/9/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ****** ** ************* ****** ***** ********* ** ********************-People-Search.comSeptember 25th, 2014RE: Cease and desist from harassment, sale, use, advertising, and/or storage/saving of PII (Personally Identifiable Information), All forms of contactDear USA-People-Search.com:This CEASE AND DESIST ORDER is to inform you that your persistent actions including but not limited to selling my personal home address and personal cell phone number and listing it as if it is a business with a fictitious name have become unbearable. You are ORDERED TO STOP such activities immediately as they are being done in violation of the law.I have the right to remain free from these activities as they constitute harassment, and I will pursue any legal remedies available to me against you if these activities continue. These remedies include but are not limited to: contacting law enforcement to obtain criminal sanctions against you, and suing you civilly for damages I have incurred as a result of your actions.Again, you must IMMEDIATELY STOP the sale, procurement, contact, or useage of any and all PII (Personally Identifiable Information) with relation to me (located at the top of this letter) and send me written confirmation that you will stop such activities. Additionally, you must remove all instandces of my name, home address, phone numbers, emails and any other information from your system and any and all businesses and organizations that youve done business with that took this information into their systems. You must also remove all traces of my home address being related to the ficticious company ************** as I am not, have not been and never will be associated, directly or otherwise, with said business. You risk incurring some very severe legal consequences if you fail to comply with this demand.This letter acts as your final warning to discontinue this unwanted conduct before I pursue legal actions against you. At this time, I am not contacting the authorities or filing civil suit against you, as I hope we can resolve this matter without authoritative involvement. I am not under any circumstances, however, waiving any legal rights I have presently, or future legal remedies against you by sending you this letter. This order acts as ONE FINAL CHANCE for you to cease your illegal activities before I exercise my rights.To ensure compliance with this letter, and to halt any legal action I may take against you, I require you to fill in and sign the attached form and mail it back to me within 10 days of your receipt of this letter. Failure to do so will act as evidence of your infringement upon my legal rights, and I will immediately seek legal avenues to remedy the situation.Sincerely,****** ** ************* ****** ***** ********* ** *****************

Desired Settlement: CEASE AND DESIST COMPLIANCE AGREEMENTI, USA-People-Search.com, do hereby agree to stop selling, using, viewing, or sharing the PII (Personally Identifiable Information, herein to referred to as PII) of ****** ** ********** which is in violation of ****** ** **********s rights. I also agree to completely delete, permanently and irrevocably, all information in all USA-People-Search.com and related systems as it pertains to the PII listed previously. I understand that this is my final chance to cease these activities. I understand that ****** ** ********** potentially has the right to pursue legal action against me relating to my engagement in these activities, but he will not pursue those rights in contemplation of my compliance with this written demand. I further understand that ****** ** ********** has not waived his rights and may pursue legal remedies against me if I fail to abide by this agreement. I understand that this agreement is not specifically limited to the activities named

Business Response:

Our records show we received and processed an opt out request regarding your information on 9/25/2014. Sometimes these changes take 24-48 hours to reflect online. Searching today we are unable to find your listing. If you still see your information, please provide the URL where it can be found or call our Customer Care department in order to walk a representative through where you are still seeing your information. Then we can submit any additional listings for removal.

Business Response:

Phone number data is completely separate from the data associated with searches

 

by name. We cannot prevent a user from entering any search by phone number on

 

the site. However, we will attempt to make changes in order to yield a 'no

 

results found' message when searching your phone number on Usa-People-Search.com.

 

Please allow a few weeks for this request to be processed by our IT department.

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because it does not solve the issue at hand. This matter needs to stay open and pending until this company confirms, 100% and without a doubt, that my information has been deleted. I have been very gracious in giving them the amount of time I have to resolve this issue.

10/4/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This business does not abide by 15 U.S. CODE 8403- NEGATIVE OPTION MARKETING ON THE INTERNET. They do not send courteously emails, stating your card will be charged recurring fees. They sneakily hide it in their terms and conditions, without ever mentioning the recurring charges again. EVERY company I've worked with that enrolls you in this "membership style" sign-up format ALWAYS has notified me of recurring monthly charges.WARNING!!! Don't work with them!

Desired Settlement: Already sent a certified letter to the corporate office, no one responded. I would like the justifiable amount of $249.50 placed back on our card.

Business Response:

We have reviewed our files and our records show that an order for a search was conducted by the customer on 3/2/2011. At that time they had a choice to accept a special discounted price available with a monthly membership or the full price for the search without membership.  The membership option was affirmatively selected by them on 3/2/2011.  That membership provided a three day trial to try our services.  Our membership service provides unlimited searches and other features for a monthly fee.  This is clearly and conspicuously disclosed on the initial order selection page.  Then the consumer is provided with an entire section outlining the terms of the membership which again clearly and conspicuously states that after the initial trial, unless the consumer cancels the service the service will continue monthly and the card they provided will be charged until they tell us to cancel their membership to avoid future charges.  The user is then required to check a box stating "Yes, I agree to the Privacy Policy and Terms of Use and understand that unless I cancel during my free trial period, my card will be billed $24.95 each month. I may cancel at anytime."

 

Given that members can conduct unlimited searches for a monthly membership fee our terms do not allow for any refunds and simply allow members to cancel anytime to avoid future charges.  For the period of their membership the customer was charged each month. During that time, our customer service was available to take the cancellation at any time.  In February of 2012 the membership failed to renew because the funds could not be verified and no charges have occurred since then. We did not receive a contact from the customer until 8/6/2014, almost four years after the membership was initiated and over two years after the last charge occurred. They will be responsible for the monthly membership fees from March 2011 to Febuary 2012. In conclusion, per the terms agreed to and the amount of time that has passed, the charges cannot be refunded.

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because: 

 
We are aware of your terms of use, but couldn't provide courtesy emails sating that your card would be charged again that month due to your membership? Your customer service is lacking and provides no courtesy to your customers, knowing they may forget to cancel their membership. This is obviously a tactic to make money. 
In U.S. Code 8403 it states "provides simple mechanisms for consumer to stop recurring charges", besides the initial terms and conditions that you weigh your whole argument on, how else to you inform your customers of this recurring membership? Therefore, there is no simple mechanism. 
 
Since you are able to view the membership, can you see how many "people searches" were preformed? ONE, at the initial sign-up; why would we continue our membership for another year unless we forgot to cancel. WE only got one reminder upon sign-up. We are human, not a computer that automatically auto drafts funds. 
 
You're working with people. There should be no time limit to unjust charges.               

Business Response: We feel we have already addressed these concerns. When shopping online, the consumer is responsible for reading and understanding the product as advertised. We accept cancellations at any time via the website or by email. You may also cancel over the phone with our Customer Care department by calling the phone number listed directly next to the charge on your statement. Again, these charges cannot be refunded as two years have passed since they occurred.

7/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Searching for a person led me to the USA people search web page. The page displayed information that showed that the site has a record for the person I'm looking for. When I paid $2.94 for the basic search they sent me an empty report. This is clearly deceptive.

Desired Settlement: I would like the money credited to the same credit card that it was debited from.

Business Response: We were unable to re-run the report per your emailed request on 7/4/2014 given the criteria entered into the website. We advised you via email to call our Customer Care Department or provide the information needed and we would be happy to re-run the search. Per your request on this complaint we have issued refunds for the $1.95 People Search Report and $0.99 for the emailed PDF file. These amounts will be shown on your credit card statement within five business days.

7/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Product not as advertised! I looked at a sample of the Background report product that I was purchasing and decided to try it, but what I got was nothing like the sample. There was very little information and the criminal report was missing NOT even checked and the Businesses report was missing, NOT even included like the sample report. Websites and other information that are available on other web sites were not even included. This was a total waste of money, and I felt scammed. I want a refund of my $49.95!

Desired Settlement: Please refund my money and take my credit card information off your web site. Thank you.

Business Response:

We are sorry that you did not receive the results you were hoping for. When you order a report, our system searches through billions of public records and collects every piece of relevant information. We pay for access to this data, so the charge is for us to conduct a search on your behalf, not to return a specific result. As stated in our Terms of Use the information on our website is provided as-is and is subject to availability.

Our records show that per your emailed request on 7/7/2014 the $49.95 Background Report you requested was refunded as a one-time courtesy. This amount will be shown on your credit card statement within five business days.

6/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I did a background search on my son due to some legal issues. It cost 49.95. The information returned was ridiculous and very outdated. It included a cell phone number for me that was disconnected in 2007, the names and ages of 3 deceased family members listed as "relatives" (dead 1999, 2006, and 2013)incorrect addresses and, most ridiculous of all, returned absolutely no information on legal issues, even the ones that I am aware of and that can be found with a simple Google search. I complained and asked for a refund, and was told that the company "searches through billions of public records and collects every piece of relevant information". Dishonest and unethical doesn't even begin to describe the practices of this company.

Desired Settlement: I want a refund of the 49.95 that the company charged for a completely bogus, useless, and falsely advertised search. To say that they searched "billions of public records" is just a blatant lie. I found more information using Google.

Consumer Response: The company refunded money. Thank you!

6/6/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After contacting USA People search to locate address/phone number in NY state of a lost cousin-- supposedly free-- I was (1) given incorrect information, and (2) without my approbation, given a "trial" membership, apparently @ $16.95 monthly. Since I wished to find only one person and did not intend to use USA People search again, I did/not wish any permanent membership or membership of any kind on an ongoing basis. I will report this as fraudulent to my credit card company (********* and will report USA People Search to ***. People Search has rendered no meaningful service whatever and has apparently used fine print during my query to impose a "membership" without my wanting one or realizing what was happening. I therefore wish to renounce their false imposition and free myself of further billing and harm to my credit report for non-recognition of charges. I would certainly appreciate an interventions on your part. Sincerely, ****** ******, ****.

Desired Settlement: Cancellation by USA People Search of my "membership."

Business Response:

We closed your account per your email request on 5/27/2014. At the time of purchase on 3/20/2014 you chose to receive a discounted price ($0.95) for signing up for a 3 day trial to our Monthly Membership. This membership grants you unlimited:

• People Searches (address, phone number, date of birth, possible relatives)
• Marriage Searches
• Divorce Searches
• Death Searches
• Property Searches

Your cancellation request was received after the 3 day trial had ended. We removed the auto-renewal for this membership so that you will not be billed going forward and, as a one-time courtesy, refunded this month's charge of $16.95.

 

5/31/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: the are selling and posting my public information without my permission. I have submitted the paperwork to have it removed and they continue to post it publicly. I have been a victim of identify theft. please have them remove my information

Desired Settlement: keep my information private

Business Response:

We have no record of receiving an opt out request from you. To fulfill your opt out request you will need to follow the automated process online. You will need to click on "Privacy Policy" at the bottom of any page. Please scroll down to the "IV. Choice and Opt Out" section, click the hyperlink that reads "please fill out the form here." For your convenience, below is a direct link to the opt out page.

http://www.usa-people-search.com/manage/

Please follow the prompts from there to successfully remove your public record data from appearing on Usa-People-Search.com.

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because:
My response to this message.  I have opt. out of this companies site three times.  They continue to place me and my family on there list.  They need to take us out of the data base completely. 

Business Response:

We have reviewed our files and found that on 65/16/2014 you successfully completed the online opt out process. Searching today we no longer find your listing on our site.

Public records are collected from thousands of sources. Here are a few examples:

Supermarket Rewards Cards:

 Every time anyone makes a purchase from a grocery store or drugstore with a loyalty or "rewards" card, that information is used to build a very personal profile of your shopping habits.

Product Warranty and Registration Cards:

 Do you fill out the warranty and product registration cards for every new product you purchase? If so, you probably assume this is standard procedure for making sure your warranty is valid. In fact, warranty and product registration cards do very little for the consumer. Moreover, all your personal information on warranty cards is collected and used for marketing purposes.

Raffles and Sweepstakes:

 Though raffles and sweepstakes offer a one-in-a-million chance of winning some type of luxury item, free gym memberships or dream vacations you should be aware how your contact information is used. Often, you are asked to proved Name, address and phone number as a means of contacting you in the event you should win. In reality, this information is used for direct marketing purposes.

You do not always have to enter a raffle or surf the Internet for someone to collect personal data about you. In fact, many of the activities and responsibilities you have as a member of society, property owner and licensed driver contribute to what is known as your "Public Profile." Other sources include voter registration, hunting and fishing licenses, magazine subscriptions and much more.

We have suppressed your information as of today; however, anytime you publicly report your information to companies and organizations, this information may be updated in public record databases and therefore will return results when doing a search for public record files. If you see your name appear on our site you will need to notify us so we can remove it. We are one of hundreds of websites that provide this information.

4/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I used usa-people-search.com online opt out option and it appeared that my information was blocked. It was partially blocked because when my name is typed into the Google search engine, www.usa-people-search.com pops up with a link to my name seen here http://www.usa-people-search.com/names/p/******-******. When you click on the link, my name, age, and city and state that I live in pops up. I am aware that websites have no control of the information that Google indexes in their search results. However, websites are responsible for information that appears on their websites. If the information is removed from their website, then it becomes a matter of when Google updates their search results to reflect that such information no longer exists on the website. However, as I stated above, my name, age, city and state are in the link I listed above. I called usa-people-search last week explaining that my information is still readily available to anyone via their website. At the time of my call there were two entries with my name. I was told they would be removed in twenty four hours.I checked the website a few days later and only one entry was removed. I called today and explained the situation to another representative. She basically was not understanding what I was saying and the conversation went nowhere because she hung up on me. No reputable business has ever hung up on me so I wonder. My point is this, these data broker websites make it uncomfortably easy for stalkers, identity thieves, and employers to know so much about you. An employer already knows how old I am before I go on an interview. Of course the representative's response is that it is illegal for employers to seek such information online. Well guess what, it is also illegal to discriminate against someone based on their race, sexual orientation and the like but that has not stopped employers from doing it. Employers view Facebook pages so what makes you think they won't view free information from usa-people-search.com?

Desired Settlement: I want my information removed in its entirety from the website http://www.usa-people-search.com. Here is the direct link with my personal information http://www.usa-people-search.com/names/p/******-******. I used the online opt-out option and it did not remove information thoroughly.

Business Response:

We apologize for any inconvenience. Thank you for the direct link to where this additional listing can be found. We have suppressed your information again as of today. Please allow 24-48 hours for this to reflect online. We also want to make sure you are aware that anytime you publicly report your information to companies and organizations, this information may be updated in public record databases and therefore will return results when doing a search for public record files. If you see your name appear on our site again you will need to notify us so we can remove it.

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because:


I asked that my information be removed in its entirety from the www.usa-people-search.com website. However, some information still appears on the website seen here in the following links:

http://www.usa-people-search.com/names/p/******-******-Saint%20Albans-NY
http://www.usa-people-search.com/names/p/******-******
http://www.usa-people-search.com/names/p/******-******-Brooklyn-NY

I do not understand why this is so when I asked for my information to be removed in its ENTIRETY from the website. I am so sick of these data brokers not doing what they are being asked. I am so sick of them making it easy for identity thieves and stalkers to harm a person. You want to sell people's information for profit, whatever. You want to bring traffic to your website by making people's information readily available on the site,whatever. However, it is unfair and deceptive practices when you either do not remove the information upon request, make it difficult to remove the information, or remove the information only to put it back on the website or some other affiliated website and assume the consumer won't check or notice. I hope other people are reading this and enough people complain to the BBB and the FTC with the hope that legislation is proposed and passed to deal with these data brokers. I read all the BBB complaints from these data broker companies and the consumers have the same complaints; that they do not feel safe, they do not appreciate their identity being compromised and plastered all over the internet, and they do not like how their request to remove information is not being fulfilled. USA-PEOPLE-SEARCH and other data broker businesses may not be illegal, which is why they get away with it, but it is certainly unethical. I will ask again that my information be removed in its ENTIRETY from the usa-people-search.com website. 

Business Response: We have reviewed the links you provided and your information no longer appears there. It is you responsibility to manage your own public profile. Again anytime you publicly report your information to companies and organizations, it may be updated in public record databases. While we flag and remove any new information that is reported about you, we cannot 100% guarantee the ongoing removal of your information. You will need to notify us, or any other public record database, to remove any additional listings on an ongoing basis.

3/19/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They billed me 6 times and said that they only billed me 4. They refuse to credit my account and I forwarded them my cc info and a picture of it where it was billed 6 times and they still refuse. They said that someone talked to me about it. They did! They stated that they did not bill me and they did 6 times!!!!! I want my 2 times returned they they will not do it! They hung up on me and refuse to refund me. What do I do?

Desired Settlement: 80.00

Business Response:

We have reviewed our files and found that this customer ordered four background checks on four separate individuals.  Each background check on USA-People-Search.com is $39.95. This user added two additional charges of $0.99 for a PDF version by affirmatively selecting this option during two of the four check outs. We believe this may be the source of the confusion. Including the two $0.99 PDF charges this customer’s credit card she was charged a total of six times. In conclusion, there are four charges of $39.95 not six but if the two $0.99 charges are included there are a total of six charges. 

2/14/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: THIS COMPANY WILL NOT ANSWER THE PHN TO CANCEL SERVICES. THE PHONE MSG CONSTANTLY REPEATS, DESPITE PUSHING RIGHT KEY AT RIGHT TIMETHERE IS NO KNOWN MAILING ADDRESSTHEY ARE CHARGING $16.90 EACH MONTH AND THEY WANT A PASSWORD, WHICH NEVER I GAVE THEM .SO THINGS JUST AROUND AND AROUND.I AM SEEING MY BANK TO STOP THIS RIP OFF. THIS BUSINESS SHOULD BE RATED AS A RADIOACTIVE SCAM

Desired Settlement: 2 MONTHS REFUND COMPLETE DELETE OF BILLING,NEVER TO SEE THIS AGAIN

Business Response:

Unfortunately, we were not able to find an account using the name or email address you supplied. Please send us your full name and/or phone number you used to create your account at USA-People-Search.com. Once we locate your account, we will be happy to fulfill your request. Or, so we may assist you directly with your concern, please call our Customer Care Team during the hours listed below at ###-###-####.

Monday-Friday-7:00AM-6:00PM (PST)
Saturday-Sunday7:00AM-11:30AM and 12:30PM-3:30PM (PST)

11/27/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Collected personal information without consent. Requires mailed-in form to remove. This company collected my personal information (address, phone number, etc.) without my permission nor my knowledge. When asked to immediately remove my sensitive information, the company requested a handwritten form be sent in to their PO Box in Sacramento, CA, even though the company is an internet-based business that can easily process any and all requests online or by phone. They require forms be mailed in to deter requests to remove personal information. Deceptive and unethical practices coupled with a disregard of the opinions of the people whose information they are sharing.

Desired Settlement: Remove my personal information. Request this business be discredited from the BBB.

Business Response: Initial Business Response
All of the information on our website is from public record databases. Every person aged 18 and older can have a public record. This information is collected on a County, City, State, and Federal level, and can also come from reporting information during normal every day activities such as grocery store club cards, magazine subscriptions, voter registration, warranty cards, even fishing licenses, and forms you fill out when browsing the internet. There are thousands of ways this information gets reported. We are not required to remove any information from our website; however, we offer the option to as a courtesy. We are not refusing to remove your information. We will remove this information from being searched on our site once we receive your letter. We do not collect information from opt out requests, as we are a provider of public record data only, but if you are worried about providing more information it is also very helpful to include a printout of the records you wish to have suppressed.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) By changing their policy, said company admits the original complaint was correct. BBB should discredit company based on this and number of complaints. No proposed solution will be accepted by this party until the desired solution of the company being discredited from the BBB is realized.

Final Business Response
For your convenience, we have recently launched an online public profile removal tool. It is your responsibility to manage your own public profile. Please use this tool to remove your listing. You will need to click on "Privacy Policy" at the bottom of any page. Please scroll down to the "IV. Choice and Opt Out" section, click the hyperlink that reads "please fill out the form here." For your convenience, below is a direct link to the opt out page. http://www.usa-people-search.com/manage/ Please follow the prompts from there to successfully remove your public record data from appearing on Usa-People-Search.com.

9/20/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Background check did not show current address, wrong state was checked. Wasn't able to pick which state was checked. Very dissapointed with service. Background check did not show current information. The address of the person being checked was years old and missed 3 more current addresses since. When state-wide check was run it was run for the wrong state because their information was so wrong. Extrememly dissapointed with the service, current address is public information. Email Recepit: ==== Credit Card: Visa ==== : XXXXXXXXXXXXXX2392 ==== Amount Charged: $18.95 ==== Product: Statewide Criminal Records ==== Criteria: ********,C,********, ==== Purchase Date: 8/21/2013 9:31:09 AM Bank Account Desc.: DBT CRD XXXX XX/21/XX XXXXXXXX CFK*USA PEOPLE SEA XXX-XXXXXXX CA Card # ****

Desired Settlement: Would like full-refund, I was extrememly dissatisfied with this service.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
We are sorry that you did not receive the results you were hoping for. When you order a report, our system searches through billions of public records and collects every piece of relevant information. We pay for access to this data, so the charge is for us to conduct a search on your behalf, not to return a specific result. We are unable to provide a refund, but we will be happy to offer you a free search to help you find the facts you need.

4/30/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 10/22/2012 I tried a free people search that was actually useless & misleading. On 10/22/ 2012 I did a search. I got useless information and paid 99 cents, in a few days, I a got a call from the company asking if I wanted to continue the service and if I liked the service. I said no to both. They charged my account for two months before I noticed. I then contacted Discover Card and told them to tell the company that I did not want that service and to stop billing me and to stop payment . Payment was stopped on the two charges, 10/25/2012, 11/22/2012 , then reversed. The company then billed me again. on 12/22/2012. There was no easy way to stop the billing without giving them more information. The had no address listed, or way to stop using their web site. A phone called requested additional written personal information that I was no about to divulge. Finally a letter sent from a legal service on 01/23/1913 stopped the bills. But, I was already billed for three months. Someone needs to stop this company from engaging in misleading advertising,. They provide no real service- you can get the information they provide for free. They say they are not liable for not proving a service. They make their money from billing. They consider credit card billing information a contract? I signed nothing else. They provide no easy way to stop the "contract???" even if you did not know you had a contract. I did a search once and was later billed for three month of services I never received. My US people Search information: number RTXXXXXXXXXX; internal use only XXXXXX-XUS04 What's an internal case number??

Desired Settlement: I want all my money back. I want this company to stop its misleading and illegal practices. It needs to be investigated

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Re: Complaint #XXXXXXXX We have received your complaint regarding ****** ******, The customer came to our website on 10/22/12 and purchased a $.95 report and signed up for a membership for $24.95 a month with a three day trial before it was billed. Three times during the purchase process the customer is told online that they are purchasing a report with a membership trial and had the chance to cancel the purchase before it was completed. We do not feel this process is deceptive because the customer is made aware of what is being purchased many times. We do not call out to our customers to ask them to continue a membership. The customer had no contact with company until 01/20/13 when we stopped the membership. The customer was sent monthly emails when the membership renewed and the customer's statement that showed these charges each month. Per our Terms of Use posted it was the customer' responsibility to cancel the membership online or by calling our Customer Care phone number. At this time customer is working with her bank regarding these charges but as courtesy we will issue three refunds for $24.95. Please let us know whether will may assist you further. USAPeopleSearch Customer Care *****@USAPeopleSearch.com XXX-XXX-XXXX

4/26/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I paid 1.95 to recieve my background check at USApeoplesearch.com never recieved my background check due to their website error and was charged 4 time. I never received what I paid for and I see I was charged 4 time bringing the total to $7.80 I see my debit card is still on file and I cant find a way to take it off, I am upset with being charged 4 times, and I am upset I never recieved my report, I am also very concerned they have my debit card still on file.

Desired Settlement: I want this business to refund my money and give me a report, and take my debit card off file.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Re: Complaint #XXXXXXX We have received your complaint regarding ****** ******. The customer came to our website on 03/24 and purchased a People Search Report. Four charges were processed online for $1.95. The customer did not call or email for any assistance or to ask for a refund of the duplicate charges. We have refunded all four charges of $1.95 and closed the account. Please let us know whether will may assist you further. PeopleFinders Customer Care *****@Peoplefinders.com (800) XXX-XXXX

1/7/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was charged for report I did not get..cancelled immediately after trying search and was still charged for a report I did not get..$40 for nothing Charged for report did not get..had cancelled promptly after receiving nothing...charged on Visa..site was suppose to be free for 7 days..i got nothing so cancelled right away...12.03/12..not suppose to be any charges for 7 days..got charged for report did not get but was told and insisted I did....apparently you get charged for report and then also the search...site not clear about any of this...all I want is refund on my card for what I did not receive....I think it is totally false advertising and misrepresentation of the suppossed service offered and I dont feel I was treated decently over the phone either by one of their so called representatives...I was told to go back to site and look up my report...will not do that for fear of more hidden charges.....did tell them I would never use site again and would never recommend it to anyone else....all I want is my money back for something I did not get....****** ******

Desired Settlement: I just want the $39.95 refunded to my Visa and I will never use their service again.....never....

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Hello, Based on the information provided from the customer, we are unable to locate any account or charges for her. We request the name, email address or phone number on the account to be able to assist her properly. The customer may also contact our customer care department at the number below. Thank you. Best regards, USA-People-Search Customer Care *****@usa-people-search.com (800) XXX-XXXX

12/26/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My credit card acct has been billed for 8 months without my authorization. It has just been called to my attention that for the past 8 months I have been automatically billed for services I did not agree to. I purchased one simple request for a name search. After that I was billed each month for $24.95. There was NEVER any intent on my part to continue with monthly service, or to in any way allow People Search to charge to my account. This is just another way to cheat an unsuspecting senior citizen. I am requesting a full refund for the unauthorized billings of $24.95 per month for the past 8 months.

Desired Settlement: Full refund of the 8 months automatic charges to my credit card. Total amount is $199.60 (8 months X $24.95 = $199.60).

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Hello, The customer had come to our website on 3/23/2012 and had signed up with a trial membership. The trial membership was never cancelled, which is why she has been billed monthly. Our website is very clear about this, and we also send you confirmation emails monthly once your subscription renews. We have already explained this to the customer upon calling in on 11/26 for cancellation. We believe this should have been brought to our attention much earlier if the customer did not want the membership. We would encourage the customer to review the website to understand what was signed up with. We are happy to work with the customer to help cut down costs, as we have by refunding 4 months of charges for her. We are unable to refund any additional billing. Please let us know if you have any further questions. Thank you. Best regards, USA-People-Search Customer Care *****@usa-people-search.com (800) XXX-XXXX

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) There was never any intent on my part to become a "member". It was a one-time use using their "trial membership". It was not the least bit clear that I had to undo what was really never done...i.e. become a paying member. This is nothing more than a fraud to get unauthorized money from unsuspecting people...especially seniors like me. USA-People Search refunded 4 months of unauthorized charges (yet to show up as a credit on my charge card). There is still another four months of unauthorized charges made to my credit card without my consent. I expect the remaining four months of unauthorized charges to be refunded. USA-People Search's response to me after my complaint to the BBB was a re-statement of unacceptable actions. I made every effort to communicate back to USA-People Search through an in-kind email response, but there seems to be no way to reach USA-People Search except by phone. Phone contact is unacceptable since they simply restate their fraudulent position and allow for no further actions. THE RESPONSE I RECEIVED FROM USA-PEOPLE SEARCH AS A RESULT OF MY CONTACTING THE BBB IS NOT ACCEPTABLE. THEY ARE DEFRAUDING ME AND OTHER SENIOR CITIZENS BY MISLEADING INFORMATION ON THEIR WEBSITE. THIS IS PURE THIEVERY !

Business' Final Response
Hello, As we have stated we are unable to refund any further billings. Normally, we would not refund any membership charges. However, seeing that the customer has not used the account, we are more than happy to work with her. The customer did sign up for the trail, this is not something we force upon customers. Not only is this on her statement every month, but the customer also receives monthly confirmation emails stating they are being billed. This should have been brought to our attention much earlier if the customer did not want to continue with the membership. We encourage the customer to review the terms that were signed up with online. At this time we have done what we can for the customer and she is responsible for the remaining 4 charges on her account. Thank you. Best regards, USA-People-Search Customer Care *****@usa-people-search.com (800) XXX-XXXX

10/5/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Basically this service is ****. You can get he same information on the free white pages or any other FREE search site. I was billed 24.95 for a search service that basically doesn't work. It gives you no information and they set you up on autobill after three days so they can then bill you for 24.95 for absolutely nothing. I want my money back and stay far far away from this service. They basically make you pay additional for any information beyond name and address info.

Desired Settlement: I want the 24.95 put back on my card ASAP.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Hello, We have already explained to the customer how she signed up. She chose to enroll herself in a trial membership which was not cancelled. The matter was resolved when she contact us via phone and we had refunded the $24.95 charge as a onetime courtesy. The account has been closed and should the customer choose to use the website again, we encourage her to read through the terms she is agreeing to. Thank you. Best regards, USA-People-Search Customer Care *****@usa-people-search.com (800) XXX-XXXX

7/23/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: PLEASE REMOVE MY PERSONAL INFORMATION FROM YOUR WEBSITE PLEASE REMOVE MY PERSONAL INFORMATION FROM YOUR WEBSITE.

Desired Settlement: REMOVE MY INFORMATION

Business Response: Business' Initial Response Hello, USA-People-Search.com values your privacy and, upon written request, can block your records from being shown in many, but not all, of our search results, on our website. To do so, you should contact us by writing a letter giving us your: First name Middle initial Last name Aliases and A.K.A.'s Complete current address Complete former addresses going back 15 years Date of birth - including month, day, and year It is also very helpful to include a printout of the records you wish to have suppressed. Send this letter to: Opt-Out/USA-People-Search.com P.O BOX XXXXXX SACRAMENTO, CA XXXXX ** This information will be kept confidential and is used only to ensure the complete suppression of your records. ** Best regards, USA-People-Search Customer Care *****@usa-people-search.com (800) XXX-XXXX

5/9/2012 Problems with Product/Service
3/27/2012 Problems with Product/Service
3/27/2012 Problems with Product/Service
2/20/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
2/20/2012 Problems with Product/Service
2/8/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
1/30/2012 Billing/Collection Issues