This business is not BBB accredited.

Heald College

Phone: (916) 789-8600 Fax: (916) 787-2752 View Additional Phone Numbers 7 Sierra Gate Plz, Roseville, CA 95678 ! There is an alert on Heald College !

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • This business has no rating because it is out of business.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Heald College
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 09, 1990 Business started: 01/01/1908 in CA Business started locally: 01/01/1908 Business incorporated 08/19/1996 in DE
Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Guy Adams, Director Ms. Cindy Timberlake, HR Cordinator/President's Assistant
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Guy Adams, Director
Business Category

Schools - Academic - Colleges & Universities Schools - Private

Additional Locations


    7 Sierra Gate Plz

    Roseville, CA 95678 (800) 999-9204 (916) 638-1616 (916) 789-8600


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I've been going to Heald College for too long and still have not graduated on time like I should have. My complaint is I'm having to repeat my classes and I don't think its necessary when I'm already at the end.

Desired Settlement: To graduate from Heald College without any other issues.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Hello, The individual making this complaint was a student at Heald College in Stockton, but her academic progress has been below the standard required to progress toward graduation. I understand her desire to become a college graduate, however, this student must meet our academic requirements for graduation in order to graduate. In her first term, July 2008, she withdrew from both of her classes (Math 10 and Office Skills 101), therefore she earned zero units. In her April, 2009 term, she failed Anatomy/Physiology. In her July, 2009 term she withdrew from Anatomy/Physiology. In her January 2010 term she failed Introduction to Medical Transcription. In her April 2010 term, she failed Contemporary Literature-Cultueral Perspectives, and also failed Pharmacology/Dosage Calculations. In her July 2010 term, she withdrew from Pharmacology/Dosage Calculations. In her October 2010 term, she withdrew from Contemporary Literature-Cultueral Perspectives. In her July 2012 term, she failed Clinical and Diagnostic procedures. In her October 2012 term, she failed Communication for Healthcare Professionals. In her January 2013 term, she failed Medical Assisting Special Projects and was withdrawn from her Medical Assisting Externship Class. The reason that she was withdrawn from her Externship Class was becasue two different externship sites terminated her for poor performance during the same term. This student has been advised by her Program Directors on numerous occassions and the campus offers tutoring at no cost 6 days per week. This student is not eligible to graduate due to failing and withdrawing from numerous classes, in addition to being terminated from two different externship sites.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) im not satisfied with the results of my experience at heald college of stockton due to not being able to graduate with my medical assisting degree that i almost finished my experience at heald has not been satisfactory and the way i would like to proceed with this matter is to complete my degree at heald college and be able to graduate and hopefully get a job which they are suppost to help you get when you finish school and if i cant complete my degree in stockon it can be at another campus that accepts me.

Business' Final Response
May 17, 2013 Better Business Bureau, Inc. 1000 Broadway, Suite 625 Oakland, CA 94607 RE: Kandinisha Batts- Complaint Case#: 65030077 We received the complaint referenced above from Kandinisha Batts ("Complainant"). Heald College, Stockton (the "School") thanks the Better Business Bureau (the "BBB") for this opportunity to respond to Complainant's concerns and hopes that our response satisfactorily demonstrates the School's appreciation of the BBB's principles and purposes. The School is pleased to provide the BBB with information that it believes will be highly relevant to the BBB's evaluation of Complainant's concerns and the appropriateness of the School's response. Based on said request, the School addresses the following allegations: (1). Complainant has "passed all the required classes and all I need to complete to get me degree is my externship." Complainant is incorrect in her statement that she has passed all of the required courses to earn her degree. Complainant changed her program multiple times and struggled to maintain an acceptable grade point average ("GPA"). Complainant began the Dental Assisting Associate of Applied Science degree program on July 21, 2008 and after withdrawing from her first term, including MATH10 Essential Math, and OFFSKLS101, Keyboarding, Complainant switched into the Criminal Justice Administration Associate of Applied Science degree program in October 2008. Complainant completed one term and earned two "C' grades and then switched programs again and entered the Medical Assisting Associate of Applied Science degree program on January 20, 2009. Complainant attempted 119 total credits in the Medical Assisting program, only successfully completing 94 of those credits with a 2.40 GPA before she applied for a Leave of Absence, with a scheduled return date of July 18, 2011. Complainant failed to return to the School after her LOA. On June 18, 2012 Complainant completed re-entry paperwork and was re-admitted to the Medical Assisting Associate of Applied Science degree program on July 23, 2012. Complainant was dropped from the program on April 5, 2013 after being terminated from her two externship sites and the subsequent violation of the Satisfactory Academic Progress ("SAP") policy. Complainant initialed and signed an Enrollment Agreement Addendum and Disclosures form that confirmed Complainant received a copy of the 2011-2013 School Catalog that outlines the SAP policy. On Page 90 SAP is explained as follows: "Federal regulations require Heald College to establish satisfactory progress standards for financial aid recipients. Student are required to make satisfactory academic progress towards graduation in order to be eligible to receive loans, grants and other funding and to be in good academic standing with the College. The Satisfactory Academic Progress (SAP) Standards apply to all students at Heald including those students who do not receive financial aid. The SAP standards shown in the table below define the minimum requirements for academic progress. At each evaluation point, each student's cumulative grade point average and completion percentage rate is reviewed to determine if s/he is meeting the standards." The Catalog continues to provide a detailed breakdown on the evaluation point, the minimum cumulative GPA and minimum successful completion percentage. Additionally, the Catalog provides detailed information on the possible grade a student could earn, whether that course would then count as credits attempted, credits completed, and if the grade would then be calculated in the GPA. The Catalog also states that "a student may be dismissed is at any point in the SAP process it is determined that he/she: cannot complete his/her program of study in 150% of their program requirement." Students are in compliance with the SAP guidelines if they are on schedule to complete or successfully complete their total program units with 150% of the total program units. For Complainant, her program required 98 units therefore her 150% timeframe would be a maximum of 147 attempted units. Due to Complainant's multiple course failures and repeated courses, Complainant was advised of her issues with SAP on multiple occasions. On October 26, 2010 Complainant was placed on a "warning" for the October term informing her that she was in danger violating the 150% SAP policy. During this meeting, Complainant was advised that only 10 additional units could be attempted and failed before she would be dismissed for violating the 150% SAP policy. On January 21, 2011 Complainant signed an Academic Improvement Plan (AIP) placing her again on a "warning" for the January term informing her that she was 6 units from violating the 150% SAP policy. An additional SAP calculation was completed on June 6, 2012 during Complainant's re-enrollment process. At this time Complainant had attempted 119 units. Using the SAP guidelines of completing a program within 150% of the program requirement, Complainant was left with only 4 additional units that could be attempted and failed before violating the 150% SAP policy. Because of her continued course failures, Complainant was required to repeat multiple courses. During the July 2012 term Complainant earned an "F" in Clinical and Diagnostic Procedures, MEDASST215 and earned a "D" in Medical Laboratory Procedures, MEDASST220. Complainant retook the courses the following term and earned a "C" in both courses. In this same term Complainant earned an "F" in Communication for Healthcare Professionals. She was required to repeat the course in the following term. Complainant was finally placed at an externship site on January 18, 2013 and was dismissed for wearing inappropriate attire and substandard performance. Complainant was then placed at a second externship site on March 4, 2013. The School received feedback from her second site stating the she was not responding to her supervisor. The School immediately discussed the concerns with Complainant the same day. On Complainant's second day, March 5, 2013, the supervisor of the second externship site informed the School that the Complainant failed to respond to feedback from her supervisor and made patients at the office uncomfortable, for which they dismissed Complainant. Complainant was subsequently dropped from her externship site. Complainant failed to successfully complete all of her coursework with in the 147 units specified by the 150% SAP policy. Complainant attempted 159 units and was still in need of 8 units to graduate. Complainant was then withdrawn from the program for failing to meet the 150% SAP requirements. Complainant completed multiple copies of MA Student Acknowledgement Form in preparation for her externship. She initialed and signed the form on July 30, 2012 and again on October 22, 2012. The form includes a clause stating the following: "I understand that if my externship is terminated due to misconduct on my part; I may be required to forfeit my externship; I may receive a failing grade; and I may need to re-enroll in the externship course in the following quarter. This will delay my graduation." Complainant's initials next to this clause and signature on the bottom of the form indicate her understanding of the policy. Based on Complainant's dismissal from multiple sites, Complainant earned an "F" for her externship. On April 15, 2013 an additional Academic Advising form was completed and Complainant was dismissed for violating the SAP policy. Complainant did not successfully complete her program with 150% of the program requirement for time. Based on the previously outlined federal regulation and the School policy Complainant it is not possible for Complainant to complete her program and graduate as she has already exceeded the maximum timeframe allowed. Based on the above information the School is unable to grant Complainant's request to graduate from the School due to her inability to meet the Satisfactory Academic Progress requirements. The School considers this matter resolved and asks that the BBB also find in favor and close the complaint. We again thank the BBB for this opportunity to address Complainant's concerns and to demonstrate the School's commitment to the BBB's principles and purposes. Sincerely, Rianne Connor Corinthian Colleges Student Services Specialist (800) 611-2101, ext. 4680 Cc to file: Kandinisha Batts

5/17/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Heald admissions advisor said there'd be financial aid funds left after tuition&books to help w/ my transportation costs.I never got 1 cent. Before even enrolling in Heald College, I repeatedly told Admissions Advisor **** ********* on january 17th of last year, that I was unemployed and had no income of any kind. My primary concern at this point was not so much; could I get into Heald? but rather could I get to Heald? I stressed the importance of having funds made available to me to help pay for my transportation costs (be it gas for my Lodi/Stockton commute or round trip Smart Bus fare) I was assured without hesitation that there would be adequate money left for me from my Financial Aid Award, after of course tuition and books were paid for.After telling me what I needed to hear, they set their hooks in me and whisked me off to the Financial Aid Department for processing. Here ********** teamed up with **** ********* to help close the deal. They both seemed so understanding of my concerns that I felt they would do anything they possible could to help my situation and get me enrolled in their institution.The way I see it now, they knew they had to manipulate the form (which I'll call the "Heald/****** Balance Sheet) so that it produced favorable results on the bottom line, which shows "Remaining Investment". It wasn't until their third try of playing with the numbers for Expenses versus Estimated Financial Aid Reward, that they were able to generate the deal maker, a surplus of almost $300.00 per quarter (at least in theory) Ihave all three of these "Heald/****** Balance Sheets, and after really studying them, I have to admit they really know how to work it. What they did was change the number of units from 12(full time) to 9-11(3/4 time) which coorespondingly drops tuition from $4,930.00 to $3,700.00, allowing for $283.00 they said to be left over for me. However, when the "official" Award letter came February 24th, 5 weeks later and a full month into the quarter,it became clear how they tricked me. That third "Balance Sheet", which was stamped "COMPLETED" and even initialed, was the one that they used to close the deal, leaving me to believe that I was going to get a check. They played along real well too. I couldn't even tell how many times within the first month of school that I was given the old "check is in the mail " routine. Those same people who were so helpful signing me up and really knowledgeable about the whole process, were suddenly all either clueless or unavailable.Heald staff successfully passed me off, put me off on someone else or completely ran me around long enough that unfortunately I missed the deadline to drop classes.The whole time I was having to beg, borrow, but not yet steal to get to school a couple two-three times a week. My attendance problem only got worse, so bad that in a March 29th letter, *** ******, Student Services Advisor, wrote to me asking if there was something she could do to assist me in completing the quarter.When I told her my situation, she told me I'd have to take it up with financial aid department. On page 91 of the Heald College Academic Catalog, it says that "students are evaluated for satisfactory academic progress after every quarter." If that is true, wouldn't three classes all with a "w" be a red flag? This obviously makes the student ineligible for Pell Grant funds the following quarter, yet Heald , in their ultimate wisdom thought it best to keep steamrolling this turnip.

Desired Settlement: I feel that Heald College should at very least squash the balance of $4584.47 they say I owe.That figure has been jacked up anyway, because my second quarter tuition for 10 units should only be $3,700.00. I will still have to pay my lender back $3,167.00, penalty enough for allowing myself to be duped by opportunistic head hunters.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Thank you providing me with the opportunity to respond to this complaint. Our admissions advisor, ******, did not make, and could not have made, any promises to ****** regarding receiving extra funds from her financial aid package as admissions advisors have no knowledge of what the finacial aid packaging will be unless the student chooses to share that information with his or her admissions advisor. Additionally, the financial aid advisor who assisted ******, offered her different scenarios at her request and let ****** choose the one that she thought best for her. ****** enrolled for the January 2012 term and was scheduled for 14 units to begin the term, her courses were:English 10, Computer Applications 100, Success 100, and Criminal Justice 105. January 2012 Term: ****** did not attend her Criminal Justice 105 class and was withdrawn from that class on 2/15/12 due to her non-attendance. ****** attended her Computer Applications 100 and Success 100 classes on dates 1/31/12 and 2/2/12 only, and was withdrawn from those classes on 2/21/12 due to lack of attendance after those specific dates listed. ****** was withdrawn from 11 of her 14 units, due to very poor attendance, and only remained enrolled in Engl 10 (3 units). ******'s lack of attendance and subsequent reduction in units caused her to be ineligible for her financial aid funding as student may only receive federal funding if they are enrolled in at least 6 units. ****** rendered herself ineligible for federal funding through her lack of attendance, subsequent withdrawal from class and reduction in units. April 2012 Term: ****** was scheduled in 10 units to begin the term and her classes were: Computer Applications 100, Criminal Justice 105, and Office Skills 101. ****** did not attend Criminal Justice 105 and was withdrawn from that class on 5/7/12 due to non-attendance. ****** was then withdrawn from the college on 6/5/12 for lack of attendance in her classes. As ****** was withdrawn prior to her federal loans being received at the college, we could not accept those loans and they had to be returned to the original lender. This left ****** with a balance owed to the school, since her loans could not be used to cover her prorated costs. ******'s lack of attendance in her classes caused her to be withdrawn from her classes, which led to her reduction in enrolled units, which made her ineligible for the federal funding that she was expecting. ****** is responsible for the pro-rated costs that she incurred, in accordance with the enrollment agreement that she initialed and signed on 1/17/12.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Heald College's response missed the whole point of the complaint. I already know that poor attendance was the reason for my failure at Heald, but the information you provided certainly shows that you keep detailed records of a student's units. Why is it then that the scenario that I chose, the one stamped completed and initialed by the financial aid officer, the one that had me set for 3/4 time and a $283.00 remaining investment, was not followed when you instead scheduled me for 14 units of full-time schooling and zero dollars of remaining investment? Now do you understand the point of the complaint? That "remaining investment" of $283.00 that was so diligently worked out for me, and would have helped with my transportation costs, never came through!

4/8/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: This school owes me money for a loan that was a mistake. In January 2013, Heald College told me I was required to pull out a genesis loan in the amount of $2,900 to cover a balance I had on my account. After I signed my loan documents, I received an account printout from ****** ******* in the Business Office. I only had an account balance of $222. There was a credit balance of $3400 that the school needed to pay me. I received a check in the amount of $221 in February 2013. I then spoke to the president, ***** ***** regarding this issue. Mr. ***** pulled the directed of financial aid into the office with me and she stated the Genesis Loan was pulled out in error and they could refund me the money to pay the loan off. Mr. ***** also e-mail the director of the Business Office, ***** ******, who told him they could provide me with the check. Unfortunately, ***** ****** no longer works at Heald College. I have since been e-mail Mr. ***** regarding this missing check. He is sending me into circles regarding this issue, does not return phone calls or e-mails. I want this issue resolved as soon as possible.

Desired Settlement: I want to be refunded the full amount of the loan.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** ******, President Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ***** I emailed ****** on 3/8/13, 3/19/13 and 3/20/13. In her last email to me on 3/20/13, she stated that she understood my explanation regarding her financial aid. I asked ****** to come in to meet with me so that we could discuss her concerns, but due to her busy schedule, she was not able to come in and meet with me. Additionally, ****** has been in communication with ******, the Financial Aid Supervisor, and ****** is answering her questions. ****** is continuing to receive receive more information from ******, who is gladly answering all of her new questions. ****** received some of her Pell funds early in her academic award year, and therefore, did not have enough Pell funding toward the end of her academic year. The lack of remaining Pell funding caused a shortage of available funding to cover her costs, therefore, a genesis loan was required to cover the difference. ****** agreed to, and signed for, the genesis loan. We will continue to communicate regularly with ****** and answer all of her questions.