BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Northeast California

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Heald College meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Heald College include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Heald College
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: March 09, 1990 Business started: 01/01/1908 Business started locally: 01/01/1908 Business incorporated: 08/19/1996 in DE
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Guy Adams, Director Ms. Ada Gerard, Campus President Ms. Vernonica Layman, HR Cordinator/President's Assistant Mr. Ezra Salas, Director of Admissions Katherine Valencia, assistant to director
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Guy Adams, Director
Business Category

Schools - Academic - Colleges & Universities Schools - Private


Additional Locations

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (209) 416-3700(Phone)
  • (209) 473-5200(Phone)
  • (209) 477-1114(Phone)
  • (800) 690-1617(Phone)
  • (800) 755-3550(Phone)
  • (916) 638-1616(Phone)
  • (209) 473-5287 (Fax)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

6/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I've been going to Heald College for too long and still have not graduated on time like I should have. My complaint is I'm having to repeat my classes and I don't think its necessary when I'm already at the end.

Desired Settlement: To graduate from Heald College without any other issues.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Hello, The individual making this complaint was a student at Heald College in Stockton, but her academic progress has been below the standard required to progress toward graduation. I understand her desire to become a college graduate, however, this student must meet our academic requirements for graduation in order to graduate. In her first term, July 2008, she withdrew from both of her classes (Math 10 and Office Skills 101), therefore she earned zero units. In her April, 2009 term, she failed Anatomy/Physiology. In her July, 2009 term she withdrew from Anatomy/Physiology. In her January 2010 term she failed Introduction to Medical Transcription. In her April 2010 term, she failed Contemporary Literature-Cultueral Perspectives, and also failed Pharmacology/Dosage Calculations. In her July 2010 term, she withdrew from Pharmacology/Dosage Calculations. In her October 2010 term, she withdrew from Contemporary Literature-Cultueral Perspectives. In her July 2012 term, she failed Clinical and Diagnostic procedures. In her October 2012 term, she failed Communication for Healthcare Professionals. In her January 2013 term, she failed Medical Assisting Special Projects and was withdrawn from her Medical Assisting Externship Class. The reason that she was withdrawn from her Externship Class was becasue two different externship sites terminated her for poor performance during the same term. This student has been advised by her Program Directors on numerous occassions and the campus offers tutoring at no cost 6 days per week. This student is not eligible to graduate due to failing and withdrawing from numerous classes, in addition to being terminated from two different externship sites.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) im not satisfied with the results of my experience at heald college of stockton due to not being able to graduate with my medical assisting degree that i almost finished my experience at heald has not been satisfactory and the way i would like to proceed with this matter is to complete my degree at heald college and be able to graduate and hopefully get a job which they are suppost to help you get when you finish school and if i cant complete my degree in stockon it can be at another campus that accepts me.

Business' Final Response
May 17, 2013 Better Business Bureau, Inc. 1000 Broadway, Suite 625 Oakland, CA 94607 RE: Kandinisha Batts- Complaint Case#: 65030077 We received the complaint referenced above from Kandinisha Batts ("Complainant"). Heald College, Stockton (the "School") thanks the Better Business Bureau (the "BBB") for this opportunity to respond to Complainant's concerns and hopes that our response satisfactorily demonstrates the School's appreciation of the BBB's principles and purposes. The School is pleased to provide the BBB with information that it believes will be highly relevant to the BBB's evaluation of Complainant's concerns and the appropriateness of the School's response. Based on said request, the School addresses the following allegations: (1). Complainant has "passed all the required classes and all I need to complete to get me degree is my externship." Complainant is incorrect in her statement that she has passed all of the required courses to earn her degree. Complainant changed her program multiple times and struggled to maintain an acceptable grade point average ("GPA"). Complainant began the Dental Assisting Associate of Applied Science degree program on July 21, 2008 and after withdrawing from her first term, including MATH10 Essential Math, and OFFSKLS101, Keyboarding, Complainant switched into the Criminal Justice Administration Associate of Applied Science degree program in October 2008. Complainant completed one term and earned two "C' grades and then switched programs again and entered the Medical Assisting Associate of Applied Science degree program on January 20, 2009. Complainant attempted 119 total credits in the Medical Assisting program, only successfully completing 94 of those credits with a 2.40 GPA before she applied for a Leave of Absence, with a scheduled return date of July 18, 2011. Complainant failed to return to the School after her LOA. On June 18, 2012 Complainant completed re-entry paperwork and was re-admitted to the Medical Assisting Associate of Applied Science degree program on July 23, 2012. Complainant was dropped from the program on April 5, 2013 after being terminated from her two externship sites and the subsequent violation of the Satisfactory Academic Progress ("SAP") policy. Complainant initialed and signed an Enrollment Agreement Addendum and Disclosures form that confirmed Complainant received a copy of the 2011-2013 School Catalog that outlines the SAP policy. On Page 90 SAP is explained as follows: "Federal regulations require Heald College to establish satisfactory progress standards for financial aid recipients. Student are required to make satisfactory academic progress towards graduation in order to be eligible to receive loans, grants and other funding and to be in good academic standing with the College. The Satisfactory Academic Progress (SAP) Standards apply to all students at Heald including those students who do not receive financial aid. The SAP standards shown in the table below define the minimum requirements for academic progress. At each evaluation point, each student's cumulative grade point average and completion percentage rate is reviewed to determine if s/he is meeting the standards." The Catalog continues to provide a detailed breakdown on the evaluation point, the minimum cumulative GPA and minimum successful completion percentage. Additionally, the Catalog provides detailed information on the possible grade a student could earn, whether that course would then count as credits attempted, credits completed, and if the grade would then be calculated in the GPA. The Catalog also states that "a student may be dismissed is at any point in the SAP process it is determined that he/she: cannot complete his/her program of study in 150% of their program requirement." Students are in compliance with the SAP guidelines if they are on schedule to complete or successfully complete their total program units with 150% of the total program units. For Complainant, her program required 98 units therefore her 150% timeframe would be a maximum of 147 attempted units. Due to Complainant's multiple course failures and repeated courses, Complainant was advised of her issues with SAP on multiple occasions. On October 26, 2010 Complainant was placed on a "warning" for the October term informing her that she was in danger violating the 150% SAP policy. During this meeting, Complainant was advised that only 10 additional units could be attempted and failed before she would be dismissed for violating the 150% SAP policy. On January 21, 2011 Complainant signed an Academic Improvement Plan (AIP) placing her again on a "warning" for the January term informing her that she was 6 units from violating the 150% SAP policy. An additional SAP calculation was completed on June 6, 2012 during Complainant's re-enrollment process. At this time Complainant had attempted 119 units. Using the SAP guidelines of completing a program within 150% of the program requirement, Complainant was left with only 4 additional units that could be attempted and failed before violating the 150% SAP policy. Because of her continued course failures, Complainant was required to repeat multiple courses. During the July 2012 term Complainant earned an "F" in Clinical and Diagnostic Procedures, MEDASST215 and earned a "D" in Medical Laboratory Procedures, MEDASST220. Complainant retook the courses the following term and earned a "C" in both courses. In this same term Complainant earned an "F" in Communication for Healthcare Professionals. She was required to repeat the course in the following term. Complainant was finally placed at an externship site on January 18, 2013 and was dismissed for wearing inappropriate attire and substandard performance. Complainant was then placed at a second externship site on March 4, 2013. The School received feedback from her second site stating the she was not responding to her supervisor. The School immediately discussed the concerns with Complainant the same day. On Complainant's second day, March 5, 2013, the supervisor of the second externship site informed the School that the Complainant failed to respond to feedback from her supervisor and made patients at the office uncomfortable, for which they dismissed Complainant. Complainant was subsequently dropped from her externship site. Complainant failed to successfully complete all of her coursework with in the 147 units specified by the 150% SAP policy. Complainant attempted 159 units and was still in need of 8 units to graduate. Complainant was then withdrawn from the program for failing to meet the 150% SAP requirements. Complainant completed multiple copies of MA Student Acknowledgement Form in preparation for her externship. She initialed and signed the form on July 30, 2012 and again on October 22, 2012. The form includes a clause stating the following: "I understand that if my externship is terminated due to misconduct on my part; I may be required to forfeit my externship; I may receive a failing grade; and I may need to re-enroll in the externship course in the following quarter. This will delay my graduation." Complainant's initials next to this clause and signature on the bottom of the form indicate her understanding of the policy. Based on Complainant's dismissal from multiple sites, Complainant earned an "F" for her externship. On April 15, 2013 an additional Academic Advising form was completed and Complainant was dismissed for violating the SAP policy. Complainant did not successfully complete her program with 150% of the program requirement for time. Based on the previously outlined federal regulation and the School policy Complainant it is not possible for Complainant to complete her program and graduate as she has already exceeded the maximum timeframe allowed. Based on the above information the School is unable to grant Complainant's request to graduate from the School due to her inability to meet the Satisfactory Academic Progress requirements. The School considers this matter resolved and asks that the BBB also find in favor and close the complaint. We again thank the BBB for this opportunity to address Complainant's concerns and to demonstrate the School's commitment to the BBB's principles and purposes. Sincerely, Rianne Connor Corinthian Colleges Student Services Specialist (800) 611-2101, ext. 4680 Cc to file: Kandinisha Batts

5/17/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Heald admissions advisor said there'd be financial aid funds left after tuition&books to help w/ my transportation costs.I never got 1 cent. Before even enrolling in Heald College, I repeatedly told Admissions Advisor **** ********* on january 17th of last year, that I was unemployed and had no income of any kind. My primary concern at this point was not so much; could I get into Heald? but rather could I get to Heald? I stressed the importance of having funds made available to me to help pay for my transportation costs (be it gas for my Lodi/Stockton commute or round trip Smart Bus fare) I was assured without hesitation that there would be adequate money left for me from my Financial Aid Award, after of course tuition and books were paid for.After telling me what I needed to hear, they set their hooks in me and whisked me off to the Financial Aid Department for processing. Here ********** teamed up with **** ********* to help close the deal. They both seemed so understanding of my concerns that I felt they would do anything they possible could to help my situation and get me enrolled in their institution.The way I see it now, they knew they had to manipulate the form (which I'll call the "Heald/****** Balance Sheet) so that it produced favorable results on the bottom line, which shows "Remaining Investment". It wasn't until their third try of playing with the numbers for Expenses versus Estimated Financial Aid Reward, that they were able to generate the deal maker, a surplus of almost $300.00 per quarter (at least in theory) Ihave all three of these "Heald/****** Balance Sheets, and after really studying them, I have to admit they really know how to work it. What they did was change the number of units from 12(full time) to 9-11(3/4 time) which coorespondingly drops tuition from $4,930.00 to $3,700.00, allowing for $283.00 they said to be left over for me. However, when the "official" Award letter came February 24th, 5 weeks later and a full month into the quarter,it became clear how they tricked me. That third "Balance Sheet", which was stamped "COMPLETED" and even initialed, was the one that they used to close the deal, leaving me to believe that I was going to get a check. They played along real well too. I couldn't even tell how many times within the first month of school that I was given the old "check is in the mail " routine. Those same people who were so helpful signing me up and really knowledgeable about the whole process, were suddenly all either clueless or unavailable.Heald staff successfully passed me off, put me off on someone else or completely ran me around long enough that unfortunately I missed the deadline to drop classes.The whole time I was having to beg, borrow, but not yet steal to get to school a couple two-three times a week. My attendance problem only got worse, so bad that in a March 29th letter, *** ******, Student Services Advisor, wrote to me asking if there was something she could do to assist me in completing the quarter.When I told her my situation, she told me I'd have to take it up with financial aid department. On page 91 of the Heald College Academic Catalog, it says that "students are evaluated for satisfactory academic progress after every quarter." If that is true, wouldn't three classes all with a "w" be a red flag? This obviously makes the student ineligible for Pell Grant funds the following quarter, yet Heald , in their ultimate wisdom thought it best to keep steamrolling this turnip.

Desired Settlement: I feel that Heald College should at very least squash the balance of $4584.47 they say I owe.That figure has been jacked up anyway, because my second quarter tuition for 10 units should only be $3,700.00. I will still have to pay my lender back $3,167.00, penalty enough for allowing myself to be duped by opportunistic head hunters.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Thank you providing me with the opportunity to respond to this complaint. Our admissions advisor, ******, did not make, and could not have made, any promises to ****** regarding receiving extra funds from her financial aid package as admissions advisors have no knowledge of what the finacial aid packaging will be unless the student chooses to share that information with his or her admissions advisor. Additionally, the financial aid advisor who assisted ******, offered her different scenarios at her request and let ****** choose the one that she thought best for her. ****** enrolled for the January 2012 term and was scheduled for 14 units to begin the term, her courses were:English 10, Computer Applications 100, Success 100, and Criminal Justice 105. January 2012 Term: ****** did not attend her Criminal Justice 105 class and was withdrawn from that class on 2/15/12 due to her non-attendance. ****** attended her Computer Applications 100 and Success 100 classes on dates 1/31/12 and 2/2/12 only, and was withdrawn from those classes on 2/21/12 due to lack of attendance after those specific dates listed. ****** was withdrawn from 11 of her 14 units, due to very poor attendance, and only remained enrolled in Engl 10 (3 units). ******'s lack of attendance and subsequent reduction in units caused her to be ineligible for her financial aid funding as student may only receive federal funding if they are enrolled in at least 6 units. ****** rendered herself ineligible for federal funding through her lack of attendance, subsequent withdrawal from class and reduction in units. April 2012 Term: ****** was scheduled in 10 units to begin the term and her classes were: Computer Applications 100, Criminal Justice 105, and Office Skills 101. ****** did not attend Criminal Justice 105 and was withdrawn from that class on 5/7/12 due to non-attendance. ****** was then withdrawn from the college on 6/5/12 for lack of attendance in her classes. As ****** was withdrawn prior to her federal loans being received at the college, we could not accept those loans and they had to be returned to the original lender. This left ****** with a balance owed to the school, since her loans could not be used to cover her prorated costs. ******'s lack of attendance in her classes caused her to be withdrawn from her classes, which led to her reduction in enrolled units, which made her ineligible for the federal funding that she was expecting. ****** is responsible for the pro-rated costs that she incurred, in accordance with the enrollment agreement that she initialed and signed on 1/17/12.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Heald College's response missed the whole point of the complaint. I already know that poor attendance was the reason for my failure at Heald, but the information you provided certainly shows that you keep detailed records of a student's units. Why is it then that the scenario that I chose, the one stamped completed and initialed by the financial aid officer, the one that had me set for 3/4 time and a $283.00 remaining investment, was not followed when you instead scheduled me for 14 units of full-time schooling and zero dollars of remaining investment? Now do you understand the point of the complaint? That "remaining investment" of $283.00 that was so diligently worked out for me, and would have helped with my transportation costs, never came through!

4/8/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This school owes me money for a loan that was a mistake. In January 2013, Heald College told me I was required to pull out a genesis loan in the amount of $2,900 to cover a balance I had on my account. After I signed my loan documents, I received an account printout from ****** ******* in the Business Office. I only had an account balance of $222. There was a credit balance of $3400 that the school needed to pay me. I received a check in the amount of $221 in February 2013. I then spoke to the president, ***** ***** regarding this issue. Mr. ***** pulled the directed of financial aid into the office with me and she stated the Genesis Loan was pulled out in error and they could refund me the money to pay the loan off. Mr. ***** also e-mail the director of the Business Office, ***** ******, who told him they could provide me with the check. Unfortunately, ***** ****** no longer works at Heald College. I have since been e-mail Mr. ***** regarding this missing check. He is sending me into circles regarding this issue, does not return phone calls or e-mails. I want this issue resolved as soon as possible.

Desired Settlement: I want to be refunded the full amount of the loan.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** ******, President Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *****@heald.edu I emailed ****** on 3/8/13, 3/19/13 and 3/20/13. In her last email to me on 3/20/13, she stated that she understood my explanation regarding her financial aid. I asked ****** to come in to meet with me so that we could discuss her concerns, but due to her busy schedule, she was not able to come in and meet with me. Additionally, ****** has been in communication with ******, the Financial Aid Supervisor, and ****** is answering her questions. ****** is continuing to receive receive more information from ******, who is gladly answering all of her new questions. ****** received some of her Pell funds early in her academic award year, and therefore, did not have enough Pell funding toward the end of her academic year. The lack of remaining Pell funding caused a shortage of available funding to cover her costs, therefore, a genesis loan was required to cover the difference. ****** agreed to, and signed for, the genesis loan. We will continue to communicate regularly with ****** and answer all of her questions.

10/22/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Was told four days before my graduation I had to take out a $4,500 loan to graduate and finish the quarter.Also mis represented degree in enrollment. I went to Heald College in April of 2008 because they were offering degree in Sales and Marketing.I was told by ****** ****** when I went to register that thcampus did not offer that major but I would be allowed to transfer to Rancho Cordova campus in my last quarter to finish my degreeI was also told by ****** ****** it would be in my best interest to leave ARC College in the middle of the semester because the classes I was taking would not be transferable.She led me to believe I would be receiving an AA and told me the benefit to Heald was lifetime job placement.She said they had many business connections and over 90% of the graduates were placed into jobs.I went every quarter in person and met with the Director of Business topick the classes I needed for my degree.I was told I could take the classes for my emphasis online instead of attending another campus.I took numerous classes for my emphasis online, and paid an additional $175 dollar enrollment for each online class.The director was fired abruptly without any explanation.After **** was fired I went into make sure I was still on track and found out from the new director of business, just before my last quarter, that if I wanted my emphasis I would have to attend an additional quarter.I spoke with the staff at the school andI was told there was no one to blame but me for the mess up in my program.I also found out that I was receiving an A.A.S. and not an AA; and, if I wanted the AA it would cost me another 10 thousand dollars.I had never even heard of an AAS until this conversation.Also,I retook numerous classes that I had transferred from other schools, and the classes I was told would not transfer from ARC absolutely would have!I was called in halfway through my program to fill out my second financial aid.I was very upset because I was told in orientation I had been awarded all I needed to graduate;I was already half way completed with my program.I again 01/02/08 was told that I had received the rest of my financial aid to finish.I went back into financial aid that April to defer my existing loans and I was told once again I had enough money financed to finish my degree.A week before I was supposed to graduatethey told me I owed another 4,500 dollars!I was told I had to take out a private loan from the school in order to graduate that week!When I refused I was told I would absolutely not be able to graduate and I would still owe the money and I would not be allowed back on campus to finish the quarter!I do not understand why was I not told at the beginning of the quarter and given the choice then, not after services have already been "rendered"(according to Heald faculty).I graduated with a degree with no emphasis, and I am in 16 thousand dollar debt for an AASwhich has helped me not at all in the business world.The Sales and Marketing degree was the only reason I went to Heald in the first place!At first I applied to every job lead they sent me until the director of career services sent me a few leads from Craigslist that turned out to be Nigerian scams;also ALL of the job leads they sent me only required a High School diploma or GED.Certainly these are jobs that would have been available to me without wasting money and time!I called them back a year after graduation and was denied any help at all.I was told by Ms.Buckwalter that the job leads were meant for recent graduates only.

Desired Settlement: I discovered that I received a$4,310 Pell grant from the NSDLS website.I have 2 1/2 years of emails back and forth with **** ****** and ******* ********* where they are stating they only received 1,200 of the $4,310.I have sent them copies of the NSDLS website that shows they received the full Pell.I did have to take a leave of absence from school in the last quarter of 2008 because of a family issue.I met with Cherie Tullis and she helped me get the paperwork to do a leave of absence that quarter and she was also the one who reenrolled me in January of 2009.The school at one point claimed I completely withdrew from school and that is why I did not receive the full Pell, however,I was only gone a single quarter and came back and finished a 6 quarter program in 5.Every quarter I attended I took over a full time schedule and at one point I was even taking 24 units at a time.When I met with Cherie she never mentioned any implications for taking a quarter off and never informed me that I even needed to discuss the decision with financial aid.The only reason I can foresee the full Pell not being awarded would be that financial aid never went back and updated my enrollment status for continuing the Grant. Regardless, I attached the print out from NSDLS that clearly shows Heald received a $4,310 award and this print out was from 2010 well after I graduated.Last week was the first time I received a letter regarding this loan.The letter was dated in the heading of July 20th and I had 30 days to respond; however, it was post marked Aug 2nd.I called to let them know I was actively disputing the loan and they told me they were not collecting on a loan they were collecting on an outstanding balance of $4,500.I emailed the woman I have been disputing the loan with to find out if this was in excess to the loan, but somehow the defaulted loan has magically turned into an outstanding balance and the loan no longer exists!The customer service representative from the number I called on the letter has told me on 8/6/12 and 8/13/12 that they are unable to dispute the loan.I signed a document in my exit interview stating my loans totaled to just under $16,000.Once I started receiving statements to repay the loans I realized it was closer to $22,000!When I asked the school they claimed they did not know what I was talking about even though I had the paper from my exit interview in hand.They told me it does not matter what I signed upon graduation it only matters who's coming after me to get repaid.I have had a total of 15 separate loans taken out on my behalf and was not aware of how many until six months after my graduation.I had no idea I even received a Pell Grant until I went back to figure out the financial mess I was left with after my graduation.I am seeking the claimed outstanding debt be cleared due to the fact that I was not told about this debt until a few days before my graduation.If I was told in January or in April of 2009 I would have refused it and used my right to transfer schools.I would never have agreed to an additional $4500 loan in April of 2009 because I was already receiving repayment notices for about $16000.The minimum payments at that time were over four hundred dollars a month and I could not afford them; hence the reason I went into financial aid in April of 2009 to defer my loans.I have yet to find a job utilizing this degree and my current University was only able to transfer a hand full of the classes I took at Heald because they view them as inadequate. I would like the full $4,500 claimed outstanding debt to be clear from my name for the reasons stated above.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
We received the complaint referenced above from ****** ****** ("Complainant"). Heald College, Roseville (the "School") thanks the Better Business Bureau (the "BBB") for this opportunity to respond to Complainant's concerns and hopes this response satisfactorily demonstrates the School's appreciation of the BBB's principles and purposes. The School is pleased to provide the BBB with additional information that it believes will be highly relevant to the BBB's evaluation of Complainant's concerns and the appropriateness of the School's response. In her letter, Complainant makes several allegations that the BBB requests the School to address. Based on said request, the School addresses the following questions and allegations: (1.) Complainant was not enrolled in the correct program, Complainant claims she was interested in an AA degree in Sales and Marketing but instead completed an Associate in Applied Science, AAS, in Business Administration; (2.) Complainant was unaware of the total cost of program, length of program, and courses needed to graduate; (3.) Complainant's PELL Grant was not awarded appropriately based on enrollment status; and (4.) Complainant has not received support from Career Services or secured a job in her field. The School is pleased to provide the BBB with additional information that it believes will be highly relevant to the BBB's evaluation of Complainant's concerns and the appropriateness of the School's response. In short, Complainant has made allegations which misrepresent the facts of the situation. Complainant signed an Enrollment Agreement, dated April 9th, 2008 indicating her program of study, "Business Administration - No Program Emphasis." Below is the Enrollment Agreement which indicates the program choice and clarifies the policy for earning an additional AAS degree: Complainant acknowledged and initialed that she received the School catalog, which states, "I have or will read it, and I agree to be bound by its contents" and details her program of choice. Complainant's signature on these documents demonstrates her understanding of the program choice. Complainant alleges that she was not informed of the financial responsibility and obligations to complete her degree program. The Enrollment Agreement discloses cost of attendance and the total length of Complainant's chosen program. Below shows the quarterly tuition schedule and estimated cost. Complaint signed this document as part of the Enrollment Agreement: Additionally, Complainant takes issue with the total amount of her loan once she "started receiving statements and realized it was closer to $22,000". Complainant withdrew from the School in October of 2009 and completed an Exit Interview for financial aid. Complainant completed the "Student Loan Quiz" below, dated September 8th, 2009, from edfund.org where Complainant details her loan balance and her interest rate. Complainant's approximated loan balance of $22,000 is possible given the accrual of a 6.8% interest rate on a $15,501. Federal loan. It is unclear why Complainant takes issue with her current loan balance based on the information reviewed at the time of her withdrawal from the School. Complainant also initialed the section below of the Enrollment Agreement during the admissions process addressing both Financial Aid repayment and PELL eligibility. It is unclear why Complainant states that she was unaware of her PELL grant, or the total cost of the program and her financial obligations based on the above referenced documents and campus documentation that details communication with student about grant eligibility and the need to secure additional funding to complete her program. Complainant alleges that she did not receive support from the Career Services department and that she "has yet to find a job utilizing this degree" and further alleges that she was "denied any help at all." It is unclear why Complainant makes these allegations. The School's student record management system details communication and job postings discussed with Complainant from September 2009 through October 2009. In October 2009 Complainant begins to decline job opportunities due to a pregnancy. Finally, in November of 2009 Complainant's employment at "Cost U Less Insurance" was verified and confirmed to be in her field of study. In light of the above, we are surprised that Complainant has requested that the School "clear her balance." Complainant was an active student from April 21, 2008 until October 1, 2009, and earned a Business Administration Associate in Applied Science, AAS Degree with a 3.92 CGPA. As indicated herein, the School has provided the education contracted with the Complainant, and therefore, the School respectfully declines the request for a refund. Complainant again states that she would like to be absolved of her financial responsibility. Complainant was fully aware of the financial arrangements she agreed to regarding tuition funding. Complainant read and signed a binding contract with her lenders and is legally responsible for her own educational expenses incurred during the period of enrollment. Complainant enrolled into the program, completed financial arrangements and was entitled to all the privileges of attending classes, taking examinations, receiving grade reports, securing course credit, being graduated and using the Career Services Office. As the School fulfilled its portion of the contract by providing the services mentioned above, Complainant is still held responsible regarding re-payment. Following a careful reading of the pertinent documentation and discussions with the relevant people, we respectfully request that the BBB close this complaint. We again thank the BBB for this opportunity to address Complainant's questions and concerns and to demonstrate the School's commitment to the BBB's principles and purposes. Please do not hesitate to contact me at (800) XXX-XXXX ext. 4680 or *****@cci.edu. Sincerely, ****** ******, Student Services Specialist Corinthian Colleges, Inc. Phone: (714) XXX-XXXX cc to file: ****** ******

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) As I have stated from the beginning of this complaint my dispute is not with my existing FedLoan debt, my dispute is the $4,500 I was not told about until the week of my graduation.I was pulled out of class literally the week before my graduation and told I would have to take out another loan at %12 interest in order to graduate, finish the quarter, or even be allowed to return to class AND still be liable for the debt. Schools are supposed to have forth coming financial practices and to me this practice was neither forthcoming nor ethical.I was strong armed with out any other options.If I was told at the beginning of the quarter I would have had to take out another loan I would have exercised my right to transfer schools; I was denied that right.Furthermore, this is the first time in the complaint process the school has said it was a loan. From the numerous email I have with the staff at Heald and the phone calls to the Financial Services Department I have been told it is not a debt, but a balance due. I was told I had to accept the terms of the $4,500 loan before the end of the quarter and before graduation. I was not told about nor given an option to accept this loan within a 30 day period; or look for alternative funding options. "§ 226.48 Limitations on private education loans. Consumer's right to accept. (1) The consumer has the right to accept the terms of a private education loan at any time within 30 calendar days following the date on which the consumer receives the disclosures required under § 226.47(b). (2) Except for changes permitted under paragraphs (c)(3) and (c)(4), the rate and terms of the private education loan that are required to be disclosed under §§ 226.47(b) and (c) may not be changed by the creditor prior to the earlier of: (i) The date of disbursement of the loan; or (ii) The expiration of the 30 calendar day period described in paragraph (c)(1) of this section if the consumer has not accepted the loan within that time. " I was never told about or given the option to cancel the loan: "Consumer's right to cancel. The consumer may cancel a private education loan, without penalty, until midnight of the third business day following the date on which the consumer receives the disclosures required by § 226.47(c). No funds may be disbursed for a private education loan until the three-business day period has expired. (i) The consumer has the right to cancel the loan, without penalty, at any time before the cancellation period under § 1026.48(d) expires, and (ii) Loan proceeds will not be disbursed until after the cancellation period under § 1026.48(d) expires. The statement must include the specific date on which the cancellation period expires and state that the consumer may cancel by that date. The statement must also specify the method or methods by which the consumer may cancel. If the creditor permits cancellation by mail, the statement must specify that the consumer's mailed request will be deemed timely if placed in the mail not later than the cancellation date specified on the disclosure. The disclosures required by this paragraph (c)(4) must be made more conspicuous than any other disclosure required under this section, except for the finance charge, the interest rate, and the creditor's identity, which must be disclosed in accordance with the requirements of § 1026.46(c)(2)(iii)." Upon completing my program I acknowledged in writing $15,501 from Fedloan and Wells Fargo, there was no acknowledgement of a private loan. Furthermore, to date the loan has not been reported under the terms of the following section: "§ 668.6 Reporting and disclosure requirements for programs that prepare students for gainful employment in a recognized occupation. (a) Reporting requirements. (1) In accordance with procedures established by the Secretary an institution must report information that includes- (i) For each student who enrolled in a program under § 668.8(c)(3) or (d) during an award year- (A) Information needed to identify the student and the institution the student attended; (B) If the student began attending a program during the award year, the name and the Classification of Instructional Program (CIP) code of that program; and (C) If the student completed a program during the award year- (1) The name and CIP code of that program, and the date the student completed the program; (2) The amounts the student received from private education loans and the amount from institutional financing plans that the student owes the institution upon completing the program; and (3) Whether the student matriculated to a higher credentialed program at the institution or if available, evidence that the student transferred to a higher credentialed program at another institution; and (ii) For each program, by name and CIP code, offered by the institution under § 668.8(c)(3) or (d), the total number of students that are enrolled in the program at the end of each award year and identifying information for those students. (2) (i) An institution must report the information required under paragraph (a)(1) of this section- (A) No later than October 1, 2011 for information from the XXXX-XX award year to the extent that the information is available; (B) No later than October 1, 2011 for information from the XXXX-XX through 2009-10 award years; and (C) No earlier than September 30, but no later than the date established by the Secretary through a notice published in the Federal Register, for information from the most recently completed award year. (ii) For any award year, if an institution is unable to provide all or some of the information required under paragraph (a)(1) of this section, the institution must provide an explanation of why the missing information is not available. " I was told in enrollment by ****** ****** that I would be allowed to complete my emphasis in Sales and Marketing in my last quarter at a campus that offered the emphasis. She also informed me 90% of graduates were placed in job in the field of their degree. I was also told by ****** Harvey that I could either transfer at the end of my degree or stay on the Roseville campus and complete my desired emphasis in online classes. I followed ****** Harvey's recommendations and took numerous classes at an inflated rate in order to complete the emphasis on time and within the scope of my degree term; subsequently, he was fired and the school offered no option to fulfill his promises without great personal financial penalty. Due to their misrepresentations I was unable to receive my emphasis within the term of my enrolled program; and, was told I would have to attend an additional quarter and pay additional tuition in order to complete the desired emphasis. "§ 254.4 Misrepresentation of facilities, services, qualifications of staff, status, and employment prospects for students after training. (a) It is deceptive for an industry member to misrepresent, directly or indirectly, in advertising, promotional materials, or in any other manner, the size, location, services, facilities, or equipment of its school or the number or educational qualifications of its faculty and other personnel. For example, an industry member should not: (2) Misrepresent, through statements or pictures, the nature or efficacy of its courses, training devices, methods, or equipment. (3) Misrepresent the availability of employment while the student is undergoing instruction or the role of the school in providing or arranging for such employment. (4) Misrepresent the availability or nature of any financial assistance available to students. If the cost of training is financed in whole or in part by loans, students should be informed that loans must be repaid whether or not they are successful in completing the program and obtaining employment. (7) Misrepresent the nature and extent of any personal instruction, guidance, assistance, or other service, including placement assistance, it will provide students either during or after completion of a course. (c) It is deceptive for an industry member to misrepresent that a course has been recently revised or instructional equipment is up-to-date, or misrepresent its ability to keep a program current and up-to-date. (d) It is deceptive for an industry member, in promoting any course of training in its advertising, promotional materials, or in any other manner, to misrepresent, directly or by implication, whether through the use of text, images, endorsements, or by other means, the availability of employment after graduation from a course of training, the success that the member's graduates have realized in obtaining such employment, or the salary that the member's graduates will receive in such employment. " I am continuing to ask the $4,500 private loan/outstanding balance be forgiven due to the facts stated above.

Business' Final Response
October 9, 2012 Better Business Bureau Attn: *************** 3075 Beacon Blvd West Sacramento, CA XXXXX RE: ****** ******, Complaint # XXXXXXXX Dear Ms. ***************: We received the complaint referenced above from ****** ****** ("Complainant"). Heald College, Roseville (the "School") thanks the Better Business Bureau (the "BBB") for this additional opportunity to respond to Complainant's concerns and hopes this response satisfactorily demonstrates the School's appreciation of the BBB's principles and purposes. The School is pleased to provide the BBB with additional information that it believes will be highly relevant to the BBB's evaluation of Complainant's concerns and the appropriateness of the School's response. In her new complaint letter, Complainant expresses many of the same concerns. Based on the initial request, the School addressed the many questions and allegations ranging from her program choice, to program cost, PELL Grant, and career services. Complainant's new complaint mentions many of these same concerns previously addressed by the School. Based on said request, the School addresses the following concerns: (1.) Complainant's Pell disbursement was not fully received; and (2.). Complainant's remaining balance owed to the School which is now in collections. The School is pleased to provide the BBB with additional information that it believes will be highly relevant to the BBB's evaluation of Complainant's concerns and the appropriateness of the School's response. In short, Complainant has made allegations which misrepresent the facts of the situation. Complainant does not understand how to read her National Student Loan Database report. As previously suggested Complainant would benefit from speaking with a personal financial planner. Complainant was "awarded" $4,310 in Pell, but did not receive the entire award because she was out of attendance. Awarded does not guarantee any student will receive the funds listed. These funds were never received by the School. It is recommended that for additional questions regarding this amount, and additional information regarding the definition of "awarded" Complainant should contact the Department of Education to confirm that only $1,202 in Pell was received by the School on June 6, 2008 as shown in Exhibit #1 in Complainant's ledger. Additionally, Complainant states that she should not be responsible for the balance of $4,413.54 on her account. On page 7 of Complainant's ledger the total charges incurred by Complainant during her tenure with the School is $23,520.29. Complainant's obligation to pay for her education has been previously addressed in the response letters submitted to the BBB. The amount listed under "T4Payments" of $16,411 is the total amount of all of the aid that was applied to Complainant's account; this includes the above mentioned Pell Grant and the previously discussed Federal Student Loans. The "NT4Payments" listed on the ledger total the amount Complainant paid directly toward her education with the School and the resulting balance. It should be noted here that Complainant's original debt was sent to collections for $4,507.96 on February 26, 2010. Complainant made inconsistent payments from February 2010 until February 2012 at which time her remaining balance is $4,413.54. This amount does not include any additional fees or charges incurred due to continued non-payment with the collection agency. The School finds it curious that Complainant made payments toward this balance over the past two years, and is now claiming this balance to be unfair. In light of the above and the previously submitted documentation the School respectfully declines Complainant's request to "clear her balance." Complainant was an active student from April 21, 2008 until October 1, 2009, and earned a Business Administration Associate in Applied Science, AAS Degree with a 3.92 CGPA. As indicated herein, the School has provided the education contracted with the Complainant, and therefore, the School respectfully declines the request for a refund. Complainant was fully aware of the financial arrangements she agreed to regarding tuition funding. Complainant read and signed a binding contract with her lenders and is legally responsible for her own educational expenses incurred during the period of enrollment. Complainant enrolled into the program, completed financial arrangements and was entitled to all the privileges of attending classes, taking examinations, receiving grade reports, securing course credit, being graduated and using the Career Services Office. As the School fulfilled its portion of the contract by providing the services mentioned above, Complainant is still held responsible regarding re-payment. Following a careful reading of the pertinent documentation and discussions with the relevant people, we respectfully request that the BBB close this complaint. We again thank the BBB for this opportunity to address Complainant's questions and concerns and to demonstrate the School's commitment to the BBB's principles and purposes. Please do not hesitate to contact me at (800) XXX-XXXX ext. 4680 or *****@cci.edu. Sincerely, ****** ******, Student Services Specialist Corinthian Colleges, Inc. Phone: (714) XXX-XXXX cc to file: ****** ******