BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Northeast California

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Roof Life Company of Northern California, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Roof Life Company of Northern California, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Roof Life Company of Northern California, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: May 27, 1992 Business started: 06/01/1991 Business started locally: 06/01/1991 Business incorporated: 06/03/1991 in CA
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Steven H. Clark, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Steven H. Clark, President
Business Category

Roofing Contractors Commercial Roofing Contractor - Metal Roofing Contractor - Tile Roofing Gutters & Downspouts Contractor - Roofing Spray Foam Insulation Roof Structures

Products & Services

Roof Life Co. of No. California provides roof repair, roof replacement and shake roof restoration services.

Industry Tips
Hiring a Contractor in California: Essential Tips

Additional Locations

  • P.O. Box 2107

    Orangevale, CA 95662 (916) 788-2625

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (916) 448-2283(Phone)
  • (916) 788-2625(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

10/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My new roof under warranty has leaked and Roof Life has not repaired it, not returned calls, and not shown up for multiple appointments. I purchased a new roof for $8,429 in 9/2011 (came with a 5-year guarantee) from Roof Life Company because my very slightly sloped roof had standing water and was leaking near the southwest corner of my house. I was assured by ***** (the owner) that my leaky roof issues were a thing of the past, and Roof Life would build up the side of the roof that had standing water and add a drain so that water would properly flow off the roof. My new roof seriously leaked on Easter Sunday, 3/31/2013, near the southeast corner of my house. It caused cracks in the wall and ceiling where water poured through, and leaked onto the floor and bed. I called Roof Life, and they came out the following week and noticed a bubble in the roof above the leak area (***** told me the bubble meant that the roof had pulled away due to water). There was also standing water above the leak area for days. ***** told me that someone would come out to cut into the bubble to see what the problem was and repair it. He also mentioned that the roof might need to be built up on the east side and a drain installed similar to what they did on the west side of the roof when they installed the roof in 2011. The roofer came out, looked at the bubble and said that nothing was wrong (they tested it by pouring water on the roof and did not notice a leak by peering into my window while doing that...I was out of town). The roofer said the bubble would resorb and wouldn't cause a problem. I said that I was concerned because ***** said the bubble was the problem and the slope might need to be built up, and now nothing was going to be fixed/repaired. ***** assured me that the bubble would go away and said that if the bubble did not go away by the end of summer to call him and he would deal with it. In 8/2013, I got on the roof to remove minimal debris and check out the bubble which was still there. I also noticed another hole in a northern part of the roof. I called *****'s cell phone (Roof Life) on 9/2/2013, and l left a message about the issues and asked when they could come out to my house to fix the problem. I did not receive a response. A week later, I called the main Roof Life number because I did not hear from *****, and an appointment was scheduled for 9/10 at 2pm. On 9/10, I took time from work and waited for ***** to arrive at 2pm. I called Roof Life at 4:43pm because no one showed up for the 2pm appointment, and no one called to let me know that they were not coming. I called Roof Life again on 9/17, at 8:32am because I did not receive a response to the voicemail I left the week before after the no show 9/10 appointment. I spoke with the office at Roof Life and they confirmed that ***** would meet me at my house at 2pm that day to look at the roof. No one showed again. I called Roof Life at 3:14pm to ask if anyone was coming, and I was told that ***** would leave the office and head to my house right away. No one showed again. I received a call at 3:56pm that no one was coming that day because ***** had a big shipment to pick up, and they would have to reschedule and ***** would be out of town from Friday into the following week. I voiced my frustration that we are approaching the rainy season, I have called over and over again, and I have taken time off of work and waited at home for Roof Life to show up to appointments for hours on end on multiple occasions to no avail. I said that I would be home on 9/18 at 7pm or 9/19 at 6:30pm and could meet them. I did not want to wait longer because I felt like Roof Life has ignored my concerns and put my roof on the back burner since the leak in 3/2013. I called the Better Business Bureau to ask for advice on whether I should file a complaint and was told that I should because the rainy season is approaching and the company is not taking me seriously. I called Roof Life at 4:38pm on 9/17 to let them know that I would be filing a complaint with the Better Business Bureau and possibly the Contractor's State License Board.

Desired Settlement: The settlement I am seeking is for Roof Life to fix/repair my leaky roof so that it no longer leaks and does not hold standing water (what they should have done in the first place and what I paid for). Roof Life built up one side of my roof and installed a drain so that water would not pool on the roof, but they did not do that on the other side, and now water pools and my roof leaks on the side they did not build up and put a drain on. These leaks are also doing damage to the inside of my home (walls, ceiling, bed, and floor). It seems reasonable to me that the cost estimate for the roof replacement that I was given originally and that I paid should have covered the necessary work to build a roof that does not leak. I should not have to pay more money because my roof is leaking and Roof Life was not able to originally build a roof that doesn't leak (when they promised me they could and would). Roof Life should also return my calls and show up for appointments that they schedule. If they are not able to make an appointment, they need to call in advance to let me know that they can't come and they need to reschedule. Sitting at my house waiting for them for hours while missing work, is unreasonable. I also think that my 5-year warranty should be extended to start from the time they do the repair/fix rather than counting the last 6 months with a leaky roof as being under warranty.

Business Response: Initial Business Response
Complaint ID#: XXXXXXXX Consumer: ****** ***** Case Opened: XXXX-XX-XX CSLB File No: N A XXXX XXXXXX Re: **** ******* *** Sacramento, CA XXXXX To Whom It May Concern: We, Roof Life Company, met with ****** ***** on 10/04/13. The concerns were discussed. An understanding between Roof Life Co. and Ms. ***** are outlined as follows: *Addressing slower draining of roof at South East Corner. *Roof had leaked one time in 2013 (04/01/13). *04/03/13 roof was inspected with *** ********** Project foreman) *At that time, Ms. ***** agreed to keep debris off drains. *09/19/13 Roof Life cleaned and adjusted any questionable areas. *10/04/13 ****** ***** (owner of Roof Life) met with Ms. ***** on her roof and discussed options for flow. *R.L. recommended cleaning roof/emulsion application for build-up/elastomeric top coat for weather proofing - all at no charge to Ms. *****. *All existing warranties are still in effect until 09/13/2016. *Roof Life agrees to respond in a timely manner to any response from Ms. ***** regarding said roof area only, until 09/13/2018 This agreement was signed by both parties on 10/04/13. The cleaning of roof area/emulsion application/and elastomeric coating was begun on 10/04/13 and completed on 10/07/13. Just a note: All required permits were pulled, the job was inspected, approved and finalized by the City of Sacramento Building Department. Ms. *****'s house was constructed in the early 1900's. It is an Adobe style home. Drainage in this corner of her home is functional only if debris is kept out of the drain. We profusely expressed our apologies for the lack of communication on our part and for the frustration that it caused her. We feel we have done everything possible to resolve the problems. Please contact us if you have any further questions. ***** ** ***** Roof Life Company

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I accept the response from Roof Life. After I filed the complaint, Roof Life showed up to the meeting we scheduled and they communicated with me about what they were doing. I tried to have Roof Life agree to a contingency plan if their proposed fix/patch doesn't work, and they would not agree to putting the next step in writing. They said that they were again confident that the roof would not leak, and they agreed to extending the warranty on that area of the roof. They also noted other areas of the roof with holes that they patched near the front and they said that their were some issues. Given that they proposed one option for dealing with this problem, I took it, and am hoping for the best. It is interesting that Roof Life says that they apologized profusely, because they did apologize, but had a hard time admitting any fault for missing meetings and avoiding calls. And, I received a text apologizing for their rude behavior during the meeting with me about how to proceed, so maybe that is what they meant. I hope that because of all of this, Roof Life follows through more immediately with other customers and is more reliable when they say they are going to show up. Thanks for helping to resolve this problem.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

1/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Roof Life Company completed (11/09/12) shake roof restoration.December 23rd, I notice big leak in my bedroom. For restoration work I did pay $3,800.00 on 11/16/12, Invoice BD-599. Roof company completed work on 11/09/12 and issue me a warranty for five(5) year's to cover all roof leaks. After rain on Dec 23rd I found leak. I did try four(4) times to contact Roof Life and schedule technician to come. Now three weeks latter I'm filing complaint. My damage at home is getting bigger after every rainy day. I'm planning to hire some other company to fix my roof leak. Thanks a lot for big help

Desired Settlement: Stop leak. redo all what was missing on roof. Repair selling and isolation above.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Consumer states "Can you please close case. Repair was completed. I'm happy. Thanks a lot "BBB" for your help. Regards. ****** XXX-XXX-XXXX"

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

1