BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Northeast California

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Roof Doctors meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Roof Doctors include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Roof Doctors
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: November 15, 1990 Business started: 06/01/1987 Business started locally: 06/01/1987 Business incorporated: 01/26/2006 in CA
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Adam Wilfley, Owner Ms. Linda Young, Office Assistant
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Adam Wilfley, Owner
Business Category

Roofing Contractors Contractor - Tile Roofing Roof Cleaning & Stain Removal Contractor - Flat Roof Gutters & Downspouts

Alternate Business Names
Wilfley Enterprises, Inc.
Products & Services

Roof Doctors specializes in roof inspection, roof repairs, solving roof leak problems, and issuing roof certification.

Industry Tips
BBB Tips for Hiring a Contractor in California

Additional Locations

  • 8430 Madison Ave

    Fair Oaks, CA 95628 (209) 957-7663

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (209) 957-7663(Phone)
X

Additional Email Addresses

  • - Communication/Mass Email
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

12/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: unable to schedule appointments 2 year certification was given so that the rood wouldn't leak. the roof leaked within 6 months of home purchase. & again the next year. called for appointment was told they don't make appointments. They did provide me with a number for the inspector to set something up with him He was reluctant to provide time frame for his arrival. An entire day is wasted waiting for someone to come. which he did come... at the end of the day. Had I known that other errands & appointments could have been completed. This is not the 1st time this has happened since the roof continues to leak due to poor inspection & repair of existing leaks. Had we known that this roof wasn't going to make it. we could have add a construction loan on top of our home loan & replaced the roof. but as it is with the continued leaks it jeopardizes the remodel work done on the interior of the home

Desired Settlement: proper roof inspection & all leaks repaired so that the roof certification is true... the roof won't leak & an additional 2 years on the certification to make it an actual representation of work done

Business Response: Initial Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** *****, Vice Pre Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ******@theroofdoctors.net The first time we saw this BBB complaint was today on 11/20/2013. I have reviewed all of our information relating to this complaint and I talked by telephone to both ***** & **** ********** on 11/20/13 at 4:58 p.m. We address their complaint as follows: 1) Consumer was issued a Roof Certification on their roof on 9-28-12. Our Roof Certification is very clear, we do not guarantee that a roof will not leak. We do guarantee that if the roof leaks we will go to the home and repair the leak. We stand by our Roof Certification. 2) The customer has admitted that they were explained our policy in advance - that we do NOT make appointments in advance. However, we do call a half hour in advance before our inspector is scheduled to arrive. Our inspectors usually perform 15 to 20 inspections a day, therefore it is difficult for them to state an exact time as to their arrival. This consumer also admitted that our inspector did show up though it was later in the day. 3) Our records show that we initially repaired this roof on 9/12/2012 for $350, the roof certification was $250; a second repair was performed on 12/13/2012 at no charge; and a third repair was performed on 9/25/2013 at no charge. 4) I talked to my repairman who went on the roof with the homeowner at prior inspections and my repairman has a different recollection of what happened. We have over 25 years of experience in repairing roofs and it is not our practice to take advice from homeowners on how to troubleshoot leaks. Based on our experience, it takes a few times to finally stop a leak. 5) This roof is over 20 years old, we do NOT extend the life of a Roof Certification simply because the homeowner demands it, we assume great risk and liability when we certify roofs of this age. 7) We have had large amounts of rain both on 11/19/2013 and 11/20/2013, during my conversation with the homeowner, he was not aware that the roof is leaking, but will monitor and call us immediately, so that we can solve any future problem. 8) Mr. ********** thanked me and will notify me of any future problems.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) there is $60 fee charged for each visit. As for not following the advice of the homeowners. the inspector shouldn't have agreed with the conversation & simply state something else. So that we weren't expecting one thing & another thing done. We continue to have leaks that are in need of repair. As for appointments that would make good business sense. instead of making the homeowner loose a day while waiting. maybe they need another inspector to have that happen I didn't receive a call until the repairman was driving down the street. overall dissatisfied with company as a whole

Final Business Response
This consumer has agreed that they were aware of our policy about appointments at the time they requested our services. We apologize for their inconvenience but unfortunately our policy does not accommodate everyone and their schedules. According to the terms written in our Roof Certification Warranty purchased by and issued to this homeowner, there is a $45 service charge due ONLY at the initial certification leak inspection. Our records indicate that this homeowner had paid ONLY a one-time $45 service fee. If this homeowner was charged any amount in excess of this $45 they will be entitled to a refund. All they have to do is contact our office and show evidence of the amounts that they have paid and they will receive a refund. I talked to both Mr. & Mrs. ********** after I read their initial complaint during the recent rain storms that we had last week. Mrs. ********** referred me to Mr. ********** who indicated to me that he wasn't aware of the roof leaking, but he had not gone into the attic yet, and that he would contact our office if he found a problem. After reading the consumer response of November 23 today, I called and spoke with to Mrs. ********** by telephone today, she told me that the roof is still leaking and that she thought her husband had called our office. Our records indicate that Mr. ********* has NOT contacted our office and we have NOT been notified of a subsequent leak of any kind. I have explained to both Mr. & Mrs. ********* that we have over 25 years experience in repairing leaky roofs. We have told them that repairing roofs is not an exact science and in rare cases we may have to go to a home several times before a leak can be stopped. Even though a homeowner's suggestions may be helpful, we rely upon the experience of our master repairmen to troubleshoot and repair leaks. This homeowner has been told that their shake roof is more than 20 years old. Roofs this old usually need to be replaced because of their advanced age. We took upon the risk of certifying their roof, if the homeowner feels that we have misrepresented our Roof Certification Warranty, then we will offer them a full refund of the $250 that they paid to us for the Roof Certification Warranty. This will allow this homeowner to hire another company to certify their roof and assume the liability to repair their roof if it leaks in the future, if they can find another company to do so. To summarize, we will wait to hear from this homeowner as to whether or not they want a refund of their Roof Certification fee of $250 OR we will wait for their phone call to let us know whether the roof is still leaking so that we can make a follow-up inspection.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1