BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Northeast California

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Four Seasons Roofing meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Four Seasons Roofing include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Four Seasons Roofing
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: March 17, 1997 Business started: 01/01/1992 Business started locally: 01/01/1992
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Terry L. Taylor, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Terry L. Taylor, Owner
Business Category

Roofing Contractors Commercial Roofing Gutters & Downspouts

Industry Tips
Hiring a Contractor in California: Essential Tips

Additional Locations

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

12/5/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Balance of statement is incorrect. Roof was started 7/2012. Bulk was done and repairs made by 9/2012. Statement was sent 10/2012 with Late charges and an additional $140.21 charge. Charge was 3x what it should have been so I questioned it with my payment short the additional amount and the late charges. 4 seasons waited 10 months to respond. At the point there were 4 additional late charges. The roof was still not complete. 4 seasons sent a person to finish the repairs 7/2013. Repairs were complete. 4 seasons waited 4 months to send a statement to me. 2 more late fees were added. I have agreed to pay the original $140.21 even though it was an inflated bill. My billing contact **** will not even listen to me trying to explain. She doesnt care and just wants to argue. All I want is a corrected Invoice and I will pay it, but she will not even listen to reason. All of the late charges were unearned. I believe that the invoices were not sent just to add the late fees. The additional work bill should have been around $50. I Know what work was done.

Desired Settlement: I want the invoice sent for the amount of $140.27 to settle this.

Business Response: Final Consumer Response
I was able to resolve this complaint with 4 seasons roofing. Unfortunately it took contacting the BBB to get them to respond.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

11/8/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 30 yr roof/all new flashing installed 4/2010. Flashing not properly installed/sealed at skylight & fireplace-leaking in house. Neglects to do repairs Four Seasons Roofing 4/12/2010 Contract "We will tear off existing roofing to bare sheathing and inspect for dry rot. over clean solid roof sheathing, we will apply one layer Type #15 ASTM felt membrane, two layers @ low slope areas, Followed by: Option #2-30 year dimensional shingle using hi-profile hip & ridge pieces. Shingles manufactured by Owens Corning. We will replace all flashings. This bid includes the clean up and removal of all roofing debris from Job site." Following new roof & flashing installation, there have been repeated leaks at dining room skylight area. On Sept 22, 2013 there was a rainstorm, during which water was observed running down the face of the chimney brick inside my living room. We called ***** ******, owner of 4 seasons roofing, who said to call the office Monday morning & they'd come out to repair. I called & told man who answered the problem & was told they'd schedule it. I called back afternoon to see if scheduled & described the problem to woman who said she would make note and make sure the man I spoke with had all the details. I let her know I would be leaving town Thursday night & needed them to come before that. I called again Wednesday and she said it was scheduled for Saturday, & I repeated what I'd like them to look at(flashing at fireplace, flashing at skylight, & loose shingle)since they insisted on coming when I couldn't be home. Received msg from worker Sat. saying he couldn't do anything if I wasnt here to tell him what needed to be done. I called upon return, 10/7/2013 & was told I must re-schedule which I did, asking that they come on my lunch or after work if possible. Called Wed & they seemed surprised to hear of water inside house; said they'd be out to take care of it. Called Friday & she said they couldn't schedule me at lunch or after work so didn't schedule me. I told her just have someone come out and call when they were on their way. It rained again Saturday. Damp on bricks when I woke. I called Monday the 14th and asked when they will be out, whereupon she said, "are you scheduled?" I let her know I'm very upset and will be contacting the BBB with my complaint and serious displeasure at their not standing behind their work.

Desired Settlement: Repair or replace flashing and/or roofing as necessary to eliminate leaking. And address loose, lifting, or cracked shingles to insure integrity.

Business Response: Initial Business Response
When the roof was installed in 2010, the flashings were properly installed and sealed. When she called into the office, she said she was having a leak at the fireplace and that she saw water on her bricks. She was notified that being this was the first hard rain of the season, we had dozens of calls and would send someone out as soon as we had someone available. We decided to ask all of our roofers to work on a Saturday so that we could get to all the people who had leaks and no one would have to wait too long. When I called to let her know we would be out on Saturday is when she said she was going out of town but would make sure someone was at the house so we could take care of her leak. When our worker arrived, he knocked on the door but there was no answer. He climbed up on the roof but there was nothing that he could find. On Monday, I called her to let her know we had been out but needed more information and to look inside because everything looked fine from above. She said the fireplace was leaking and she wanted us to check the skylight also. She said she was only available between 12:30pm and 1pm or after 5pm. I let her know that there was no way we could schedule it like that because we don't know how long each job is going to take and could not guarantee that someone could make it there on time. She said she understood and asked if we could have someone call before they headed over that, that would be okay. We sent the supervisor out to make sure everything she wanted was addressed. He did a water test on the skylight and it did not leak at all. He did a water test on the fireplace and found a small leak. He then sealed the flashing around the entire fireplace to make sure there would be no leaks. There was no charge to the client. NOTE: THE CLIENT HAS CALLED SEVERAL TIMES OVER THE PAST 2 YEARS CLAIMING THAT HER SKYLIGHT WAS LEAKING AND EVERY TIME WE WATER TESTED IT, IT NEVER LEAKED.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I paid Four Seasons Roofing $6300 for a new 30 year roof and all new flashing. The roof leaked at flashing areas. It is their responsibility to make sure their workmanship and product are professional and in good working order. I hope their recent repairs are the final remedy to leaking issues.

Final Business Response
The day after she called into the office, we called her to let her know we would have someone out on Saturday. That was the first and only time she told us that she was going to be out of town. We offered to reschedule for when she got back. She said that we should go ahead and come out on Saturday and that she would make sure someone was at the house. No one was there as promised and no courtesy call was made to inform us that no one would be there causing us to incur additional labor costs. When she got back into town and we called to reschedule, she said we could only come out between 12pm and 1pm or after 5pm. Our workers take lunch between 12 and 1 and they get off work at 4pm. We asked if there was any way we could just have someone call her before they came out, to which she agreed. That also did not work out. We were finally able to arrange for our supervisor to go out to her house at 7:30 am on October 16th. After we set this appointment with her is when she filed with the BBB. The supervisor water tested the fireplace, found a small leak and proceeded to clean and reseal flashing around fireplace. He also fixed two shingles that were sticking up. He then water tested the skylight and never found a leak. In closing, we feel we did our best to meet the needs of the client with the time constraints we were given. Her repairs could have been completed much earlier if she would have had someone available, as promised, for the Saturday appointment. Most importantly, the repairs have been completed and the client was never charged for any of it.

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

3/20/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Not only did person come 40 minutes late, but did not speak any English. We found it very difficult to discuss with him the problem, so we spoke in sign language and I put the few words I knew in Spanish and pointed to the leak. He looked at the valley from the front deck and did not see any leak, as he signaled to us..."nothing." Then he asked if there was an attic...I showed him where it was. He needed our ladder to lift up the cover and could not go in as it was blocked by the chimney. He indicated by hands that the way was blocked. He went back outside and looked at where the leak was coming from and said we needed to call a plumber...in Spanish. That much I got. He said there was no roof leak. Not satisfied with that, I called ******* Construction and he showed up the next morning. ***** and **** climbed up onto the roof and noticed a vent not sealed. They cut a small hole in the ceiling and noticed it was wet, directly under the vent. They patched the vent hole and the charge was $78.00. They will reseal the ceiling hole after the rains come and assure us the hole is sealed. Four Seasons wants to charge us $100 and they advertise Free Estimate. It is in all of their ads. Their man did nothing. Had no knowledge of having any license when asked and took less than 15 minutes to find nothing. I called Four Seasons Roofing and they did not call back as they said they would. I called them 3 times today and the bookkeeper said that was the charge and "what did you expect, for us to come out for nothing?" Well, for a free estimate,,,yes. ******, the bookkeeper said she would speak to the owner, **** and call back. She did not. I am thinking this company is bilking other seniors on this free estimate charge. We feel nothing is due Four Seasons.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
In response to the complaint filed 2/1/2013 - Customer initially called on 1/9/2013 because his roof was leaking in the storm. This was not a request for a estimate, this was a call to repair a leak in his dining room and was dispatched accordingly. Customer called our office on Friday afternoon, 2/1/2013 and he left a detailed message with the receptionist about his dissatisfaction with the repair call and the roofer sent. On Monday morning when I arrived at the office I received the message and pulled his paperwork. I was informed that he was on the line and took the call. He explained all of his problems with repair and the employee. I told him that I would go over this with the owner when he returned on Thurs the 7th from a out of town business trip. I told him not to worry and that the owner is very fair and we would get to the bottom of what was going on and that he may need to speak with the employee that was sent on the leak repair. On Tuesday the 5th he sent a email, again detailing all of his complaints with the repair and the employee, and added for the first time that he never wanted a "repair" he wanted a "Free Estimate" on the leak. I returned the email the same day, again telling him that it would be taken care of when the owner returned on Thursday. When the owner returned we went over the messages and email and told me to send a credit to the customer for the entire ****** and a apology if there was a misunderstandings with regards to the repair. On February 8th, 2013 the customer was sent a credit for the entire ****** dated 1/29/2013 including a apology note. I, being the bookkeeper, Never told the customer "what do you expect"? And as far as answering to the slanderous remark made regarding seniors, we find this offensive and shameful.

Consumer's Final Response
Here is her response to my question if we are finished with this... "DONE"... does that spell out what type of business attitude they have. Yes, we are finished with Four Seasons Roofing. M

Business' Final Response
The customer was credited for all charges he disputed on 2/8/13. Mr. ****** and I have had email correspondence, and I again confirmed that he owed nothing. I really don't want to go back and forth on he said she said... it was a "wet" ceiling or a "leaking" ceiling. The consumer has been refunded and owes nothing, he will receive a written confirmation in the mail.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

2/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The owner yelled, barked and used intimidation towards me right in front of my wife and baby to avoid dealing with a problem we had. I used four seasons roofing and was fairly happy with the work except for a problem with the roof which was put on our garage. The cross beams collapsed with a heavy load placed on top, and nothing was done by the workers until it collapsed even though they noticed it bowing. I was instructed by the several people working for the company to discuss it with the owner. The owner yelled, barked and used intimidation towards me right in front of my wife and baby in an attempt to intimidate me and make me pay without making any further issue with the problem we had. Well, it worked. There was no way I was going to stand there and take it from this hot head any longer. I had to send my wife and kid out of the building due to his loud, threatening manner. I felt his intimidation and threatening manner was for the purpose of keeping me from discussing his negligence or any possible compromise to what I had to pay out of my pocket to fix the damage caused by his work.

Desired Settlement: The company should be responsible for paying on the damages they caused. This doesn't even compensate for the amount of stress involved after being yelled at and intimidated in front of my baby and wife.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Four Seasons Roofing did not show negligence when providing services to Mr. ******. His garage wasn't up to code and had dry rot in the support members. Some of this dry rot was noted when the tear off crew was removing the existing roofing from the garage. Then after the new shingles where loaded on the ridge of the garage, the tear off foreman **** noted some sagging in the structure. He then directed the tear off crew to unload the materials from the garage. He inspected the interior of the garage at this time with Mr. ****** and noticed that several cross members had fallen, these crossmembers where partial dry rotted and not properly nailed. We provided Mr. ****** with an estimate to repair this, however Mr. ****** opted to do the repairs himself with a family member. Nothing that Four Seasons did caused any damage or increased the damage to the garage. Mr ****** then came to our office to discuss these issues. He was looking for money to be taken off the bill. As we had nothing to do with the problem, we did not change the billing. ****** never yelled at Mr. ****** when he came in to ask for money to taken off the bill, not did ****** try to intimidate Mr. ******.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1