Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

ACS Roofing Company, Inc.

Phone: (916) 714-9660 Fax: (916) 714-9669 9255 Survey Rd Ste 3, Elk Grove, CA 95624

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that ACS Roofing Company, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for ACS Roofing Company, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on ACS Roofing Company, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 21, 2005 Business started: 01/01/1989 in CA Business incorporated 01/07/2012 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752
The number is 979320.

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Mark Tate, Owner Mrs. Rebecca Tate, Office Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Mark Tate, Owner
Business Category

Roofing Contractors Siding Contractors Fans - Household Contractors - General Drywall Contractors Gutters & Downspouts Gutter Cleaning Contractor - Insulation

Alternate Business Names
ACS Roofing Advanced Construction Services
Products & Services

ACS Roofing specializes in re-roofs, gutter cleaning, gutter guards, roof repairs, dry wall repairs, insulation, siding, sun tunnels, whole house fans and cool roofs.

Industry Tips
Hiring a Contractor in California: Essential Tips Knowing Your Refund & Cancellation Rights

Additional Locations

  • 9255 Survey Rd Ste 3

    Elk Grove, CA 95624


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/10/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: The company provided repair on a portion of my roof in winter of 2012. In winter of 2013, there was a leak in the same exact spot. I had Mr. **** look at the house and he s****d the repair in 2012 was minor and involved a tile replacement and that the new repair was more substantial and that ACS was not negligible for not noticing this problem at the time of the initial tile replacement. He also s****d that it appeared to have been leaking in that area for several years.However, at the time of the initial repair (2012), when my roof was inspected and the estimate/work order was provided, there was no indication of additional repairs that were needed. In using a reputable company I would expect that all leaks and corresponding causes for the leaks would be identified rather than seeing a lose tile and simply replacing it without any other inspection.Further, when I contacted them to revist and correct the repair, the cost estimate they provided seem egregious ($2965). Whereas additional estimates from other reputable companies, for the same type of repair are were $1300-$1400. The estimate from ACS is more than twice that at $2965. Additionally, the other roofers expressed concerns that this problem has been longstanding, is easily identifiable, and should have been addressed when the initial repair was done.I feel taken advantage of.

Desired Settlement: I respectfully request a refund for the repair that was provided to to that section of the roof in 2012 as it did not fix the problem and I have to pay full price to repair the roof leak and cooresponding damage to the inside of my house. We have not repaired the roof yet in hopes of coming to some agreement and also because it is very costly. I need to move forward with repair.

Business Response: I would like to take the time to address the erroneous complaints submitted by this customer. 

ACS Roofing was hired two times to perform roofing repair work to the customers house. 

The first time was in 2010. We repaired a leak over the living room area.

The second time was NOT in the winter of 2012, as our customer falsely claims, but rather in April of 2013 (see attached contract). This time, we were called out to repair a leak in a different section of the house. The leak here was above the garage area, adjacent to the entryway. Completely separate from the first repair.

After this, we were called out in February of 2014, 10 months later, to look at yet another leak. Our customer called us to take a look at a leak over a bedroom in yet another section of a house. None of the leaks that we were called out to look at and provide estimates for were in the same area, and in fact were in very different areas of the home. 

Let me further point out that at no time was ACS Roofing ever hired or contracted to perform a FULL roof inspection. When we are called out for a leak, that is our area of concern. We were not asked, nor do we make it a practice to look over an entire roof system every time we are called out to estimate a leak repair. We do offer full roof inspections as a service that our customers can pay for, however, this customer did not hire us to perform this service. In saying that we DID and SHOULD have inspected everything on the roof, the customer here is either making an assumption or has misrepresented the facts so as to support her false claims.

Also, our reputation has been called in to question where there is no grounds to do so, and is damaging to us as a company and business. We are in good standing with the CSLB, BBB, and other business related companies. We have all of our workers comp and insurance policies up to date and have had zero issues for some time. 

As per the complaint that our price was too high, that is immaterial. We never force or coerce anyone to sign a contract with us. If they do not like the price of the estimate, they are free to sign with another company. This customer obviously trusted us enough and valued our reputation and quality enough to hire us not once, but twice over the course of 4 years. 

Also of note is the documented existing difficulty of the customer. After completing the repair in 2013, the customer was promptly provided with an invoice, yet failed to make payment within the contracted time. In fact, they were delinquent by 3 months. ACS Roofing was patient and did not pursue further legal action during that time. We think it is better to try and work something out when possible rather than seek legal recourse at every available opportunity.

To summarize: We repaired 2 different areas of the roof, were called out for a 3rd leak in a different location, gave our customer a detailed proposal of the problem and an estimate to perform the repairs, and the customer decided not to move forward with the recommended roof repair work. 

ACS Roofing's desired actions:

We would like this provably false complaint expunged. We are an established business with a proven tract record of quality and honest business dealings. This complaint is wrong and has no merit whatsoever. It is the plea of a customer who decided not to get work done on the roof and are reaping the consequences of inaction. We should not be held responsible.

I have attached the first page of both contracts that we have with the customer. We also have email communications as well as the estimates given to our customer clearly outlining the specific locations of the repair work as well as excluding areas of repair outside of the written work scope. Please let me know if you would like to see these as well.

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because:
I apologize for providing inaccurate dates.  I wrote the initial complaint in haste and did not have access to my e-mail at the time which would have supplied me with correct dates.  The repair from 2010 is not called into question.  That area has not further issues. 

The repairs which took place April 2013 are the ones that are being referenced.  Repair(s) as in there were two distinct areas repaired in 2013.  The repair over the garage which is referenced in the response from ACS and the repair which was done in the area over my son's bedroom.  The repair above the garage has sustained whereas the repair (tile replacement) above my son's room has not.  When the ACS contractor returned in 2014 and looked at the roof to provide further repair they indeed acknowledged the repair they provided (tile replacemement) over my son's room in 2013.  So I am puzzled as to why ACS is no longer acknowledging this repair.  The contractor stated that ACS was not negligible for not noticing that the tile replacement above my son's room was incendental to the leak and that the leak was the due to a larger problem.

I DO NOT expect ACS to have completed a FULL ROOF inspection; rather I expected a full inspection/investigation to determine the cause of the leak in the specific area in which they are repairing.  To quickly review the area, identify a few broken or missing tiles and assume that is the cause is unsatisfactory as the true cause of the leak existed at that time and was readily identifiable.  Rather, a thorough inspection of the area in which they provided repair would have resulted in the identification of the cause of the leak as the other contractors had stated and could have been rectified at that time in which no further damage would have occured.

I will say that I was late in providing payment and I aplogize for that.  But that was largely due to the fact that I was trying to pay by phone and the admin person and I had trouble reaching eachother (e-mail attached.)  However, I should have been more dilligent in contacting them.  My intent is not to be contentious or "difficult" but to be treated fairly.

Business Response: In regards the complaint submitted by ******* ***** stating that we performed a specific repair over a
bedroom area, I would like to point out a few facts. Our contract from 2013 clearly states the main area
of concern and where the majority of the repair work was needed and performed. This was over the
garage. Nowhere on our contract does it call for any repair work to be performed over a bedroom. We
have submitted the contract in question. It is a Home Improvement Contract dated April 10, 2013. Our
leak repair at that time was focused over the garage. It did call for up to 8 broken field tiles to be replaced,
however these were not specific to any one area, and are a routine repair for general upkeep and
Also of note are the exclusions associated with this contract. We have uploaded and attached this part of
the contract as well. Please note the highlighted sections. They clearly detail where our leak repair was to
take place, as well as what is not included with the contract.
As regards the bedroom leak, we were called out 10 months after the completion of the 2013 contract to
identify the cause of the leak occurring over the bedroom in question. We have also uploaded this
inspection report which is a thorough examination of the problem area. It shows evidence of previous
repair work in the affected area, and outlines our recommendation on how to proceed with the necessary
roof repairs. She has claimed that it was a readily identifiable problem, which it clearly is not. Also, any
broken tiles that may have been replaced at or around this area are non-pertinent to the larger problem
of the valley that needs to be replaced. She was provided with this information and known about the
seriousness of the problem for 10 months and chosen not to pursue any repair work and instead has now
decided to attack our company, who has proven multiple times that we are very capable of identifying
leaks when asked to, as well as fixing them to her satisfaction.
Per her own words, both of our previous leak repairs have “sustained”. We have provided her with
proposals that were very detailed and included locations to focus on, not one of them being above the
bedroom in question. We have provided her with a detailed inspection of the bedroom leak upon her
request in February of 2014, and she chose not to move forward with the repair work.
As it currently stands, we have not performed any specifically contracted repairs over the bedroom in
question, and can back that up with evidence.
After reviewing the documents, if you decide that we are indeed honest in our business dealings and are
being falsely accused, we would like this complaint to be stricken from our record, as it has no merit