BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Northeast California

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Mr. Motorhome meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Mr. Motorhome include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Mr. Motorhome
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: June 16, 1997 Business started: 12/01/1996 in CA Business started locally: 12/01/1996
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

CA Department of Motor Vehicles- Licensing
2120 Broadway, Sacramento CA 95818
http://dmv.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (916) 657-8056

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Lon C. Lundgren, Owner Ms. Patty Wood, Webmaster
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Lon C. Lundgren, Owner
Business Category

Recreational Vehicles - Dealers

Products & Services

Mr. Motorhome sales quality new and used RV's.


Additional Locations

  • 9501 East Stockton

    Elk Grove, CA 95624 (916) 681-3333 (916) 425-8213 (888) 547-3841

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (888) 547-3841(Phone)
  • (916) 681-3333(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

5/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We were told we would be charged $995.00 for a PDI (pre-delivery inspection). We were told this inspection would cover everything in the coach and if anything was found not to work it would be repaired or replaced. We were told they would check every electrical outlet. We were told it was also a safety inspection and that everything would be safe when we left the lot.We were not given the option of declining this inspection. (I am sure they did a cursory inspection when they priced this motor home and if anything big had been found to not be working they would have added the repair or replacement to the selling price. Another used RV business we were at told us the PDI was optional)They did not do everything they said they would do and they are not returning my calls. I have called twice in the last 2 weeks. The first time they said they would have someone call me right back but never did. The second time I was told they would call me back today between 12 and 5. I stayed home all day today but they never called.

Desired Settlement: They did clean the RV and some of the problems we pointed out on our first visit were fixed, but I believe $995 is a little too much for a nice detail and some drawer repairs.I feel we deserve a partial refund.

Business Response: We have reviewed our valued client’s issues and resolved them to her satisfaction. Mr. Motorhome does indeed charge a disclosed PDI (Pre-Delivery-Inspection) fee which covers: mechanical; motor; oil change; tire and brake; and complete inspection and repair of any items that need attention on the RV itself which warranties that mechanically all is in working order.  Mr. Motorhome takes pride in providing superior service and attention to detail and we make customer satisfaction our number one priority.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to my concern, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

12/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Complaint against *** ******** (aka Mr. Motorhome) for deceptive and misleading business practices. Mr. *** ******** operates two businesses as Mr. Motorhome at 7900 E. Stockman Blvd. Sacramento, CA XXXXX Ph. XXX-XXX-XXXX and 963 West Main St. (Nov to April) Quartzsite, AZ 85346 Ph. 916-425-8213I took delivery of motor home (2001 Monaco Diplomat D-36) from *** ******** in Quartzsite, AZ (85346) on or about 5th of March 2013. At the time of purchase Mr. ******** stated to me that he had the motor home checked out and everything was working, if it wasn't he would take care of it. He also said that he would purchase a 90 day extended warranty. About 2 months after purchase I got a letter from warranty company stating that the extended warranty was never in effect because that type of warranty was not offered. I believe Mr. ******** knew this when he ordered the extended warranty policy. The purchase price of motor home was $55,000 ($35,000 trade in of my 2007 Fleetwood Tioga SL and $20,000 cash) which was in excellent condition with approx. 20,000 miles on the odometer. During visible walk around inspection I told *** (Mr. Motorhome's head salesman) that the tires were old and weather checking (cracking). *** said they would be replaced. When I set down with Mr. ******** he had no intention of replacing the tires until I brought it up, and then at $1000.00 more than we had agreed on. The cost of the tires was $2600.00 (cheapest you can buy). Theirs that reputable dealer thing again, as old and cracked as those tires were, it borders on being criminal having it for sale. I admit this should have raised a red flag. Everything above and below this line that is highlighted in red are things that a reputable, reliable and honest RV Dealer would have had fixed before putting on lot for sale. The washer dryer combo would not work, Mr. ********'s tech told me that they would fix it. After about two weeks of dealing with this, Mr. Motorhome told me that he didn't have anyone in Quartzsite who could fix this and he would give me two hundred dollar to have it fixed. I knew this would not be nearly enough to fix with labor about $100.00 an hr. He gave me $500 in cash and I signed a release for washer/dryer combo. Gets back to the above paragraph about being honest and reliable. I pointed out that the screen door latch was broken, like everything else I was told it would be ordered, never happened. I found one when I was at Monaco Service Center in Oregon. Below are things I noticed not being right the day after I took delivery. The first morning after taking the motor home, the engine batteries were dead, *** ******** sent **** **** of Quartzsite out to charge the batteries. The house batteries were critically low on water, I added over 2 Vi gallons of distilled water to 6 house battery, I brought this to their attention. I had the six batteries replaced with 4 good batteries in September for $615.80. There was an odd color to the coolant in the radiator reservoir. I brought this to the attention of ***** (tech) and *** (head salesman) they said it was a little rusty or someone added a coolant additive. When I got home I had antifreeze analyzed, the conclusion was that the transmission fluid cooler was leaking into the radiator. After talking to ******* Transmission tech who said this had to be fixed before the flow reversed and allow antifreeze to enter the transmission, this would ruin the transmission fairly quickly. It was determined that the radiator could not be repaired, a new one was built by Monaco. The cost was $7147.30. Installation was completed by ******** in Yakima, WA on 8/13/2013. Also the radiator cap on the reservoir would not stay on. I believe the reservoir will have to be replaced. There was a short in the electrical system. When you push in on the trip meter, the dash would go dead (including tachometer and speedometer) the ABS light would stay on plus some console lights. I brought this to Mr. Motor home attention and their solution was to disconnect the trip meter and install an auto resetting circuit breaker fuse. Cost to fix electrical problem was $509.95 at Monaco Service Center in Coburg, OR. On 10/9/2013, when we took delivery we were planning on going to Yuma in two days. I had the fresh water tank (100 gal.) filled with filtered water ($5.00). The next morning all 100 gallons had leaked on ground. It took five days to get new water shutoff values installed. When we finally got to go to Yuma, we were two weeks late and when we got back to Quartzite, was going to head to Washington State the next day. The step would not retract and RV Lifestyles got it to working for $50.00. Delayed another day. I had to have the step gear box replaced Sept. 13th for $500.00. While in Yuma, the headboard came loose and the bed was pushed forward by the gas rods that hold the bed up until it hit the wall. I was able to fix this myself for cost of materials. In closing I have to say our summer was ruined. I had 8 outings planned with motor home. We attended two events, in June and at the end of August. The rest of the time motor home was not drivable. Summary of expenses Replace radiator $7,147.304 house batteries $615.80 \Repair electrical system $509.95 Repair retractable step gear box $500.00 Replace rear stove burner lighter $50.00 Total $8,823.05 ****** ******

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) see Attached document

Business Response: Initial Business Response
In response to the complaint filed by ***** ****** who purchased a Monaco Diplamat against Mr. Motorhome Mr. and Mrs. ****** signed the purchase agreement with Mr. Motorhome on February 12, 2013 for a 2001 Monaco Diplomat (Monaco) luxury model diesel coach for $55,000.00. The Monaco purchased was a consignment that the consignor had used and said was a reliable coach and in very good shape. The ******'s traded in his 2007 Fleetwood Tioga as a down payment with $35,000.00 as an agreed trade-in value. New tires were included on the purchase agreement at Mr Motorhome's expense. On February 14, 2013, the Monaco was serviced and safety checked by Best Auto (Invoice XXXXX) as part of the standard Mr. Motorhome service and safety check with every coach delivery. The service included the safety check and service of belts, hoses, fluids (oil - engine and generator, automatic transmission fluid, radiator coolant), filters (coolant, fuel, and oil, engine and generator), drive train check, engine air conditioner system check, brake check, generator service, and repair of an ignition component. On February 15, 2013, 6 New Toyo M122 tires were installed by American Custom Tire, Inc. on the Monaco. These particular tires are commercial grade truck tires that are durable, all-position radial tires with all steel, four belt construction for even wear, traction, steering and extended tire and casing life and includes a 60 month workmanship and material manufacturer warranty. Once completed, the Monaco was then prepared for delivery on February 16, 2013 to February 19, 2013. This included the pre-delivery inspection by LMA Repair (all systems were checked), exterior detailing by Professional RV Detailing, Interior detailing by Mr. Motorhome staff, sixteen gallons of propane, and one hundred dollars of fuel. Prior to delivery, Mr. Motorhome spent $4,695.04 getting the Monaco ready for delivery. On February 20, 2013, The ******* were given a full walk-through in which an RV tech went over the Monaco with the ******* (this is basically a tutorial on coach operation and how everything works). After the ******* were satisfied that all systems, appliances, electrical components, and basically everything was in working order, the Monaco was well detailed and their coach was fully functioning, they took delivery of their Monaco. On February 21, 2013, the day after delivery, Mr. Motorhome received a call from the ******* who said that they had a problem with the batteries on the coach. **** **** was sent out on a service call. What they discovered was that Mr. ****** had torn apart the dash while trying to rewire the components for his TV and inadvertedly shorted out the electrical system. Mr. Motorhome paid for this Best Auto repair even though it was no fault of Mr Motorhome's. Unfortunately, it is difficult to tell what else was damaged when Mr. ****** shorted out his electrical system. There was an issue his washer and dryer not operating and LMA Repair tried to find someone to repair them but with everything limited in Quartzsite, they were not successful. After many trips by our service men and outside contractors, it was determined that no matter how hard we tried or what we did, we could not make Mr. ****** happy. After much negotiation, Mr. Motorhome and Mr. ****** agreed that a sum of $500 dollars would be fair compensation for any and all problems Mr ****** perceived might be wrong. On March 8, 2013, Mr. ****** signed a General Release of Claims releasing Mr Motorhome from any further obligation or liability for Mr ******'s purchase. Upon signing the release of liability form, Mr ****** was given $500 dollars. However, even though a General Release of Claims was signed, Mr. Motorhome continued to help Mr. ******. On March 15, 2013, Mr. Motorhome paid Best Auto Repair (Invoice XXXXX) for repair of more electrical components that malfunctioned due to the electrical shorting out. He also had his tech repeatedly dispensed to assist the ******** Mr. Motorhome is very sorry to hear about the problems that the ******* have experienced with their Monaco. Mr Motorhome has gone above and beyond to assist the ******** However, Mr. Motorhome cannot be responsible for repairs to a coach more than six months after it was purchased and some people can't be satisfied or happy no matter what you do. We have no idea what the ********* have done to the Monaco, what type of driving, care, or how it has been maintained.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Statement from Mr. Motorhome: MR. MOTORHOME AT ALL TIMES RESPONDED TO ALL OF MR ******'S ISSUES. AT NO TIME DOES HE SAY I WASN'T THERE TO TRY TO HELP HIM. MANY TIMES I DROVE TO HIS LOCATION PERSONALLY TO TRY TO RESOLVE HIS ISSUES. My rebuttal: I'm here to say that Mr. Motorhome did not resolve all of my issues. He came out to our site 2 times at the most and that was after complaints about being delayed going on our trip for almost a month. He told a good story before the sale but after he got title to Class C and $20,000 in cash, he didn't want to know us. Statement from Mr. Motorhome: HOWEVER, ALL I GOT WAS HIS WIFE YELLING AT ME AND NOTHING I DID COULD PLEASE THEM. Since Mr. Motorhome addressed my wife , *****, I will let her respond. All I'll say is that it's not in *****'s character to yell at anyone. *****'s rebuttal: I went to Mr. Motorhome's office to tell him how frustrated we both were because of all the delays getting the motor home and getting things fixed, which he assured us when we made the purchase that he would go through everything and make sure everything was in working condition, and it wasn't. IN ALL OUR CONVERSATION I DID NOT YELL AT HIM.. When I started to speak about being frustrated to the point of it having an effect on our relationship, he interrupted me and said I was making him feel bad because he had tried to do everything to make us happy. I mentioned that the covers on the ceiling fans were filthy and needed to be cleaned but that it could only be done by getting on the roof, He accused me of saying the cleaning ladies did not clean it well enough so he called the cleaning lady into the office and told her I said she didn't clean well enough. I said I did not say that. She did a good job and she agreed with me that they could not be cleaned from inside the motorhome; He said I did not need the washer on the way home and when we got home we could fix it and send him the bill. I told him he needed to do his business with ***. He also said it should not cost more than $150.00 to have it fixed. I could not tell him anything or talk because he kept interrupting me with excuses. I finally told him he needed to talk with ***, and left.. He came at noon to talk to ***. *** is a disabled veteran with a purple heart having served in Vietnam. In spite of his PTSD, heart problems and other disabilities he does not yell or swear. I am also disabled. Yelling just is not what we do because we know it does not help anything, neither does lying. He appears to have no respect for elders, women, or veterans. Statement from Mr. Motorhome: I SPENT A LOT OF MONEY WITH OUTSIDE REPAIR BUSINESSES TO TRY TO PLEASE HIM AND HE WAS NO HAPPY WITH ANYONE. My Rebuttal: Mr. Motorhome didn't spend near as much money as I did on major repairs that were their long before I bought the motorhome. The only receipt I received of work Mr. Motorhome had done was for new tires ($2600.00) and I paid $1000.00 of that. I agreed to the $1000.00 after he found out he had to put new tires on motorhome. Trying to sell a motorhome with tires in that condition is border line of being criminal. He said he had the engine serviced (oil changed) I'm not sure if that was done or not. Statement from Mr. Motorhome FINALLY I HAD MR. ****** SIGN A RELEASE FOR ALL ITEMS (NOT ONLY HIS WASHER/DRYER) AND PAID HIM $500.00. My rebuttal: Just goes to show his honesty and integrity as a businessman! During the discussion of money only the washer/dryer was mentioned because he said he did not have anyone in Quartzsite that could fix a combo washer/dryer. Statement from Mr. Motorhome WHAT ELSE CAN I DO. I ALWAYS GO THE EXTRA MILE TO PLEASE MY CUSTOMERS. My rebuttal: Mr. Motorhome in his ads brags about being friends with his customers after the sale, his customer Motto is "We stay friends after the sale." He says he has customers that have bought from him 6 times. That's funny, I would like to meet some of them. I just met a lady today that asked me where I bought my motorhome, I first told her I really didn't want to say, when I did she said I wouldn't buy anything from Mr. Motorhome, I've heard about him before. I've heard other people make comments about Mr. Motorhome in the last 2 weeks. Where are his friends(customers) I don't believe he has that many in Quartzsite, AZ. Statement from Mr. Motorhome MR ****** WAS ADVISED HE SHOULD BUY AN EXTENDED WARRANTY COVERING ALL ITEMS ON HIS COACH AND HE DECLINED. My rebuttal: Was the extended warranty I declined, the same extended warranty policy that he bought for 90 days that was fraudulent(not available) The reason I say fraudulent is I believe that he knew this policy was not available, It was just part of his sales pitch to get me to sign on the bottom line. I just run the numbers on 2007 Tioga SL 31W with 21,000 miles vs 2001 Monaco Diplomat D-36 on NADA.com. 2007 Tioga SL 31W In better than average condition Low Retail $39,831 Avg. Retail $47993 2001 Monaco Diplomat D-36 Needs major repairs I spent $7,147.30 to replace radiator, $500.00 to repair electrical. Replaced batteries for $600.00, I brought that to his attention day after sale that the batteries was just about out of water. Had step motor replaced. Low Retail $28,520 Ave. Retail $34,360 Considering the values of Motorhome's , condition of same, money to fix the Monaco not to mention all of the delay's and the ruined summer. At best this should have been an even trade. I'll accept a cashier's check or bank draft for $20,000

Final Business Response
MR MOTORHOME AT ALL TIMES RESPONDED TO ALL OF MR ******'S ISSUES. AT NO TIME DOES HE SAY I WASN'T THERE TO TRY TO HELP HIM. MANY TIMES I DROVE TO HIS LOCATION PERSONALLY TO TRY TO RESOLVE HIS ISSUES. HOWEVER, ALL I GOT WAS HIS WIFE YELLING AT ME AND NOTHING I DID COULD PLEASE THEM. I SPENT A LOT OF MONEY WITH OUTSIDE REPAIR BUSINESSES TO TRY TO PLEASE HIM AND HE WAS NO HAPPY WITH ANYONE. FINALLY I HAD MR. ****** SIGN A RELEASE FOR ALL ITEMS (NOT ONLY HIS WASHER/DRYER) AND PAID HIM $500.00. WHAT ELSE CAN I DO. I ALWAYS GO THE EXTRA MILE TO PLEASE MY CUSTOMERS. MR ****** WAS ADVISED HE SHOULD BUY AN EXTENDED WARRANTY COVERING ALL ITEMS ON HIS COACH AND HE DECLINED. I'VE TRIED BY BEST AND I'M ALWAYS JUST A PHONE CALL AWAY.

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

3/28/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
11/21/2011 Advertising/Sales Issues
1