Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

Home Team Financial, Inc.

Phone: (888) 264-6615 5701 Lonetree Blvd Ste 203, Rocklin, CA 95765 http://www.hometfi.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Home Team Financial, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 3
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Home Team Financial, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 22, 2009 Business started: 11/11/2009 in CA Business started locally: 11/11/2009 Business incorporated 12/09/2009 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

CA Bureau of Real Estate
1651 Exposition Blvd., Sacramento CA 95815
http://www.dre.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (877) 373-4542
Fax Number: (916) 263-8943
The number is 01876873.

CA Bureau of Real Estate
1651 Exposition Blvd., Sacramento CA 95815
http://www.dre.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (877) 373-4542
Fax Number: (916) 263-8943
The number is 8151301.

CA Bureau of Real Estate
1651 Exposition Blvd., Sacramento CA 95815
http://www.dre.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (877) 373-4542
Fax Number: (916) 263-8943
The number is 935087.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Cam Villa, Owner Mr. Jason Moulton, CEO
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Cam Villa, Owner
Business Category

Real Estate Consumer Finance & Loan Companies

Alternate Business Names
The Money Store of California

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    5701 Lonetree Blvd Ste 203

    Rocklin, CA 95765 (888) 264-6615

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Falsely led me to believe they could refinance me. Refuse to return calls and make situation right!!! Worked with **** ***** for over 6 months to refinance my house. Told everything there was needed to know to see if I was eligible, and he told me there was nothing stopping me and he even talked to the underwriters and titling company. Also told me that if it didn't work out he would refund my appraisal fees. Well after lots of work and hurrying to finish my deck because that was all that was left before i could refinance, he tells me I am not able to refinance because of the titling on my deed. Which is fine besides the fact that I told him this was an issue from the get go and he reassured me that it wouldn't be. Home Team financial has let **** go and I have been trying to work with ***** about making this situation right, but he has refused to return my calls or give me a straight answer on refunding me my appraisal fees which were $625.00. I have tried to work with them and they are not handling this situation proffessionally like they should. I understand that we all make mistakes but once we realize them they should be corrected and Home Team Financial is not doing so or acting like they care. I would not recommend using them for your financial needs because they are very misleading.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be refunded my appraisal fees like i was told from your former employee ****.

Business Response: Initial Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** *******, President Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *****@hometfi.com This is the first I have heard of this. I will reach out to the client and settle this matter. Thank you ***** ******* President

7/15/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We have received 4 recorded phone messages from this company asking for "information to add to our file". Have never done business with this company. We have received 4 messages in the last couple of weeks. 2 from an assistant to "***** *******", and 2 from "***** *******". In all cases, the message asks for a call back to provide information to "add to our file". We have never done business with this company, and we are on the National Do Not Call List. I notice another complaint about unsolicited contacts in this company's BBB file. Phone messages from the callers leave no company name, just the individual's name and contact number. When I called the number to request that they not contact us further, the caller answered with "Home Team Financial."

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ******* - President Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *****@hometfi.com Our company has a strict policy in regards to the DNC list. We scrub all list against the DNC and immediately remove people upon request. Our previous complaint was resolved as such Home Team has removed this gentleman from our call list and sincerely apologize for any inconvenience we may have caused, he will not receive a message or call from our company in the future. Please allow up to 3 business days for this to register with our platform. Thank you

4/19/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Deceptive phone calls being received from company. Received numerous phone calls from someone named ****** who leaves voice mails stating she is calling on behalf of ****** and that they need to speak with me to close my file. I have no business with this company.

Desired Settlement: I would like the BBB to investigate their sales practices regarding the messages they leave. I am on the National do not call list and have never done business with nor heard of this company before. They should not be calling and leaving me deceptive messages that make me think someone may have stolen my identity.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Home Team is a national lender that is registered and scrubs all data against the National DO NOT CALL List. We have protocol in place to ensure that anyone that asks is immediately put on the list. This is the first contact we have had with ****** ****** and I have personally added her to the National Do Not Call list. She will not be contacted by any of my staff again. Please allow 48 hours from today for here contact numbers to take effect. Thank you and I hope this resolves this matter. Sincerely, ****** ****** President/CEO Home Team Financial

2/19/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Company calls / leaves deceptive voice mail like it's from someone I've dealt with then asks me to call them. Will not take no for an answer. The company has called several times leaving a deciptive voice mail designed to elicit a callback. Then when called back they inform the caller what they are actually selling (a mortgage). When told to not call again am not interested, the hard sell starts and also it will take 10 (business) days to get you off their call lists. When I called tonight in response to their ongoing calls I told the person, do not call me. What does this person do? They call me right back to harrass me some more. Our phones are all on the government "Do not Call" registry. I shouldn't have to resort to making a complaint to the BBB to make them go away but if this works, great.

Desired Settlement: If we don't hear from this company again I will consider it settled.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
This person has been put on our Do Not Call list. Our system has several fail safes in place to not repeat call someone that request to be put on the Do Not Call list and we report all these request to the Do Not Call Regestry. There are many competitors in the market place and I suspect if he recieved a follow up after requesting to be put on the list it was not from our company.