BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Northeast California

BBB Accredited Business since

Tahoe Rental Connection

Phone: (530) 542-2777 Fax: (530) 542-2906 2241 James Ave STE 3, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150 http://www.tahoerentalconnection.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Tahoe Rental Connection meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Tahoe Rental Connection include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Tahoe Rental Connection
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: August 03, 1999 Business started: 01/01/1980 in CA Business started locally: 01/01/1980
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

CA Bureau of Real Estate
1651 Exposition Blvd., Sacramento CA 95815
http://www.dre.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (877) 373-4542
Fax Number: (916) 263-8943

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Ms. Keely Stewart, General Manager Mr. Dan Shideler, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Keely Stewart, General Manager
Business Category

Property Management Vacation Rentals

Alternate Business Names
Tahoe Rental Connection Property Management

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2241 James Ave STE 3

    South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150 (530) 542-2777

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

8/20/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Upon vacating a rental property fraud and deceit were used to keep an inordinate amount of damage deposit. I rented a property from Tahoe Rental Connection for a little over a year when I was told the owner wanted to sell and was asked to move out, I obliged. Two weeks later I received a check for the remainder of my damage deposit. They had kept $1166.92 of my deposit. I had thoroughly cleaned the house, had professional carpet cleaning performed and had taken very good care of the property throughout my lease term. Several of the items I received as 'proof' of their expenditures on cleaning, lawn care, closet repairs, carpet cleaning etc. were lacking in detail, sent to me as work orders, not invoices or dated a year prior to my move out date. I then submitted a letter to them asking for some of these funds back. I included another copy of the carpet cleaning invoice that I had performed, as well as a letter from the technician stating that there were no visual stains or odor left in the house at the completion of this service. I also included an invoice that was dated almost a year earlier that was for repairs made at the beginning of my tenancy that were not my responsibility. They sent me back a letter claiming that these services had all been performed and they weren't going to be refunding any more of my damage deposit. They included a copy of a receipt for carpet cleaning as well as "proof" that the closet repair was done after my move out date. This 'new' invoice from Lake Tahoe Glass was certainly dated after my move out date but contained the same invoice number, the same PO number and indicated the same check number was used to pay the invoice as the one from shortly after my move in date. They stated in their letter that the original invoice I wasn't responsible for but the 'new' one, I was. I then went to Lake Tahoe Glass and talked to them about their invoicing system. It was confirmed to me that they never use the same invoice number and that both invoices did show they were paid with the same check number, though they were dated nearly a year apart. They refused to provide me with a statement to that affect, as clearly this would also incriminate them. The fact that they have perpetrated fraud against me in this fashion has made me question any of the rest of their 'proof' of charges made against my deposit. They have failed to provide accurate documentation of these charges and because I am now in possession of hard evidence that the closet repairs are not my responsibility I would also like to be reimbursed for the other charges that they 'proved' by sending me generic invoices listing no company name, rate of service or contact information. The items they have sent me work orders and no invoices for and feel that anything they haven't fully proved was my responsibility should be returned to me immediately.

Desired Settlement: I want a fair refund of my damage deposit as many of these charges are either completely fraudulent, or trumped up to cost more money than reasonable. I want a refund of $139.65 for closet repairs that were done right after I moved in and were caused by a previous tenant. I want the $400 I was charged for cleaning which was sent to me on an unlabeled generic invoice that didn't represent time spent or rate of fees, just simply stated $400 on the bottom. I want a refund of $100 of carpet cleaning that was supposedly performed after I paid almost $400 for professional carpet cleaning and secured a letter from my carpet cleaning company that states there were no visible stains or odor in the carpet upon completion. I want a refund of $265 that was charged for lawn care that was sent to me on a work order claiming that a company called A&M landscaping did the work, though there is no invoice from that company. In total I want an additional refund of my damage deposit totaling $904.65

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
I am writing with regard to the consumer complaint Case# XXXXXXXX filed by ***** ***** on behalf of the Residential Lease Agreement between Narconon of Northern California & Tahoe Rental Connection. I have attached the tenant's original letter to Tahoe Rental Connection upon receiving his security deposit refund, in which he disputes two charges: 1.) $100.00 - Spot cleaning and deodorizing carpets 2.) $139.65 - Damage to wheels on wardrobe closet door I have also attached my response to Mr. *****. Unfortunately, as Mr. ***** pointed out in his complaint to you, the invoices I included from Lake Tahoe Glass with the response letter, do appear to be duplicates. I apologize for the confusion with the invoices for 1898 Venice Drive from Lake Tahoe Glass. Fortunately, our office has been extremely busy this summer and I did not notice the error in the information provided on the invoices. Lake Tahoe Glass did replace and repair the wardrobe closet wheels last July 17, 2012. Upon vacancy of the unit this June 2013, they again went out and replaced the wheels, along with other wheels that were damaged and closet doors that were missing, however, we only charged him for the wheels that were replaced during his occupancy (all invoices attached). With regard to the spot cleaning and odor of the carpets, I have attached pictures of some spots which were still remaining, which were pointed out to ****, a staff member of the Narconon Establishment, during the move out inspection (invoice attached). I have addressed the dog odor issue on my previous response to Mr. *****. After receiving my response, Mr. ***** then filed a complaint with you in which he's disputing even more charges. 1.) $400.00 - Cleaning Fee: Please see attached pictures which illustrate the lack of cleaning done by the tenant. This was also discussed with ****, a staff member of the Narconon Establishment, during the move out inspection. This is a 2500 sq.ft. home which was filled with dog hair, dirty appliances, food filled cupboards, and refrigerator, dirty windows and blinds, etc. The invoice attached was submitted by independent housekeepers we have used and trusted for over 10 years. Their names are *** and ******a ****. 2.) $265.00 - Lawn Care: Please see the attached invoice and pictures of the condition of the lawn upon move out in June 2013. Also attached is the invoice from July 2012 when the lawns were restored and the sprinklers were repaired shortly after Mr. *****'s move in last year. With regard to Mr. *****'s claim that Tahoe Rental Connection has engaged in "perpetrating fraud and deceit", I'm quite confused. Not only are all the charges justified, but Mr. *****'s company, Narconon of Northern California, has failed to pay 4 out of 5 late fees for late rental payments over the last year totaling $920.00. Tahoe Rental Connection, in the interest of good business, waived the total due of $920.00. It is unfortunate that instead of being appreciate of Tahoe Rental Connection's generosity, we are being attacked unjustly by Mr. *****.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

4/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service
1