Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Sheraton Real Estate Management Inc.?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Sheraton Real Estate Management Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Sheraton Real Estate Management Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Sheraton Real Estate Management Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: June 22, 1993 Business started: 06/01/1986 in CA Business started locally: 06/01/1986 Business incorporated: 12/19/2001 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

CA Bureau of Real Estate
1651 Exposition Blvd., Sacramento CA 95815
http://www.dre.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (877) 373-4542
Fax Number: (916) 263-8943
The number is 01329961.

CA Bureau of Real Estate
1651 Exposition Blvd., Sacramento CA 95815
http://www.dre.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (877) 373-4542
Fax Number: (916) 263-8943
The number is 01339360.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Daniel Herbert, President Mr. Larry Ruby, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Daniel Herbert, President
Principal: Mr. Larry Ruby, Owner
Business Category

Property Management Property Management - Industrial & Commercial Property Maintenance Real Estate


Additional Locations

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

9/18/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Sheraton has charged excessive fees as part of the 'Move-out' process. This is a pattern for Sheraton as noted by **** and other review sites.Specifically, the have charged for items that did not need repair and charged 3 times the appropriate fee for items that need repair. Their bill does not include any actually payments to vendors or associated material costs.This company is obviously making their profit on fabricated and over-priced repairs rather than rental fees.The total repair bill was $3,542. Here are 2 examples of how they ever-charge: * Cleaning $338 - we already paid $450 dollars to a cleaning company to clean the apartment and it was exceptional clean (stove, refridge, etc.). I'm not sure how they can spend another $300+ dollars cleaning, especially since they are charging to repaint the place. * Maintenance for Window Blind $227 - This is a standard size blind that was not properly installed (never removed the excess slats)that sells for $20 at home depot. They bought a new $20 blind and replaced the old one without installing new brackets which is a 5 minute job.Please work with me to expose this fraud.

Desired Settlement: I would like to see Sheraton produce actual receipt for the billed labor and materials.

Business Response:

Dear Mr. *****,

 

I have been notified by Better Business Bureau that you filed a complaint on August 8, 2014 regarding a billing issue in reference to your son’s former residency at *** ******** **.  Please recognize that the first I heard of this complaint was last Friday (9/12/14). The complaint was emailed to *** ******* who is retired and not forwarded to myself.   It is unfortunate that you felt you needed to take this step but I understand if you had been attempting to resolve the issues you had and you were not receiving a response. As I have included in my emails to ***** *****, one of your fellow Personal Guarantors, the property manager for this project was recently released due to a lack of follow-up. I apologize if this was the case regarding your complaint.

 

Let me begin by assuring you that no attempt has been made or has ever been made in the 30 years of our existence to defraud any of our residents.  We would still not be in business if we did. We are a family business that wishes to provide a satisfying experience for all of our residents. As I included in my email to ***** *****, no company does more to educate the resident on what is expected at move-out. We email and send an 11 page move-out packet that explains how to receive your deposit as well as all rates charged if repairs need to be made. This packet was received and acknowledged by all residents at ***. Yet, no one appeared at the scheduled move-out.  We also offer a Pre-inspection 2 weeks before the move-out date and only one of the parents, Mr. *** *****, showed and none of the residents.

 

I will respond to your two issues:

Cleaning

I addressed this in an email to Mr. ***** as I credited the cleaning billing back to the residents. This cleaning was legitimate and was needed in addition to the ********* *** *** ****** but was credited back because it was not noted on the move-out.  It was not to be charged to the residents but charged to the property as some of the items were dirty due to repairs being completed in the unit after the move-out. It is unfortunate that I was not made aware of your complaint as I could have corrected your accusation.

To correct your assumption  that Sheraton is charging unrealistic rates, our rates are very competitive and also clearly provided to the vacating resident in the move-out packet. To set the record straight, Sheraton does not make a profit on the cleaning as you have assumed. It is a loss each summer but it is a necessity as we turn over approximately 350-400 units in 90 days and process approximately 4,500 work orders during this time. To complete these turnover in a timely manner is an impossibility without in-house help.

 

Window Blind

I am sorry but I cannot locate where you are seeing a labor billing for $227. Two damaged bedroom blinds were replaced each charged out at $25.35 and one vertical blind for $52. I am assuming the labor you are quoting was for numerous repairs made such as closet guides and rails and other items.  I do see that invoice #******notes one bedroom blind at $50.70 but it was actually two.     

 

Mr. *****, I would appreciate the complaint being retracted but I will leave that up to you. I am hopeful this answers your complaint but please feel free to write or email me if you are in need of more clarification.

 

Sincerely,

 

 

***** ****

 

 

***** ****

***

Sheraton Real Estate

1166 E. Lassen Avenue

Chico, CA 95973

530-774-2531

License #890357

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to my concern, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

9/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I put up a $400 security deposit for a lease for **** ** *** **** *** ****** ** *****. Nothing has been returned, and no response to my several e-mails.Below is a partial copy of the e-mail I sent on July 8. No response. I then sent a follow up on July 31. Again, no response.***I am told that in the Chico rental market, Sheraton has a poor reputation for appropriate and lawful return of security deposits. The alleged Security Deposit Itemization that I received adds credence to this notoriety.For example, there is a $600 estimate for maintenance. As I would hope your firm knows, California law allows the landlord to use a tenants security deposit for one of exactly four purposes. And maintenance is certainly not one them! Even the layperson would understand that maintenance is the responsibility of the landlord.My son, ******* ******, told me that there was a defect with a sink in a bathroom which was reported to Sheraton (it was starting to come away from the wall). Which by the way Sheraton did nothing about! So I certainly hope there is no effort at this time to recast that as an item for which the tenants would be financially responsible.There is also a very high estimate ($700) for painting. I personally inspected the property at move-out and detected nothing that would beyond normal wear and tear.Further weakening the illegal stance you sought to establish in your Security Deposit Itemization is that your agent indicated during the move-out inspection that there were only a couple of items that the tenants should address (which they did) and that everything else should be fine.* * *

Desired Settlement: The return of the appropriate portion of the security deposit.

Consumer Response:

On Monday, 8/25/14 I submitted a complaint against Sheraton Real Estate Management.

 

The CEO of the company, ***** ****, immediately engaged on this issue once word got to him.  He determined there was a communication snafu which created the issue, which he quickly addressed.

 

My issue is now fully resolved and I would like to withdraw the complaint that I filed.

 

Please feel free to contact me if you have any questions or require any additional information.  Thanks!

10/15/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We were leased a property that has insufficient A.C. ducting resulting in 80-85 degree temps. in half the house. We want a fully working house. We were first shown the house by ******* ***** on 5/28 and apparently it had new carpet because all the mess from the install was left behind. ******* said sorry but made no effort to have it taken care of. It was early when we saw the house so we turned on the a.c. and when we came back a few hours later it was evident the a.c did not work so we called Sheraton and it took seven days to get a halfway working a.c. (7)Once it became apparent the a.c. was not working very well I called ******* again and supposedly someone would come out and look at it but never did. After a while **** was the new property manager and he sent someone to verify that the ducting was too small to properly cool half the house. After that **** will not return phone messages. We have also asked for a garage door opener since day one, with no results. We have also been waiting for them to deal with a cabinet mold issue since 5/28/2012. They are supposed to paint it. We also have to constantly call them about the lawn not getting cut. Right now its been 18 days since the lawn has been cut and in some places its ten inches tall. In the places where the irrigation works, which is roughly half the yard, its of course green and taller. In the other parts of the yard, where the inadequate sprinklers do not reach, the yard is brown, but these areas are within the watered ones. Looks half-dead and unmowed most of the time. We would like this property in working order and in good appearance.

Desired Settlement: We simply want what we are paying for, a fully working house for 1,250.00 a month. You cannot call this a properly working house if I have to put up with 80-85 degree heat in my living room. And if I use the stove it gets up to 95 or more in the Living Room and Kitchen. I believe Sheraton was aware of the problems with the a.c. in this home prior to our leasing it and should have made us aware of it so we could have made an informed decision before getting into it instead of dealing with it this way. Who in their right minds would want to pay 1,250.00 a month to stay in a house you cant get to work no matter what? We have a $220.00 electric bill in a house that has a gas stove, gas oven, and gas water heater. The $220.00 is for air conditioning half the house and a couple compact flourescent bulbs and a t.v. We would like to be compesated for the first week we were here without any a.c. $200.00 should be more than fare I think, and if you don't, tell me why. I also think we should be compensated $200.00 per month for the non-working a.c., and then fix it or continue to take $150.00 off the monthly lease total. I think thats more than fair considering this house is only half coolable and the electric bill is all A.c. We would like them to finally address the mold issue in the cabinets by painting them like they said would happen. We have been waiting since 5/29 for this issue to be taken care of as well as a garage door opener We also would like the lawn cut regularly.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
2:47-We would like to address the issues item by item. First of all the a.c. unit is older as is the house. When we did the original walk through he tested the air flow and expressed that he didn't think it was strong enough. We had a couple of heating and a.c. company's test it and found that in order for the system to work as he would like a whole new unit would need to be installed. That was too much of a financial burden on the home owner, so he was given the option of being released from the lease at that time, but declined. He also commented upon the walk through that the house was 'not what he expected'. When asked if he had previewed it before-hand he replied yes. We researched the alleged mold issue, and take it very seriously. The mold he's referring to is the old green paint that is starting to appear because the white paint over it is chipping. We did have a mold and air quality test done. Those results came back negative. Upon mailing those results we again offered to release him of his contractual obligation. He again declined. So, we offered to paint the cupboards and he accepted. Unfortunately, he missed all 3 of the scheduled appointments for painting. We have not been able to re-enter in order to fulfill this offer. Finally, when he took possession of the property it was with new paint, carpet, appliances, and a newly landscaped backyard. The cost for these improvements to the owner was near $9,000.00. Again, we have offered to release him of his contractual obligation or transfer his lease to a new home. Again, he has declined. Below are the timelines to support our statement: 5/17/12 - New paint was done 5/22/12 - Various maintenance such as new blinds, new toilet seats, repairing dishwasher, etc 5/24/12 - New carpet throughout installed 5/25/12 - Landscaping clean up done and currently has landscaping service every other week 5/29/12 - Mr. ****** moved in and disliked several features of the home included poor a/c air flow, suspected mold and cosmetic issues. I verbally offered to release him from his lease agreement if he was not satisfied with the condition but he declined. 5/30/12 - **** *****, a certified mold remediation technician, came out on May 30th and inspected the areas of concern. He documented that were no elevated moisture readings present and the staining on the cabinets were from old water leaks. 6/6/12 - *************** inspected the a/c unit, refilled low freon and noted unit working fine. 6/8/12 - Mr. ****** emailed me stating that he still believed that the cabinets in the home were moldy, the tiles on the kitchen counter had stained grout, the front door was not secure (a technician had already been sent out 6/1/12 to check and verified that the door was secure and locked easily), and that although the a/c was ''better'', the living room and kitchen were hotter than the rest of the house. 6/14/12 - I emailed Mr. ****** informing him that we would like to do an air quality test to check for the presence of spores and please contact **** ***** to schedule. 6/14, 6/20, 6/28 - **** ***** attempted to contact Mr. ****** for an appointment to perform air quality test as Mr. ****** wished to be present. 7/3/12 - **** ***** performed air quality test and sent to EMLab P&K 7/9/12 - Received results of air quality test with no dangerous elevations noted. Mailed copy of report to Mr. ******. 7/25/12 - *************** inspected a/c unit again, nothing wrong but age of unit and vaulted ceilings in the living room contribute to imbalance of cooling house.

Business' Final Response
We have already responded to all of these concerns in our initial phone and email response. We have documentation and invoices paid from each technician visit and all items were addressed as needed. The kitchen cabinets are indeed stained and marked which is common for a 23 year old home and is a cosmetic issue, not habitability. As mentioned, we have offered to release the tenant from the lease agreement due to his dissatisfaction and this offer remains open.