BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Northeast California

BBB Accredited Business since

Realty Roundup, Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (916) 685-6601 Fax: (916) 685-6671 PO Box 1145, Elk Grove, CA 95759 http://www.realtyroundup.com View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Realty Roundup, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Realty Roundup, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Realty Roundup, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: July 28, 1993 Business started: 01/01/1974 Business started locally: 01/01/1974 Business incorporated: 12/05/1978 in CA
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

CA Bureau of Real Estate
1651 Exposition Blvd., Sacramento CA 95815
http://www.dre.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (877) 373-4542
Fax Number: (916) 263-8943

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mrs. Debbie Reimche-Mason, President Mr. Bill Stanley, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mrs. Debbie Reimche-Mason, President
Business Category

Property Management

Products & Services

Realty Roundup, Inc. is a full service property management company


Additional Locations

  • 10434 Twin Cities Rd

    Galt, CA 95632 (209) 745-5100

  • PO Box 1145

    Elk Grove, CA 95759

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

1/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Rental property handed over in unsanitary condition To Whom it May Concern; We are the new tenets of ***************** Way, Elk Grove, CA. We received our keys after 3pm on 12/7/12 and our lease officially began 12/8/12. When entering the premises on 12/7/12 in the evening, with my young daughter, I found that the house was not to be what I consider move-in ready. The house was filthy. I have rented properties for 15 years, and in these years, from the low end of rent to the high, I have never encountered anything like what I found at this home. Because I had my young daughter with me, and the property was in what I found to be unsanitary condition, I chose to leave and return on 12/8/12 with my husband. Upon our return, we found urine and fecal matter in one of the upstairs toilets, pubic hair and body hair all throughout the sinks, counter-tops, toilets, tubs and showers. We found mold, dirt and grime in the edging on the bathrooms surfaces. The tile in the bathrooms were covered with soap scum. The windowsills, baseboards, closets, light fixtures, and any cupboards were dirty (dusty), the windows are spotted and smudged, inside and out. All of the mirrors have not been cleaned. There is touch-up paint required through the entire home. There are several screens that are torn/or bent, and require replacement. The previous tenet had left personal items in the house. The carpeting reeks of wet dog. Many of the lights are not functioning and need bulb replacement, or are mis-matched, cracked and broken. I rent from property management companies over tenets because I have found that property management companies have a higher standard for cleaning the properties. I am so absolutely disappointed in Realty Roundup for passing off this home as ready, and am disgusted with what I have been required to clean just to move into the home. We have spent the entire weekend sanitizing and cleaning the home. There is still further cleaning required and minor repairs which we ****** continue to have to make through the week. To have collected a security deposit for this home is laughable considering the condition it was in when Realty Roundup handed it over. Because we need a home, and needed to move our items in this past weekend, we did not have the luxury of waiting to move in and requesting the Realty Roundup provide professional cleaning to the home, which is what I expected in the first place. I would like Realty Roundup to provide us with the following remedy, in exchange for the time and material cost that it we have been required to expend in order to simply bring this house to "move-in" ready standards. We would like 2 weeks off of our January rent. Thus deducting our January 2013 rent by $654.84 to $420.97. It is truly disheartening to begin a rental relationship in this matter, and I highly suggest to Realty Roundup that you review your cleaning standards for ensuring rentals are move-in ready. All homes should be required to have professional cleaners do move out cleaning and pass a white-glove test in order to be considered move-in ready. We were really looking forward to moving into our home and starting our new adventure here in Elk Grove and are completely disenchanted with what we have encountered. I ****** be reporting my experience to the Better Business Bureau and via various social media review websites. Kind Regards, ****** ****** and ***** ******** XXX-XXX-XXXX or XXX-XXX-XXXX

Desired Settlement: Rental refund of 654.84 for January 2013

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** *******, Manager Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *****@citlink.net The morning of December 10, 2012, we received an email from the new tenants, ****** ****** and ****** ******. The email was exactly what the BBB complaint filed on December 10, 2012. Upon the property manager, ***** ******, receiving the email, he immediately called the tenants and set an appointment to go to the property on the same day in the afternoon. He wanted to see what the actual items they were complaining about. ***** has been in contact with the tenants and the owner regarding the stated issues. The final agreed upon outcome for the compaint is that the tenants are to receive a $670.00 rent credit for January. They ****** be reimbursed for some of the items that they already repaired, they just have to present their receipt. A handyman was already dispatched to the property and has already completed the rest of the items, except one exterior item. As of an email dated 12/20/12, the tenants are happy with the resolution to the items at issue.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

10/29/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: exit requirements for our rental explained that professional carpet cleaning was needed so we complied and were refused our complete deposit back. We rented a property at ****************** drive, elk grove, ca. Our security deposit was a total of $1775.00 to move in on June 13,2008 and when we moved out on Aug 21,2012, we were refunded $890.49. Our final statement had a mistake of $250.00 going to carpet cleaning but we had already paid to have the carpet cleaned. Our receipt was turned in and we were told we would be receiving our additional $250.00 back. ****** *****, the very rude property manager, sent us only $90.00 back, changing her mind and changing the paperwork, claiming now that the carpet wasn't clean enough. We spent $200.00 for a deep cleaning on 8/21, as per the Exit rental agreement, they charged us $250.00 and we would like our $250.00 back. Also, Realty Roundup charged us $240.00 for janitorial services that are estimated. I would like a receipt for that. The only thing that wasn't scrubbed in that house were the linoleum floors in the kitchen and baths. I don't believe that the owners spent that much money to get the floors mopped. They inspected the property once a year and we were never informed that the carpets or anything else was lacking, they actually complimented the property being so well cared for. The water ****** that they charged us for was an estimate and I would like to see the actual ******. I have not received any itemized bills for any of the services preformed, carpet cleaning, janitorial, or water. Very disappointed with the unprofessional manner of ****** *****, property manager. I had to start emailing her just so that I could keep her on a professional level and keep it all in writing as she was so nasty on the phone.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund in the amount of $390.00, $250.00 for carpet cleaning that was already paid for and $140.00 for janitorial services that are beyond unfair and uncalled for.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
This letter and attachments serves as our answer to the complaint on Case ID # XXXXXXXX. First and foremost, I'd like to apologize to the ******'s for the manner in which they were treated by ******. I would always like to leave any relationship with our company on a positive note. Mr. & Mrs. ****** moved into the home at ****** Dr, Elk Grove, CA on 6/13/2008. They signed a one year lease, see attached. They had two medium to large size dogs, see pet addendum to the lease. Also attached is the move in condition report, first filled out by our agent, ****** ******, plus their additional notes/comments on the last page. On July 20, 2012, the ******'s gave notice to vacate. Attached is our confirmation of the notice to vacate along with the guidelines to getting your security deposit and notice of right to have a pre inspection. Please reference the guide to getting your deposit, it clearly stated carpets to be professionally cleaned and to turn in a receipt for carpet cleaning when you turn in keys. Attached is the move out work sheet we use to track the tenants moving out. Keys were received at 8:20 am on 8/22/12. Our office does not open until 9 am. When we received the keys there was not a carpet cleaning receipt. On 8/23/12 Ms. ****** performed the move out at the property. She noted a heavy pet smell in the home. ****** called the ******'s to obtain a copy of their carpet cleaning receipt since one was not turned in. She did not receive a copy for almost 3 weeks, so per the owner request and the heavy pet odor, she had the carpet cleaned and deodorized again on 9/14/12. Per the pet addendum, the tenants are responsible for any pet damage. The odor in the carpets from the pets is damage, not normal wear and tear. So the second cleaning/deodorizing was a justifiable charge due to the damage. On October 19, 2012, the owners hired a company to deodorize the carpets again, due to the lingering pet odor. At this time they have not advised us to charge you for this deodorization. As for the general cleaning, the house was not clean per how they received the property or the cleaning guidelines that they received. Attached are a few move in photos from 2008 and move out photos from 2012, to show some of the cleaning differences. We can probably remove the drip pan charge of $40, since I cannot tell by photos the condition on move in. The questions on the security deposit reconciliation(s), the first reconciliation that went out had estimated items, see attached, so there were no invoices attached. On the second reconciliation, also attached, the receipts for carpet cleaning and general cleaning were attached. The final water ****** has come in and the final security deposit was completed 10/22/12 and mailed to the ******'s along with the copy of the water ******. ****** also put another copy of the cleaning/carpet cleaning ****** in the envelope. If there are any further questions or concerns, please let me know

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) An email was sent to ****** on August 22nd letting her know that the carpets were cleaned, drapes were dry cleaned and the keys were turned in. I had forgotten to include the receipt for the carpet cleaning, and I only found out this when the deposit was sent back and the carpet cleaning was not included. I had to call the company that cleaned the carpets to get another copy of the receipt, and that is why it took so long. ****** knew the receipt was on the way as I kept in contact with her through email, and she let me know that the owners had not cleaned the carpets yet so it was OK. She then stated that she would be sending our money to us. Yes, we have two beautiful Australian shepherds that are well cared for and not allowed past the kitchen area. They were only allowed in the family room, closest to the back slider door so I think it impossible to stink up the whole house as ****** is claiming. After we had cleaned the carpets the place was closed up and locked up and it was over 100 degrees, that could have made it a little musty. The owners, per ******, didn't go into the house for at least a week after. When we moved in, that house smelled of cigarette smoke but had new carpet so we thought we could get rid of it. There were boxes of baking soda throughout the house and in every room. Every time someone would come into the house they would say "do you guys smoke"? It was very embarrassing. I never even had people over because of the lack of care for that house on the owners part. The paint was chipped off of the house so bad that the neighbors complained to us but I told them proudly that I didn't own it. I was told for four years that it would be painted, they painted it when we moved out. I am sure to tell everyone I know not to trust Realty Roundup and I am thankful to have a property management company now who is on the job. They already replaced the dishwasher and we didn't even ask, they inspected and fixed everything, even doorknobs that were a little loose. Maybe Realty Roundup can use this to improve the service that they claim to provide. I'm glad to be done with them.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

9/3/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Realty Roundup bills an unreasonable amount for carpet cleaning for past tenants. The amount is higher than most carpet cleaning companies charge. Prior to moving out of our rental, managed by Realty Roundup, Inc., we were told we needed to have the carpets cleaned. We did not have the cash on hand so I was told that they would have them cleaned for us. I called the preferred companies that they listed and a few other carpet cleaning companies and received estimates around $200.00 for the service. After receiving an itemized deduction from Realty Roundup we were charged almost double that amount for carpet cleaning. The total was $334.20. The said carpet cleaning company is called A+ Quality Carpet Care on 8967 El Mirador #4 Elk Grove, California XXXXX. I have tried to find their business phone number to verify the charges with work order # XXXXX and have not been able to locate them online or in the phone book. I am not happy with the fact that I know Realty Roundup chose the highest priced carpet cleaners around. Their service has not been impressive throughout the entire rental period. I would not recommend them to anyone.

Desired Settlement: I would like Realty Roundup to be fair about choosing the companies for carpet cleaning. In the past I have dealt with other companies that have gone with the middle bid or been more reasonable about the charge. We were great renters, never late on payments and the house was left cleaner than when we moved in. This company is not consumer friendly.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** *******, Manager Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *****@citlink.knet When the ******'s gave their notice to vacate, we provided a guideline to getting your security deposit refund. On the guideline was listed 2 carpet cleaning vendors that we recommend. A+ is a recommended vendor, but is not on our guideline for security deposit refund. The guideline also states a tenant can turn in a receipt for a carpet cleaning for a vendor that they hired direct. This morning I called, Kleen Pro, one of the vendors on the list and asked them how much they would have charged, based on the carpet square footage listed on A+ invoice. They stated it would be $ .20 per sq foot. Which equals to $334.20, same price as A+. I called the other vendor, Ryan's, he does not base on sq ft, but the job, so he could not give me an accurate price without seeing the job. I used A+ since he was generally always lower than both the other companies we use and still does a great job. The ******'s did not convey this complaint to me about being unhappy about the price charged on carpet cleaning, but went straight to a BBB complaint. I would have been glad to ask A+ to review his billing. I ****** now ask A+ to review and see if he would consider lowering it. The ******'s were good tenants that took care of the home. The carpet cleaning ****** is a requirement per the lease they signed with our company.

Business' Final Response
After reviewing the ****** with the carpet cleaning vendor, A+ Carpet, he refunded $85.00. Today I ****** be putting a check in the mail to the ******'s for this refund. ****** ******* Realty Roundup, Inc

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

1