BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Northeast California

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that LeFever Mattson Property Management meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for LeFever Mattson Property Management include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 9 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 3
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 9

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on LeFever Mattson Property Management
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: January 05, 2004 Business started: 09/01/1999 Business started locally: 09/01/1999 Business incorporated: 08/17/1989 in CA
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

CA Bureau of Real Estate
1651 Exposition Blvd., Sacramento CA 95815
http://www.dre.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (877) 373-4542
Fax Number: (916) 263-8943

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Mark Bennett, CFO/Asset Manager Mr. Tim LeFever, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Mark Bennett, CFO/Asset Manager
Business Category

Property Management Investment Management


Additional Locations

  • 6359 Auburn Blvd Ste B

    Citrus Heights, CA 95621

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

5/27/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I rent property from Lefever Mattson Management in ****** ******* **. One day I noticed there was a water leak coming from the upstairs apartment and into my unit downstairs. The leak had been going on for so long the drywall weakened and cracked. When the wall came open I noticed there was mold behind the wall. The mold was in the wall down to the floor which means there has to be more leading up to the second floor. I am well aware that mold in a residence is a health and safety hazard for me as well as the children I provide for here. Mold Timeline:Tuesday April 8I first informed maintenance with a phone call that there was mold present in my apartment and that I am concerned about the health of not only myself but my niece 5, and nephew 13, as well. I was told an order for repair would be placed that day. Noone came. That Friday, after personally asking a maintenance repairman for help he came, went upstairs stopped the leak but did not address the water in my carpet and walls nor did he even look at the mold. On Saturday April 12 I told management about the mold and did not receive a repairman visit. Monday April 14 I told the apartment complex supervisor what was going on and was told I would receive help "immediately." Noone came. When maintenance finally showed up on Wednesday April 16 I overheard a maintenance worker at my door on the phone saying I have to help this "expletive" with something before he hung up. The next day I received a notice on my door saying that I have pets that are a breach of my lease and will face fines. This was obvious retaliation for me asking the owners of this rental property to do their job, knowing they had been well aware of my pets since I have lived here for four years and was never given a notice about them. I told Lefever Mattson I have a health and Safety concern and it was never addressed. To this day I still have mold in my apartment. I can be reached at ###-###-####. I also have photos of the mold.

Desired Settlement: I would like a $900 credit or refund for the month I was here and was not helped by maintenance. I would like the wall that is coming apart with mold behind it replaced and the mold removed. I am a man of GOD, a deacon, I am not contacting you guys to be vindictive or vengeful. I truly feel I was done a disservice. Thank you.

Business Response: In response to Mr. *****'s complaint, our maintenance staff inspected his apartment on 4/9 immediately upon notification that there was a leak from upstairs. The leak was found to be the result of the apartment above him vacating and the prior residents not completely shutting off the faucet to the washing machine. Water was immediately shut off, repairs were made and no evidence of remaining moisture or mold was observed. After the repair was made, Mr. ***** expressed that he was concerned that there could be moisture and/or mold in the walls. In-turn, we hired a licensed contractor to inspect for moisture and mold. Using a moisture meter, there was no evidence of moisture found in the walls. Additionally, our maintenance technicians removed the wall in the laundry room where Mr. ***** expressed concern. There was absolutely no evidence of mold or any remaining moisture found. The area of drywall in which Mr. ***** refers to as “weakened and cracked” is where the wall meets the ceiling inside the laundry room, and is in a completely different location than where the leak was. When inspected by our maintenance supervisor, it was discovered that the “cracked” section was nothing more than drywall tape that had simply loosened due to 30 plus years of age. The area along the crack in which Mr. ***** thought to be “mold” was rather dirt. To satisfy Mr. *****, this area was also repaired, and no evidence of moisture or mold was found here either. Based on the facts of our findings, as there is no evidence of moisture or mold in Mr. *****’s apartment, we will not agree to Mr. *****’s request for compensation of rent. If you have any additional questions or concerns, please do not hesitate to contact me or ******* ****** at **************************. Thank you,

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because:

 
On April 9 the leak was stopped by maintenance and NO repairs were made. That is not the truth.
 
There were TWO cracks in the wall that had water coming through them. One was less than a foot frombthe drywall tape. I have photos to prove this. That is not the truth.
 
The tenants that lived above me are friends of my family and told me they have had off and on water leaks upstairs for years. That is not the truth. 
 
This company, instead of trying to help me, has gone to great lengths (having the owner of their carpet cleaning company check for mold) to discredit what I am saying. 
 
I am making every attempt to resolve this issue with the company.

Business Response:

Mr. *****, in his response, indicates that LeFever Mattson Property Management has gone to great lengths to discredit what he is saying.  We have, in fact, gone to great lengths to ensure there are no unresolved issues within his residence.  We hired a contractor, that has been employed for the same type of work in the past, to test the unit for unresolved moisture issues.  That contractors testing, as well as removal of portions of drywall, resulted in NO finding of mold or moisture.  The drywall, where removed, was replaces and finished. 

It is unfortunate that there was a leak from an upstairs water system that did effect Mr. *****s unit.  Once notified of this leak it was addressed, and done so in such a way that mold within the wall cavity did NOT result.   At no time was the resident’s habitability of their unit impaired and thus we are unable to offer Mr. ***** compensation for such impairment.  We cannot guarantee that there will not be maintenance issues that arise from time to time.  These type of issues happen within my personal residence as well as within our rental units.  It is, however, our goal to ensure that issues are resolved in a manner that safeguards our residents and the property.   This is what has happened in this case.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

4/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have lived at this address for over 4 years. Approx late August 2013 new residents moved in next door to me. They had many people in and out all times of the day and night making all kinds of noise seem to me to be a drug house. The police came out on 3 different occasions to search their apt. There were 3 domestic violence fights yelling, screaming and hitting. The police have been called on numerous occasions, the manager has been notified both verbal and written the corporate office has been notified and yet these people are still here. I am on social security disability I have a hard time sleeping as it is I get awoke by them daily this has been going on since August. I have asked the mgmt company to put me in a hotel so I could get some rest they declined basically they told me if I didn't like it I could move. I am reaching out to you for help because per my lease agreement it states that I should be able to enjoy peace and quiet enjoyment in my home which I am not and it is a very unhealthily situation and breach of contract. They all have approx 10 people living in a one bedroom apartment. If I can't resolve this thru you I am going to the news. The mgmt mop any has no loyalty to their long time residents .

Desired Settlement: I would like to be put up in a hotel so I could get rest and for all the months that I have been I would like a refund on the rent I paid this has been going on since August I pay 650 per month and it is money own the drain if I can't enjoy peace and quite in my own home

Business Response:

Re: Complaint ID# ******** Filed by ***** ********

 

Dear ******** *******:

 

I am writing to you today in response to the complaint you received regarding complaint ID#********

 

The resident located in the neighboring apartment home to Ms. ******** moved into her apartment on October 9, 2013. Within the first couple of weeks of occupancy the manager of ******* ****** Apartments received a complaint regarding Ms. ********’s neighbor and guests regarding noise and conduct. As per our lease agreement this was a violation and the neighbor was given a Three Day Notice to Perform Conditions and /or Covenants or Quit. Upon future complaints the neighbor also received Three Day Notice to Perform Conditions and/or Covenant’s or Quit, they also on December 7, 2013 and February 7, 2014. The situation with the noise and conduct of the resident was not improving the Community Director of ******* ****** was advised by the management company to contact the management companies appointed attorney to ask advise on how to handle the situation. As advised by the attorney, due to the current six month lease the neighbor was currently finishing out, to serve the resident with a Notice of Termination of Lease Agreement as of the last day of the lease. The attorney prepared the notice and the notice was posted the next day. Since that time the neighbor has neglected to pay rent and is now in the eviction process.

It is always the expectation of the management company for all residents to comply with their lease agreement. Unfortunately at times we are faced with challenging residents and must take the proper legal steps to remove the resident from the property. In past experiences as a management company we have not had cases against Three Day notice to Perform Conditions and/or Covenants or Quit be successful within the court system. As discussed above, with the advice of the management company’s attorney the quickest way to remove the resident would be the Notice of Non-Renewal.

Since this time Ms. ******** and the management company have agreed upon a settlement and she understands what we have tried to accomplish regarding her neighbor.

If you have any further questions please feel free to contact **** ******** at *****************************

Thank you,

**** ********   

Regional Manager

LeFever Mattson Property Management

6359 Auburn Blvd., Ste. B

Citrus Heights, CA 95628

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to my concern, and find  that the property management company and I have made an agreement per the court system. However, the residents are still in the apartment and show no signs of moving or packing. I was advised by the judge if these residents are still in fact occupying the unit  may 1, 2014 that I am suppose to return to court and advise the judge of this.  So the property mgmt company was correct in saying part of this situation has been resolved. I would like to keep this case open until these residents have fully moved from the property. My peace and quite enjoyment is still being interrupted on a daily bases, seems that is getting worse and my sleep is interrupted daily. I would like to tell you that this has been fully resolved but it has not.

 
Regards,
 
***** ********

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

2/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: To whom this may concern, I, ******** ***** and ******* **********, were previous renters at Spring Glenn Apartments in Vacaville, CA, from 6/15/13 through 12/31/13 when our 6 month lease was up. We were the ideal residents, never late on rent, never noisy, never was one complain ever made on us and was completely respectful the entire 6 months. Never the less we did have some concerns, noisy neighbors and maintenance problems which we made the managers and staff well aware. Early November, we discussed with the manager about breaking our lease a month early since we weren't happy where we were placed and no option of moving to another unit was accepted. She then stated that to break the lease there would be a written 30 days notice sent to corporate so they could make the decision and an extra month pay required. She only stated the 30 day notice when speaking about breaking the lease agreement never did she tell us it was going to be needed even if we fulfill our 6 month agreement. Knowing we only had one month left, it would make no sense to do all that so we let it go while telling them and verbally saying we are out by 12/31/2013. If ******* and I were aware of the written agreement requirement, I would have had no problem at all writing a letter and making sure no problems happen while ending our lease. As I went in to the office 12/31/2013 to hand over the keys, I was informed that there needed to be a written letter of 30 day notice and we will need to pay an extra month rent. I thought to myself, "so I didn't need to rush and move out all by myself?". The news was all a little too late I might add. I obviously was confused, the manager came storming in and said she told me about this requirement. I was in and out of the office talking to the manager my last month there making sure everything was set for our departure. At any of those times she could have been so kind to "remind" me (overall tell me) about the 30 days notice. As much as residents need to fulfill and follow the requirements, I feel that the management does also. If residents have to mail out a written 30 days notice then wouldn't it be fair and a great act as a manager to send out a written reminder to the resident that their lease is ending soon? For example, "Your lease is ending in a month, we would love for you to sign another lease and stay as our resident but if not, here's is what you need to do, 1.) give a written 30 days notice 2.) be all moved out by _______. Thank you!" That's all it takes to make sure all residents are aware and reminded of the requirements. People have millions of things they're thinking about, a common courtesy act of the managers could have solved and helped us extremely by just giving us a heads up. Our written 30 day notice would have been in their hands immediately. Now we were told we will pay a extra month because of this confusion.

Desired Settlement: So I ask that you please not penalize us with a full month rent. We want to be able to speak good about the Spring Glenn complex but at this moment it is very hard to. We have completed every step and requirements with no problems so we ask for the LeFever Mattson Property Management to please understand our circumstances and not charge us the extra rent of $995.00. Thank you for taking the time to read this, I will be looking forward to hearing from you soon.

Business Response:

I would like to take this opportunity to address the complaints in file order
received.

1)   I absolutely agree that the *****/********** household were indeed
ideal residents for all the reasons stated.

2)   The statement regarding "maintenance problems",  records
indicate that during their tenancy, we received one request for
maintenance (order #******) on June 14, 2013, The work request was
completed on the same day.

3)    The conversation referenced in early November states that part of the
conversation was a request by the residents to be transferred and their
request was not accepted. In actuality this was a part of the
conversation but another unit meeting their requirements was not
available at that time.

4)    Regarding the lease break. I have included copies of the lease. Please
note that section 4 refers to
tile written thirty (30) day notice
requirement. I have also included the standard form lease break
requirement. The statement made that the notice would be sent to
corporate to make a decision is not fact. That has never been a
requirement of 30day notices.


I see no reason to address any other complaints listed in this notice. The fact is that on 12/31/2013 the move out report was processed and the only charges that were incurred by the resident were for cleaning, carpet cleaning and paint, all of which I am able to provide receipts for. They were not charged the addition month as their lease had expired and the decision was to waive that charge see move out statement.

 

Should you have any additional questions, or need clarification on any
of the above, do not hesitate to contact me.

Marsha Padilla
Community Director


BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

10/1/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have disputed charges that I am being billed upon move out. I have requested corrections and proof from this company sinse 6-14-2013. I am disputing charges that I the tenant have been charged upon move out, I received a break down of charges that I do not agree with. I have sent a dispute letter via fax direct to sterling point apartments on 6-14-2013 requesting corrections and proof of charges / fees it is now 8-13-2013 and I this company has yet to provide and comply. I contacted the office on 8-9-2013 spoke with ***** and was advised she was still trying to gather proof together to provide to me. My 1st issue is the charge for window covering amount $ 30.00 there were no missing slat / blinds in this apartment. 2nd touch up paint $ 112.50 this apartment would not have required touch up paint all the walls were washed down and a very detail cleaning was done on my behalf there is a charge for 25.00 for hole in master bedroom closet door this whole came from the apartment window being vandalized the master bed room window was broke someone thru something thru the window causing this whole, when the window was replaced this issue should have been fixed as well but maintains never came back after replacing the window. I disagree with the light cleaning charge of $ 60.00 i left this apartment spotless. last is the charges for carpet cleaning in the amount of $240.00 this is very excessive I agree the carpet would need to be have cleaning before re renting but there is no way it would cost $240.00 for a regular cleaning there was no reason for a heavy excessive cleaning throughout the apartment. I do agree with the rent charges of 467.04 and the 50.00 late fee. I have waited over two months for proof and corrections to my account, I think the charges are bogus and that's the reason for failure to provide me with information.

Desired Settlement: I am requesting that the following charges for $ 60.00 light cleaning be removed, walls / paint $ 162.50, windows covering $ 30.00 repairs for $95.00 be removed and carpet cleaning be adjusted to a regular cleaning there is no way the carpet cleaning could have cost $240.00, I would like to resolve this matter i dont feel I should have had to wait two months and now try to resolve in this manner.

Business Response: Initial Business Response
Ms ***** rented a two bedroom unit at Sterling Pointe Apartments, located **** ****** **** Sacramento, identified as unit XX-XXX. Ms ***** occupied the unit, under a written rental agreement, for a total of 7 1/2 months. Ms *****, upon move-in, was given documents identifying how move-out charges would be calculated based on length of occupancy and items that were resident's responsibility at move-out. ("Cleaning Policy Statement") Upon Ms ***** move-out the identified unit was inspected and all repairs and maintenance necessary to bring the unit to rental condition were identified and cost of repairs were estimated. Those costs were then allocated to the owner and the resident based on the documentation in the Cleaning Policy Statement and the Rental Agreement. To specifically address the issues raised by Ms *****: Damage to blinds: There were two blind slats that had been broken off at the headrail. The blinds were turned upside down and clipped to the headrail but when the blinds were operated they fell off. Two slats had to be replaced at $15 per slat. Paint: There were pen marks, furniture marks, other scuffs and two holes on various walls and the unit was repainted in full at a cost of $295. That cost included the repair of the two holes. The resident was charged $162.50. Management will remove the charge for one of the holes $32.50, based on the residents indication that the hole was caused by outside vandalism and management's ability to substantiate the residents claim in that matter. Cleaning: Overall the apartment was left clean. However, the apartment was not cleaned to the condition a new resident would expect to find it in. The oven was every dirty and had to be cleaned. There was tin foil on one range burner bib that had to be cleaned. There were items left in various cabinets that had to be removed. There are picture of each of these items. Actual cost to complete cleaning of the unit was $137.40 and the resident was charged $60.00. Carpets: The carpets had extensive stains throughout the unit. Management has extensive pictures of the flooring. Actual cost of carpet cleaning was $240.00 and the resident was charged $240.00. The residents Security Deposit Statement will be adjusted by the $32.50 charge for the hole in the wall as indicated. The revised Security Deposit Statement, pictures, and actual invoices will be mailed to resident.

Final Consumer Response
a packet with the information and pictures was received.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

9/23/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They failed to contact or provide me with move out inspection,made no attempt to contact me despite Having good address and telephone numbers. I moved out 04/2012 and left forwarding address along with keys on kitchen counter as instructed by their move out inspector. They claim to have redirected keys but no forwarding address. Almost a year later I was contacted by s creditor trying to settle a Sept for almost 1800 dollars. When asked for walk out information I found most of these charges and severely exaggerated. After looking through my walk in papers I found problems that they had marked down and tried to charge me for existed before I even moved in. They took my whole deposit of 850 and now seeking more money. I have asked creditors twice for actual invoice of repairs and have received none. After sending them my walk through they adjusted charges but are still trying to pursue the test of this matter. It's been over a year and a half since I have resided there now and with that much time these issues are harder to fight. They claimed they had no way of contacting me but this is not the case. Every rental check was sent from my new address and both contact numbers they have on file have been my numbers for over 10 years. There is no reason they couldn't have contacted me to give me my invoice. Or ask about charges.

Desired Settlement: Since I am not able to defend these charges and they made no reasonable attempt to contact me these issues before sending me to collection I ask the drop all charges.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
We always prefer that tenants are present during the move out process. Sometimes the tenant can't take time off from work and we will do the inspection without them. We inform them that they may have a family member or other representative present if they wish, if not we will ask that they leave the keys and forwarding address and we will perform the inspection without them. This tenant chose not to be present during the final move out and left keys in unit. In previous move outs with other tenants when they have left forwarding address information at the rental unit, the paperwork was attached to the Property Walkthrough Inspection and noted on the first page of the report as the forwarding address. No forwarding information is attached or written on the Property Walkthrough Form for this tenant's move out. When a tenant tells me they are moving in with a relative, I tell them to put the address information in writing. I did not know that the address on the rental checks that were received during the tenant's tenancy was the address that she was moving to upon move out. The tenant was informed in the Rental Lease Agreement page 2, paragraph 6, and the Move Out letter that the Security Deposit Statement would be mailed within 21 days after move out and that if no forwarding address is provided; all correspondence would be sent to their last known address. The account was sent to a collection agency. The agency has instructed us to have no verbal or written contact with the tenant, that the tenant needs to deal directly with them to resolve this matter. The tenant disputed the charges and we sent a letter in response to the collection agency. The agency has the entire file with receipts including final receipts for all charges.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

5/21/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This business failed to return my security deposit. Despite the fact that I filed a response to all the charges in the Move out Inspections Report demanding an explanation for all the non-sense charges, and claiming that I would take legal action against them; they issue a refund check in the amount of $87.59 out of the $1600.00 deposit. This business issued a refund check in the amount of $87.59 when I was expecting the whole security deposit in the amount of $1600 I sent them detailed explanation of all the repairs done that were requested by (*****) at the Move Out Inspection date 3/27/13. Regardless the fact that I kept asking ***** at the time of the Inspection to inform me of how the inspection look like or any recommendation for any repair before moving out, he declined to give any information. He declined to informed me, claiming that he would only let the manager knows of his findings. I spent 3 days cleaning, not only I neatly cleaned the stove, I left the exhaust fan neat and clean beyond the way it was when I moved in. I steam cleaned all the windows railings and removed the entire mold around the windows wall. I cleaned all the kitchen cabinets in a way that all the particle board starting coming apart. But they asked me again to clean it once again. I repaired and painted all the doors. I replaced all the filters, air conditioner and exhaust fan. I lived there almost 4 years, and the carpet was replaced 2 years earlier, but the charges theyre claiming are enough to replace the whole apartment as if I never lived there ($562.50) Home depot charges $600 for the whole apartment. They're also charging $150 for prewash ceiling. The apartment has a popcorn finish, and there is absolutely no way that can be done. They are also charging approximately 10 late fees, which I have knowledge of only 2 late fees in a 4 year period. At the time I moved out I responded to their charges in writing claiming that I would take legal action not only for all the non-sense charges but also for an injury I sustained in the time I lived there due to a back injury caused when I felt on my back. There is a concrete section in the back of the apartment part of the backyard. This concrete had been badly neglected, and failed to repair. I failed in my back approximately a year ago. My back is being hurting ever since. This problem has caused so many issues such as but no limited to failed to work. Product_Or_Service: Security Deposit

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I would like to get the $1600.00 minus $87.50 refund check dated 3/18/13. I went to Solano Court to file a Small Claim Suit, but instead am using this mean to resolve this issue in the best possible ways.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
The Security Deposit Charges for Rent/Late Fees are not all late fees. They are as follows: Charged Rent, late, utility 512.91 Rent 168.00 Utility Charges 74.91 Late Fees 270.00 Rent (Resident gave notice 2/4/13 and moved out 3/1/13, 30 day notice required per lease agreement, charged rent to 3/6/13) 168.00 PG&E 8/21/09-10/15/09 124.91 (Acct not established by resident) Paid (50.00)** Balance 74.91 **Payment was $50 of $850 payment received 6/2010 applied $800 to rent. Late Fees (Per the lease Rent is due on the 1st and late if not received by the 5th)(Posting of Late Fees is automated) Payment Posting Date Check Number Late Fee 9/8/2009 XXXXXXXXXX 35.00 1/6/2010 XXXXXXXXXX 2/6/2010 XXXXXXXXXXX XXXXXXXXXXX 35.00 7/6/2010 104 35.00 9/7/2010 107 35.00 4/6/2011 117 35.00 9/6/2011 104 35.00 11/7/2011 107 25.00* *Paid $850 rather than $840 7/5/12, $10 extra was applied to late fee. Security Deposit Refund Procedures. - A walk through of the property was completed and a list of maintenance necessary to restore the unit to rental condition was compiled. The list is compared the residents move-in walk through document. Based on length of residency, factors of normal wear and tear and the original condition of the property, estimated costs of repairs are allocated to the owner and the resident. An initial security deposit statement is prepared based on these estimates. California state law requires the resident be provided with an accounting of their security deposit within 21 day of vacating the unit. Often at the 21 day ****** there are repairs that have not yet been completed or bills for said work that have not yet been received. Once all work is complete and all bills for work are received they are compiled and compared to the original estimates for repairs. If there are costs that are less than the original estimate the resident is refunded the difference. The owner of the property at 830 Illinois handles much of the unit turn over work themselves. ****** Mattson Property Management, after the owner has completed the work, obtains copies of invoices for work and completes the final step in the security deposit process. This final step where this past residents security deposit process currently rests. ****** Mattson Property Management will finish the review of actual invoices and make any necessary adjustments to the residents security deposit refund.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) 1. Every single time I drove to Sacramento and handed the rent payment to the lady in the front desk, I trusted you in a good faith and believed that you would post the check that day. I can see now that you are charging me a late fee. I honestly and positively believed that the person in charge does not always post the check the same day they are received. My next door neighbor ********* told me that not only you been there once but twice to post the 3-day Quit or Pay letter, and that he had to ask for a day off just to go to Wells Fargo and prove you that you were wrong.. I don't know how you handle your business at the office but is clear that we the tenants were affected and you sure take no responsibility for your actions. I have always paid my rent on time and never dropped off the payment (Outside Box) on a weekend if the following Monday was after the 5th. It makes no sense to me to drive in a truck putting $35 in gas, if it was going to be late anyways. 2. I spent around $600 in cleaning the apartment more than 3 days my hands were about to bleed after I left the apartment. I replaced every item that ****** told me to replace or fixed. 3. I have no knowledge of any stove or exhaust trim that you're mentioning in the move out. When ****** came in to do the Inspection I asked him what was his opinion about the apartment so I can fix it. His response was I can only report my findings to my superior. I believed the tenants are entitling to a response in the move out inspection so we can have a chance to fix it. You do these things in a way to protect yourselves or what is worse to rip tenants from their security deposit. 4. I disagree with your charges about cleaning the apartment, because I cleaned the apartment thoroughly. Furthermore, I did not clean the carpet because **** ******* verbally and clearly explained to me that If I stayed more than 3 yrs. in the unit I did not have to worry about it including the walls; except the holes in the walls which I taken care off as well. When I cleaned the kitchen I noticed that the particle board was getting loose (coming apart) due to the cabinets being so old. I explained that to ****** but he asked me to clean it again which I did. In addition to that you are charging me to get it cleaned. When I sent you the response I attached some pictures, am sure you noticed a concrete patch which I have to cover myself because when I moved in, not only the apartment wasn't thoroughly cleaned but there was a big hole in the backyard concrete In which later I had an accident hurting my back, and up until now still hurting. I also explained to you that the apartment suffered some major water leaks in 3 areas. Bathroom, kitchen and Living room, which you should be aware and that the carpet needed to be replaced way before I moved out. I agreed with the PG&E fees and 2 late fees but totally disagree with the rest of the non-sense charges. I repaired all the doors and painted them, covered all the holes in the walls and cleaned the stove, fridge, cabinets, AC filter was replaced, Drapes were replaced, bathroom and Hall exhaust fans were cleaned. Tubs were cleaned. Except the carpet, ceiling have a popcorn finish and there is no way they can be washed so your non-sense charge for prewash does not applied. In the 30 years that I been renting in Solano County this is the first time that I am willing to go to Court and File a Law Suit to Collect my Deposit. I always got along with my Landlords and gotten my deposit back. I also have reference letters from them. Finally, **** behavior is extremely rude, and we deserve to be treated with respect, the day I submitted my notice, he came to my apartment and knocked the door with his fists screaming my name, that scared my son (10-yrs-old) so bad that minutes later when I arrived I found him under the table. I understand that you might have problems with certain tenants, but I consider myself a good tenant and I always treated you and everyone with respect.

Business' Final Response
Based on final costs incurred for the turn over of the unit the residents security deposit statement has been adjusted and an additional security deposit refund was issued on April 26, 2013. The security deposit process for this resident is now finalized.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

11/19/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Property manager at the boulder spring apartments in fresno california failed to hire a plummer to fix a servier gas leak. On Thursday night/Friday midnight 10/5/12, PG&E was forced to shut off my gas due to a real bad gas leak. They deemed it hazardous. They gave me a wriiten report to give the property manager to hire a plummer to repair the gas leak. I gave the property manager the report at 9am that friday morning. She failed to get a plummer to fix the gas leak resulting in my apartment complex not to have gas for 3 days. This resulted in me not being able to cook, do laundry and my biggest issue was giving my 2 year old daughter a warm bath. I was trying to get more information from the assistant on saturday 10/06/12 to get a plummer to repair the gas leak. She told me the property manager was out of town and she would be unable to hire a plummer until monday. She then refused to answer or return my phone calls. If your the manager of a 200 unit complex, I believe she should have more that one plummer on file. I went monday morning 10/08/12 to her office and she was acting like it wasnt her fault that the plummer was unable to come by. She was unproffesional and this situation resulted in me spending more money than I have to spend. I recieved no responses from either the property manager,assistant or on call maintaince. My adress is **** W. San Jose Apt *** Fresno ca XXXXX. Boulder spring apartments owned by ****** mattson property management.

Desired Settlement: I am seeking money off my rent and compensation for the money I had to spend for food I had to spend for not being able to cook for my family.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
According to our records Mr. ****** did come into the community office around 9:00 am on Friday, October 5, 2012. The plumbing contractor that services the property was contacted within 5 minutes of his request. However, the contractor was unable to get to the property until Monday. I have reviewed the reports from PG&E and the contractor and they are consistent with both the reports of the resident and the on-site staff. There was a breakdown in communication as to the timing of availability of the contractor that was not communicated well with our resident. The on-site staff is in the process of contacting Mr. ****** to tender an offer of rent concession for his inconvenience and the lack of gas service to his unit for the three days.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

9/29/2011 Problems with Product/Service
8/8/2011 Problems with Product/Service
1