Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Laughton Properties, Inc.

Phone: (916) 444-9898 2812 P St., Sacramento, CA 95816 http://www.laughton-properties.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Laughton Properties, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Laughton Properties, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Laughton Properties, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 29, 1989 Business started: 01/01/1980 Business started locally: 01/01/1980 Business incorporated 08/08/1980 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

CA Bureau of Real Estate
1651 Exposition Blvd., Sacramento CA 95815
http://www.dre.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (877) 373-4542
Fax Number: (916) 263-8943
The number is 00793676.

CA Bureau of Real Estate
1651 Exposition Blvd., Sacramento CA 95815
http://www.dre.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (877) 373-4542
Fax Number: (916) 263-8943
The number is 00857522.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Linda Rutledge, President
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Linda Rutledge, President
Business Category

Property Management

Products & Services

Laughton Properties, Inc offers property management services.


Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/27/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Our rental property complex has contracted bed bugs and several neighbors have moved out. We've noted a half dozen mattresses in the dumpster within the apartment complex. Now that we've reported the problem to management, the landlord and property management company are accusing us of being "the problem". They are threatening to charge my family with the pest removal payment. We have a 3 year old daughter. Her health and well being has been threatened and now for speaking out, we're being retaliated against. WE NEED HELP. PLEASE.

Desired Settlement: We want the bed bugs terminated correctly and paid for by Laughton Properties. We also want a refund of rent paid for October as we have spent this month in a separate paid dwelling space. Also, after completion of the pest removal, to ensure that our belongings are free of parasites, we want our lease terminated no later than October 31, 2014.

Business Response: As anyone who has read the newspaper or heard the news knows, with the elimination of some pest control products that were previously used to control bed bugs, these pests have become enormously common. Their presence is not related to housekeeping or income level. The problem has appeared in 5-star hotels, including the ******* *******, as well as in airplanes and movie theaters. Bed bugs are hitch hikers. In apartment buildings they are most commonly associated with the use of used furniture. The problem has increased dramatically within the last few years.

The residents in unit #** moved into the apartment, which was in immaculate condition, the first part of May 2014. They lived there for 5 1/2 months without problems. On October 13, 2014 they reported bed bugs in their unit. Our licensed pest control operator, who services this property monthly, was immediately alerted and the residents were given the written protocol for preparation of bed bug treatment.  THE FIRST OF THREE TREATMENTS OCCURED THE VERY NEXT DAY, on October 14, 2014.

The most common method for treatment is the one we have used successfully on numerous units over the last couple of years:  proper preparation of the unit as per written instructions; bagging, washing and drying of clothes and other soft items; removal of heavily infested objects that cannot be otherwise treated. The treatment occurs in three sessions:  initial treatment, two-week waiting period, second treatment, two-week waiting period, third and final treatment. If the protocol is followed, the bed bugs are successfully eliminated.  As stated above, the first treatment in this unit occurred the very next day after the tenants reported the problem, and the second treatment is scheduled for October 28, 2014 - as per the protocol.

Because the unit was free of bed bugs when these tenants occupied the unit for 5 1/2 months, we have to come to the logical conclusion that they brought the bugs into the unit - no doubt inadvertently. As such, they are responsible for the cost to eliminate the problem. The treatment costs $300, for which the tenant is responsible.


The statement made by the complainant that "several neighbors have moved out" due to bed bugs is blatantly false. There has been one other unit with a reported bed bug problem. That problem was reported in late August 2014 and the first treatment occurred in a very timely manner on August 26, 2014. Subsequent treatments occurred at two week intervals, as the protocol dictates,  and the unit is now free of bed bugs. This unit is not adjacent to unit #** and none of the neighboring units has bed bugs. The problem in #** is a new and unrelated problem.





?

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because:
I find it quite evident that the method this property is using in this issue IS NOT EFFECTIVE.  Once they "treated" the infestation and rid one unit of bed bugs in late August, suddenly my family brought in our own the following month.
I was also told over phone conversation that "College Manor has never had bed bug problems" and the tenants that I spoke to about their infestation causing their relocation were "blatant liars" and "they had roaches and were trafficking drugs" ~***** ********
This is an obvious misstep in their responsible treating of a serious parasitic problem and very offensive to myself and my family in the accusations that we are the problem. 
I am not saying that it is embarrassing to have bed bugs or that this is something that I think couldn't happen to anyone; however, the timeline is clear and speaks for itself. 
I also was able to view their first step in the elimination process via video and am quite sure protocol was not strictly followed. 
I do not accept that this is my responsibility financially and have gone from a tenant with a complaint to a citizen ready to leave the unit for better housing.
They broke our lease when they failed to supply an inhabitable living space.
We refuse to take our 3 year old daughter back in this parasite ridden slum.
I only want my unit properly treated at this point so that I can gather my belongings and move them to safe shelter with peace of mind.

Business Response: The tenant originally told me the pest control operator used a can of Raid to treat the bed bugs. When I said he absolutely did not and questioned him further, the tenant did admit the operator used a professional spray canister, not a can of Raid, which he viewed from a "videotape" since the tenant was NOT in the unit when the treatment occurred. The tenant "researched" bed bugs online and now acts like he knows more than the licensed pest control operator. The same method used in this apartment has been used in numerous apartments by this same pest control operator with a 100% success rate. The treatment method used is highly effective.
The complainant misquotes me. He insisted that the entire building is totally infested with bed bugs and everyone around him vacated because of the bed bugs. He of course did not tell me what tenants told him that. I said, "You mean the tenants that were evicted for drug trafficking or delinquent rent - those tenants? I can assure you that no one in your building has moved because of bed bugs." Using quotation marks denotes a direct quote, not a paraphrase, a concept the complainant seems not to understand.
Complete eradication of a bed bug problem as of September 2014 does not translate to a bed bug problem in a non-adjacent unit a few weeks later, especially when no adjoining units has bed bugs as determined by a pest control operator inspection in which traps were set.
These tenants are on a month-to-month agreement and have every right to move. However, they are refusing to relinquish possession of the unit and, as of today, are also refusing further treatment. (The pest control operator called them just this morning to schedule the 2nd of 3 required treatments and the tenant has refused entry.)The bed bugs are the sole responsibility of this tenant as (1) the tenant has occupied this unit for the past 5 1/2 months, (2) there were no reported bed bugs in this unit during that 5 1/2 month period of time, (3) no one else has been living in the apartment to our knowledge, (4) the bed bugs were brought in by someone in this apartment - whether by these tenants or their guests, (5) they are responsible for treatment. The complainant has stated he will only accept the heat treatment method, which he read "online is the only effective treatment." First of all, he is assuming everything he reads online is correct and he is negating the knowledge of a licensed, experienced pest control operator. The cost for treatment of this bed bug problem rests solely with the complainant. If he wants to pay for a $2,000 heat treatment, he is entitled to have it done - but it will not be done at property expense.
So - the tenant is refusing to relinquish possession of the apartment, meaning he is responsible for rent for as long as he is in possession of the unit, and now he is refusing treatment that has been proven to be highly successful.  There is nothing else that can be done by management.

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because:

We have spoken with ***** **** ******* about this problem we are having and *** informed us that the method ****** **** ******* uses has a very low success rate. I spoke to **** who informed me that the treatment does not work 100% of the time. He also claimed he used 5 different chemicals in the apartment while treating for bed bugs. He informed me that two of them were mixed together and the other 3 were used in separate containers. Video evidence does not lie, people do, especially people who would like to blame someone else for their problems. In the video you can very clearly see **** use one canister around the base boards and the can of insecticide around the furniture, totaling 2 containers used; not 4. He was also not wearing a mask, which I assume should be worn during treatment with chemicals potent enough to kill insects. *** from ******* **** ******* has given me a $600 quote for the heat treatment of the one bedroom apartment. ***** told me on October 11th, when I first approached her with the bed bug complaint, that apartment #** had bed bugs and that the tenant had not followed directions properly and still had them. I am refusing to pay for the treatment. I never signed an agreement and have no obligation. It is frustrating that a company responsible for providing safe and healthy housing would allow tenants to live in such conditions. The lack of integrity shown by Laughton Properties Inc. and their employees is appalling. I hope this issue can be resolved quickly so my family and I can go back to our lives. 

9/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Laughton Properties owner and manager abused landlord laws to discriminate against continuing to rent to me. Poor customer service skills and lies. On August 23, 2013 my roomate and I received a termination of tenancy posted on our door. On monday August 26, 2013 my roomate went to the office and talked with a worker named ****** ****** stated that she just got back from vacation and wasn't sure of the notice but said that my dog barks all day everyday. My roomate asked why there was never a notice given to my roomate or myself, since I am the owner of the dog. ***** had no answers and told my roomate that she would have to talk to the manager *****. ***** was not in the office at 830am when it opened. My roomate left ***** a voicemail msg. I moved into apartment ** in January 2013 and never once received a notice or complaint about my dog. I left ***** a voicemail msg and she called back and left a voicemail msg on my cell stating that its the property managements prerogative to terminate a tenancy, she stated that there are no complaints in my file about my dog and that my dog has nothing to do with the termination. My roomate text me amd stated she spoke with *****, and ***** stated that she would not accept a 30 day notice from us, she stated that Laughton Properties would rent to my roomate again but they would not rent to me. I then left *****, the owner a voicemail msg and ***** returned my call. ***** stated that before I moved in there were no work orders requested and that since I have moved in many work orders have been requested and that its a hassle for the maintenance workers to complete the request in a timely manner because they have to schedule around me because I have the dog and I choose to be home when someone comes into my apartment. ***** asked why were none of the work orders requested before I moved in and I told her I do not know my guess would be that the previous residents didn't speak up when things went bad or broke. *****'s response was "well...". I asked ***** if the termination would go on my roomates and my rental ledger and she didn't answer. I asked her again if termination would show up and she said no. I told her that we will be giving a 30 day notice with Septembers rent. She said that will be fine. I feel that ***** and ***** are discriminating against me because I request work orders. I feel that they do not want to do their jobs and fix things wrong in the apartment. I have paid rent on time every month for 8 months and its my right as a paying tenant to have things in working order in my apartmemt. I feel they abused the Landlord right to terminate a tenancy because they didn't like that I requested items to be fixed. I want the BBB to know that Laughton Properties has not provided good service and it should be noted on their business record.

Desired Settlement: I am not asking for a settlement. I would like it noted that my roomate and I are giving our 30 day notice and would request that Laughton Property treat this as the tenant giving notice and not have a termination of tenancy on either of our rental history.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ** ********, Pres. Contact Phone: (XXX) XXX-XXXX x *** Contact Email: *********@laughton-properties.com Every tenant in the state of California has a legal right to terminate their tenancy under the terms of their rental agreement. Likewise, every landlord in the state of California has a legal right to terminate a tenancy under the applicable laws. ****** ******* became an approved roommate in unit ** at **** G Street in December 2012. On August 22, 2013, the occupants were given a 30-Day Notice of Termination of Tenancy without cause. First thing Monday morning, August 26, 2013, ******'s roommate came to our corporate office to ask about the notice. ****** had just returned from a week's vacation and had no knowledge of the notice. Because the roommmate had rented from Laughton Properties for serveral years, she and ****** had a friendly business relationship. ****** informed the roommate that she had just returned from vacation, had no knowledge of the notice and speculated it might be about the dog's barking but that she didn't know. She advised the rommmate to talk to a supervisor. ***** ****** did not work on that Monday morning. When the finally spoke ***** did assure the roommate that there was nothing negative in their file, that there were no documented issues with the dog and there were no complaints in their file, that management was exercising its right to terminate their tenancy. ***** did NOT tell the roommate we would rent to her again but not ******. ****** called me at 6:44 p.m. on August 26, 2013 and I returned her call at 7:27 p.m. I told her the same information that ***** had relayed to the rommmate. During this conversation ****** complained that it took WEEKS for work orders to be completed. I said, "WEEKS?" She said, well, it took a week and a half for the last work order. I asked, "Aren't work orders delayed in the unit because we have to work around your schedule?" She acknowledged that she would not let anyone into her unit unless she was home, both because of the dog and because she didn't want anyone in her unit unless she was there. I pointed out that it was her right to request to be present but it was not fair for her then to turn around and complain about the length of time it took for work orders to be completed. During the conversation about work orders, I did ask why she thought there were so many work orders after she moved in. ****** said that her roommates are not as vocal as she is. I will point out that management went above and beyond the call of duty in the spring of 2013 by installing an air conditioning unit in her bedroom (in ADDITION to the one in the unit) so she could keep her dog in the bedroom during the day. Every work order requested was completed in as timely a manner as possible given the fact that maintenance had to accommodate ******'s schedule, even those repairs that were tenant caused. Laughton Properties, Inc. has been in business since 1980 providing outstanding service to thousands of residents over the years. We stand by our customer service as attested to by the numerous renters who return to our management year after year. I'm sorry that ****** ******* did not have a satisfactory experience.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Thank you

Business' Final Response
There is no provision in our system for placing any notation on a rental "ledger." The typical question an owner/management agent asks is, "Did the applicant give a 30-day notice?" Our response would be, "Yes."

8/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: June 28th I viewed an apartment on **** ******** apartment ** with ***** ****** at 12:45. We viewed that apartment and there was still paid suppies in the closest the bath tub was not finished and the stove was not installed and was not in the apartment. ***** then told me the apartment would not be ready until monday afternoon at 5pm and said I could put the apartment on hold with $500.00 deposit and could think about it until monday. We set up an appt for tuesday to sign paperwork and pay first months rent. They are closed on the weekends. Monday morning I called and told ***** that I did not want to go through with the apartment. She then said that my deposit would be on hold until they found someone new for the apartment. If I called to cancel my deposit before the apartment was even ready why would they then keep my deposit? The paperwork I signed says: "If, after notification of acceptance, I fail to move into the apartment on the agreed upon date, management may deduct from this deposit an amount equal to the daily rent $25.83 for each day the premises are vacant, from the date of scheduled occupancy to the date occupancy commences." I called and cancelled before my appointment which was on tuesday and I have emails stating that so I did not fail to do anything. I said all of this to ***** and she said this out of her hands and that I need to speak to the manager. Tuesday, July 2nd I was able to get ahold of the manager/owner ***** ********. As soon as ***** got on the phone she was incredibly rude and I was nice and just start discussing the whole situation and then preceded to interrupt me and said "the apartment was ready friday." Clearly it was not when I saw it that very day and many things were not completed. ***** then interrupted me and said "listen you ******* signed a contract and the ******* apartment was avaialable friday." The manager/owner ***** ******** then hung up on me. I was utterly shocked. I have never spoken to anyone that way and have never had someone speak that way to me. I then tried calling back multiple times and since then no one has answered.

Desired Settlement: All I want is my deposit of $500.00 back. I called before the apartment would be ready and or before I signed any rental agreement. ***** wrote on the paperwork that the agreed upon date was july 1st. My question is how could I have moved in July 1st if it was not ready until that evening at 5pm and if I was signing paperwork tuesday morning? I have never worked with such an innapropriate and disrepectful business. I just can't believe the president of a company would speak to a customer this way. I work for ******** **** and our owner would never even think of speaking to anyone this way. I really do not want to speak with ***** anymore. I refuse to let anyone speak to me this way. I'm a full-time working college student; All I want is my money back. Any kind of help is much appreciated. Thank you, ***** *******

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ********, President Contact Phone: (XXX) XXX-XXXX x 231 Contact Email: *********@laughton-properties.com ***** ******* viewed apartment #9 at **** N Street on Friday, June 28, 2013. At 12:00 p.m. she signed an Offer to Rent form for a move-in on Monday morning, July 1, 2013, and paid the $500 holding deposit. That form states, in part, "If, after notification of acceptance, I fail to move into the apartment on the agreed upon date, management may deduct from the deposit an amount equal to the daily rent ($25.83) for each day the premises are vacant, from the date of scheduled occupancy to the date occupancy commences. Charges will not exceed 30 days rent." At no time did ***** in our office tell Ms. ******* that the unit wouldn't be ready until 5:00 p.m. as she was scheduled to sign move-in paperwork at 9:00 a.m. on Monday, July 1, 2013. Later, Ms. ******* informed ***** that she wanted to change the signing of paperwork to Tuesday. This did not, however, alter the agreed upon move-in date of July 1st. However, on Monday, July 1st, Ms. ******* left a message for ***** that she (Ms. *******) had found another apartment over the weekend and would not be renting unit ** at **** N Street. ***** talked to Ms. ******* and explained the legal obligations of the Offer to Rent form. Subsequently, Ms. ******* called the office numerous times to argue about the return of her deposit. Each time the Offer to Rent form was explained. I did speak to Ms. ******* at one time after she refused to accept the numerous explanations from ****** Ms. ******* did not seem interested in what I had to say, continued to talk over the top of me until I was so frustrated I did hang up. Later Ms. *******'s father also called me. I again explained the legally binding form his daughter had signed. He said he worked in the car industry and understood contracts. I also explained to him that we had the unit re-rented and Ms. ******* would receive an accounting of her deposit, as required by law, after that move-in occurred. One of them requested a copy of the redacted new lease with the disposition of deposit to which I agreed. Unit ** was re-rented for a move-in on July 11, 2013. Ms. ******* received an accounting of her deposit, along with the redacted copy of the new lease, charging her rent, as outlined in the Offer to Rent form, from July 1, the date she was supposed to move in, until July 10th. That rent was deducted from her deposit and she received a refund of the balance on July 16, 2013. All transactions occurred as per the legal document Ms. ******* willingly signed and Civil Code Section 1950 regarding disposition of security deposits. She is not entitled to any additional refund.