BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Northeast California

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Laughton Properties, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Laughton Properties, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Laughton Properties, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: December 29, 1989 Business started: 01/01/1980 Business started locally: 01/01/1980 Business incorporated: 08/08/1980 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

CA Bureau of Real Estate
1651 Exposition Blvd., Sacramento CA 95815
http://www.dre.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (877) 373-4542
Fax Number: (916) 263-8943

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Linda Rutledge, President
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Linda Rutledge, President
Business Category

Property Management

Products & Services

Laughton Properties, Inc offers property management services.


Additional Locations

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

9/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Laughton Properties owner and manager abused landlord laws to discriminate against continuing to rent to me. Poor customer service skills and lies. On August 23, 2013 my roomate and I received a termination of tenancy posted on our door. On monday August 26, 2013 my roomate went to the office and talked with a worker named ****** ****** stated that she just got back from vacation and wasn't sure of the notice but said that my dog barks all day everyday. My roomate asked why there was never a notice given to my roomate or myself, since I am the owner of the dog. ***** had no answers and told my roomate that she would have to talk to the manager *****. ***** was not in the office at 830am when it opened. My roomate left ***** a voicemail msg. I moved into apartment ** in January 2013 and never once received a notice or complaint about my dog. I left ***** a voicemail msg and she called back and left a voicemail msg on my cell stating that its the property managements prerogative to terminate a tenancy, she stated that there are no complaints in my file about my dog and that my dog has nothing to do with the termination. My roomate text me amd stated she spoke with *****, and ***** stated that she would not accept a 30 day notice from us, she stated that Laughton Properties would rent to my roomate again but they would not rent to me. I then left *****, the owner a voicemail msg and ***** returned my call. ***** stated that before I moved in there were no work orders requested and that since I have moved in many work orders have been requested and that its a hassle for the maintenance workers to complete the request in a timely manner because they have to schedule around me because I have the dog and I choose to be home when someone comes into my apartment. ***** asked why were none of the work orders requested before I moved in and I told her I do not know my guess would be that the previous residents didn't speak up when things went bad or broke. *****'s response was "well...". I asked ***** if the termination would go on my roomates and my rental ledger and she didn't answer. I asked her again if termination would show up and she said no. I told her that we will be giving a 30 day notice with Septembers rent. She said that will be fine. I feel that ***** and ***** are discriminating against me because I request work orders. I feel that they do not want to do their jobs and fix things wrong in the apartment. I have paid rent on time every month for 8 months and its my right as a paying tenant to have things in working order in my apartmemt. I feel they abused the Landlord right to terminate a tenancy because they didn't like that I requested items to be fixed. I want the BBB to know that Laughton Properties has not provided good service and it should be noted on their business record.

Desired Settlement: I am not asking for a settlement. I would like it noted that my roomate and I are giving our 30 day notice and would request that Laughton Property treat this as the tenant giving notice and not have a termination of tenancy on either of our rental history.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ** ********, Pres. Contact Phone: (XXX) XXX-XXXX x *** Contact Email: *********@laughton-properties.com Every tenant in the state of California has a legal right to terminate their tenancy under the terms of their rental agreement. Likewise, every landlord in the state of California has a legal right to terminate a tenancy under the applicable laws. ****** ******* became an approved roommate in unit ** at **** G Street in December 2012. On August 22, 2013, the occupants were given a 30-Day Notice of Termination of Tenancy without cause. First thing Monday morning, August 26, 2013, ******'s roommate came to our corporate office to ask about the notice. ****** had just returned from a week's vacation and had no knowledge of the notice. Because the roommmate had rented from Laughton Properties for serveral years, she and ****** had a friendly business relationship. ****** informed the roommate that she had just returned from vacation, had no knowledge of the notice and speculated it might be about the dog's barking but that she didn't know. She advised the rommmate to talk to a supervisor. ***** ****** did not work on that Monday morning. When the finally spoke ***** did assure the roommate that there was nothing negative in their file, that there were no documented issues with the dog and there were no complaints in their file, that management was exercising its right to terminate their tenancy. ***** did NOT tell the roommate we would rent to her again but not ******. ****** called me at 6:44 p.m. on August 26, 2013 and I returned her call at 7:27 p.m. I told her the same information that ***** had relayed to the rommmate. During this conversation ****** complained that it took WEEKS for work orders to be completed. I said, "WEEKS?" She said, well, it took a week and a half for the last work order. I asked, "Aren't work orders delayed in the unit because we have to work around your schedule?" She acknowledged that she would not let anyone into her unit unless she was home, both because of the dog and because she didn't want anyone in her unit unless she was there. I pointed out that it was her right to request to be present but it was not fair for her then to turn around and complain about the length of time it took for work orders to be completed. During the conversation about work orders, I did ask why she thought there were so many work orders after she moved in. ****** said that her roommates are not as vocal as she is. I will point out that management went above and beyond the call of duty in the spring of 2013 by installing an air conditioning unit in her bedroom (in ADDITION to the one in the unit) so she could keep her dog in the bedroom during the day. Every work order requested was completed in as timely a manner as possible given the fact that maintenance had to accommodate ******'s schedule, even those repairs that were tenant caused. Laughton Properties, Inc. has been in business since 1980 providing outstanding service to thousands of residents over the years. We stand by our customer service as attested to by the numerous renters who return to our management year after year. I'm sorry that ****** ******* did not have a satisfactory experience.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Thank you

Business' Final Response
There is no provision in our system for placing any notation on a rental "ledger." The typical question an owner/management agent asks is, "Did the applicant give a 30-day notice?" Our response would be, "Yes."

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

8/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: June 28th I viewed an apartment on **** ******** apartment ** with ***** ****** at 12:45. We viewed that apartment and there was still paid suppies in the closest the bath tub was not finished and the stove was not installed and was not in the apartment. ***** then told me the apartment would not be ready until monday afternoon at 5pm and said I could put the apartment on hold with $500.00 deposit and could think about it until monday. We set up an appt for tuesday to sign paperwork and pay first months rent. They are closed on the weekends. Monday morning I called and told ***** that I did not want to go through with the apartment. She then said that my deposit would be on hold until they found someone new for the apartment. If I called to cancel my deposit before the apartment was even ready why would they then keep my deposit? The paperwork I signed says: "If, after notification of acceptance, I fail to move into the apartment on the agreed upon date, management may deduct from this deposit an amount equal to the daily rent $25.83 for each day the premises are vacant, from the date of scheduled occupancy to the date occupancy commences." I called and cancelled before my appointment which was on tuesday and I have emails stating that so I did not fail to do anything. I said all of this to ***** and she said this out of her hands and that I need to speak to the manager. Tuesday, July 2nd I was able to get ahold of the manager/owner ***** ********. As soon as ***** got on the phone she was incredibly rude and I was nice and just start discussing the whole situation and then preceded to interrupt me and said "the apartment was ready friday." Clearly it was not when I saw it that very day and many things were not completed. ***** then interrupted me and said "listen you ******* signed a contract and the ******* apartment was avaialable friday." The manager/owner ***** ******** then hung up on me. I was utterly shocked. I have never spoken to anyone that way and have never had someone speak that way to me. I then tried calling back multiple times and since then no one has answered.

Desired Settlement: All I want is my deposit of $500.00 back. I called before the apartment would be ready and or before I signed any rental agreement. ***** wrote on the paperwork that the agreed upon date was july 1st. My question is how could I have moved in July 1st if it was not ready until that evening at 5pm and if I was signing paperwork tuesday morning? I have never worked with such an innapropriate and disrepectful business. I just can't believe the president of a company would speak to a customer this way. I work for ******** **** and our owner would never even think of speaking to anyone this way. I really do not want to speak with ***** anymore. I refuse to let anyone speak to me this way. I'm a full-time working college student; All I want is my money back. Any kind of help is much appreciated. Thank you, ***** *******

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ********, President Contact Phone: (XXX) XXX-XXXX x 231 Contact Email: *********@laughton-properties.com ***** ******* viewed apartment #9 at **** N Street on Friday, June 28, 2013. At 12:00 p.m. she signed an Offer to Rent form for a move-in on Monday morning, July 1, 2013, and paid the $500 holding deposit. That form states, in part, "If, after notification of acceptance, I fail to move into the apartment on the agreed upon date, management may deduct from the deposit an amount equal to the daily rent ($25.83) for each day the premises are vacant, from the date of scheduled occupancy to the date occupancy commences. Charges will not exceed 30 days rent." At no time did ***** in our office tell Ms. ******* that the unit wouldn't be ready until 5:00 p.m. as she was scheduled to sign move-in paperwork at 9:00 a.m. on Monday, July 1, 2013. Later, Ms. ******* informed ***** that she wanted to change the signing of paperwork to Tuesday. This did not, however, alter the agreed upon move-in date of July 1st. However, on Monday, July 1st, Ms. ******* left a message for ***** that she (Ms. *******) had found another apartment over the weekend and would not be renting unit ** at **** N Street. ***** talked to Ms. ******* and explained the legal obligations of the Offer to Rent form. Subsequently, Ms. ******* called the office numerous times to argue about the return of her deposit. Each time the Offer to Rent form was explained. I did speak to Ms. ******* at one time after she refused to accept the numerous explanations from ****** Ms. ******* did not seem interested in what I had to say, continued to talk over the top of me until I was so frustrated I did hang up. Later Ms. *******'s father also called me. I again explained the legally binding form his daughter had signed. He said he worked in the car industry and understood contracts. I also explained to him that we had the unit re-rented and Ms. ******* would receive an accounting of her deposit, as required by law, after that move-in occurred. One of them requested a copy of the redacted new lease with the disposition of deposit to which I agreed. Unit ** was re-rented for a move-in on July 11, 2013. Ms. ******* received an accounting of her deposit, along with the redacted copy of the new lease, charging her rent, as outlined in the Offer to Rent form, from July 1, the date she was supposed to move in, until July 10th. That rent was deducted from her deposit and she received a refund of the balance on July 16, 2013. All transactions occurred as per the legal document Ms. ******* willingly signed and Civil Code Section 1950 regarding disposition of security deposits. She is not entitled to any additional refund.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved