BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Northeast California
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Dick James & Associates Inc.?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Dick James & Associates Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Dick James & Associates Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Dick James & Associates Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: June 03, 2003 Business started: 01/01/1994 Business started locally: 01/01/1994 Business incorporated: 05/05/1998 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

CA Bureau of Real Estate
1651 Exposition Blvd., Sacramento CA 95815
http://www.dre.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (877) 373-4542
Fax Number: (916) 263-8943
The number is 01240805.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Dick James, President/CEO
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Dick James, President/CEO
Business Category

Property Management

Products & Services

Dick James and Associates is a full service property management company specializing in the management of apartment houses.


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Dick James & Associates Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 4849 Manzanita Ave Apt 91

    Carmichael, CA 95608

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

7/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was told in the walk through of the unit (by apartment manager ***** *****) that "cats were allowed but not dogs" and I chose this unit at Loma Linda Apartments(**** ******* **** *********** ** *****) partially because of the cat friendly. I was approved for the apartment and put the security deposit down. The lease was not ready for me to sign at when I put the deposit down. When it came time for me to sign the lease on 6/30/14, the lease said that cats were not allowed. At that time, the apartment manager, ***** *****, said that "If you see cats, it's because they were grandfathered in" That was not what I was told before. "bait and switch" used to get me to rent the unit.

Desired Settlement: I asked that they allowed me to have a cat or refund my deposit.

Business Response: Hello,
I am so sorry for the inconvenience this may have caused you. It is to my understanding that this has been resolved between you and the manager of the property. However, if you are not satisfied, please do not hesitate to let us know.
Sincerely,
Dick James & Associates Team

6/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 5/14/14 I emailed this company and still no response. When I moved in, I was assigned to parking space A. I noticed another vehicle was parked in the spot so I called **** and she advised me to put a note on the car asking them to move. A short while after putting the note the owner of the was banging on my asking why I put a note on her car. She then starting screaming at me telling me that she is not going to move and that my parking space is F. She threatened me if I tried to park there she would have to deal with me. Shortly after I got a letter from the office on my door stating that my parking space has been changed to F. I am very concerned that this tenant was told where I live and where I park my car. I went to the office and **** told me that the tenant came in very upset and yelling at her about the parking situation so she then realized that she assigned us to the wrong spot, however my lease says space A and I didn't give consent for them to change it. I am pregnant with twins and very concerned for my safety and the new parking spot is a lot further for me to walk. In addition, after only being here for about 2 weeks my toilet broke and flooded my entire bathroom and half of my bedroom. This was very inconvenient to say the least. On June 6th 2014 I was standing in the kitchen when all of a sudden the kitchen light cover and frame, which is wood, fell on my head and belly, injuring my neck and back. I am still pregnant with twins and had to go to my doctor to get checked out. Luckily I am fine but still in pain. Also, the gym is not working. My boyfriend was visiting a few weeks ago and tried to use it but the treadmill doesn't work and the workout machine has broken parts as well. When I moved in, their website advertised free cable but when I asked she said no, there's no free cable. This was one of the reasons I chose this complex.

Desired Settlement: I would like the parking situation remedied and reassigned back to space A. I would also like for the gym to be fixed and an explanation as to why the website offers free cable when they don't actually offer it. I would like to receive a discount off of next months rent for the inconvenience of having to go get checked at the hospital and for having to deal with the pain that this incident has caused. If this is not taken care of, I will be filing a legal suit against this company.

Business Response: Dear *******,
Per our phone conversation, i hope things are now okay with your unit. Please let us know if you have any further issues or concerns so we may address them.
Dick James & Associates Team

2/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We had submitted our rental application on Jan. 11, 2014 it is now the 27th and no one has contacted us. We understand that there was one (1) issue you needed clarification on. But we should have been contacted on a daily basis to to let us know where we are at. This is very unprofessional conduct their part. It looks as if they are just banking applicants screening fee. First ******* at Southwoods Apt. told my husband he had to go right down and get a money order and pay for both our application fees, which he did. And since I was in Redding, CA ******* would email me link and I could fill my application on-line. But upon completion I had to pay with my credit card in order for it to be submitted. This was after ******* had us rush getting her the money order. My husband had to do same in order to submit his as well. Why would ******* not know the application process and/or the correct cost? Plus I was charged $28.00 for my fee and my husbands only $20.00. ******* had us pay $28.00 each. So we had to go get the money order back and re-deposit into our account. I really like ******* but this is not right. I also had to email the screening company two days ago and request a copy of our credit report even after we checked the box to do so. We can not get the time, money or gas back due to the actions of their staff and affiliates. Moreover after the twelve (15) days with no communication, undo cost to us and all the above mentioned issues of concern.

Desired Settlement: We want a full refund credited back to both our credit cards and $50.00 for the time and money spent on obtaining, taking back, picking up and re-depositing the money order that was never even needed.

Business Response: Dear *****,
We are so sorry for the problems you had gone through with trying to rent at this property. We make a conscious effort to train our staff to know how to handle difficult situations like this. We understand your frustrations and would like to offer you your application fee of $48 back. A check will be sent out in the mail within this week to your current address.
Thank you,
Dick James & Associates

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. I do have a new mailing address. Can you please forward it to them along with my acceptance.

 
**** ***** *** **
*********** ** *****

Sincerely,

***** *******

12/27/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I move out of Teals Apartment on Nov 1st. I was advise owner has 21days to refund deposit otherwise in full amount. I receive deposit on Dec 2nd. I gave a 30 day notice before moving out of Teals Apartment. I did an inspection with the new Location Manager on 10/22/13. We had a conversation regarding the previous manager. She did not do a move-in inspection with most tenants before moving them in. I wanted to know how that can affect my deposit. Manager acknowledge, and stated she already encounter several issues similar to my situation. She will not charge for painting since there is no wall damages, the only charge will be cleaning fees due to the contract. I had asked, how long does it take to refund the deposit. She explained, 21days from the initial date of inspection or move out which is between Oct 22nd and Nov 1st. Anything after the 21 days, tenant is entitle for a full refund. I did not received a check until Dec 2nd. Check date issue out was Nov, 25th. Before Nov 21st, I try calling and leaving messages to location to get an update on the status of my deposit. I follow up again on Nov 24th, 30th. I receive a callback from location manager on Dec 2nd the morning of receiving my check. I was advise to contact upper management regarding the timeframe of refund. I left voice messages to operator (*******) on Dec 2. I was refer to an property assistant(*****) who deals with Teals Apartment. She stated she does not know what happened why the deposit took long and refer me to her District manager(********). I did not receive a callback from ********. I called operator back Dec 3rd and was refer to another supervisor(*********). Supervisor called me later that evening and explained she will do a full investigation to find out what happen. She does not know why I was misinform about the deposit and painting charge. I did not hear from supervisor.

Desired Settlement: I would like Dick James & Associate to refund me the difference of my deposit as stated or at the very least reimburse the painting charge that was disclaim to me that I will not be charge since there is no wall damages.

Business Response: Initial Business Response
A check with the full amount of the security deposit was issued and mailed to the former tenant on 12/10/2013.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) My complaint has been resolved my the company.

6/18/2012 Problems with Product/Service