BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Northeast California

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Chico Sierra Real Estate Management Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Chico Sierra Real Estate Management Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Chico Sierra Real Estate Management Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: June 23, 2004 Business started: 01/01/1995 Business started locally: 01/01/1995 Business incorporated: 08/04/2008 in CA
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

CA Bureau of Real Estate
1651 Exposition Blvd., Sacramento CA 95815
http://www.dre.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (877) 373-4542
Fax Number: (916) 263-8943

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Catherine Duffy, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Catherine Duffy, Owner
Business Category

Property Management

Alternate Business Names
Sierra Property Management

Additional Locations

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (530) 624-3651(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

5/6/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Property Management Company advertises photographs of their properties that misrepresent the condition of the property. Chico Sierra Real Estate Management requires a $25 application fee be paid prior to scheduling an appointment to view the property. If I had known the condition of the home, I would never have paid the fee or requested to view. The home is falling apart, holes in the siding, carpet is very old and coming away from the threshold revealing the sub-flooring, the landscaping looks nothing like the photograph advertised (all the plants are dead or removed). The company claims they belong to BBB but could not be found on BBB website to file this complaint. There are horrible reviews and stories about their business practices on YELP. I called the manager of the company to report the discrepancy in the condition of the home vs the advertisement and was met with hostility. He interrupted me and hung-up the phone while I was in mid-sentence.

Desired Settlement: Please review their business practices around advertising and property management. Please require them to remove their claim that they belong to BBB if they in-fact do not. The homes that they manage are not in acceptable living condition.

Business Response: **** ******** applied to a property at **** ****** St in ***** on 4-14-2014.  An appointment was set up for **** to view the home, but on the date of that appointment  (today) our employee waited around for 15 minutes and then left.  We then received a phone call from ****, very rudely stating that the home is not what the picture represents.  We have 1 picture on the website and it is of the outside of the unit.  With the exception of other cars in the driveway, the home looks the same.  Picture attached

Our policy, is that we prefer for people to view the home prior to turning in the applications.  We want to make sure that they like the home before we even process the application.  **** was never told that she had to pay a fee before she could view it, otherwise we would have a $25 fee from her and we do not.  **** never paid the fee, and at this point has done nothing but waist 1 employees time, and call and scream at the other one.    I happened to be sitting in the same room when she called(less than 3 hours ago), and she was dealt with very politely and was not hung up on.  I am sorry that she feels the need to incorrectly state what happened.    

As far as being a member of the BBB, well I will chalk that up to the fact that she must have done as much research on that as she did to how we process applications.  She is incorrect on both accounts.

All I can say is that I am glad that we saw this side prior to renting this home, or any other property to her. 

I can be reached for any other concerns at 899-2296.
Thank You
********* *****

Consumer Response:

I am rejecting this response because:
******** *****'s response includes some false statements. At the time of scheduling I informed the individual on the phone that I would be coming from work and could possibly be a little late as they were unavailable during lunch hours and after work hours for showings. I arrived at **** ****** **. at 11:55 a.m. and was met by the tenant who informed me that the agent had waited 5 minutes and left. I called to apologize for missing the agent and to let the management company know that residence was in disrepair and that the advertisement they were using was clearly an old photograph. See attached.

I did not raise my voice on the phone as I was at work. The gentleman was rude and did hang-up while I was still talking. I am sorry the she feels the need to incorrectly state what happened. I have also attached comments from YELP that reflects the same rude and unprofessional behavior from this business. I do not believe this was an isolated incident.

I was told that it was the company's policy to retrieve a $25 application fee prior to viewing. I happened to fax my application instead of dropping it off at the business because they closed so early and I just hadn't taken the check yet. Thankfully, I was able to schedule the appointment before I had paid as the property was nothing like it was advertised and I would not have been refunded.

As for being a member of the BBB, it was my intention that the business proves their membership as it did not come up on the search when I filed this complaint. I was concerned that listing its membership to the BBB on their website was an additional example of the company's false adverting.

I believe the tone in ********e's response to my complaint and the three other responses to complaints on BBB site exemplifies her rudeness and unprofessionalism. As a homeowner, I would be devastated if my property management company allowed my property to be kept in the manner they feel is acceptable and advertise as otherwise.

Business Response: We manage 100's of properties with 1000's of tenants every year, and yes in this business field that we receive complaints.  Most every person that has left a complaint is someone that we have evicted, or have taken to court, and yelp is the only way that they can voice their opinion without anyone having to hear the other side.  Luckily  the BBB makes people prove their grievances, and both sides are heard.

 I am not sure if this indivudual actually read how rude and accusitory her statement  to the BBB was, but if she did, then she should not in the least be shocked that I am defending our actions.  This individual accused us of making her pay a $25 fee prior to looking at a unit, however that is contradictory to our policy that is both stated in our office and on our website.  She did not state that it was our policy to make people pay, she actually stated that she had to pay a fee before she could see it, which is simply untrue.

She accused us of falsely stating that we were members of the BBB, simply because she did not take the time to enter our name in the system properly, and she accused us of falsely adverting properties, when the picture that was taken, and is listed on our website was taken last year in April 2013.  We obviously cannot control on a day to day basis how the property looks on the outside.  As far as the interior, had she taken a deep breath and talked to our office, she would have been informed that the unit was getting new flooring, new paint, and would be brought back to good standards before someone moves in.  We could have even referred her to other properties that might meet her standards better.

To this individual, I am sorry that you did not like the property that we were advertising.  The address is listed, and per all of our instructions both verbal and on our site, we request that you drive by the property and look at the exterior and the location prior to making an appointment, or submitting an application.  That was obviously a step that you choose to skip.   Please do not try to accuse us of trying to fool you in anyway. 
********* *****

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

8/6/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We would like the security deposit on the property to be refunded allowing for a burst water pipe during cleaning. My son has been a tenant for 3 years. As a senior and rental property owner, I have never been treated so poorly with an unexplained hostile tone that had accompanied our entire move-out experience with Sierra. I was at a loss to receive an angry response to a pleasant email I wrote asking for a walk through appointment (I have the email chain if needed). I did not receive a response until I sent a fax and then was berated for not responding to "5 unanswered calls" (I received one) regarding a future tenant's request to move in early (wasn't possible). I even took the time, although unnecessary, to call back to explain my mother was in the hospital and my son out of the state to try to soothe the anger of the email although I didn't understand what the walk through request had to do with a tenant's request to move in earlier. After explaining that we had a hotel and moving van arranged I was reluctantly given a walk through appointment for Friday, July 12. On Thursday, July 11, when I called to report a broken water pipe at the property I was told I didn't have an appointment for the Friday, only Monday the last day of occupancy. I explained that I had prearranged the appointment before driving from the central coast and arranging for a moving van and that we were staying at a hotel. After a long hold we were give a different time at 8:30 a.m. We cleaned for many hours prior to the burst pipe and even called the water company to get the water shut off for Sierra. A company employee from Sierra came much later to "fix" the pipe but admitted he didn't know "what was involved" as he felt the problem was below the surface . As it was now getting late we told him not to bother as we were also worried Sierra might attempt to charge us with an emergency repair. Before he left we asked that he document the pipe bursting was due to age and took photos of the rusted break. At no time did we receive an apology about the pipe bursting nor appreciation that we took the time to have the water shut off from Sierra. The next morning when we filmed the walk though and the refusal of the company's rep to allow us any more time to clean or get the water turned on, the walk through was immediately ended and we were threatened in an email and call implying that we were harassing the employee by filming. Sadly, the message even mentioned involving the Chico PD and was intimidating and upsetting for us. We had worked for over 8 hours cleaning the previous day and without water nothing more could be done. We began the five hour drive home with a moving van. Today, July 18, we received an equally insulting email with a similar belittling tone informing us the house was dirty (it wasn't) and doors may need to be replaced due to scratching by my son's service dog (a very small 7 lb. chihuahua). There was a complaint about blinds ( ironically which installed by us after moving in) and light covers. We were told the rug was filthy even though we had told the walk-through rep before the walk through was abruptly cancelled that we had chosen not to clean the rug but to go with Sierra's cleaners and have it deducted. We had worked hard to clean the home and the refusal of the owner to allow for the lack of access to water and to continually insult, threaten and accuse is very unprofessional and disconcerting. We would like an acknowledgement that the pipe bursting was unfortunate and allowance for that in returning our deposit.

Desired Settlement: We would like Sierra to respond with a more professional tone that does not involve insults, threats and intimidation but rather addresses the facts. We are concerned that attempts will be made to keep our deposit. We would like documentation for every deduction of our security deposit, photos, and a copy of all alleged repairs showing who made the repairs and the costs. We would like an acknowledgement that the burst pipe created a difficult environment for cleaning.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
When a new person was signed on this lease, there request was to move into the unit early. We made multiple calls to the tenants cell phone with ZERO response. The new applicants were trying to make arrangements of their own, so we continued over a 2 month period to call the applicant, and even made several attempts to call the cosigner. There is absolutely no excuse to not return phone calls. I understand family issues, but phones calls made over a 2 month period, there is simply no excuse. We have XXX-XXX move outs that happen with our company over a period of 3 months. We hand deliver to the tenants a letter that describes what will happen at the move out, when it will take place, what the tenants responsibilities are, and that if they need to reschedule they need to call us weeks in advance. These letters are delivered to all tenants about 2 months (2 months), before the move out. ****** ******* called our office 1 week before her scheduled move out to change the date. She asked for a move out to take place on a Friday, when we had 5 move in's scheduled, and 7 move outs, all on top of our normal daily schedule. We are open 8 hours a day, yet her call was made to our office after we closed. After being ignored for 2 months, I can agree that I was not too excited to rearrange our schedule at the last month to accommodate Mrs. *******, but we did. I personally made a phone call to the number Mrs. ******* left on my machine, but it just rang with no voice mail. The following day Mrs. ******* sent an e mail to my office requesting a Friday move out, this was my response, that she claimed was hostile: Chico Sierra Real Estate Mgmt Inc. Chico Sierra Real Estate Mgmt Inc. 7/05/13 Mark this message as unreadDelete this messageKeep this message at the top of your inbox To: ****************@yahoo.com From: Chico Sierra Real Estate Mgmt Inc. Chico Sierra Real Estate Mgmt Inc. (**************@hotmail.com) Sent: Fri 7/05/XX X:XX AM To: ****************@yahoo.com (****************@yahoo.com) I called after you left a message, and the phone rang with no option of leaving a message. In fact we have called both you and your some over 5 times in the last month to try to get a response from you about a move out date. The current tenants wanted to move in early, and we have called both of you numerous times to see if that was possible and not 1 return call. Our office is open Monday - Friday 8-4 and you are always able to reach one of us during office hours. Leaving a message after hours, and leaving a phone number that no one answers, we are not able to do anything. Move out dates are scheduled months in advance due to how busy we get this time of year. You are welcome to call during office hours to see if there is an opening in our schedule. If not, unfortunately we will need to stick to the original date that was given out over a month and a half ago. Simply calling us back after one of our multiple calls to both of you, we would have had plenty of time to make the charge, but with this short notice you will need to call the office to see what is available. XXX-XXX-XXXX. Chico Sierra Real Estate Mgmt Inc. Chico Sierra Real Estate Mgmt Inc. Mark this message as unreadDelete this messageKeep this message at the top of your inbox The e mail is to the point, but in no way is it hostile. Mrs. ******* called our office and as I stated earlier was given a move out time on Friday as she requested, after we rearranged our schedule. The morning of the move out, we received a call from the maintenance department that there was a water break at the ********** house. This is main water line from the house to the street that is underground. Mrs. ******* stated that this break in the pipe was due to age, and wanted that documented by the plumber. The pipe as I mentioned was underground, and there was absolutely no way for us to know that there was any issue. Obviously the pipe breaking and the vender having to dig underground was our first acknowledgement that there was a problem. As a Landlord herself, Mrs. ******* should be very aware that you can't stop things from happening, and the law allows a landlord reasonable time to repair. *** maintenance Called Mrs. ******* and spoke to ****** who stated that he would be out within the hour. The water company went out and shut off the water. *** Maintenance looked at the problem, and spoke directly with the tenant and another older gentleman which I will assume was his father, and told both individuals that he could temporarily fix the problem so that they could have water. Their response was that they are packing up and do not really need the water. He said again, we are here now and can turn it on, but again were told that was not necessary. This was on Thursday, the day before the move out inspection. So Taylor at *** left it off, to be repaired after they were moved out. *** Maintenance is not a Company that is owned or operated by Sierra Property, and would have no reason to lie. Their number if needed, to contact them is XXX-XXX-XXXX. The following Friday morning the move out was scheduled at 8:30 am. My employee ****** ***** arrived and began to complete the move out. Shortly after she began the inspection, I received a call from her stating that there was an upset person in the unit, and that she was being yelled out. In the back ground, I could hear a male voice yelling at her, saying that this is not dirty, and you will not write it down as dirty. I told ****** to have this individual call my office immediately to speak to me ( I was not going to allow him to yell at my employee, and I wanted to make that clear to him), and if he refused to call me, that she was instructed to leave the inspection, and write down that she was not able to complete the work due to the fact that she was being yelled at. I waited for a call, but never received one, about 15 minutes later, ****** (my employee) called and stated that they were going to take extra time and made arrangements for us to come back on Monday and complete another walkthrough. About an hour later ****** showed up to the office , and explained to me what had just happened at the move out. She stated that an older man (still not sure who this is), was the man that was yelling at her in the background, stated that he was filming the entire situation, and at the point where she stated that the items were not clean, he shoved the camera in her face and as he was yelling at her stated that he was going to post this on face book and U Tube. With no respect, and after she requested not to be personally filmed, he continued, which is the point that she set the new appointment and left. This is a 29 year old woman in a home with an aggressive man yelling and taping her. You better believe that as an employeer I will protect my employees. I left a voice mail for Mrs. ******* and below you will see the e mail that I sent that Mrs. ******* claims was harassing and hostile: Chico Sierra Real Estate Mgmt Inc. Chico Sierra Real Estate Mgmt Inc. 7/12/13 Mark this message as unreadDelete this messageKeep this message at the top of your inbox To: ****************@yahoo.com From: Chico Sierra Real Estate Mgmt Inc. Chico Sierra Real Estate Mgmt Inc. (**************@hotmail.com) You moved this message to its current location. Sent: Fri 7/12/XX XX:XX AM To: ****************@yahoo.com (****************@yahoo.com) It seems as though this is becoming a problem. I left you a message and I will leave you an e mail to make sure that my point is clear. Months ago you were scheduled a move out date. For 2 months we called you and your son about a possible date change, by request of the new tenants. Not 1 phone call was returned. you called our office 1 week before your move out date requesting that we change that date. Since we luckily had a cancellation, we fit you in for a move in on 7-12. The night prior to your move in, a pipe was leaking outside your unit. **** came by ********* and said that he could turn the water off, or temporarily fix it so that the water could be turned back on for you to clean. The response from 2 men in the moving van was, " we do not need water we are moving out tomorrow." The water was left off. This morning my employee arrived to he house to complete the walk though, she was met with hostility from an older man that wanted to say that the house would not be cleaned, because there was no water. ****** then called my office to discuss the matter. While I was on the phone with her, I could hear this person yelling at her in the back ground. I instructed ****** to either tell this person to calm down and call my office, or that she was to leave the walk through, until the unit was clean and ready to go. The decision was made to allow these individuals to complete the walk through and that we would come back on the original scheduled date of 7/15. The tenants we welcome to be present at the walk through, or could leave keys and information on the kitchen counter. When ****** arrived back at my office, she make it aware, that this man, Whoever he was, was shoving an ipod/phone into her face stating that he was going to tape her, and put her on his face book. She requested that she not be taped, however he is welcome to tape whatever he would like in the unit. I am not sure who this person was, but confronting a young woman, how is simply there to so a job, to tape her against her will, and shove items in her face, is simply crossing the line. We will contact Chico PD if needed to make sure that you have not posted her image without her consent. Again, not knowing who you are, you need to grow up, take a deep breath, and simply calm down. We will complete the walk through on Monday, you are welcome to to present. Other appts today have been booked for 2+ months, and we have no other openings today to accommodate another walk through. Had one of our multiple call been returned, that might have been an option. Any question you are welcome to give us a call. On Friday we asked for *** to go out to the property to turn the water back on. We were billed for them to come out on Thursday and at that time they asked the tenants wanted the water turned on, only to be told no. They had to go out again on Friday, which we were billed again, because the tenants has changed their mind. The following Monday we again, had to rearrange our schedule to accommorate a move out that we were not expecting. ****** competed the move out, and came back to our office, stating that they made no additional attepts to do any additional cleaning. Again, having to put a rush in on a water turn on, rearranging our schedule to accomoate extra time, only to have them, not present at the move out, and not make any attempt to clean was extremely frustrating on our end. I again, sent an e mail to ****** to let her know our findings. After what we found, I certainly did not want her to think that the unit was left back to us in good condition. My e mail is below, again claiming to be harrassing. Chico Sierra Real Estate Mgmt Inc. Chico Sierra Real Estate Mgmt Inc. 7/18/13 Mark this message as unreadDelete this messageKeep this message at the top of your inbox To: ****************@yahoo.com From: Chico Sierra Real Estate Mgmt Inc. Chico Sierra Real Estate Mgmt Inc. (**************@hotmail.com) You moved this message to its current location. Sent: Thu 7/18/XX XX:XX AM To: ****************@yahoo.com (****************@yahoo.com) We were very disappointed to see that you made no attempt to clean or repair any of the damage that was done to the home at **********. The home was left very dirty. Even though we postponed the move out 3 additional days it seems as though no additional cleaning/or repairs were done. Every door in the home was scratched due to the animal. Our attempts will be to get the scratches out, but if they are unable to the doors will be replaced. Blinds are damaged, light covers are missing and broken, and carpets are filthy. This is simply a courtecy to let you know what we found at the property. We took numberous pictures to document the condition that we found on Monday. If you would like to get a copy of the move out sheet you are welcome to contact the office and they will send you a copy. All documentation will be mailed in 21 day. Mrs. ******* is a cosigner of an adult son. The funny thing is that in all of this, I have not heard 1 word from the actual tenant, and have never actually spoken to Mrs. *******, other than through these 3 e mails. I am a business person, and this is business. When I call a person over and over, I expect a response. She had our phone numbers, our e mail, and could have made 1 attempt to call us. It was not until she needed something from us, that she became irritated that we did not call her back within 24 hours (even though we did, but there was not voice mail to leave a message on). The simple fact is, The tenant and his parents did not make any attempt to start cleaning the home until the day before they moved out. Again this is after 3 years of living in the home. I guess that they just assumed that we would let it slide. Well, we are one of the few companies in town that actually take our time to schedule both move in and move out inspections so that we have documention of the condition of the unit. This is done to protect the tenants and the property owner. The unit was left to us dirty, with scratched doors, and other damaged items. The tenants want to blame to water for leaving it dirty, but as I stated above, many different people can dispute that. As far as the damage, they will be charged for what they damaged. We explain to everyone, that we subcontract out our business and that we do not profit 1 penny on any expense item. deposits are not held by oiur office, they are held by the owner. We simply bill the approprate person for the damage. When individuals know that they will be moveing out of a unit, they prepare, and do not leave everything for the last minute. They were without water for a few hours before they were given the opportunity to have it turned back on, but refused. They were also given an additional 2 1/2 days, but made no additioanl attempt to clean. They will be charged for all items based on their move in and move out sheets. They will be given copies of all of the venders invoices as we always do. There have been no threats from this office, and since I have not spoken to Mrs. ******* other than through these three e mails above, that is quite clear. If this individual was her husband, then as a woman she should have acknowledged that the way that he was acting was not appropriate, but deicded not to stop it, so I did. If that insulted her, then I am not sure what to say. If Mrs. ******* has a different prospective, since the gentleman was filming the entire move out, I would be happy to see how it actually played out, and would assume that the BBB would as well. To close this up, the tenant at ********** will receive his deposit back within 21 days of Monday 15th, and all items will be itemized with bills. No allowance will be made for the lack of water. My position still stands on the filming of my employee without her consent. Filming a unit is your right, filiming an employee, and posting on the web is not. Again, I would request a copy of that video. I have documented every conversation in the above e mail that backs up my story. Mrs. ******* compliant, is untruthful, and is slanderours to this company. She needs to provide documentation, as we did, to show that anything that she has stated in her complaint is true.Hopefully that explains our position, If needed, you have the phone number to *** Maintenance, and are welcome to call Sandar Swain (our employee XXX-XXXX). Thanks

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) 1) Ms. ***** ***** (we only determined her name from Yelp, Google and Merchant Center reviews) has never signed an email nor identified herself in any correspondence with us. Our first attempt to correspond with her to get a walk through appointment began an accusatory correspondence that continues to decline. After leaving messages that were unanswered I sent the following fax: July 5, 2013 Re: Second Request for a Walk Through This is our second request for a walk though of 618 Oreint Street on Friday July 12. Please leave us a message or email to confirm a time for us to meet at the property (afternoon preferred). Our son has accepted a teaching assistantship at the University of Hawaii and has a big move ahead of him. We are driving up to assist in the moving from the Orient Street property after three years of occupancy. We will be coming to Chico on Friday, July 12-we are more than four hours away in the central coast and have rented a hotel for this purpose. We will have all the furniture packed into a moving truck and he will not have a bed so delaying the move out walk through would be very inconvenient in several ways. We would greatly appreciate hearing from you today. To my amazement, she responded with a very angry tone complaining about unanswered calls. The email response was so disconcerting I called the office and spoke to ***** to personally explain the reasons for missing any messages asking him to relay the message to her as a courtesy. I explained that during that period my son graduated, was married, and was on an extensive honeymoon and touring graduate schools and that my mother was recently hospitalized. In her response to this complaint Ms. ***** even admits her bias stating "After being ignored for 2 months, I can agree that I was not too excited to rearrange our schedule at the last month to accommodate Mrs. *******. Ms. ***** wanting us to vacate two months early is quite frankly not even relevant to our request for a walk through and wasn't something we had ever expressed any interest in. Her calls were not multiple as described (I found one and my son found two on our machines) and we were certainly not intentionally ignoring her. Quite honestly, Ms. ***** feeling ignored should not have impacted our ability to get a walk through appointment at the end of tenancy anyway, and comments like "when I call a person over and over I expect a response" express an inflated sense of self. 2) After I was given a move out time we arranged a three-night motel stay and coordinated a moving van, tools and cleaning. My son had been cleaning for weeks before our arrival and I assisted over the last three nights once most of the furnishing had been moved. Unless she is a psychic, it is absurd for Ms. ***** to state "the simple fact is the tenant and his parents did not make any attempt to start cleaning the home until the day before they moved out". Again, statements like that are inflammatory, insulting, and not based in fact. She continues, " I guess they just assumed that we would let it slide" again purporting to know what we were thinking in a most unprofessional style. 3) During the evening of our final day before the walk through an underground pipe burst. We called the local utility to turn it off and contacted Sierra Real Estate. Ms. ***** makes several incorrect statements in this regard. She claims "the morning of the move out, we received a call from the maintenance department that there was a water break" when in actuality we discovered the leak in the afternoon and we contacted the water utility company personally to come shut if off. We have not contention with her remarks "that you can't stop things from happening" in this regard, but fail to understand why she couldn't allow us a delayed walk through the next day as we were forced to work without water. She also claims that we told their repair company we didn't want the water turned back on or the repair made. This was not the case. It was late, growing dark, and the repairperson expressed a lack of confidence of how/where to begin with the underground break. We told him it was fine to wait, which he seemed to appreciate as it was growing dark out and we were heading back to our hotel as the house was now empty. It should also be pointed out that we cleaned for several hours without water, using wipes, sprays, and cleaning towels whenever possible. 4) The filming incident is again emotionally charged with Ms. *****'s statements. My son, my husband (the accused "older man") and I (aged 62) were all in the house so the threats she contends against her employee are hard to understand. My husband, who is 66 years old, a Eucharistic minister, lector and popular educator, attempted to film the walk through because of our growing concerns of hostility from Ms. *****. When my husband asked on the film if we could have the employee return after 30 minutes to allow for additional cleaning because of the lack of access to water, the employee called Ms. ***** who refused. The walk through was immediately cancelled and Ms. ***** AGAIN brings up her anger about feeling ignored, responding in her email, "We will complete the walk through on Monday . . . Had one of our multiple call (sic) been returned that might have been an option." To add further insult to injury, after cancelling the walk through on the spot, her follow up email response threatens to "contact the Chico PD" and now rearranges the walk through to our last day of tenancy-Monday-even though she was well aware we had a moving van outside and had scheduled the drive to the central coast for that day. 5) Ms. *****'s final email further illustrates the hostility that permeates her responses in interacting with us; it is obvious she is angry and accusatory-even to go so far as to imply all the doors of the house might need to be replaced due to scratches from my son's service dog (a 7 lb. tiny Chihuahua). Her final summation continues with accusations that have no basis in fact. She AGAIN mentions the calls not being returned and uses it to illustrate we are irresponsible. It is simply unprofessional for her to make statements as "It was not until she needed something from us, that she became irritated that we did not call her back within 24 hours" again referring to my initial reasonable request for a walk though. 6). Ms. ***** further concludes, "the tenants want to blame the water for leaving it dirty." First of all the house was clean and we will be submitting photos, though cleaning the last few hours without water was very difficult. Comments like "I guess they just assumed we would let it slide" again show no attempt at being factual or professional". As tenants, it is important to note that we have never had problems getting a walk through at the end of tenancy and have always had our deposits returned accept for a few minor and agreed upon repairs. Deposits should not be used for wear and tear, especially after three years of tenancy. The home on Orient Street is quite old and reflects its age. It is apparent that Ms. ***** is biased and attempting to punish us for her perception that we ignored her calls. Ultimately, there can be no denying the simple facts: 1) the water pipe broke the day before the inspection 2) the repair attempt was made considerably later after our report to the utility company to have it shut off and was not guaranteed to produce water anytime soon and 3) the walk through on Friday was denied and rescheduled on a date we couldn't attend due to prior moving arrangements.

Business' Final Response
From everything that I have read Mrs. ******* likes to talk and accuse, but at this point she has given absolutely no proof to back up her telling of what happened. We obviously had 2 sides to the story as in most situations, and what I really appreciate about the Better Business Bureau is that they do not just accept accounts from upset people. Individuals must back up their account of what happen, and I have been the only person that has been able to provide hard documents as to what really took place. 1. We were accused of harassing, mean, e mails. As I stated before, I have never has the pleasure of speaking with Mrs. *******, she would never return our phone calls, so the only time that we ever spoke was through the 3 e mails that were previously forwarded. The nice thing about having that in writing is that it is very easy to see that they were in no way harassing, no way mean. Once my employee was confronted in a completely inappropriate way, the last e mail was certainly a warning e mail, but again not mean or harassing as Mrs. ******* states. If she is going to continue with her accusation, she needs to provide some sort of hard document to actually disprove the ones that I have provided. 2. As seems to be her MO, Mrs. ******* has yet again embellished her statements. As you can see in her letter, she claims to have wrote us this elaborate e mail explaining her situation. This was her actual e mail: Name: ****** and Francisco ******* > Email: ****************@yahoo.com > Phone: XXXXXXXXXX > Subject: walkthrough request 7/12/13 > Property: None/General Inquiry > Message: This is our second request to schedule a walkthrough for ********** Street in Chico. We will be there this Friday and are hoping to get the walkthrough completed. > Our son has accepted a position teaching at the University of Hawaii and has a big move ahead. We would greatly appreciate being able to get the walkthrough completed next Friday. > ****** ******* (XXX) XXX-XXXX or email. Quite different then the one submitted to the BBB. 3. The BBB was given a copy of my responding e mail to Mrs. ******* and it certainly was not hostile. What Mrs. ******* is still missing is that we send out letters to all of our tenants 2 months in advance letting them know when their walk through will take place. That letter states if you have to reschedule the time, you need to call us weeks in advance as our schedule books up very early. We had called both Mrs. ******* and her son on multiple occasion to try to get a simple answer, requested by the new tenants moving in. Had they never responded that would not have even raised an eyebrow with us. What got me irritated, and yes I do have a right as a business owner to get irritate, is that Mrs. ******* and her son not only ignored all of our attempts to get in touch with them, but then called our office less 1 week before their scheduled walk through as asked for a change in days. She asked for a Friday, which is our busiest day of the year, and when told we did not have any openings, told the receptionist that we had to fit her in. We rearranged the schedule and fit her in to accommodate her. I do have the right to point out my frustration, which I did in the e mail, by informing Mrs. ******* that had she returned any of our calls, then this last minute change could have been avoided. For anyone to say that they are to busy to simply leave a 1 minute voice mail after hours, to return our calls, is not acceptable. Mrs. ******* claims to be a business person and that is the #1 thing that you must do. My e mail was given to all parties and is anything but hostile. Mrs. *******, I certainly did not feel ignored by you, I was trying to make a situation work for the new tenants, which is our #1 goal. I was simply amazed that 2 individual could be so oblivious to anything but their own situation. By the way, in the last 2 months I actual lost my Mother. As a business person, I grieved, but continued on with what needed to be done to make my business run. That is actually how a business person deals with things, not by ignoring them. 4. Again, Mrs. ******* is making several statements that she simply cannot back up. As far as the water pipe breaking, I am requesting that the BBB contact Taylor At *** Maintenance who was the individual who attempted to turn the water on, but was told not to. Mrs. ******* may make any statements that she would like, but the facts are the facts, and hard facts can't be disputed. Our office is open Monday - Friday, and yes the request to complete a walk through the follow day was denied because we are closed. Mrs. ******* failed to make that point. The actual lease was not up until Monday, and as far as we were concerned we would postpone until Monday. Mrs. ******* did not want this simply due to the fact that she would not be here. Again, making us to be the bad guy that we did not, or would not open our office on a day that we were closed. 5. We make no attempt to stop people from filming a property. AS we said before since we do not profit from repairs, we accept any proof that a charge should not be given to a tenants. What was not acceptable was that after we rescheduled a time to fit Mrs. ******* in, she now wanted additional time. Had that been an option, then we would have accommodated her. However it was not an option since Sandra had back to back appointments. I was called by Sandra, and while discussing this a man in the back ground began to yell at her. As stated in my earlier e mail, I told her to stop what she was doing and tell him to calm down and call the office, which he refused to do. I informed her that if he continued to yell then she needed to end the walk through. I could hear him in the back ground while she was on the phone stating that I am filming you. This is a slam dunk for Mrs. *******. If she feels that we are being to harsh in what we are stating, then please provide the BBB with a copy of the tape that was taken while my employee was in the home. She was there about 15 minutes and from what she said she was being filmed the entire time. If the BBB needs to contact her, they may do so by calling XXX-XXX-XXXX. My employee is also requesting a copy of the film. 6. My final e mail to Mrs. ******* was to inform her of what we found at that property. It was our assumption that she was taking the extra 2 days to prepare the property, however according to Sandra the unit was no cleaner on Monday than it was on that previous Friday. Mrs. ******* can take my e mail however she wishes. A copy of that e mail was given in my previous letter and is in no way harassing, simply informative From what I can tell by these e mails, Mrs. ******* has no actual facts to be able to back up any of her statements. Chico Sierra has provided e mails, personal phone numbers for interviews, and pictures to back up what took place. This will be the 2nd request for Mrs. ******* to provide this office or the BBB with a copy of the camera footage that was took during the 15-20 minutes that my employee was on site. This has yet to be provided. To Further our position, Mrs. ******* wrote a Google review on our business claiming to be that actual student living in the unit. Jan Lema a week ago- As a senior (and no longer a student) I was shocked at how unprofessional the communication is at this business. It would be easy to assume students are deadbeats but I cleaned for days and was told the house was dirty after 3 years of tenancy (it wasn't, just an old house with lots of problems). Incredibly, we had to jump through hoops to get a walk through and then it ended when we attempted to film the process. Now we received an email (and they are always angry--even from the beginning--insulting and rude just like other reviewers mention--not sure why even) saying my son's 4-inch service dog (7lbs.) gouged all the doors and they may need to be replaced. As a former property owner I am shocked that long term tenants could be treated in such a way. I hope other property owners as well as prospective students realize that this is no way to treat students in our community; we have always received our deposits back but this time I think we may not only denied--but asked to pay even more--it certainly appears to be their MO--read other reviews and don't let it happen to you! If she is willing to lie in a Google review, my guess is that she is willing to do the same with the BBB. AS I stated before the BBB requires back up, not just opinion. It is time that ****** provides a little documentation to back up all of her slander about this office. I am requesting that the BBB talk to the individuals involved at the number provided. I have also enclosed pictures of the unit, including the doors that no way a 7 lb dog could have damaged. Please contact me with any additional need, and I will be anxiously awaiting a copy of the footage took by Mrs. ******* at this unit. ADDITIONALLY: I have copied a few of the photo that we took at the walk through. As you can see the unit was not left to us spotless as Mr. ******* yelled at my employee that it was. It certainly was not left as a pig sty as we see so many units, and at no point did I tell them it was that way. My point to Mrs. ******* was that they asked for 2 additional days to clean, and this unit was in this same condition on Friday during the scheduled appts as it was the following Monday, and no attempt was made from what I could see to do additional cleaning during that time. I am not sure what the point for the extra 2 days were. As far as damages, the tenant will be charged for what they damaged. AS you can see, a little Chihuahua can cause damage, even though Mrs. ******* has stated that he did not do any damage. I am not the type of company that charges people for items that they did not damage, and for Mrs.; ******* to jump to that assumption, before receiving her refund is ignorant on her end. They will be charge however for the items left dirty, to repair the doors as well as any other item that damaged, to clean the carpets and to spray for the fleas that were in the 1000's inside the unit. Receipts will be attached from each of the venders, and if Mrs. ******* is not content with that, we have a court of law to handle it, and they certainly require back up documentation, that we have yet to see from Mrs. *******. We certainly take length on time in a unit into consideration, but Mrs ******* is trying to make accusations simply to not be held accountable for the damage to the unit.

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

6/24/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The Co. failed to tell us before we paid our in total $100 deposit for the house that the previous owners were resigning the lease for the next year This Company took $100 from us and left us with no house at the end of the year. We each gave a $25 dollar non refundable deposit to look up a background check on all of our co signers. We paid that amount each because we were told a house was available and we were the only ones interested. The day we walked into the office ready to sign the lease they told us the people living there now decided to resign the lease leaving us without a house and $100! The office assistant lied to us about telling me we had a 48 hour notice to sign the lease and also gave us attitude.

Desired Settlement: The reason I believe the $100 should be refundable is because the real estate agency failed to consider the interested people that had already paid and were approved to rent this house out. They were in the wrong for letting the previous tenants resign because they should have asked them before we were interested in leasing the place. The first thing this real estate agency should do before putting the house on the market in giving the tenants a date to decide if they are going to re lease for the following year. This company takes advantage of people in the sense they tell you the house is available and then after you pay the fee for the background check they tell you the house is taken!

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
First of all, all of our tenants were given leases to sign in February 2013. It is a college town and not all of the students know what they are going to do. Some of them return the lease when asked, but our policy, as I would assume any other companies policy would be, that current tenants are able to renew up until new applicants have singed on a property. Below will tell you why this did not happen with ******** and her party. ******** *****, and her roommates applied for a property at *** **** Street, but unfortunately the property was not longer available. They were called and asked if they wanted a refund on their fees, or if they wanted us to process the applications and look for something else. They requested that we process the applications, for a property that we had at *** ***** ****** in ***** on 3/21/13, and the application fee was put on that property. On 3/22/13 we began to process the applications, and notified ******** by her phone number XXX-XXX-XXXX, that their applications were not complete. As per our application rules, the paperwork was put to the side. On 3/29/13 ( fax stamped, 7 days later), ********* cosigner was returned to our office. On 4/2/2013 we called ******** again, as well as her roommates **** and **** and informed them that the applications were not complete. A message was left on all machines. Date fax stamped, on 4/3/13 *** returned her cosigner form (12 days after original paperwork was turned in). On 4/8/13 date stamped on top, the cosigner form from **** was turned in (17 days after original paperwork is turned in). Once we had all of the paperwork we finished processing, and gave the girls a thumbs up for the house. Per all of our paperwork, the tenants are given 48 hours to decided. This is not just written down for them to read and stapled in our lobby, but it was also told to the girls when we informed them that they were approved. The reason for this is because we do not hold units without a signature. Unfortunately we have been burned in the past. The girls were given there deadline to sign of 48 hours. We were in contact with ******** and her roommates and were told that they were not sure if they wanted it and still had to make up their mind. In the interim, the current tenants called and requested to renew their lease. We informed them that someone had been approved and had a 48 window to sign. When the 48 hours was up, and the ******** and her party did not sign, we allowed the current tenants to renew. That same afternoon, ******** and her roommates came into the office, with an appointment (which is required to sign a lease), and at that time were told that the unit was not longer available. She yelled and said a few choice comments to ******* the receptionist, and stormed out. The matter was them brought to my attention and I called ********* and told her that I would try to help her into something else. I called an owner of a property and talked them into taking her animals even though it was a no animal property. ******** did not bother to call me back. A few days later they set an appointment to view, never showed up, and informed us that they had found something else. Here is a copy of the Application process that we have on both the applications, and posted in the office. Since we deal with 100's of properties, we try to make it perfectly clear how we operate so that there is no issues like this. Application Process Applications are accepted at anytime. In most situations we process applications in the order that they have been received. Simply because you have turned in your application 1st does not always mean your first in line. APPLICATION FEES ARE AS FOLLOWS: $25 Application Fee (This covers processing of 1 application, and 1 cosigner if attached). $15 Fee (This is charged if original cosigner is declined, and additional cosigner is turned in) When an application fee is paid, it is attached to your application. Once we start processing an application, the fee is deposited and non refundable. We will start with 1 application at a time, and will only move on to the next application if we are at a standstill, the previous person is no longer interested, or if they are not qualified. Please understand that if we start processing your application, and a previous package is able to get approved in the meantime, we again, will not be able to refund your application fees. Fees collected on applications that are not processed will be returned or shredded. You are welcome to hold off on paying these fees if you wish, until you are next in line, but realize that we will only make 1 attempt to get fees paid before we go on to the next group. When your application is turned in, you are expected to have all information filled out completely. The following will result in applications not being processes, and applications going to the end of the line. 1. Incomplete information, phone numbers missing, address, dates, signatures, and so on. All lines on the application must be filled out. 2. Proof of income - Individuals applying with self employed status, Govt Assistance, or Student Aid, need to provide proof of income at the time of dropping off application. Without this we are not able to process the application. 3. Signatures - All signatures are required on applications in order to process. 4. In order to be approved you will need, 2 good rental reference, no unlawful detainer records, good income (2x-3X amount of rent), good credit with no derogatory accounts or collection accounts. If you are unable to fit this criteria, you may be able to get approved by providing us with a cosigner. Cosigner MUST have good credit. In order for application to be processed, cosigner form must be attached if you are using one, otherwise application will not be processed. 5. All roommates living in a unit must have their applications turned in, in order for any of the applications to be processed. 6. ALL Application fees paid. We will not process any application package until (ALL application fees are paid). 7. Incorrect information listed. Make sure that you list all information regarding the property correctly; failure to do this may result in your application being put to the end of the line. Once an application is approved someone in your group will be contacted (we do not contact all applications). Once you are contacted and informed that you are approved, Units avail for immediate occupancy You will have 24 hours to sign a lease. If you are unable to come in, we reserved the right to give the unit to the next applicant in line. Applicants are required to pay full deposit at the time of signing a lease, and prorated rent at the time of move in. We do not hold units that are ready to be moved into without rent being paid Units available for Summer/Fall occupancy (units not currently open now) Applicants have 48 Hours to come into the office to sign a lease. If you are unable to come in, we reserved the right to give the unit to the next applicant in line. Tenants are made aware by this form and by our office that if only a portion of the tenants sign a lease, those are the only individuals that we can hold responsible for the lease. We are unable to do anything about applicants that back out of a lease, if they have not signed it. Applicants are required to pay ½ of the deposit at the time of lease signing. Inability to do this may result in losing the unit. The balance of the deposit and the prorated rent will be due upon move in. MOVE IN DATES ARE ALWAYS ESTIMATED. YOU NEED TO CONTACT OUR OFFICE 1 WEEK PRIOR TO MOVE IN DATE TO CONFIRM. At this point in time, I do not believe that ******** has asked this office for a refund, or at least it has not been brought to our attention. She was curt and rude to my staff, ignored all of the attempts that I made to try to help her out, and is now bad mouthing my company both to you BBB, as well as on line. I feel that our Company did everything that we said that we were going to do. The girls were given th property, and had they signed when they were given the opportunity to, the house would have been theirs. The fact is, is that the girls had not made up their mind, and when the 48 hours expired, there was someone there that wanted it. Pure and simple. I do not feel that we owe this group any refund. However, I certainly do not want anyone to to upset with us. During the summer we rent properties and we rent them quickly. Sometimes people will loose out on things, but we certainly do not take applications fees, or keep applications fees on properties that we know are rented, and ******** accused us of. If ******** would care to rethink he accusations, and let us know that she is aware that it was bad timing, and not vindictive on our part, I would be happy to refund her $100. However if she chooses to state that this office will screw her over, I am not sure what my incentive would be to refund her anything. I can always be reached at my office XXX-XXX-XXXX. ********* *****

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

12/28/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: trying to tell the landlord about an issue concerning another tenant he yelled and threatened he'd get his wife online who is more mean. I have been verbally assaulted by a tenant at **** ******** St. Chico, CA in September. Upon trying to contact my landloard the following day I never heard back from him in regards to this incident. Yesterday 10/28/2012 went to the tenant to see if her could keep the noise down then later that day the tenant moved my boyfriend's bicycle. I called my landlord today 10/29/2012 to file a complaint my landlord yelled at me wouldn't let me tell him what happened and then threatened to get his wife on the phone who he said is even more mean that he is. The tenant's wife offerered me marijuana, they stomp around the apartment all hours of the night and sound like they are moving things and are up all day. the tenant hangs out with the landlord so it seems thay maybe doing drugs together.

Desired Settlement: I want out of my lease. If I'm going to be treated this way.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Better Business Bureau 12-14-2012 First of all, Ms. ****** needs to be made aware that stating that we are doing drugs with our tenants is something that comes real close to slander. I will be forwarding her comments to our Attorney Mr. ******, and hope that I do not hear about something like thins from here again. As far as the facts with Ms. ****** , these are a little more accurate than her accounting. We have managed this property for 5 years. In that time all of the tenants have gotten along just fine. When Ms. ****** moved in we began to receive complaints on her. She was made aware of all the complaints. Ms. ****** did call our office to complain about a neighbor yelling at her. The neighbor was given a written notice, and Ms. ****** was made aware of this. It was also explained to her that I can't simply kick a tenant out due to 1 complaint from a tenant. Ms. ****** was also asked at this time how many animals she had, as her lease accepts only 1. She claimed she had 1 cat. We then supplied her with a picture of 2 cats sitting in her window. Ms. ****** was made aware that having extra animals in her unit would constitute an eviction on her end. The next day Ms. ****** requested for us to let her out of her lease. We agreed, although it was not part of her lease, to let an individual with a dog take over her lease. This was done, and Ms. ****** was taken off the lease last month. As far as Ms. ******'s complaint of us yelling at her, well they are simply untrue. I was sitting in the room when Steve (my husband)spoke to her, and since she did not like what he was saying, he had to repeat himself multiple times, and then he simply gave up and transferred he to me. I put the situation in clear precise terms, which again was not what she wanted to hear, so she has decided to make herself the victim. Anytime a complaint is made to our office, the tenants are given written notice. That does not however mean that we will evict that person. The law does not allow that to happen. Ms. ****** did not have any desire to leave this unit, until our office brought up the issue of the extra animal. Should you need letters from all of the 3 other tenants, I am sure that they will be happy to supply with one. Since Ms. ****** will receive a copy of this letter, again, I am going to make it very clear to her, that her comment made about drugs and this office, will not be tolerated. As I mentioned I will be forwarding her letter to Mr. ****** (our Attorney). For Ms. ****** to make such claims in writing was not the best decision on her end. As I said I hope that I do not see any other comments like this about our business pop up anywhere, or Ms. ****** will find herself fighting a lawsuit in court. If you need copies of warning notices given to both Ms. ****** and her neighbor, please let me know and I will be happy to forward them. I am also happy as I said to collect letters for the other tenants, and pictures of multiple cats in her unit. Just let us know. Thank You ****** ****** Chico Sierra Real Estate Mgmt Inc.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1