Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

CGA Property Management, Inc.

Phone: (916) 727-3095 Fax: (916) 727-1250 View Additional Phone Numbers 2100 Marconi Ave. Suite a, Sacramento, CA 95821

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that CGA Property Management, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for CGA Property Management, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on CGA Property Management, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 08, 1994 Business started: 10/30/1991 in CA Business started locally: 10/30/1991 Business incorporated 06/24/2002 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

CA Bureau of Real Estate
1651 Exposition Blvd., Sacramento CA 95815
Phone Number: (877) 373-4542
Fax Number: (916) 263-8943
The number is 01391164.

CA Bureau of Real Estate
1651 Exposition Blvd., Sacramento CA 95815
Phone Number: (877) 373-4542
Fax Number: (916) 263-8943
The number is 00861855.

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Chris K. Airola, Owner/President Mrs. Lisa Airola, Owner/Agent/Secretary
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Chris K. Airola, Owner/President
Business Category

Property Management

Products & Services

CGA Property Management Inc offers property management services.

Additional Locations

  • 2100 Marconi Ave. Suite a

    Sacramento, CA 95821


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/14/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Our rent is late if not paid by the 5th of every month. We paid our rent on the CGA Property Managements website online for January 2015 Rent on Sunday January 4th in the evening. Monday morning the payment hadn't come out of our bank account yet so we logged in to CGA Property Management's website to see if there were any problems. The website confirmed the payment had been made but that the payment hadn't cleared yet. We logged out satisfied. The morning of the 6th of January our bank account balance read that the money had been taken on the 6th of January at 5:06AM. We were satisfied. We had satisfied our commitment for January 2015 rent payment. The problem here is that CGA Property Management "double debited" our account which we later discovered based on our conversation with our bank. Our bank emailed us explaining to us what happened and I forwarded this to CGA Property Managements representative ******** ****. No big deal just remove the late fee from our CGA Property Management ledger and move forward. Not quite. They refuse to recognize the error and insist we are to fault. They now say we don't have to pay the late fee of 75.00, but we have to pay $27.00 NSF fee their bank charged them. CGA Property Management refuse to remove this 27.00 from our ledger. On 2/3/15 at 2:56 PM PST **** the office manager called my cell phone and preceded to tell me if I was so upset, I could provide my 30 day notice. I preceded to tell her she was the most unprofessional woman I had ever met in my life. I told her to never again call my cell. I would like it if someone in that company would provide some professionalism and remove this charge from our ledger. I will be going to small claims tomorrow to see if I have any help there available to me. What a nightmare. Thank you,****** *******

Desired Settlement: Please remove the 27.00 and any other late fees or NSF or any fees associated with the error CGA Property Management computers made when the double debited our bank accounts from our payment history ledger. Thanks,****** *******

Business Response: To
whom it may concern;


Unfortunately the tenant is not correct on the following issues:


1.)    Tenants receive immediate confirmation from our software
system when they pay rent online.  This confirmation is sent from our
accounting software, not from our bank.  The immediate confirmation states
that the tenant made a payment and that’s all it says.  It does NOT state
that the payment cleared the tenant’s account…the complainant is incorrect on
this point.

2.)    CGA does not have the ability to debit or double-debit a
tenant’s bank account.  All action must be taken by the tenant and the
audit record shows the tenant took action which caused this event.

3.)    The tenant stated and the audit record confirms that the
tenant submitted his January rent payment electronically on 1/4/15.   The tenant stated that he checked his bank account the next day on 1/5/15 and saw that his payment had not been debited from his personal bank account.  The audit record shows that he or his spouse logged back into the portal a second time 1/5/15, the next day.  At first the tenant denied logging in a second time however he recanted this claim when we proved to him that that he or his wife did log in a second time.   
It was during this second login that he (or his spouse) submitted a second rent payment.  It was this second submission that caused the NSF to a occur. The audit record clearly shows that the second payment was submitted on 1/5/15 and it shows that he logged in for a second time on 1/5/15.    

4.)    The electronic records are very clear as to what happened and how the double charge and charge occurred. This was a 100% tenant-caused issue. 

5.)    Since the tenant’s action on 1/5/15 caused a charge from our bank to us, we must pass along the charge to the tenant.

6.)    Finally, I strongly suspect that the tenants actions on 1/5/15 were accidental…We understand that and in many cases we just waive or share the fee and instruct the tenant on how to prevent this situation again.  We have done that in similar cases. 
In this case however the tenant was so angry and using such vial and vulgar language and threatening our staff that we could not reason with him.  He was not speaking reasonable to any degree and we were not able to communicate with him. 

Regarding the tenant’s statement about being treated unprofessionally, please know that our conversation was on speaker phone and there were other employees listening to both sides of the conversation. 
We  are perfectly willing to allow the BBB or anyone else who requests to confirm the details of  the conversation with those employees and judge for themselves. 

Unfortunately we have had previous and similar conversations with this tenant and his behavior has been very aggressive.  For that reason, we did suggest to him that if he continued his abuse of our staff that it might be best if he vacated the
property.  This tenant is on a month-to-month lease and may provide a 30-Day written Notice to Vacate at any time.  We certainly do not want tenants who are dissatisfied with our service to continue doing business with

Should you need more information or if you would like to speak with the staff members who heard the phone conversation, please contact us at ###-###-####.  

CGA Property Management, Inc

8/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: They have allowed the owner to NOT repair a structural Item on the house. I was forced to contact the city of Elk Grove code enforcement. They refused to let me out of my lease after the city of elk grove deemed part of the structure unsafe. A balcony that serves as the ONLY entrance to a home that is about to collapse needs to be repaired or let the tenants break the lease.This property had a dead rat clogged in the dishwasher that made an installer vomit. The Apartment smelled strongly of cat urine after we had settled in (We don't have a cat). Shoddy electrical work ultimately resulted in my getting injured. There were several work orders that took longer than 30 days to be started (in most cases illegal).They do not return calls in a timely fashion. Or do a good job resolving issue but instead place blame on property owner or tenant when they feel like deflecting the real issue. I moved out on an emergency basis due to unsafe living conditions. I left the place in BETTER shape that I entered it and they are trying to hold my deposit fore the cat urine that was ALREADY soaked into the carpet pads and floor boards. They wrongly blamed me for burnt trash on the side of the building that other tenants are responsible for as its right next to their giant, unkempt trash pile.for these reasons they are holding my deposit so far in part and possibly in full. The property management company (cga) was not present during move in walk-through. The owner has yet to inspect the property himself.My complaint is not unique as there are plenty of people on yelp with similar complaints that predate mine.

Desired Settlement: I would like my deposit refunded in full ($995) as I received an electric shock from a power outlet they refused to fix or have the property owner fix it. I would also like to seek $500 compensation for the last two weeks i was responsible for the property as I was not living in it. The $500 dollars was the pro-rated rent for July from the 1st to the 16th. I had requested that arrangements for an earlier move out be made but my request was not presented to the property owner as promised.

Business Response:

Dear Better Business Bureau,

            Thank you for handling this issue.  Below is my response to the complaint.

1.)    Tenant complained that we were not present during the move-in walk-thru. 

a.       The fact is, this property was managed by a completely different Property Management company when the tenant moved in.

b.      The tenant had lived at the property for more than one year when our company began managing the residence.

c.       Our company did not manage the property when the tenant moved in.

d.      Our company did not move the tenant into this property. Our company did not even know of this property or this tenant nor did we have any relationship with either when this tenant moved in.

I do not understand how the tenant can complain that we were not present during his move-in walk-thru…of course we were not present...we did not manage the property until more than a year after he moved in!

2.)    Tenant complained that the property owner did not maintain the home in good condition, hired sub-standard repairman and performed sub-standard work.

a.       The fact is …we agree with the tenant. And that is why we terminated our management services with the property owner.

b.      We repeatedly gave this owner repair estimates but he would never let us work on the property

c.       Because of his unwillingness to maintain the property in a safe and habitable condition, my office Terminated management services with this property owner.

As manager of a property we do not own the property.  We are only able to complete repairs which have been authorized by the owner.  If an owner will not let us properly maintain the residence, we terminate the management…which we did in this case and the tenant was made aware of that.


3.)    Tenant complained that our company illegally withheld funds from the tenant security deposit.

a.       The tenant is incorrect. The property owner controls the deposit. We do not even hold the tenants deposit and we never did.

b.      The owner holds and controls the deposit and the tenant has been notified of that.


I strongly disagree with the property owner in regards to the amount of security deposit return to the tenant.  We believe the owner is charging the tenant for some items which should be paid by the property owner. 

I also believe the tenant is misguided in complaining against CGA Property Management in that we agree with him on many of these issues. 

The tenant would have been better served to file a bad faith claim against the property owner and ask my company to be a witness for him.   Prior to this complaint we would have gladly done so.

I have enclosed the management termination letter we sent to the property owner.  The tenant is aware of this termination as stated earlier.

Thank you again for mediating this complaint.



***** ** ******

CGA Inc.


2/19/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Company's website contains false advertising regarding tenants qualifications. Company's website indicate they are able to approve possible tenants with challenged credit, even with bankruptcy. But we were flat out denied after submitting our applications and paying $70.00 for 2 applications (on 01/14/13) because they said ironically that our credit scores were low. When we called the company to point out the deceiving advertisement in their website, we were told they approve tenants with challenged credit by obtaining a co-signer, but even that option was never presented to us.

Desired Settlement: Refund the $70.00 application fee, copy of our credit report and update the company's website.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Dear Better Business Bureau and ****** ******, I have reviewed your file and I see that we rejected your application to rent a property we manage. As we stated to you on the phone and subsequently mailed to you in writing, your application was rejected due to you having a very poor credit history. You are correct in citing our rental criteria which states that we often work with and approve applicants with challenged credit and sometimes even bankruptcy. Our criterion however does not state that we will work with or approve an applicant regardless of how poor their credit history is revealed to be. Your application was rejected for the reasons stated above and as stated in the denial letter we mailed to you. In summary, your credit history is so poor; we are not even able to offer you the option of bringing in a co-signer. As we told you on the phone and again in your denial letter, there are two ways for you to obtain a copy of your credit report. You may come to our office during regular business hours and request a copy of your report or you may contact the credit bureau at the number listed in your written denial letter. I disagree with you that our advertising is deceiving or misleading. Our published rental criteria has been established for many years and is sanctioned by the Residential Housing Association of Sacramento Valley, by our Attorney and also by the Federal Housing Commission on Fair Housing. We do not intend to change any of the language in our rental criteria and I have attached a copy of those criteria to this correspondence. The application fee you paid was $35 for each adult and two adults were listed on your application. The total application fee was $70. Please see the application on our website wherein it clearly states in bold type, "The application fee is non-refundable". As I review your file I see you contend that your credit is superior to an applicant with a bankruptcy on their record. This is not the case for the following reason: generally after a debtor completes bankruptcy, they are no longer responsible for the discharged portion of their delinquent debts. This generally means that creditors cannot garnish wages to collect a person's discharged debt. In your case, the debts have not been discharged and therefore I assume you are still fully responsible for them. This means your creditors may have the ability to garnish much of your wages and greatly reduce your effective monthly income. Finally, ******, although I have no obligation to refund any part of your application fee I will extend the following offer to you: You were very hostile and mean to some of my staff members. You yelled at them, you berated them and you treated them with complete disrespect. They treated you kindly and professionally and yet you continued to be cruel to them. If will agree to come to my office and apologize to my staff in person, I will agree to refund your $70 application fee. I believe you owe them that and if I need to pay you $70 to do the decent thing, I will. Please contact me personally if this is something you are interested in perusing. Sincerely, ****** K. ****** CGA Inc.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The so called irrelevant issues were actually allegations that were initiated by the company. Allegations that obviously they were not able to back up. We never expected for the company to give in to our demands for such will imply admission of guilt. BBB can close this case as UNRESOLVED. Thank you BBB.

Business' Final Response
Weather the claimant will acknowledge her hostile treatment of the staff is irrelevant to her initial complaint and requests. In her initial communication to the BBB she requested that the wording of the application and website be changed. As I stated previously, the current wording is compliant with the "Industry Standards" and has been approved by the Fair Housing Commission and The Residential Housing Association. The wording will not be modified. The claimants denial of abuse is also irrelevant to her request that the application fee be returned to her. In accordance with the acknowledgement signed by the claimant, her application fee will not be returned. The only exception will be if she makes amends to the staff as described in our initial response. Thank you, CGA