BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Northeast California

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that California Investor meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for California Investor include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on California Investor
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: March 18, 2008 Business started: 01/01/1994 Business started locally: 01/01/1994
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

CA Bureau of Real Estate
1651 Exposition Blvd., Sacramento CA 95815
http://www.dre.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (877) 373-4542
Fax Number: (916) 263-8943

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Ms. Elaine Becknell, Broker Ms. Stacy Fields, Office Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Elaine Becknell, Broker
Customer Contact: Ms. Stacy Fields, Office Manager
Business Category

Property Management Real Estate Rental Service Leasing Service

Products & Services

California Investors provides rental,leasing, and real estate business, manage commercial, single family homes, duplexes,
apartments, and condominium units services.


Additional Locations

  • 3581 Town Ct Ste 1

    Auburn, CA 95602 (530) 823-8604

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

7/15/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ***** ********* **** ***** * ***** ********** ** ****** This property was under management of California Investors. I resided there for 11 months On Dec. 2, 2012 I contacted CA-Inv. via telephone call and left a voicemail detailing the fact that a storm which resulted in high levels of rain and wind flooded my living room floor. The baseboards were black and brown with mold stains. The condo reeked of mold. I had mentioned that there was evidence of mold on my walk through in March of 2012 but CA- Inv. insisted that it was just mildew.On Dec. 3rd I again called CA-Inv. and was told that the owner likes to do their own repairs and that CA-Inv. was not authorized to do anything until they heard back from the owner's. On Dec. 4th I went into the CA-Inv. office and spoke to ***** regarding the conditions in my living area. She again reiterated that there was nothing they could do until they heard back from the owner of the property.On Dec. 4 I received a call from Ray, who is a worker contracted by the owner of the property from what I understand. He said I would be hearing from someone about coming out to look at the condition of the condo.On Dec. 5th I received a call from **** ******* who works with ******** ***. the HOA association. He came out and did an inspection of the flooding and the mold. He took a bunch of pictures of the baseboards and advised me to do the same. He placed some plastic covering underneath my furniture which was beginning to stain from the soaked carpets. He set up a mini fan to help dry out the carpets and said that was all he could do at the time. 9 days passed and no one responded.Dec. 10th the thermostat started to alarm low battery.I changed out the battery 6 times and wiped off any corrosion from all the moisture. The furnace would not turn on. It was the middle of winter and we had no heat with 2 small children living there.Relentless calls and emails to CA-INV went out with no response.On Dec. 10th the thermostat in the condo was ala

Desired Settlement: I have documentation and a log of all correspondence with Ca-Inv. as well as my complaint to the city of Roseville. Upon moving out due to uninhabitable conditions Ca-Inv. did not return our deposit and has since sent a "carpet cleaning" bill to my father in law who co-signed on the condo. The reason for such a delay in realizing the deposit had not been returned is because ******* ****** thought I had received it and vice versa. I have documentation on everything and can be provided ASAP.

Business Response: In response to the complaint filed regarding ***** ********* **** ***, Tenants ******* ******.  California Investor does not hold the security deposit the owner is solely responsible for  this aspect .  We are not in charge of the monies returned to the tenant and the cost comes directly from the owner.  ***** ****** who was the residing tenant at the above mentioned property was specifically told if the work was not being done fast enough, between the Home  owners association and the owners handyman, that she was able to move  per the owner with a 30 day notice. The carpets were cleaned professionally  after the leak, paying specific attention to the area where the water had leaked through to the carpets.  In the tenants lease it states the carpets were professionally cleaned when she moved in, and must be cleaned professionally when she moves out.  The only other charges was for the rent until she turned in the keys, which tenant did on 2-28-2013, and one late fee in the amount of 120.00.  Please note that she had one  late fee, from January 2013  that was waived by the owner.  The tenant did not give us a forwarding address, so we in turn sent the security deposition to the wood creek address and asked for it to be forward, ( we did not receive the mail back as not able to forward.)  Unfortunately do to the damage done from the rain, it took longer than expected for the repairs to be completed, the Home Owners Association was in charge of part of the repairs and the owners handyman took care of the rest of the repairs.  After the tenants moved out we no longer were managing the property, but as a courtesy sent out the security deposit disposition for the tenant.  We at California Investor are not able to do any repairs until the owner gives us permission, unfortunately this owner refused to let California Investor or our  vendor take care of any work that may have  needed to be done, in turn specifically told us his handymen and the home owners association will make sure it is taken care of, I believe that this letter is directed at the wrong people/company, and in turn the tenants should contact the owners of the property them selves in order to handle the current situation. California Investor has not managed this unit since the tenants ***** and ******* ****** vacated, 2-28-2013.  Per California Real Estate law the tenant was charged according to the law, and was not charged more than permissible, the main cost to her deposit was that rent was not paid.  We also believe, although the repairs did take longer than anticipated, they were taken care of in a reasonable amount of time for the extensive damage. 

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because:
 

California Investors was the management company during the time that I was leasing there. There were no repairs made to the condo after the storm and the flooding. We were in the condo for over 20 days without heat and wet molding carpet. I should not be held responsible for improper sealing of the building which causes flooding in major storms. I did give more than 30 days notice when no repairs were done to fix the problem. I had all my mail forwarded as did ******* ******. All other companies, utilities, cable, etc. had any problem getting final mail to us because the post office had a forwarding address. As I said, I have photos, correspondences which I forwarded to the BBB in my initial complaint. No one should be expected to live in a flooded apartment with no heat in the middle of winter with 2 small children. The carpets were not ever cleaned after the flooding while we resided there and I should not have to incur any costs associated with that. If this can not be solved through the BBB I will file with small claims court. California Investors were the MANAGEMENT COMPANY at the time of our lease and our deposit was to be put in trust. It should be their responsibility to return it to us.
 
The rent was not paid for the final month because no repairs were made and the property was uninhabitable. I gave ample notice, verbally, written and in person.
 

Business Response: I have been in contact with the owner of wood creek oaks on behalf of the prior tenants.  After must discussion he is willing  to remove you and your father in law from collection, and is will to pay you back 1/2 of the security deposit.  He feels that this is fair for both parties.

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because:
 

California Investors, admittedly in their response did not perform the urgent maintenance needed on the condo. Again, we were living in a flooded apartment with no heat for over 20 days. The representative from the HOA himself said that the underlay under the carpets was so saturated and molding that it would have to be replaced. I not only left the condo in pristine condition, I made repairs to the damage from the prior tenants. There were huge holes in the bedroom from a plasma wall mount which I filled and repainted. I sealed the crack on the windowsills which was noted on the walk through form, and repainted. There was a huge satellite and cinder block platform left on the patio upon move in. I removed that whole mess and left the deck spotless. I have no idea what "repairs" would result in $575.00 taken off of the deposit. The flooding in the living room was a result of poor building construction and the costs associated with that should be taken up with the HOA, not the tenants. I will settle this matter for $700.00 which does not seem fair at all given the circumstances I endured while residing at the condo. Otherwise, we will have to take it up with small claims and I would be more than happy to provide sworn affidavits, photo's and all correspondences with California Investors, Landmark Ltd., The City of Roseville all who I contacted repeatedly regarding this matter at the time of occurrence.

Business Response: Company states that they would like to issue the consumer a refund in the amount of $700.00.

Consumer Response: Consumer states that she accepts the business response and would like the refund made out to her.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

1