Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

A & J Property Management

Phone: (916) 628-4897 4826 El Camino Ave., Carmichael, CA 95608 http://www.abbyjacobproperty.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that A & J Property Management meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for A & J Property Management include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on A & J Property Management
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 06, 2011 Business started: 01/01/2010 in CA Business started locally: 01/01/2010
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

CA Bureau of Real Estate
1651 Exposition Blvd., Sacramento CA 95815
http://www.dre.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (877) 373-4542
Fax Number: (916) 263-8943
The number is 1213771.

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Ms. Erica Torrez, Broker
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Erica Torrez, Broker
Business Category

Property Management

Alternate Business Names
Abbey Jacob Property Management
Products & Services

A & J Property Management specializes in property management services for residential and commercial consumers.


Additional Locations

  • 4826 El Camino Ave.

    Carmichael, CA 95608 (916) 628-4897

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/15/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ***** of A& J property site manager ****** threaten to beat me up at my apartment. I notified her boss ***** but she did not believe me when I forwarded ****** texts to her. I am not at the apartment. I ask for my rent and my $30 for the gate door. She refused to give me back my money.

Desired Settlement: Refund my rent money $300 n $30 for the gate opener. I do not wish to go back to Annandale place apartment because of the site manager threat. I have a month to month lease at the apt.

Business Response:

The tenants who resided at **** ******** **** **** **** ** and ******** *********. I am assuming the complaint is from them or from ***** herself. Ill try and keep this short and to the point. But myself, the on-site manager and the owner received texts/calls/responses/harassments up until the day they vacated on 6/30/15 on a regular basis. By the way, the full deposit of $300.00 was hand delivered to them today 7/7/15 and this was prior to seeing this complaint. I did not receive gate remotes back from either tenant and don't have any record of any other deposits that they paid prior or during their rental.  There was no rent given back to either tenant as there was no basis.
When my new manager ****** moved into her apartment ** on April 16, 2015, *** started complaining that unit ** had their TV on too loud which was the unit below them. We spoke to ** and they admitted to falling asleep with it on. They turned it down and told us they were about to have a baby. They also said they didn't want to complain but *** were up at all hours most nights drinking, swearing, throwing cig butts, throwing beer cans, over the balcony and when the baby came didn't want to deal with that. *** continued to send us these texts at inappropriate hours saying we weren't handling the problem, 12AM2AM4AM.  They were harassing in nature, rude, abrasive and they paid no attention to what time it was. When asked to contact us during work hours, they continued to text and call anyway. They would say "you better do something about ** TV too loud, what are you going to do? You better give me an answer now, etc even though we had already talked to them, they continued to do this anyway. Upon one of the first responses from ******, the reply they sent ****** was to ***** * **** ** *** *****. To no avail, each night thereafter, the same harassing texts at 3AM would come from them even though we handled it. They finally stopped when I spoke to **** **, told her to call me when ** was loud again to prove to me it was a problem  and that I had saved the texts from them harassing us and telling the manager t* ***** * **** ** *** *****. She immediately changed her story and it stopped. Approx a month later, the two roommates started fighting each other and one wanted to move then didn't, then cops were called, more drinking....again harassing texts to us that we weren't cleaning up dog crap, the new manager didn't know what she was doing, they wanted the old manager back, all in the middle of the night and now ***** was moving and turning her keys in without notice or warning to us.    
***** put in her notice to move on May 22, 2015, moved out and then moved back in.
Then there was an issue with their dogs getting attacked by another dog that was on the property that didn't live there. Again with the texts, what am I going to do, I owe them vet money, they are going to sue me and the owner, and at9pm12am, and this time calling the owner as well and sending harassing text over and over, what am I going to do? They wouldn't barely be done sending one text before I could even respond, they were sending another one. I told them I would do what I could and I did. They finally stopped about that.... Then ***** really started in on me one day around the beginning of June to take her off lease. I told her I needed permission from **** **. At this point I had told **** ** that I would approve her to just move without 30 days notice. More harassing texts from *****, "give me my money back, you owe me my money back, your manager threatened me, I have proof, I need my money back to remote gate too, I will call owner if I don't get my money back and ****** **** ********* **** **** *** *****.  I was telling her that I could not refund rent as they were still living in the unit, at least **** ** was and that I didn't understand her wanting money back. Rent wasn't given back to one roommate who moved out when one stayed in the unit. Furthermore, more vulgar comments about ****** and therefore I didn't want to hear anymore. I saved her texts and voicemail, but once I told her what I could and couldn't do, I stopped responding. I was also talking with ****** as this was happening and we were both documenting her. The owner was made aware of what was happening and I was told to serve them a notice to vacate. The next day I was called by **** ** apologizing for *****. I didn't serve them a notice because everything settled down, for a moment until I got the news that **** ** moved out and turned in keys 6/30/15. They were both finally gone! But not without getting a string of harassing texts from **** ** about calling her "wife" ***** a liar, my drunk employee came out of cave, their dogs getting bit and accusing me of telling her wife that their dogs jumped in the pitbulls mouth, get my facts straight, let me guess, your pissed? Power trip much? Get out of Town lady, im contacting you during business hours, etc....The texts go on and on. 
Like I said in beginning, the full deposit was returned to them happily. I have never dealt with people that lacked such respect, lack of tact and spoke with such vulgar comments and was harassing like them. This is for the both of them but would say that the vulgar comments always came from *****. Please let me know if you need any further information from me. I am assuming that this complaint will be dismissed right away without further action on my part or mark against my current standing with the BBB.

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because: I still have the gate remote to the apartment. ***** or site manager never contact me about returning it. Only I have contact them. ***** from A & J never even pick up her phone not even once to talk to me. My name is not *****. My name is ****. I work in morning. ***** move in people with no I.D. no papers into the apartment. Apt ** is still super, even with the baby. ******, ***** site threaten me on June 10 2015,so I move out and never came back. I deserve my rent back ant $30 for the gate remote. The old manager has given her a list of who has the gate remote to the apartment. ***** is a liar that she has no knowledge of who has the gate key. She needs to return my $30. I would like ***** to go stay at my old apartment for a night and how bad n loud apartment #3 is and how her site is always drunk. People at the apartment called her "vodka". ***** has turn the apartment ghetto. I work at 6 in morning and I don't smoke or drink alcohol. I can proved everything am saying is truth. I have no reason to lie. I never harassed her. I called her n t text s her business hrs but never a reply and never had done anything that was ask of her.

Consumer Response:

I am rejecting this response because: I still have the gate remote to the apartment. ***** or site manager never contact me about returning it. Only I have contact them. ***** from A & J never even pick up her phone not even once to talk to me. My name is not *****. My name is ****. I work in morning. ***** move in people with no I.D. no papers into the apartment. Apt ** is still super, even with the baby. ******, ***** site threaten me on June 10 2015,so I move out and never came back. I deserve my rent back ant $30 for the gate remote. The old manager has given her a list of who has the gate remote to the apartment. ***** is a liar that she has no knowledge of who has the gate key. She needs to return my $30. I would like ***** to go stay at my old apartment for a night and how bad n loud apartment ** is and how her site is always drunk. People at the apartment called her ******** ***** has turn the apartment ghetto. I work at 6 in morning and I don't smoke or drink alcohol. I can proved everything am saying is truth. I have no reason to lie. I never harassed her. I called her n t text s her business hrs but never a reply and never had done anything that was ask of her.

Consumer states: I am requesting to send the remote back and receive my refund for it. I have attached the receipt for the remote.

Business Response: If she returns the remote to us, I will refund $30 to her. I don't have record or receipt of it but do know that the past manager charged a deposit for the clickers so I will honor that. However, I need the clicker returned in order for me to refund that deposit. I don't feel I need to respond to the insults regarding the management of the property but it took me almost a year to remove the non paying, problem residents from this property and I finally have it full with people who are screened properly with credit reports, rental verifications and proof of income. My screening policies have been in place for over 14 years. Since I took over management, I haven't had one problem with anyone that I have moved into the property but have had to evict or ask to move 10 different residents out of 23 units. 
****** is doing a great job, is attentive, reports problems, goes above and beyond and if she was really drunk on the job, I think SOMEONE would have told me by now. It is false accusation that is slander. The comments  about me  are slander and considered Liabel. 
I'd appreciate the slanderous comments to stop. I've managed for over 20 years, play by the rules and the law and I take care of my residents.