Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

A-1 Property Management & Real Estate Services

Phone: (916) 966-8000 Fax: (916) 966-8002 6617 Madison Ave Ste 6, Carmichael, CA 95608 http://www.a1propertymanagement.net


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that A-1 Property Management & Real Estate Services meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for A-1 Property Management & Real Estate Services include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on A-1 Property Management & Real Estate Services
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 20, 2009 Business started: 01/01/2006 in CA Business started locally: 01/01/2006
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

CA Bureau of Real Estate
1651 Exposition Blvd., Sacramento CA 95815
http://www.dre.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (877) 373-4542
Fax Number: (916) 263-8943
The number is 01263008.

CA Bureau of Real Estate
1651 Exposition Blvd., Sacramento CA 95815
http://www.dre.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (877) 373-4542
Fax Number: (916) 263-8943
The number is 01954017.

Business Management
Mr. Richard V. Novo Sr., Owner Mrs. Debra Novo, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Richard V. Novo Sr., Owner
Business Category

Property Management


Additional Locations

  • 6617 Madison Ave Ste 6

    Carmichael, CA 95608 (916) 966-8000

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/26/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I applied for a rental listed on this property managements paper listing that was suppose to be vacated by April 22,2015.. I paid the app fees of $35 per applicant so $70 total for my mother and I. I applied April 7 ,2015 for a condo at **** **** **** ** ********** ***. I than checked up on my app status since I was told I was only one who applied for this property which wasn't listed on their website. I was told that someone would contact me to let me know if I was approved. I than called again a few days later and was told that the current tenants needed a few more days and than was told that they were not going to vacate the property. So I went into the office and asked for a refund since my credit and money was taken for a property that wasn't available. As I walked in this agency the receptionist hands me my credit report as to say we ran your credit so here is what your $70 went to. Than manager said she circled where my credit wasn't considered good on my report. I feel this company is unprofessional, the manager came out of her office when I was there and said I had an attitude and I didn't I wanted to know why was my credit run if place wasn't vacated.

Desired Settlement: I would like my $70 refunded to me and an apology or a rental in my desired area of Carmichael, Citrus Heights.

Business Response: The lady did apply for one of my rentals. Her credit score was way below standard 525.....The owner declined this application due to her credit score being so low. I couldn't even offer her another rental. I gave this lady a copy of her report and I even showed her that there was phone numbers for each creditor. She should contact each one of them and ask for a payment plan. This would repair her credit report. She left and even thanked me for taking the time to explain why she was denied.

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because: I never was told my credit score and the management said tenants were not moving so place was never vacate.Also the property management was still going to find a rental for me so my credit must have not been low..I know my credit score its in good standing..Over 675.

10/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: A-1 Property Management managed my property at in Sacramento for a number of years now. It sustained $9,210.93 worth of damages by a tenant over the past year. Upon interviewing neighbors, they told me that the tenant had been destroying the house for a year. A-1 Property Management never inspected the damages that were incurring. A-1 Property Management provided me with poor customer service and I request that A-1 Property Management compensate me for the money I had to spend to bring my property back to rent-ability when this situation could have been avoided. I am severely unhappy with the management of my property.

Desired Settlement: Repair Costs - $8,792.54Travel Expenses - $418.39Total - $9,210.93

Business Response:

In response to the complaint from ****** ******. ......I was the property manager for the property located at **** ****** *** ********** ** *****.

Back in June 18, 2012 We agreed to rent a house to a tenant the was represented by the **** **** ** ******** ****** * ******* **  This tenant has a Case Worker ***** ******* ****** **** ********.  

As time went by we inspected the property and section 8 inspected it as well. There were always repairs that was need to do over there. The owner paid to do the repairs again on the property.  It was tenant damage.

Then I inspected the property this year with the Case Worker ***** ****** on May 05, 2014. This tenant  allowed his dog to chew up the carpet, the dog puttied all over the place, the doors were removed from the property, the tenant took an ax to the kitchen cabinets, (As per Owner) the grass was very dry and a fire hazard.  So, after the inspection was completed, I called *** ****** and I spoke to him about the tenant damages. *** asked me to serve a 90 day notice to make the tenant move out. Which I did the same day.

After the tenant finally moved out of the property we did a final inspection and the tenant did more damage to the property before he finally was gone.

*** ****** was real up-set by the tenant actions,  I understood and I told him that the tenant has case workers that was suppose to watch over him, Well they didn't watch him like they were suppose to do. Anyways, *** ****** told me that I was responsible for the damages. He also told me that I couldn't charge him a finder fee for the new tenant.

I stated that I shouldn't be responsible for the tenant damages. He should contact the **** (******** ******) and have a talk with them, they represented ****** *******.

After *** & I spoke last week, I told *** that I wanted to Cancel the Property Management because I wasn't going to pay for something I didn't do or have any control of.

So, BBB, This is what happened. I didn't do anything wrong, As you see I tried to help out a ******** *** *** *** ****** ****** ****** ** ** ** *** **** ** ****** ** ** ******* **** ** ******* **** ** ******** **** ****** *****s.  In fact, This man was moved into someone else house that didn't know that he caused $9000. to his old house. Not fair to someone else. Our system has failed on him!

If you have any questions, please call me at *** ******** or ***** ******s (Case Worker)

Thank you,

***** ** ***********

 

 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID .10209477, , and find that arbitration is necessary.

Sincerely,

****** ******

Business Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID .********, , and find that arbitration is necessary.

Sincerely,

****** ******