BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Northeast California

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Service Now! Plumbing & Rooter meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Service Now! Plumbing & Rooter include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Service Now! Plumbing & Rooter
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: April 04, 2002 Business started: 05/23/2000 in CA Business started locally: 05/23/2000 Business incorporated: 05/20/2008 in CA
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Rick Gonzalez, Owner Ms. Linda Gearhart, Office Manger
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Rick Gonzalez, Owner
Business Category

Plumbers Plumbing - Contractor Landscape Contractors

Alternate Business Names
R Gonzalez Ventures, Inc. Rooter Rooter & Plumbing
Additional Information


Service Now Plumbing and Rooter was created to meet the demand of the growing Sacramento Region. Golden Gate Plumbing, it's parent company, was founded in 1989 and has become a leading plumbing and rooter company throughout the San Francisco Bay Area. We have worked hard to become your local plumbing professionals that you can rely on.

Products & Services

* Sinks and Faucets
* Sewer Lines
* Garbage Disposals
* Service Pipes
* Bathtubs and Showers
* Toilets
* Water Heaters

Industry Tips
Hiring a Contractor in California: Essential Tips

Additional Locations

  • 9333 Viking Pl Ste A

    Roseville, CA 95747 (916) 983-1722 (916) 331-3335 (916) 686-9487 (916) 334-0450 (530) 753-1153 (530) 753-5354 (916) 782-3992 (916) 782-3631

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (530) 753-1153(Phone)
  • (530) 753-5354(Phone)
  • (916) 334-0450(Phone)
  • (916) 686-9487(Phone)
  • (916) 782-3631(Phone)
  • (916) 782-3992(Phone)
  • (916) 983-1722(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

4/14/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I Received demand to pay $1187 for services which were never ordered, nor performed from Service Now Plumbing & Rooter. Also, received numerous phone harrasment. This is an act of scam, and identity theft.

Desired Settlement: I am requesting Service Now Plumbing & Rooter to withraw all illegal claims/actions against me of the charges, and this company should be fined, and punnished appropriately for violating the contractor's laws, and practices for atempting to damage the wealthfare of our community, and residents.

Business Response: We are in receipt of your letter regarding the above complaint. We have already responded to Ms. *** via certified letter telling her of our decision not to pursue the matter any further (see attached copy of the letter). Her credit card company refunded her the full $1187.00 and nothing further was collected. Nor was any legal action pursued. We have already spoken to the California State License Board and provided them with the same information. 
As far as we are concerned this matter is closed. 
Sincerely, 
*** **** ******** 

Consumer Response:

I am rejecting this response because:

Service Now! Plumbing & Rooter failed to disclose the reason(s) of their wrongful actions: including numerous harrassed collection attempts, threaten to take me to court, threaten to put lien on my property, produce false incvoice/documents, abusing others' credit card informations, and fails to appoligize for all of their wrong doings.  These actions could have done major damages to destroy my family of 5 children, and rental business if not being discovered.

All they say was they've dropped the case. 

They could have successfully pocketed illegally amount of money, if I did not have the gut to go this far to report them to your agency.  Someone must be punished for this Scam type of action.  Any contractor should have know better that charging servies that are never being performed to innocent citizen is a form of crime, and can not be excused by simply say "Dropping The Case'. 

Sincerely,

******* ***

**** ********* *****

*********** ** *****

###-###-####

Business Response: We are in receipt of your letter dated March 21, 2014 regarding the above complaint. I have attached some additional documentation to support our position. On 8/17/13, a man named ******* (whom we believe is the tenant) contacted our company and scheduled an appointment for plumbing services at **** ********* Way. Our technician, *******, responded to the call on that same day. Attached is a print out of our schedule that day showing the entry for the ********* address.

 
On of Ms. ***'s complaints is that we never did work at her house, however, our service vehicles all have GPS tracking devices on them so that we can monitor the whereabouts of our vehicles at all times. Attached is a printout of the locations *******'s truck traveled on 8/7. He arrived at the residence on ********* Way at 3:53 pm in the afternoon. After diagnosing the plumbing issue, he spoke on the phone with the owner, as is standard procedure for us in a landlord/tenant situation, and presented them with the repair options. they gave verbal approval to replace a shower valve for a cost of $1187.00.
 
******* then left the residence to go and purchase the materials needed for the new shower valve, then returned to the residence at 4:52 pmand proceeded with the work. Also attached is the copy of the invoice ******* wrote up. ******* was given a credit card number for us to use for payment of the charges, which we did upon completion of the work.
 
On January 15, 2014, five months later, we received a letter from our credit card processing company saying that the charge had been disputed and the charge was reversed. We attempted to speak to Ms. *** to find out what had happened but were unable to come to an agreeable resolution with her, thus her complaints to the BBB and the Contractors State License Board. In addition, the Contractors State License Board has reviewed the case and dismissed it after determining that no violation was made because no contract was signed and no money was collected. 
 
Any business is bound to have a credit card dispute at some point and it is our policy to thoroughly investigate the dispute for our own protection. Someone called us for service and provided us with a credit card to pay for the work that was done. There is no way we could have known that Ms. *** was not aware of anything of this at the time. We are very sorry that Ms. *** is upset and feels she was scammed, however we provided the services in good faith. She was not charged anything, and no legal action was taken. We feel we've done all we can to resolve the issue.
 

Consumer Response:

I am rejecting this response because:

I am very surprised that after reading the Message From Business (Service Now Plumbing & Rooter), that no one recognezed the problems.

Service Now stated that they have GPS tracking devices on their vehicles to monitor the whereabouts of their vehicles, and showing the entry of their vehicle my residence.  Is that mean their vehicles enter my house/bath room to do the service?? Very funny, right?  The vehicles can park infront of my house all days, but NOT meaning any service is performed. 

Service Now stated their technician, *******, arrived at my house at 3:53 pm, then left (at ??), and came back at 4:52 pm on the same day (8/7/13).  That indicates in less than an hour (Between 3:53 pm - 4:52 pm), the technician did: Parked his car, left his car, walked to my house, knocked on my house, talked to whoever answered the door, checked out/analyze/estimate of the repairs, wrote up invoice, discussed the works/costs, verified credit card payment informations, drove to the store to pick up parks, looked around for parts inside the store, paid for the parts at register, drove back to my house.......Of course, excuse me that I might be missing somethings he should have taken time to do for a good faith (?) job.  It is impossible for any one be able to rush all those activities in less than an hour.  Keep in mind that the nearest hardware store (HomeDepot) is 15 minutes distance, so, he should have spend more than half an hour solely in driving to pick up the repair parts.

The Service Now invoice failed to break down details of repairs.  Not an reputable company will present such a lousy invoice.  The cost of shower valve is $50 in store (HomeDepot), so, I figured the labor costs is over $1100.  Charging over $1100 for replacing a shower valve is NOT Good faith.  The normal labor rate for a plumber is around $50/hour, if the techcian came back at 4:52 pm to start the job (Even immediately), he might have to work after mid-night, or enven until the next day to complete the job to deserve the amount of $1100.  Again, it was another impossible curcumstance.

The reason that the Contractors State License Board has reviewed and closed the case was because I felt they did not take the case serious enought to follow through, and I did not have time to deal with another agent besides BBB.  Service Now is taking advantage of that, and claimed themself not being liable for this incidence.  May be, I should thinking about to appeal the case with the Contractor State License Board then.

I am strongly disgree that Service Now is still insisting that they had provided "Good Faith" service to me.  They attacked me with harrash phone calls, threaten to put lien on my house before I reported the incidence, then dropped the charges, and legal actions immediately when they started realize their own wrong doings.  But still, they are dennying the wrong doings.

Please be advised that, not until Servie Now declares that there were NEVER, EVER any piece of "Good Faith Service" have none to my house, please assist me with continue investigation of this case.

Please advise me with further further questions, and answers,

Thanks,

******* ***

***** ********

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

1