BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Northeast California

BBB Accredited Business since

Same Day Service Plumbing, Heating and Air

Phone: (888) 937-3350 Fax: (530) 795-4016 View Additional Phone Numbers 8322 Tubbs Rd, Winters, CA 95694 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.samedayserviceplumbing.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Same Day Service Plumbing, Heating and Air meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Same Day Service Plumbing, Heating and Air include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

4 Customer Reviews on Same Day Service Plumbing, Heating and Air
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 4
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 4

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: December 09, 1999 Business started: 04/09/1986 in CA Business started locally: 04/09/1986 Business incorporated: 06/26/2002 in CA
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Carwin Brice II, CEO Melissa Thompson, Office Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Carwin Brice II, CEO
Customer Contact: Melissa Thompson, Office Manager
Business Category

Plumbers Plumbing - Contractor Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential

Alternate Business Names
Same Day Service Plumbing, Inc.
Industry Tips
Hiring a Contractor in California: Essential Tips

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Same Day Service Plumbing, Heating and Air has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 8322 Tubbs Rd

    Winters, CA 95694 (888) 937-3350 (707) 552-1272 (707) 451-4970 (707) 678-9451 (530) 662-7624 (530) 753-0210 (916) 374-8442

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (530) 662-7624(Phone)
  • (530) 753-0210(Phone)
  • (530) 795-4325(Phone)
  • (707) 224-4700(Phone)
  • (707) 451-4970(Phone)
  • (707) 552-1272(Phone)
  • (707) 678-9451(Phone)
  • (916) 374-8442(Phone)
X

Additional Email Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

11/20/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: As you can see by the copies I send along, they never started my annual system check per the service partner plan I purchased. Because I considered $600.00 to high to remove a salt container, the employee they send said I was rude so the company does not feel at ease working with me, was not stated though in their letter, even though they done work for me before, as you see 4X.

Desired Settlement: I like my full service partner plan dollar amount back, since they never started on it. I am a senior and live on a fixed income.

Business Response: Initial Business Response
This lady was rude to one of our most highly praised Techninicians for being so nice and polite on his customer satisfaction surveys which we give out at the end of all of our home visits where the customer chooses to have us do the work we quote on. As you can see by the contract with *****'s name on it, we didn't do any work on this visit. I wrote her a nice letter explaining that we were refunding her $138.00 for her HVAC Service Partner Plan, and cancelling it. I also was canceling the Plumbing one for $69, but that I wouldn't be refunding her the $69.00 because she saved $88 on the work we did for her one year ago. So to get her way, she turned in a complaint to the BBB to get $69 back which isn't anything to do with work we've done recently. The $69 gives her a discount on the work done at the time and any future work done for 5 yrs. Each year for 5 yrs., we contact her to come to her home and perform an annual system chk. to drain and flush her water heater and chk. for leaks, or make any minor adjustmts.. All at the very low cost of $69 /5 yrs., which is $13.80/yr. I am gladly sending her a refund for $69 to put this issue to rest with her. I don't feel that this should be registered as a formal complaint on my public record with the BBB. I work very hard and pride myself on our slogan "Customer service and follow-up is our #1 priority". I take care of our customers at all times and have always and will continue to fight to keep my excellent BBB rating.

Final Consumer Response
On your request they send me a check for $69.00, which I did not cash either. The $69.00 is for one year, but if you can see in the following paperwork I signed up for 5 years. They never showed up because they said I was rude to the employee because the $600.00 was to costly for me to remove a salt container for soft water. I send you these two bills again, which you already have, and I highlighted them it says for five years. One Service Plan was for plumbing, the other one was for heating and air. I had three repairs done by them and I paid them separately, one was for free because it was with a coupon. It is a shame that this company tries to steal from the seniors, I do live on a fixed income and I hope they will repay me my money. This is for heating and air with senior discount: $493.00 468.00 -------- $961.00 And so for I only received 207.00 dollars in other words they only repaid me 1 year per contract and I was signed up until XX-XX-XXXX so I am no satisfied. I want to thank you very much for looking into this, people and companies like this have to be stopped from stealing.

Final Business Response
The Service Partner Plan for plumbing is $69.00 for a 5 year term, not $69.00 per year for 5 years. Therefore, the full refund of $69.00 that we sent you is a full refund of the money you paid us for your Plumbing Service Partner Plan that you bought approx. one year ago. If you need someone to explain this to you over the phone, please call our Senior Customer Service Representative, ******* *****

Consumer Response
Thank you so much for responding. To get to their business respond, it never said that I was rude, the young man said he did not feel comfortable working for us, because I said the price was to high, my mother and my son were present. Their so called technician was in his mid twenty's and they take his word against their customers? The least thing they should have done is to call me to see if it was true, he was by himself and can tell the company anything, funny the other employees enjoyed it at my house, gave them snack and drink (soda). They just don't want to pay me my money back. As they stated they did work for me one year ago, never. Water heater also was never discussed I have never had a problem with it, I only moved in Barley a year. A plumber was here to get my stopped up garbage disposal going, second time with a coupon, my heating system was checked and I payed for it, so were did the $468.00 dollars and the $493.00 come in. So far they only paid me $207.00 dollars and I end a copy of those invoices again so you can see for yourself how very much money they still owe me. I have no intention of calling them, because when this whole mess started I called them ten times in three days and each time they told me they were to busy to go over my paperwork, so was the rude one. Companies like them need to be stopped, its in the news every day how they abuse seniors and I for one will not take it from them. I have heard here in my neighborhood many bad things about this company and I should have listened. I really do appreciate it so much you are looking into this matter and I hope you understand that I want my money back and with your help may be we can stop companies like this. PS still have not cashed their checks until I get a full refund.

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

9/30/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Called Same Day Service to clean main sewer line at XXX XXth *** ****** *** Notified dispatcher that I had a drain cleaning special card for $89.00. They dispatched a plumber to my house. When plumber arrived he would not except the discount card and said he could clear drain for their regular price. I feel that the advertisement is false and the plumber was trying to charge me more. See enclosed discount cards.

Desired Settlement: Notify the company about misleading advertisement and take me off their mailing list. I will not do business with dishonest people.

Business Response: Initial Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** H. ***** II, Pres. Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *******@samedayserviceplumbing.com We performed the $89 drain clearing special for Mr. ******* at this rental house almost a year ago. At that time Mr. ******* acknowledged there was a big problem with the sewer line and said he would fix it himself because he knows it is in bad shape. Based on this history we couldn't risk ruining our equipment in his sewer line that is in obvious disrepair. We quoted him to perform a task for drain "Cleaning" based on the condition of the sewer line and he decided not to do business with us and sent us away. This shouldn't be a complaint as he chose to not do business with us. We were honest in our approach and have documented history of the condition of his sewer line from almost a year ago when everything was explained to him then as it was this time as well.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1/31/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The monthly mailed FRUSTRATED ad is for $89. I was charged $378.60 for the 20 minute snake treatment from the front porch! I receive a postcard ad monthly advertizing $89 for Drain Cleaning. I was told the minimum was a choice of either $372.60 or $ 378.60 when the "plumber" arrived on 12/17/12. The job was the simplest possible requireing 20 minutes to snake out the drain from the front porch. I feel I was royally ripped off.

Desired Settlement: I should receive a refund of $289.60 ($378.60-$89).

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
It is clearly written on the post card that the $89 Drain Clearing Special is for *w/main line clean-out at ground level" It was clearly explained to Mr. ****** that this was a kitchen drain line which requires a different machine and different methods as kitchen drain lines are more difficult to clear or clean. He clearly agreed to the given explanation and price given by signing our contract in all necessary places incl. acceptance of work performed. At the end of the day, the customer was charged $309.60 for the work he agreed to pay for, and $69.00 for our Service Partner Plan for a 5 year term that he also signed and agreed to pay for. Mr. ****** not only received our discounted Service Partner Rate but also got $50.00 off plus another $34.40 for a Senior Citizens Discount. To settle this matter I am willing to cancel his Service Partner Plan #10,104 and issue a full refund of $69.00 and leave the discounted price as is with the Service Partner Plan discounted price. I have attached the corresponding paperwork he signed for your perusal.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The cleanout was the main line at ground level. It is the only cleanout, and yes the kitchen does drain into it. The kitchen drain was not specifically plugged or drained. I asked for the cheapest rate for cleaning this simple main line and was pressured into a longterm contract as being only $5.90 more, the cheapest being $372.60.

Business' Final Response
I can see this conversation is going nowhere. The customer does not understand the difference between a main line and a kichen sink line. The customer wants the $89 special for a main line used on a kitchen sink line. The kitchen sink clean-out is too small to use the correct machine with a large enough cable to even be able to clean or clear a main line. Either way, a debate can't be had if only one side understands an issue. Therefore, in the name of customer service, I will send a refund of $289.60 after processing the paperwork.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

12/6/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Same Day Service conducted business in unprofessional manner, was deceitful in communications, did shoddy work, ****** not provide documentation of work 11/7 ***** contacted by X at work & came home; showed X where we heard drip & crawl space; returned to work. X called her w/ oral estimates - 3 options, $5K, $7K & $10K & gave explanations of what options cover. Never offered written contract. Said it would take 4 days if could get crew ****** called X at handwritten number provided on Same Day card. X said there was 10 x 10 lake under house that was "moving" with sewer flies. Pipe that carried waste from laundry & kitchen across the house to the sewer connection was rusted & leaking in several places, & needed replaced. He said many pipes not replaced by remodel plumbers, & they too needed replaced. Crew would drain water, then replace all pipes "above ground" for lowest price, for middle price would also dig out & replace all below-ground pipes under house, & for highest price would also replace pipe from house to city sewer connection. I said pipe from house to city sewer had been replaced when house remodeled, so that not needed. At my specific request, X still declined to give written contract - he needed to see what would happen when work started. 11/8 Daughter noted arrival ~10. Mid-morn X called ***** & she emailed me X needed to talk. He said pipes were worse than thought, & he recommended replacing all pipes above ground & those that had to be dug under the house, and now was saying the $10K price was all under the house pipe & anything that needed to be dug under the house. I corrected him but he responded I must have misunderstood, & this was his original price. I again asked for contract to document work. In discussing what should be done, he assured me "I would do it if it were my house." I responded I would trust him to do the right thing. I arrived ~1:30. X said they had industrial pump they had filled once, gone around corner to a manhole & dumped, & then filled again. I asked specifically about digging, & he said it was very difficult because of tight space under the house. They had a small shovel they used, but the ground was very hard to dig to the pipe because it had been there so long. X said if he got a good crew maybe they could be done Friday. There were at times up to four workers. They took lunch ~2, & left ~4:30. 11/9 X was only worker. Do not know when arrived, but left for a significant time apparently for supplies. ***** needed to leave ~3:30. She called into crawl space several times, but no response. So she left a note saying had to leave & asking him to detail work completed. I arrived 40 minutes later; X had left a note taped to the front porch. "All work is complete. I cannot leave copy of contract without collecting balance owed. Please call me to set up a time to meet or pay over phone with credit card." 11/11 I went under the house. The "lake" appeared a small area under the kitchen near the laundry sink connection -the span across the house was dry except for a small spot - maybe 1 foot of moist ground that was clearly new. Old pipes & empty boxes were left under the house. The hole was not at all new -it had not been filled in & there is no pile of dirt. It seems they did no digging. Pipe from main bath had not been replaced -most of its length was still dusty; you could see disturbed dust in places on pipe. It looked like they had replaced a part of the "stack", but it connected to the old main sewer pipe about a foot from the foundation. Turned on main bathroom sink & water poured onto ground. Small wet area was sink waste. Riser pipe not aligned, nor sealed. Nothing done to second bath because pipes for that bath not visible from under main area of house. 11/13 X called ***** at work about payment. Asked "how are you?" he responded not doing well - had hurt shoulder working at our residence. Had gone to hospital, but nothing broken. X said wanted to come by, but ***** said we were busy. 11/1 Called ****** Bldg Dept. Rep said job required permit & inspections, & contractor should not have started. Said no permits issued.

Desired Settlement: We want to talk with owner of business about the behavior of his representative, to discuss how to complete the work satisfactorily, and to negotiate fair payment.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
I met with them this last week and discussed a settlement that they were agreeable to. We would have welcomed discussion of the issues prior to escalating it to the attention of the BBB. Unfortunately, I was on vacation, and the consumer was not willing to speak with any of my management personel. We ****** be cleaning up debree from under the house, and ****** have everything inspected by city officials to complete the job.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

1