BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Northeast California

BBB Accredited Business since

McDonald Plumbing, Heating & Air Conditioning Inc.

Phone: (916) 233-4194 View Additional Phone Numbers 3618 Broadway, Sacramento, CA 95817 http://www.mcdonaldphac.com View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that McDonald Plumbing, Heating & Air Conditioning Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for McDonald Plumbing, Heating & Air Conditioning Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on McDonald Plumbing, Heating & Air Conditioning Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: December 20, 1990 Business started: 02/21/1980 Business started locally: 02/21/1980 Business incorporated: 06/13/1979 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Vincent J. McDonald, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Vincent J. McDonald, President
Business Category

Plumbers Plumbing - Contractor Heating & Air Conditioning Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial Air Conditioning Repair Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Contractors - General

Industry Tips
Hiring a Contractor in California: Essential Tips Knowing Your Refund & Cancellation Rights Stay Informed to Keep Cool: Tips for Hiring an HVAC Service

Additional Locations

  • 3618 Broadway

    Sacramento, CA 95817 (916) 456-4493 (916) 233-4191 (916) 248-5471 (916) 365-9887 (916) 233-4194

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (916) 233-4191(Phone)
  • (916) 248-5471(Phone)
  • (916) 365-9887(Phone)
  • (916) 456-4493(Phone)
  • (916) 456-4738(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

8/23/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This business was called due to a leak under my sink. The plumber came out and said the problem was the sprayer head connection needed to be re-connected. He stated that this would be about $100 or more. I said okay because I didn't know what to say. He re-connected and gave me a bill for $193.75 with a discount of 10%. The bill came up to $174.37. There was no part needed and the mess under the sink had been cleaned up before he arrived. The total time at my home was no more than 20 minutes and this included talking to me and completing the paperwork. I wasn't charged with a house call or parts. This amount only included reconnecting the sprayer head. I feel I was highly over charged.

Desired Settlement: I feel like I should have been charged an hourly rate as was stated to my sister-in-law when she phoned them. They told her their hourly rate was $69.50 and $49.50 for a house call, but if you used their business then you wouldn't have to pay for the house call. I feel like he took advantage of me.

Business Response: I apologize that the Office Manager did not record a response to the complaint when she was first notified. Our Office Manager spoke with Ms. *********** on August 5th, prior to her filing a complaint with the BBB on August 8th. Mrs. **** explained that we are a flat rate service company. Ms. *********** is not the person who called the office and scheduled the appointment. Her sister in law was the contact. We always explain to our customers that for us diagnose a plumbing problem the cost is $49.50. This fee is waived if they accept the repair and price they are given, only then do we perform the work. The customer was offered a refund of $15 so that the price paid for the service rendered was $160.00, our Value rate which is normally reserved for customers who purchase a maintenance plan. Ms. **** also explained to her that the refund could not be issued until the invoice was processed and that could take another week. I issued Ms. *********** a refund of $15, as agreed, on August 11th 2014, Check number *****.

 
I am not aware of her calling the office since then so I can only assume the matter is closed. If you have any questions please feel free to call either Leslie **** our Office Manager, or myself at the number below. 
 

Sincerely,

 

***** ******

Accounting

 

********************

Main Office ***** ********

Direct Line ***** ********

Fax ***** ********

 

 

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because:  When I made the phone I was never told that they only charge by the job.  Even so why would reconnecting a part that came loose cost  $193.75 to reconnect a part.  Not purchase the part just reconnect it.   I was told that they charge $69.50 per hour and $49.50 for the house call.   I was also told that the house call would be waived if they were used.  Whatever they used to check how long the plumber was on the job was recorded at 23 minutes.  The plumber had to talk to the customers and complete paperwork, so that took away some time.  McDonald's is saying that they charged $193.75 for reconnecting a part which took them a matter of minutes.  My brother and sister-in-law are developmentally disabled which is very obvious due to their mental age and I think that the plumber for McDonald's Plumbing Company took advantage of that.  Who in their right mind would think a bill would be that amount just to reconnect a part.

 
 
******* ********

Business Response: Mr. *****,

 
I am not clear as to who filed the complaint and rejected my response. Our customer was ******* ***********, ******* is the one who called our office and scheduled the appointment. If ******* is developmentally disabled then ******* should have been at the home for the appointment she scheduled. The first complaint is very well written, not by a person that would appear to be developmentally disabled, yet it states it is from *******. The response rejection is clearly from ******* ********. I don't know if I am dealing with one person or two. I understand being concerned for a family member but I also feel honesty is important. If it is Ms. ******** making the complaint and rejecting our responses I would appreciate the BBB record reflecting that. 
 
How one can "Reject" a response I do not know. I was not offering a resolution, simply responding to the complaint and apologizing for our entire staff that we did respond in a timely manner. The rejection clearly states that it is from ******* ********, though she is not named as the person filing the complaint. 
 
I need to speak with our office manager to see if it was ******* or ******* she spoke with on August 5th. I will also speak to the president of the company, ***** ******** to get permission to issue an additional refund of $110.50 to bring the cost down to what apparently ******* is asking for, our diagnostic charge.  
 
I will get back to you as soon as I have reviewed the case with Mr. ******** and let you know our offer. As this is more of a discussion between the BBB and our company I would appreciate the consideration of not forwarding this communication to Ms. ********, especially since I am unclear as to whether it is ******* or ******* that is complaining. 
 
Sincerely,
 
***** ******
Accounting
******** Plumbing Heating & Air Conditioning, Inc. 

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to my concern, and find that this resolution is satisfactory as long as they refund the amount stated in the response because that what was told to me on the phone.  The company stated that someone should have been there with my sister-in-law and brother.  My brother and sis-in-law live alone and are intelligent enough to know when they have been taken advantage of which this is the case by McDonald Plumbing.  There is no way that less than a 20 minute reconnection of a part should have cost almost $200  and no one should have had to be there to supervise the service.  That plumber took advantage.

 
*******
 

3/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: McDonald Plumbing was called to fix a stiff handle in my bathroom shower. The tech (*******) said it was two broken cartridges. He replaced the cartridges. After fixing, the water flow was too low. The tech came back and said that what he fixed would not affect the flow. He was argumentative and said that cartridge sizes were universal; then he took apart the mechanics of the shower and said I needed new valves and he would have to chip away the tile; then he said they did not make single valve showers anymore; then he checked the flow and flooded my bathroom and the water ran into the hardwood floored-hallway. He grabbed a towel without asking me and tried to mop up the mess. I left him a mop and he did not use it instead he left a soaked towel in my sink. The tech was argumentative and rude. As a result of his second visit, the shower is unuseable. I called the manufacturer (Price Pfister) and they said there were different cartridge sizes which were covered under warranty. McDonald charged me $235. I called the co. and secured a refund and wrote a YELP review. Vince McDonald called me offering me $500 to take down the YELP review I declined. They have since called me at work; and sent me 2 letters which I have refused. I feel harassed.

Desired Settlement: I would like McDonald to stop contacting me. I will not remove my YELP review.

Business Response:

March 3, 2014
W
hen Ms. ****** first called us with her concerns she told me that we needed to call her back by the next day and refund all her money or she would write a bad review. I gave the information to our owner Vince McDonald who promptly responded and talked with the customer. He told her that he had been informed of her request that he call her back immediately, refund all her money, or she would write a bad review. Ms. ****** confirmed what she had said. Vince listened to the customers concerns and acted on her request immediately by giving her a full refund. As one of her concerns was the plumber installing the incorrect part, he placed a call to the manufacturer. I have attached an email with the comments from the manufacturer that indicate the filter part we installed is a universal part that has multiple model numbers attached with it.

              A couple of days later we were notified that Ms. ******, after receiving a full refund, placed a bad Yelp review of our services. Vince called her immediately and reminded her of their agreement. The customer hung up on him. As a last effort I called to confirm that Ms. ****** received her refund check and asked if she would remove her negative review. She told me that she never said she wouldn’t place a negative review. Whether Ms. ****** is aware of it or not she set up a bi-lateral contract with us. She gave us her terms, we complied fully, she cashed the refund check she received, yet she has failed to remove the bad review.

I sent Ms. ****** a letter certified mail indicating our concerns. As she indicated in her complaint she did not open the mail. At this point Ms. ****** is in breach of contract and can be held legally accountable for her lack of action. We will not be contacting this customer in the future unless instructed by our legal counsel or if she initiates the call. We however reserve the right to file legal action against her at which time.

****** ****

Office Manager

McDonald Plumbing, Heating & Air

Attachments:

              Certified letter to Ms. ******

              Email response from manufacturer

             

Consumer Response:

I am rejecting this response because:

1. I did not say I would write a bad review if I did not get my money back.

2. McDonald has no legal grounds to sue me for any reason.

3. Their work, the work of their employee was negligent.

4. I have contacted my counsel and am taking out a restraining order against McDonald.

5. I consider the matter closed. I received poor service, wrote about it and got a refund. This is the end of all contact with McDonald.

6. Last, Mr. Vince McDonald offered me $500 to remove my review which I consider a bribe and refused.

Sincerely,

******

1/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Called McDonalds to have a tune up performed on roof top heating/air conditioning unit. 11-7-13, ****** from McDonalds came out to do a tune up on heat/air unit.Unit was working fine just wanted a tune up for winter. ****** said that the evap coils were dirty and they needed to be cleaned. He said he used 3 cans of cleaner.He never mentioned any other problems with the unit. He asked if we wanted to buy a sevice that would include this tune-up and also a tune-up in the spring and a plumbing inspection. We agreed so our final bill was $475.13 instead of the original tune up cost of $79.50. The next day when the heater came on it started to trip the breaker. It had never done this before. We thought it might have been a freak thing and watched it for a few days. The unit kept tripping the breaker and we called McDonalds again. ***** came out on 11-30-13 and said that your compressor is fried and we would need a new unit for around $10,000.00. He said that this had nothing to do with the work that ****** did on the coils. We did not receive an invoice from ***** on this day. He said that he would have *** from the office come out and see what our options were. In the mean time we looked thru our paperwork and found that the compressor was under warranty until 12-19-13. *** came out on 12-3-13 and said your warranty on the unit runs out today and he could make us a good deal on a new unit for around $6,700.00. We told him that we wanted a new compressor. I also asked him about the invoice that we did not receive from ***** and he said you were not charged for the visit so we did not need one. I told him that I wanted an invoice from 11-30-13 and also one from him for todays visit. He said that he would have ******** in the office write one up and send both out with the tech. We have never received them. On 12-5-13 ***** (with another worker to help him get the compressor on the roof and then the other worker left) came out and did not seem happy, he said that he did not know he was going to be changing a compressor today and he did not have the right tools. He said that we also needed a reversing vaule (that no one mentioned before) and said that if we did not get it he would be out in a week to replace within a week, because once the compressor goes the reversing value also goes. He left to go and purchase the value. Came back staing that he had gone to three places and could not find one and that it would have to be ordered and sent over night. He said he would be back the next day around 1:00. He spent more time going up and down the ladder and looking for the part than doing any work. The next day we did not hear anything from McDonalds and my Husband called them at 1:30 and was told the part had not arrived and he asked them to track the part since they had not done so yet. We heard back from them and they said the part was stuck in Tennesse due to the weather and should be hear on Monday. ***** comes out on Monday 12-9-13 and has the reversing value, my husband asked him if he could see the part and ***** asked "Why, have you ever done this work before" ***** also stated that he could change out a compressor in an hour because he has done it so many times. Total work time about 4 1/2 hours, this is $600.00 dollars an hour! We told ***** that we felt we were being taken advantage of. He said that he used to work for ****** ********* ******* *** *** and they were crooks and added that all in the business were crooks. I signed the invoice and noted that it was under protest and gave him a check for $3,568.88 ($2,700.00 for labor and $868.88 for the reversing value) and noted on the check it was being paid under protest. We were told by *** that the new compressor would have a new 10 year warranty,when in fact it is only for a year. We both feel that we have been taken advantage of and were charged a labor charge of $2,700.00 is outrageous. I told ***** that I would be filing a complaint with the BBB and to let his boss know. I feel that we are owed a refund, who makes $600.00 an hour! Thank you for your help

Desired Settlement: We are requesting a refund of labor charges, I agree that labor charges should be charged, although not for a product that is under warranty and not in the amount of $2,700.00 and that we were without heat for 9 days except for a small pellat stove in the livingroom that does not heat the whole house. We are requesting a refund of $1,700.00. Thank you for your help with this matter

Business Response: Mr. & Mrs. ******,

I'm so sorry for the inconvenience that you experienced when your heat pump compressor went out. Older units commonly have problems and parts can malfunction on any given day. There was no way to predict failure of this particular part. Many times these types of parts (especially for older models) are not carried locally and have to be shipped from other areas. We were able to expedite your compressor and the valve when it was discovered that it was failing as well. It was unfortunate that the freezing weather we were experiencing locally was also a national problem and held up the delivery of your part. While it may not have appeared that we were working on solving you problems, there is much that goes on behind the scenes in locating, shipping, and follow-up of your parts, which contributes to the labor cost of replacing your equipment.

We have worked diligently to resolve your equipment problems and even came back to your home on 12/21/13 and installed a breaker for you at no charge. We would normally have charged the customer $473.83 for the diagnostic, labor, and part. Because of your concerns we have extended our labor warranty on these newly replaced parts from one year to two years and have also extended to you an annual MVP maintenance program valued at more than $400. While, having any type of equipment failure can be stressful we feel that we have done our best to expedite your repairs. We correctly priced your work, we performed additional work at no charge, and we are providing you with an increased warranty and maintenance program. Therefore, we do not feel that a reimbursement of $1700 is warranted.

Sincerely,

****** ****
Office Manager

Consumer Response: Please help me understand how you are providing us with a annual MVP maintenance valued at more than $400.00 when we purchased that plan on 11-7-13 for the value rate of $336.13 (your standard rate is $399.63) It is correct that we were not charged for the tech to come out on 12-21-13. ****** purchased the new breaker at Home Depot for $10.00 and the invoice states that the standard charge is $335.15 and the value rate is (can't read the writing) looks like $250.15. Why wasn't the breaker checked in the first place? Talking with other techs that have been in the business a long time, they all recommend that with have another heating and air business come out and check the unit. Severe weather happens and cannot be predicted. I do not believe that you provided us with proper service as we had to call your business when you did not arrive when you said that you would to repair the unit, and we had to ask you to track the part because you had not done so. You also state that there is a lot that goes on behind the scenes such as locating, shipping and follow-up of the parts. We had to ask you to follow-up on the parts because you had not done so. We do not accept your response and feel that we have been over charged an outrageous amount of money for the service that you state was provided and we are afraid every time we turn the unit on that something else is going to happen. The unit was working fine before you came out to do the tune-up and you keep referring to the unit as "older" is ten years really that old? and you are right this has been very stressful for myself and my disabled husband.

1/13/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company went to rental property at **** ********** Ave, sacramento on 11/29/13 to repair heating problem on the furnace. I have called 3 times to request receipt. Today 12/12/13, i called again and indicated that i have not received the receipt. The person who i spoke to was ****** she said they are busy and would call back. I told her that i had called several times and was informed that the receipt would be mailed. I feel that if i paid for the company to go out and look at the furnace they should of mailed it at the time of the charge. Not have excuses everytime i called. If they want there money on timley manner they should follow up and provide the receipt. i dont need to beg for it.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I dont think im asking for too much if something was charged on my credit card. After Leslie called my and said they needed the credit card number becasue it was rental property.

Business Response: Contact Name and Title: Leslie Fair, Office Manag
Contact Phone: 916-456-4738
Contact Email: leslief@mcdonaldphac.com
We have attached a letter that we sent the customer responding to her complaint and are awaiting her response.

Ms. *********,

I'm sorry for the breakdown in communication within our office. We pride ourselves on providing good customer service with which you did not receive. The day that we performed the work at your rental our computer system was down, so on Monday we were playing catch up and somehow missed sending you your invoice. Other than when you spoke to ****** on 12/12/13 I don't have a record of receiving any previous calls regarding this service. When we spoke on 12/19/13 you confirmed that you did receive the email copy of your receipt from our office on 12/12/13.
Again, I apologize that we did not provide you the level of excellent customer service with which we pride ourselves in giving to all our customers. As our service technician was able to perform a valuable service by diagnosing your tenants system, which was preapproved by yourself on 11/29/13, we will only be able to reduce your diagnostic fee by $20. We can credit the $20 back to the card that you originally used. For our customers protection we do not retain the card number in our system so you will need to call us to give us your card number. We need to receive your call no later than December 31st in order for us to credit your account.
Sincerely,
Leslie Fair
Office Manager

8/13/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ****** Plumbing Heating & Air Conditioning charged me for services that they didn't perform.I should have been charged $79.50 for a diagnosis! Call ****** for AC problem 7/6/12. They told me it would cost $79.50 for a tech to come out and diagnosis the problem. The tech would then present to me the findings/solution; and if I agree the tech would proceed. At that time the $79.50 would be dropped and I would be billed the cost of repair; otherwise, I would only be charged the $79.50. The tech came looked at my AC & my curcit breaker box. He reset the curcit breaker & it through the AC again. The tech took the screws off my AC unit, looked in there, had me go inside and turn it on a couple of times and then he was through. He said it's either your AC or your curcit breaker unit. But he was willing to replace the AC for me. I told him that the AC is not that old but the curcit breaker unit is the original one that came with the house; and the house is approx 50+ yrs. I said I'd get in touch with an electrician first and then I would get back to his company. The ****** tech pulled out his book, looked up something and told me the bill was $229.24. I said for WHAT? You didn't do anything & that's not the price I was quoted. He said that's what the book says maam; but I can give you a senior discount of $29.00. So the total bill was then $200.24. I called SMUD and they referred me to a company called Mr. Electric who came & fixed the curcit breaker unit. The AC has worked fined every since. Also the repair man showed me were the bottom screws on the AC had not been replaced. I was surprised! Dirt, rocks, & debri could get inside my AC unit. The ****** tech took off the screws (he complained because he had no power tool)then he took my screws with him instead of replacing them on the AC unit, WOW! It took a call from me & a call from my daughter to get someone to come back out and replace the screws that were taken. The first appt scheduled, the tech was a no-show, that's when my daughter called. Now on 07/26/2012 @ 04:33PM my daughter,********, called and spoke with ******. She first asked the company's policy on the cost of service calls. She then explained what happened with my charge and ****** past her off to a man named ******. So she told him every thing and he pulled the invoice. ****** said the tech WASHED THE AC. Well that is NOT true. I was outside with this tech just about the entire time he was there, except for a short period when I sat down in the chair near by. There's no water outlet back by the AC; and my hose was near the chair that I rested on for a breif moment. ****** said because his tech touch the breaker, and they came out twice to replace the screws (the 2nd time was caused by your techs neglegiance of taking the screws with him instead of replacing them on the AC unit)the bill was correct. My daughter told him that was a poor way to do business with a 89 yr old customer, or any customer for that fact; and that we would be reporting this company.

Desired Settlement: I believe I am owed a refund of $120.24; because all I should have been charge was the advertise/quote price of $79.50 for Diagnosis! That is all the ****** tech did, was a diagnosis not a repair or service of any kind. They should not be allowed to get away with wripping people off like this any more.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
I talked with Mrs ****** and she felt the technitian did nothing, eventhough he provided an accurate diagnostic, reset a breaker, tightened the electric connections and cleaned the outdoor coil. She understood that our quoted "Minimum Diagostic" covers the diagnostic as well as any minor repairs. We informed her that our $79.50 is for a diagnostic only. At times like this it is difficult if not impossible to provide an accurate diagnostic without actually making the needed repairs. There are times that we have to un-do repairs if the customer doesn't want to pay for them. We provided a valuable and correct service, however because our technitian failed to get written authourization prior to proceeding with the supplied repairs, we have agreed to refund her the cost of the service less the diagnostic for a total refund in the amount of $124.34. As of todays date customer has accepted my offer.

5/29/2012 Problems with Product/Service