BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Northeast California

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Harris Plumbing Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Harris Plumbing Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Harris Plumbing Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: July 21, 2006 Business started: 01/01/1994 in CA Business started locally: 01/01/1994 Business incorporated: 07/13/2011 in CA
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Steve Harris, Owner Mrs. Jennifer Harris, Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Steve Harris, Owner
Business Category

Plumbers Plumbing - Contractor Water Heaters - Repairing Appliances - Installation Water & Sewer Line Protection

Additional Information

Harris Plumbing in El Dorado Hills is a family owned and operated business that has been serving the population of El Dorado County for many years. We are a full service plumbing contractor serving El Dorado Hills and Folsom that specializes in all types of plumbing work for residential and commercial properties.

Industry Tips
Hiring a Contractor in California: Essential Tips

Additional Locations

  • 3941 Park Dr Ste 115-20

    El Dorado Hills, CA 95762

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

2/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Replace water softner system on 10/19/13, I purchased a krystal pure water softner/conditioner system from Lowe's . The salesmam stated the unit would arrive about 11/4/13 and be ready for installation on 11/5/13 or later. When ***** checked the fittings on my unit, he stated that I had 3/8" ad the new unit was 1". ****** said that they had adapters on the truck to saw the 2 pipes, solder them would cost me another hour for $120.--. ***** said normally they would come out and do a detail prior to installation. This would insure electrical outlet, space and drain were available. I asked him why can't this trip be the detail, he said that it could, but the install trip would cost me $45.00 service trip. I asked him when could he come back, he said maybe next wed./thur. (6 or 7 nov.)I said that I may as well get it done now. ****** called *******(Lowe's install dept) and asked me if I wanted to write a check or use a credit card for the $120.00. She asked for my card # and I gave it to her. Then she wanted the security code on the reverse of my card. I told her my credit union told me not to give it over the phone. She stated that the contractor would not complete the work (install) without it, I went ahead and gave her the 3 digit sc. It took them about 15 mins. to saw and weld/solder the pipes. ***** sawed off the old cooper lines (2each)Water poured out on the floor. I got a towel and a 5 gallon bucket to prevent a big mess. It seem like they would've known water (about 2 plus gal) wold flow once the pipes were cut open. Now when they thought everything was complete, water was leaking form o rings near bypass area they turned the o rings around. they tried operating the system again, water was leaking from the 1" flex hoses. ****** tighten the nuts on teh hoses and everything was okay. They left my house at 11:44 am. This is why it bothered me for them arriving at 10:11 am and get charged $120.00 for another hour. Later that day,, I called ***** and asked to speak to the owner. He said that he was the owner. I asked him what I charged $120.00 for them to get $60.00 each. I told him that God knows what he's doing and it seem like a rip-off. ***** said that he was sorry I feeled that way, but I signed the change order. This is my second time dealing with lowe's and having to pay extra, it seems like a patter at the install dept and contractors. As of 11/12/13 the permit # ********** #122.32 has not been paid.

Desired Settlement: Refund

Business Response:

Mr. ****** ***** purchased a water softener from Lowes Inc. We are an installer for the focal Lowes stores. Mr.

*****'s installation of the new water softener replacing his old water softener did not meet the plumbing standards
required by the building code; therefore, PRIOR to the installation, we informed Mr. ***** that we needed to do

additional plumbing work in order to bring the new unit up to code. PRIOR to any work being done, Mr. ***** was
informed of the additional cost involved, he agreed to the additional cost, worked out the paperwork with the Lowes

rep  and we completed the work. ***** informed Mr. ***** that the material comes off our truck, it's our
additional time and it is our liability to bring his unit up to code At the time of installation. Mr. ***** complained to

***** about Lowes charging extra for a previous water heater installation - ***** informed him that he could see why he
was charged because his plumbing did not meet the building code. He said he complained and got some of his money

back. As with this installation, Mr. ***** then decided to complain to the CSLB and to you, the BBB regarding the
installation for which he originally agreed. He was not ripped off, he was informed of the cost, he was also informed prior
to our arrival to do the work that he needed to drain his existing water softener which he did not do. We have responded
to the LB as well.

 

As Mentioned, we are an installer for Lowes. Mr. ***** informed us that he also complained to the Lowes store from
which he purchased the water softener, and that they (Lowes) reimbursed him for the Installation and he no longer had
any issue with us or the work that we completed for him.  He then informed us that he let the CSLB that there was no
issue. We have never received any complaint from the Lowes representatives regarding Mr. ***** or his installation.
When we contacted Mr. ***** to ask him what his complaint was, he had zero issue with the installation itself or the
work we did. This is a case where Mr. ***** wanted additional work done for free and his complaint holds absolutely no
value what so ever.  We stand by the installation work we did for Mr ***** and the additional charge that it cost to
bring his plumbing up to code.  Please note his complaint to you is riddled with spelling errors and misinformation   the
name of our employee is not *******, it#s *******.

 

In response to Mr. ****** and his permit not being paid that is a complete and utter fabrication - the permit number
would not be issued if it was not paid and he was mailed to him as soon as we received it from Sacramento County.

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

I received your letter earlier today, and I'm rebutting some of Harris Plumbing statements. First of all, Mr.Harris never, I repeat never said anything to me about Building codes, Now if the new system didn't meet Building code, this should've been written on the contract change order (Describe other work needed) third line from bottom of the change order. I repeat if anyone tell me that a job will take about 1 1/2  hour, (ARRIVE 10:11AM-DEPART 11:44AM) and then tell me about having to charge me $120.00 for 1 extra hour, something is very wrong with this picture.
 Mr. Harris say that I was informed to drain my old system, but evidently he forgot that he gave me another option to use the old salt. I've had many home improvements (swimming pool, complete vinyl siding, patio deck, concrete RV PAD, store house, granite counter tops, new AC/Heating units, sunscreens, fireplace insert and a new roof and they were all well paid and most with money tips. How why would I want Harris plumbing to do something free (NON-SENSE). 
 Mr. Harris stated that my complaint was riddled with spelling errors and misinformation. I accept the spelling errors/mistsakes, but everything else are facts. How about *******, I thought that I was hearing him called ****** (BIG DEAL) Mr. Harris stated that the permit wasn't paid (MY STATEMENT) and it was a complete utter fabrication, I can only go by what the community development dept. told me on 12 Nov 13. Please take a look at this copy of the permit and you'll see it wasn't paid until 18 Nov 13.
 Now since Mr. Harris wants to portray me as the (WANT WORK DONE FREE) bad guy he seem to skip over the part where I mentioned the water pouring out on the floor and they didn't seemed prepared for it. Also he didn't mention anything about the check/balance (QUALITY ASSURANCE) of  everything prior to operation of a new system. As stated before, even though Lowe's credited me the $120.00, I would still file the complaint
 
P.S. Please excuse errors/mistakes, I'm not a typist.



Sincerely,

****** *****

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

1