This business is not BBB accredited.

Essex Mechanical Services

Phone: (530) 244-0993 8687 Deschutes Rd, Palo Cedro, CA 96073

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Essex Mechanical Services include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Essex Mechanical Services
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 05, 2003 Business started: 04/06/1998 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752
The number is 747821.

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Greg Unger, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Greg Unger, Owner
Business Category

Plumbers Plumbing - Contractor Heating & Air Conditioning Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial Air Conditioning Repair Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Contractors - General

Industry Tips
Hiring a Contractor in California: Essential Tips Knowing Your Refund & Cancellation Rights Stay Informed to Keep Cool: Tips for Hiring an HVAC Service

Additional Locations


    8687 Deschutes Rd

    Palo Cedro, CA 96073


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/24/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: In Mid-June our AC unit stopped working. Essex was called in to fix the issue. Turned out to be a faulty relay. They replaced the relay and upon starting the unit back up fried the compressor. They have refused to replace the compressor and only offered the solution of replacing the entire unit at about $10,000. They even sent me a bill for the repair!I spoke with Carrier (AC Unit brand) about warranty replacement and was denied. During the conversation their regional service manager informed me that the changing of a relay would not cause the compressor to short out. He suggested that Essex should be replacing the compressor at no-charge or at least a reduced charge as it was their fault.Essex has repeatedly ignored requests via phone and mail to deal with the issue.

Desired Settlement: Since the unit is used I have offered to work out a deal on the replacement parts. I don't feel I should shoulder the full cost to fix their mistake. They have not responded to this offer in any way.

Business Response: On 6/17/15 my technician found the a/c unit locked out and giving a diagnostic code indicating a defective start relay.We ordered the factory specified part and replaced it. Upon start up of the system the compressor ran for a short time and failed. This system was 11years old at this time. Most a/c systems have a average life expectancy of 15 years. This system according to the owner already had at least 1 compressor failure in its past along with other components. There are many factors that can cause this type of failure. This system was reported to the owner in 2011 to have louder than normal noise from the compressor , indicating some type of internal abnormality. The owner states that the service manager said that just a relay replacement would not cause the compressor to fail, and he is right. That is the only work Essex preformed on this system. The owner also states in a previous email to me that he know the difference between a mechanical sound problem and the electrical short that caused his failure and there is no relationship. This is incorrect. In a hermetically sealed a/c compressor of this type there is a direct relationship between the mechanical parts of the compressor and the motor. Any type of metal, moisture, acid or other impurities circulating in the system wears away the insulation covering the motor windings and eventually allows the winding to short electricity to the housing causing the burn out. This is a unfortunate but not uncommon occurrence in a/c systems. We see on average 5-10 compressor failure of this type each summer. This owner has had many more problems than he should have with system. He told me it has given him problems almost from the time another contractor put it in. Again this is unfortunate , but this failure was not caused in any way from the work that Essex preformed. I do not believe that the factory service rep. said we caused this burn out and that we should replace it for free.If the owner gets a notarized affidavit from this service rep. that he spoke to stating exactly as he has quoted then we will replace his compressor for free. If this doesn't happen then Essex also will offer a reduced rate for a complete system replacement to help with the customers problem. **** Essex Mechanical

Consumer Response:

I am rejecting this response because: Response provided by business is incorrect and misleading.

What the Factory rep stated was that the replacement of the relay should not cause the failure, but since the failure happened upon restart of the system after replacement, the relay was obviously at fault either from incorrect or poor installation.

At no time has Essex offered a reduced replacement option - actually they have never given me a quote to replace the compressor, even though I have asked for it repeatedly. And certainly the offer to replace for free with proof was never offered.

Since I have not been able to get any response from Essex I have brought in another firm to evaluate the problem. They were able to fire the system up and make it run. The compressor is NOT fried as Essex lead me to believe. I can only surmise this is to force me into buying equipment I don't need. The new company did find several issues with the system that Essex may or may not have caused or missed in their evaluation. We are working through those issues now.