BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Northeast California

BBB Accredited Business since

Earl's Performance Plumbing

Additional Locations

Phone: (530) 343-0330 Fax: (530) 892-9571 View Additional Phone Numbers P.O. Box 6302, Chico, CA 95927 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.earlsplumbing.net

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Full service residential plumbing and well drilling contractor.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Earl's Performance Plumbing meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Earl's Performance Plumbing include:

  • 1 serious complaint filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Earl's Performance Plumbing include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Earl's Performance Plumbing
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: February 19, 2004 Business started: 08/18/1998 in CA Business started locally: 08/18/1998
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Clinton Earl, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Clinton Earl, Owner
Business Category

Plumbers Plumbing - Contractor Water Well Drilling & Service

Method(s) of Payment
All major credit cards, checks, cash, financing available.
Refund and Exchange Policy
100% customer satisfaction guarantee

Fixed right or its free
Service Area
Butte, Glenn, Tehema, Shasta, Yuba and Sutter Counties
Alternate Business Names
Earl's Plumbing
Additional Information

24 hours a day 7 days a week 365 days a year

Products & Services

At no charge we will come to your home and give you a free written quote. If you like the way everything looks we can begin the work immediately...otherwise we charge you nothing...

Industry Tips
Hiring a Contractor in California: Essential Tips

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Earl's Performance Plumbing has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A-.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 3880 Benatar Way Suite #1

    Chico, CA 95928

  • P.O. Box 6302

    Chico, CA 95927 (530) 824-2300 (530) 865-9010 (530) 674-0330

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (530) 244-3275(Phone)
  • (530) 529-5000(Phone)
  • (530) 534-1500(Phone)
  • (530) 674-0330(Phone)
  • (530) 824-2300(Phone)
  • (530) 865-9010(Phone)
  • (530) 872-7900(Phone)
X

Additional Email Addresses

  • - Communication/Mass Email
  • - eQuote
  • - Customer Service
  • - Communication/Mass Email
  • - Technical Support
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

4/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The installed a well pump improperly which resulted in 6 months later having to pay more money to have it correctly redone. On 9/11/12 I gave 2 checks totalling $2732 for the completed work. I was working and my husband called me over the couple of days it took with the information that the first estimate of $800 and increased with each time someone else came out from the company (at 1 point there were 4 workers here)....they didn't give my husband the estimate to sign until so much time had gone by without water that he would have signed anything to just get water. PROBLEM: did not appear to know what they were doing. In bringing up the old pump, I was told oops they didn't have a safety line on it and it fell BACK DOWN into the well. My husbsand said he watched them try to FISH IT OUT WITH FISHING LINE which obviously didn't work. When I got home I was informed when I stated I wanted the old pump removed they told me it would be just fine that the new pump they put in wouldn't be bothered by the OLD LINE and PUMP left in the well, because they didn't have the right tools to remove it. On 3/23/13 I had no water. CALLED someone who could come out immediately and we were quoted $2400 to replace the pump. It was discovered at this time that ******'s Plumbing had removed a fuse and left on the ground which the new worker said could have caused him to be injured. When he removed the pump that ******'s had installed it had approx 100' of line wrapped around it and the new worker said it would cost more if I wanted the old pump removed and that it NEVER should have been left in the well. Total cost was $2921.50. I was told the pump had been installed incorrectly and was full of sand and mud and from the way they had dropped the pump down the electric wiring was all skinned up and damaged. I posted a review about ******'s work on the internet and received a phone call on 3/25/13 and asked what type of equipment was used to remove the old pump. I said I didn't know exactly what it was called and the worker said well they didn't have the type of equipment needed to remove the old pump and they had called someone who told them it should be ok to just leave it in the well and I said well obviously not because it just cost me almost $3000 6 months after their work because they did it wrong. He stated he would speak to "******" about a refund and get back to me on 3/26/13 which he did NOT call me and then he asked IF they refunded my money would I remove my complaint on the internet. I stated IF they stepped up and admitted they incorrectly did the installation and paid me I would state that the company made it right. I had stated I was talking to an attorney and ******'s employee stated that would be a waste of time to sue and they would like to avoid that. I paid by check which I have copies of.

Desired Settlement: Obviously I would be happy to receive the full amount back that was paid to ******'s because they incorrectly installed the pump...the 1 worker was very rude to me when I arrived home and said wait a minute what you are telling me is NOT what my husband said the other worker told him about paying the bill and what was being done, etc. I have NO confidence in the quality of work performed by ******'s and will not have them on the property. I can't keep paying thousands of dollars every 6 months for water which I felt was the case with ******'s work. My attorney told me if I sue in small claims court I am to ask not for the amount I paid ******'s but the higher amount I paid to the other company because he charged me almost $600 because he had to remove the old pump ******'s left in the well, plus the pump ******'s put on top of it.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
We have accepted responsibility and given the customer a full refund.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I paid ******'s Plumbing $2732 for the work they admitted in a letter to me that the job they did for me was a "learning experience" for them. They stated they were issusing a check for a full refund on the work, yet the check was for $2720? I felt since the company I hired to fix the problem correctly gave me a quote of $2400 until he discovered ******'s had left the old pump in the well and it required more work to repair what they had done incorrecting and ended up charging me $2921.50 that ******'s should also be responsible for the additional $192 that the job cost more then what I had originally paid.

Business' Final Response
We accepted responsibilty for the issues with the customers well and provided a full refund. The old piping fell down the well due to brittle, cracking pipe and no safety rope having been installed on the original pump.. A full refund has been given per our 100% satisfaction guarantee.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

8/22/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received an estimate to fix the sprinklers of $200., which I paid and it is still leaking. I have called several times about the ongoing issue.

Desired Settlement: They need to come back and fix it for the $200 I paid- Minus my senior discount.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Work was done in March and subsequent visits were made to insure that the work we did was as specified. There was a new problem identified with a ball valve in the ground that needs replacing. A quote was given and the client declined to have the work done. We would be happy to go out and double check the work we did do. The 21st of April was our last contact with the customer so this complaint comes as a surprise. We will contact the customer this morning.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.