BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Northeast California
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Domco Plumbing?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Domco Plumbing

Phone: (916) 353-0203 Fax: (916) 353-0283 View Additional Phone Numbers PO Box 1398, Folsom, CA 95763 http://www.domcoplumbing.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Domco Plumbing meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Domco Plumbing include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Domco Plumbing
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: January 03, 2002 Business started: 01/01/1994 in CA Business started locally: 01/01/1994 Business incorporated: 03/28/2003 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752
The number is 828505.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Dominic Stone, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Dominic Stone, Owner
Business Category

Plumbers Plumbers - Commercial Plumbing - Contractor Plumbing - Renovation & Repair Water Heater - Tankless

Alternate Business Names
Domco Plumbing, Inc.
Products & Services

DOMCO Plumbing, Inc. is a Sacramento Plumbing Company that is locally owned and a full-service plumbing company specializing in commercial plumbing repair, residential plumbing, and installation of tankless water heaters.

Industry Tips
Hiring a Contractor in California: Essential Tips

Additional Locations

  • PO Box 1398

    Folsom, CA 95763

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (916) 941-0608(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

3/29/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On July 30, 2012 we purchased a 50 gallon propane state select water heater, model # G565OHOCTG 301, Serial # XXXXXXXXXX / 1216/XXXXXX, using our Visa Card ending in ****, for $ 1399.00 (copy of invoice # XXXXX, dated 7/29/12 attached) from DOMCO Plumbing. On January 19, 2013 there was no hot water in our home, my wife called DOMCO Plumbing at 3:35 pm explained to the female who answered the phone we had no hot water and needed service, was told someone would be out Sunday between 10 am and 12 pm. Upon returning home my husband also called to confirm and see if there was anything further we could due prior to the technician arriving on 1I20/13. On January 20, 2013 ***** from DOMCO arrived stated it was the Burner Assembly Unit and it was bad got the water heater working stated it should keep running but needed to order parts and because it's a holiday weekend (MLK Holiday/Monday 1/21/13) would need to get parts and come back on 1/22/13 to repair issue. Time was scheduled for repair and return of ***** for, Tuesday 1/22/13 at 10 am. Later that same day (01/20/13) the hot water heater stopped working my husband tried to re-lit it and noticed/heard water dripping and making a sizzling sound like the water was actually dripping inside putting the flame out concerned about this my husband called DOMCO and was connected to the owner, who stated it was probably condensation and we should not try to re light the hot water heater, as it needed a new Burner Assembly. On Tuesday, 1/22/13 ***** arrived and stated he could not obtain replacement parts as it would take 5-7 business days but he salvaged a New Burner Assembly Unit from the same type of hot water heater and would use it to replace our bad Burner Assembly w repair our issue (see invoice # XXXXX). ***** also asked for all paperwork as he needed to verify warranty information to take care of the part(s). We "assumed" this "salvaged Burner Assembly" would correct the hot water issues and we'd have hot water. We lost hot water again on Sunday, January 27, 2013 around 7p.m., my husband called DOMCO and the individual stated they'd get someone out first thing Monday (1/28/13) morning by 10 a m. My husband was awaken on Monday, 1/28/13 at 7:30 a.m. by the gal from DOMCO calling him to inform him, he needed to deal with the warranty people regarding the hot water issue as they weren't going to send anyone out; my husband's response was that's not how it works there is a 6 year warranty, the first year is the company's (DOMCO) responsibility and the next 5 years the warranty company would come into play. There was much conversation and the gal stated she needs to call him back. (The gal from DOMCO never returned my husband's call until Thursday, January 31, 2013 at which time my husband told her she had her chance don't ever call here again.) My husband then called ********* Plumbing # XXX-XXX-XXXX on Monday, 1/28/13, and went over the issues, he was basically told "DOMCO got their money out of you when they installed the hot water heater, there is no money in servicing that unit so they won't be helping you." Unfortunate to hear, but I appreciated the truth. ********* Plumbing did provide the warranty information and company name for contact regarding our State Hot Water Heater, which is more than I can say about DOMCO. The contact information was for ******** Plumbing Inc. On January 28, 2013 my husband called ******** Plumbing Inc and spoke with one of the owners, ***** and explained the whole situation from the purchase of the water heater to the point he was at now. ***** stated he was short staffed but would see what he could do; Someone did come out diagnosed the problem and fixed what he could informing my husband he needed to order the Burner Assembly which comes with a new pilot tube. These parts where ordered and shipped to our home. It was at this time we realized what ***** of DOMCO had done, he took out our Burner Assembly, knocked it on the rocks near our driveway on 1/22/13, my husband was watching all of this) while talking to the warranty company and he told my husband that our hot water heater was all up and running. Come to find out this was not true. When ***** found out that the warranty company was not going to warranty the part he took our part which he had been banging on the ground and put it back into our bot water heater, he also called his boss, ****** the owner of the Company, who ***** was speaking with and was told if we aren't going to get paid by the warranty company put the old piece back this information was not realized until later. The invoice #XXXXX (enclosed), ***** handed my husband states _INSTALL NEW BURNER ASSEMBLY which is a lie, he put on old part back on our water heater. It was also learned that ***** of DOMCO diagnosed the issue with the hot water heater incorrectly, the major damage or issue with the hot water heater was A CRACKED PILOT TUBE" (this is what my husband had heard and why the pilot light could not stay lit). (Enclosed is a copy of invoice # **** from ******** Plumbing Inc. outlining what they found wrong on 01/28/13 with the Hot Water Heater installed by DOMCO). Had ***** from DOMCO cared to help correct the issue on his initial service call of 1/20/13 he would have told us about the cracked pilot tube and the need to order the replacement parts to correct the issue; he would have given us the warranty information; he could have done several other positive things; if he would have put in a new burner assembly it comes with a new pilot tube, which would have fixed the problem even though he misdiagnosed IL Instead it was all about money and became a huge mess where DOMCO lied to us and took no responsibility or initiative w assist us we are the customer, who paid and believed in good faith we were working with a reputable plumbing company.Also during this time Mike (XXX-XXX-XXXX) the main warranty person regarding "State Nationals" called to follow-up as he had heard my husband was having issues with DOMCO and problems getting the State Hot Water Heater Repaired correctly. This letter is to inform the Better Business Bureau The Contractor's Licensing Board and our VISA GOLD charge card that we do not want DOMCO to be paid we are not pleased with any of the services provided by DOMCO. We do not agree with their business ethics or processes or practices and we believe they intentionally lied to use as they did not want to take any responsibility to service the product they sold as there was no money to be made on the service end. I want DOMCO to reimburse us the $147.00 we had to pay w ******** Plumbing Inc. and I want my VISA GOLD card to return the $1399.00 we originally paid to DOMCO on 7/30/XXXXX so we can pay the correct company who resolved the issues ******** Plumbing Inc, as they serviced the item which they didn't even sell. This whole event was finally resolved and the hot water heater was finally repaired correctly with the proper new parts on Friday, February 1, 2013, and we had paid the additional $147.00 to ******** Plumbing Inc.

Desired Settlement: I want a Better Business Bureau Complaint filed against DOMCO as well as a Contractor's Licensing Board Complaint filed using this letter as the basis for these complaints/events. DOMCO allowed my family to be without running hot water for over five days with no resolution offered and dropped the ball,creating the need for another company to pick up their slack. At this time, I am Thanking ******** Plumbing for their Excellent Customer Service and ability to turn abad situation into a good outcome; I will use ******** Plumbing and recommend their services

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
To Whom It May Concern: As the owner of Domco Plumbing I am responding to the warranty service complaint at **** *** **** *****, Pollock Pines, California. I agree that on July 30, 2012 Domco Plumbing installed a State Select 50 gallon propane water heater at the above location for the amount of one thousand three hundred and ninety nine dollars. This model comes with a 6 year tank and 6 year parts warranty with 1 year labor provided through the manufacturer State Industries. I agree that on Saturday January 19, 2013 our office set up a service call for Sunday January 20. Upon arrival the service technician found that there was a combustion issue with the water heater. The homeowner was advised that we did not have the warranty part on our truck and would need to locate it and return the following business day. We made an attempted on the next open business day, Tuesday January 22, with our local suppliers to locate the part. We were informed that this part would take 3-5 business days to receive. I authorized my service technician to remove the burner assembly with pilot tube from a "New Unit" in our inventory stock. My service technician had the new unit in his van when he returned in case any other parts were needed. The burner assembly with pilot tube was installed at no charge on January 22. The water heater was operating correctly when we left the home. On the evening of January 27 the homeowner called to say they had no hot water. The homeowner was called on January 28 by my office staff and advised that we were giving them the phone number direct for an authorized State Water Heater Representative, **** *******. My staff called **** and gave him the above address and phone number to make contact. We again followed up with **** after he spoke to the homeowner. **** had walked the homeowner through some troubleshooting and thought it was a fuel issue. He advised my staff that he had made an appointment with the homeowner when he was available. **** would then advise Domco Plumbing of his finding after an on site inspection. After making the arrangements with **** ******* of ****************** Plumbing the homeowner cancelled the appointment. These situations can be frustrating and we were aware that the homeowner was unhappy. We take pride in our customer service and stand behind our warranties giving the customer every option available. Unfortunately I was out of the country by this time. I was then only in contact with my office on a limited basis. If I was in the office to handle this call I would have offered the customer a new unit. After hearing from my office that Mr. ****** would not speak to us and we would be hearing from his attorney such an attempt I feel would have been fruitless anyway. I deeply regret that we were not given a final chance to rectify the problem. Our company does hundreds of calls a month and I am proud of our gracious reviews and compliments. This particular water heater problem in my professional opinion is that the original burner assembly causing the lack of combustion was damaged due to either a low level in the customers propane storage tank which causes irregular combustion or a defective burner assembly. Domco Plumbing offers a Satisfaction Guarantee that in this case we were not given a final chance to satisfy. We have reversed the charges to the customer's credit card ending in ******, in the amount of one thousand three hundred and ninety nine dollars. The act of reversing these charges by no way constitutes admission of any negligence or wrong doing. I feel this is the only way to satisfy Mr. ******'s. Sincerely, ****** ****** Owner Domco Plumbing Inc. PO Box 1398 Folsom,CA. XXXXX

Consumer's Final Response
I am letting you know that DOMCO is not stating the truth. Our outline of their misrepresentations is below. According to ****** when he was out on 1/22/13 he stated the new parts would not be in for another 5-7 days, not 3-5 as stated. At the time that ****** was at our home on 1/22/13 one of the first things that ****** did was go directly to the Propane tank to check the amount of propane (we never let our tank go below 50%, its a 325 gallon propane tank), at the time ****** checked our tank it was at 78%, because my husband asked him what he was doing with our propane tank. When ****** stated he replaced the burner assembly from another unit, he stated he was not going to get paid by the State Warranty Department because they did not believe it was the burner assembly. At that time my husband asked ****** if we were done, ****** told my husband as a customer they were done and if we have other problems to call him back. This was on 1/22/13. On 1/28/13 my husband was contacted by **** *******. **** stated that he received a call from his office stating that his company had received a complaint about one of the hot water heaters that they produce and to call the number where the hot water heater tank was installed. After conversing with ****, my husband was told to call DOMCO back and let them know that he had spoken with me and that if the repairs with ****** did not work to let **** know and he would come out and take a look at the hot water heater. When my husband called DOMCO a female stated that she had already spoken to **** several times and my husband was given the brush off. My husband called **** back and asked him if he had spoken to DOMCO and he stated to me he had not spoken to DOMCO at all. **** said, he had only been in contact with his company. Regarding the appointment that I so called cancelled, **** stated if it did not get fixed by ****** then **** would come out; ****** did fix the problem and my husband contacted **** and informed him of the the fix to the hot water heater and if there were any further problems he would contact ****. Regarding being told the owner of DOMCO would have replaced the unit, this is not true as when my husband asked the female contact at DOMCO what she was going to do to help my husband as a customer she stated "that was all she could do was to give him the number to the warranty place and she was not going to help him any further." Upon hearing this from the female at DOMCO is when my husband stated, "I guess you'll be hearing from our attorney". My husband and I need the better business bureau to understand that what he stated in his response is not the truth. Regarding the reimbursement of $1399 to my credit card, I have not seen the credit at this time or have been contacted by my credit card company to let me know as I do have a complaint filed with them against DOMCO as well. My husband is a military veteran and understands and appreciates hard work and when this unit was installed by DOMCO they did a great job and the two men who installed it were tipped for doing such. We don't complain to just complain, we believe if DOMCO would have replaced the burner assembly like they said, it would have fixed it because the new burner assembly comes with a new pilot tube; which was the problem all along. When ****** replaced the burner assembly with a new pilot assembly tube (which comes with the new burner assembly), the hot water heater has been working fine ever since. Once we see the actual credit on our credit card we will consider this complaint closed, however their customer service when dealing with problems regarding products that they sell falls extremely short. If DOMCO would have come out and backed up their product like Confroti did I would have never had any problems whatsoever.

Business' Final Response
Domco Plumbing stands behind their response. A full refund of $1399.00 was given on February 25,2013 to the credit card on file. Sincerely, ****** ****** owner Domco Plumbing Inc.