BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Northeast California

BBB Accredited Business since

Discount Plumbing

Phone: (209) 239-3550 View Additional Phone Numbers 787 Cottage Ave, Manteca, CA 95336 http://www.discountplumbing24hr.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Discount Plumbing meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Discount Plumbing include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Discount Plumbing
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: October 19, 1999 Business started: 10/31/1996 in CA Business started locally: 10/31/1996 Business incorporated: 04/27/2009 in CA
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Robert Campana, R.M.O Mr. Kyle Weinheimer, Officer
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Robert Campana, R.M.O
Customer Contact: Mr. Kyle Weinheimer, Officer
Business Category

Plumbers Plumbing - Contractor Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning Home Repair & Maintenance

Alternate Business Names
Discount Plumbing Sewer & Drain Doncam American, Inc.
Products & Services

Discount Plumbing specializes in residential and commerical plumbing, sewer and drain services.


Additional Locations

  • 787 Cottage Ave

    Manteca, CA 95336 (209) 207-0390 (866) 254-9020

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (209) 207-0390(Phone)
  • (209) 333-2499(Phone)
  • (209) 476-0661(Phone)
  • (209) 549-1661(Phone)
  • (209) 836-5858(Phone)
  • (800) 708-0079(Phone)
  • (866) 254-9020(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

10/2/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: -DID NOT DO AS REQUESTED REGARDING A SIMPLE QUOTED ESTIMATE. -PLUMBER WENT AHEAD AND FIXED PROBLEM WITHOUT CONFIRMING PRICE AND PROBLEM. -**** ******* SPOKE TO A GENTLEMAN REGARDING A PRICE QUOTE. HE UNDERSTOOD I SPECIFICLY STATED JUST A QUOTE. HE THEN GAVE ME A QUOTE AND SAID IT "MAYBE" A DRAIN CLEANING, WHICH WOULD BE $99 WE CALLED PER SAW BILL BOARD AD OFF OF 99 SOUTH FOR FREE ESTIMATE. -***** THEN CAME ON PHONE TO CONFIRM ADDRESS AND THAT A PLUMBER WILL BE AT WAREHOUSE SOON. (BOTH PARTIES DID NOT CONFIRM PRICING.) -PLUBMER BY THE NAME OF ******* THEN CAME TO OFFICE AREA AND SPOKE TO BOTH ****** AND **** ABOUT WHERE EXACTLY THE PROBLEM IS. ******* THEN TOOK ******* TO BATHROOM AND SHE SPECIFICLY STATED(ALSO)THAT ALL WE NEEDED WAS A PRICE QUOTE. ******** DID THE JOB WITHOUT CLARIFYING WHAT WAS WRONG, AND A PRICE ESTIMATE OF HOW MUCH IT WAS. -HE CAME TO BOTH ****** AND ****, FIRST TOLD **** THE PROBLEM THEM FILLED ****** IN ON WHAT WAS DONE. ******* AND **** THEN TOLD HIM THAT WE DID AUTHORIZE ANYONE TO DO ANY PLUMBING WORK. ALL WE REQUESTED WAS A FREE ESTIMATE. ******** THEN SAID ALL I GOT WAS A TEXT THAT THERE WAS WORK IN STOCKTON AT ***** & *** ***** TO BE THERE BEFORE 5PM. -DISCOUNT PLUMBING OFFICE WAS NOT SPECIFIC WITH HIM THAT ALL. ******** THEN TOLD HIM THAT WE COULD NOT PAY ANYONE BECAUSE WE NEEDED TO GET AN APPROVAL FROM OUR SUPERVISOR TO CONTINUE WITH PLUMBERS DUTY AND PRICING. (NO ONE AUTHORIZED ANYTHING) JUST A ESTIMATE. ******* THEN SAID IT WAS OK, THAT HE DID THE WORK ANYWAY, IF YOU TOLD HIS OFFICE THAT IT WAS JUST A QUOTE THEN THERES NOTHING HE CAN DO ABOUT IT. ****** OR **** DID NOT SIGN ANYTHING. ******* SPOKE TO ******** IN OFFICE REGARDING SITUATION AND SINCE FURTHER ACTION WAS TAKING WITHOUT AUTHORIZATION, SHE COULD NOT FORCE US TO PAY. ******* THEN NOTICED HIS TRUCK WAS STILL HERE AND GOT UP TO SEE WHERE ******* WAS. ******** WAS TRYING TO GET SOMEONE IN OUR WAREHOUSE TO SIGN OFF SLIP WITHOUT ANYONES APPROVAL, KNOWINGLY WHAT ****** AND **** HAD AREADY TOLD HIM. -NO ONE IN OUR WAREHOUSE WAS AWARE OF THE PROBLEM, -ONE OF OUR WORKERS NAMED ****** THEN SIGNED THE SLIP TO AUTHORIZED PRICE AND WORK WAS DONE. ******* WAS NOT AWARE OF ANYTHING, HE IS NOT AUTHORIZED TO SIGN FORM, NOR IS HE LIABLE ******** TRICKED ONE OF EMPLOYEES TO SIGN. VERY IMPROFESSIONAL! -BOTH ****** AND **** SPOKE TO THE DISCOUNT PLUMBING REGARDING SITUATION. -THEY SAID NO ONE TOLD THEM IT WAS ONLY A QUOTE. WHEN **** AND ****** SPECIFICLY TOLD THEM OVER AND OVER, WE DONT KNOW WHAT PART THEY DIDNT UNDERSTAND ABOUT A SIMPLE QUOTE/ESTIMATE OF PROBLEM. -"NOW" DISCOUNT PLUMBING DOES NOT KNOW ANYTHING ABOUT WHAT WE SPECIFICALY TOLD THEM (QUOTING).. AND THEIR OFFICE IS NOW NEGLECTING TO LIVE UP TO THEIR FREE ESTIMATE AND IS GOING FKORWARD WITH INVOICING US FOR SOMETHING THEY TOOK UPON THEM SELFS TO COMPLETED. -OUR OFFICE FOLLOWED UP WITH MANAGER **** AND HE WAS VERY RUDE AND BLAMED SITUATION ON ***** ***** FEELS TEHY ARE NOT AT FAULT PER REQUESTED FREE ESTIMATE WHICH THEY MARKET.

Desired Settlement: WE ARE BEING INVOICED OF $288 WE WISH TO BE REFUNDED THIS AMOUNT IF THEY OBLIGATE US TO PROCEED WITH PAYMENT.

Business Response: Initial Business Response
We were informed that this complaint was closed by crediting 50% of the bill. Now that doesn't appear to be the case. Our customer service manager is following up with the customer (the business owner) for clarification.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

4/29/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: He charged me well over a thousand dollars, and he performed services, which I signed off on. Now there are more charges for me to sign off on. Then when I asked if they charged over time he said no, but I found out on the bill I was charged for 'after hours' services- which is the same thing as over time. He said the balance of the job would be almost 10K, and he didn't provide an invoice for it? I had another plumber come out and look at it and they couldn't even figure out what he had done. I question the bill because it looked like I was charged twice for pumping and digging dirt and roots. There were no roots bigger than what you find on a potted plant?! I got a second opinion and it shouldn't cost more than $4k to get what I need done completed. He was completely dishonest. He has my payment information and I do not want him to perform services any further.

Desired Settlement: I want to be refunded for the double charge, and I want him to void the transaction for further services. I have cancelled the card the charges to are to be sent to. 1. I want the $659.11 refunded as the water main was NOT repaired. 2. He needs to refund me for the overcharge for clean out- I was charged twice the industry standard. A letter has been sent with a read receipt requested.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Customer Complaint XXXXXXX Date Complaint In Office 03/05/13 Date Complaint Resolved 03/05/13 Customer Issues: 1. Over Time - We do not charge over time on jobs. However, if the job necessitates that we stay into the evening then we charge an afterhours fee. Customers are informed and this item is itemized on the invoice, which the customer authorizes/agrees to. 2. No Invoice for 10k Job - See attached estimate XXXXX for this work, which shows customer signatures. We did not perform this work, but were authorized to do so. 3. Charged Twice - See attached paperwork and pictures. 4. 2nd Opinion - It is common in the plumbing/trades to do this kind of unethical practice of undercutting competition in order to sell a job. It is against our code of ethics to do so however. Resolution: Upon speaking to our technicians that were on site, reviewing their invoices, notes and pictures we have determined that the charges were all authorized, justified and valid. Attached to this letter are copies of invoices/estimates, a written explanation from our lead technician, a 3rd party witness with contact information as well as pictures of the property.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I was misinformed, charged and told they didn't charge for overtime. I have been immensely over charged on all work. Several licensed plumbers told me the work completed should not have cost more than $500.00. The clean-out part for $1036.00 is out of line. One site person told he was applaud at the price and the pump was nothing. They didn't even have to use a pump just put the water to the sewer line. Every thing they said they did is exaggerated and not true. There were no roots just hair like roots. They did inform me as they went along. I have sent them two letters for adjustment and I haven't heard anything. They saw a single senior women that knew nothing about plumbing so they took advantage of her. I think people need to be alerted with these dishonest practices. I trusted what he said and I have been taken. To make this right I need to be charged a fair price of $600.00 instead of $2260.11. $100.00 more than other plumbers said they could do the work.

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

12/13/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Technician on XX-XX-XXXX let us know that the charges today would be $99.00 & that City of Stockton can help us @ no charge. $284.12 has been paid According to Discount Plumbing online warranty customers are guaranteed to have 30 day of no issues with plumbing after service rendered by Discount Plumbing. Discount Plumbing is taking advantage of customers since the service rendered on XX-XX-XXXX could have been rendered by the City of Stockton to begin with at no charge. On XX-XX-XXXX I asked Technician to service the inside plumbing areas that were backing up like the wash room plumbing, Tub, and Shower. The technician ignored request and did not service any of these areas on 11-07-12. Though he stated the whole house plumbing was backup. I spoke to a ***** on XX-XX-XXXX and he apologized for the ongoing issue, while I had a witness present. ******** had an attitude on XX-XX-XXXX on the telephone, with ****** ****** while I had a witness present. I asked ******** if this was personal, ******** said "why?" my witness stated, "Because you have an attitude." Then I just asked her to have her Supervisor call me. In addition ******** stated that she has no ***** there, and that the prior bill had not been paid yet. Though the check was mailed out already. **** a Supervisor returned my call and apologized for ********'s behavior. **** the Operations Manager called me to let me know he was sending a technician. Discount Plumbing sent a different Technician on XX-XX-XXXX Tuesday (than the one on 11-07-2012)to let us know that the charges today would be $99.00 and that the City of Stockton can fix the problem that could have been originally completed by the City of Stockton at no charge. Yet on XX-XX-XXXX the bill was $284.12, and the Technician made sure to tell me he makes $65.00 an hour. On 11-07-12 the technician did no service inside the house even though the wash room plumbing was causing all the house to back up originally, and I asked him to service the wash room plumbing, tub, shower, and all the drains. This procedure has been completed before in 45 minutes with witnesses present and the house plumbing had no plumbing issues for approximately 1 year or more. XX-XX-XXXX Tuesday The City of Stockton stated that our plumbing issue is inside the house. Yes on XX-XX-XXXX no service was rendered to any of the plumbing units inside the House. Though we paid $284.12. The Technician on XX-XX-XXXX knows that we have many properties that Discount Plumbing services.

Desired Settlement: Treat us how you would want to be treated. Come and fix the inside plumbing correctly with FAIR, good courtesy and customer service like it should have been done originally and has been done by professional courteous plumber in the past. At no charge since we paid Discount Plumbing $284.12, for services we could have originally had completed by the City of Stockton at no charge. Again The City of Stockton stated on XX-XX-XXXX Tuesday the plumbing issue is inside the house. Yet the inside plumbing was not serviced and Discount Plumbing was paid $284.12 already for this ongoing issue, because it was not service properly to begin with.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Technician **** ******* will go with a supervisor to the residence on Monday Dec 10th to examine the situation and see how we can come to some resolution on this issue.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) At 4 pm On December 11, 2012 Technician **** ******* will go with a supervisor to the residence on Tuesday Dec 11th to examine the situation and see how we can come to some resolution on this issue.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

3/16/2012 Problems with Product/Service
3/13/2012 Problems with Product/Service
3/12/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
3/6/2012 Problems with Product/Service
2/13/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1