BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Northeast California

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Ace Plumbing Heating & Air Conditioning meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Ace Plumbing Heating & Air Conditioning include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Ace Plumbing Heating & Air Conditioning
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: December 05, 1990 Business started: 12/15/1975 Business started locally: 12/15/1975 Business incorporated: 07/01/1975 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Scott Faulk, General Manager Mr. Gerald Greenberg, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Scott Faulk, General Manager
Business Category

Plumbers Plumbing - Contractor Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning Heating & Air Conditioning Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial Air Conditioning Repair Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems

Alternate Business Names
Bell Plumbing, Heating & Air J & D Greenberg Enterprises, Inc. Master Rooter
Additional Information

24 Hours A Day

Industry Tips
Hiring a Contractor in California: Essential Tips Stay Informed to Keep Cool: Tips for Hiring an HVAC Service

Additional Locations

  • 3011 Academy Way

    Sacramento, CA 95815 (916) 422-2333 (916) 972-8955 (916) 782-7229 (530) 758-2174 (916) 961-2500 (916) 455-6966 (916) 248-5412 (916) 972-8211 (916) 374-7764 (916) 455-6022 (916) 972-0209 (916) 686-8846 (916) 941-9680 (916) 966-0114

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (530) 758-2174(Phone)
  • (916) 248-5412(Phone)
  • (916) 374-7764(Phone)
  • (916) 422-2333(Phone)
  • (916) 455-6022(Phone)
  • (916) 455-6966(Phone)
  • (916) 686-8846(Phone)
  • (916) 782-7229(Phone)
  • (916) 941-9680(Phone)
  • (916) 961-2500(Phone)
  • (916) 966-0114(Phone)
  • (916) 972-0209(Phone)
  • (916) 972-8211(Phone)
  • (916) 972-8955(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

3/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Valve on handicap shower with hose and shower head was not working. Hadn't been used for some years. **** * responded on 12/12 at 0930. He removed valve, determined it was defective, replaced it and ordered a new replacement valve. Left at 10:45. Total time to make that determination - 1 hour and 15 minutes (at #38 per every 15 minutes plus $69.50 service call. Next day **** *. returned. Removed old valve and replaced with new. Discovered shower hose was defective so could not fully test system. Two days later I replaced hose and discovered no water pressure or hot water. Advised ACE. On 12/18 **** arrived. Took one look at control and asked if any instructions came with new part. He examined instructions for a minute or so and quickly determined that there is a small internal set screw which must be adjusted to control volume and temperature of water. He quickly adjusted it and left. The set screw was possibly all that was wrong to begin with and the part may not have needed replacement.On 12/13 the original service man (**** H) presented me with a bill for $554.63. I complained that I thought the charge was really excessive. I contacted the manager at ACE to complain. I told him I did not think the entire bill should be more than $150 or so. He stated that he couldn't match that but that he would take $100 off the bill. I complained that I still thought that was excessive and that I thought I would have to make a formal complaint. He responded that he was withdrawing his officer to cut $100 off the bill. I also advised the manager that I did not receive a complete invoice showing charges. All I have is one showing a service charge of $69.50. The manager stated he would send me a complete invoice but as of this date I have not received one.In summary, I feel the first technician spent an hour and fifteen minutes doing something which shouldn't have taken more than 15 minutes to a half hour. I also question the necessity for replacing the control valve.

Desired Settlement: Come up with a more realistic charge for work done. Provide me with a complete invoice showing charges for time spent, charges for the new part and time charge for the technician to go to the supplier to pick up the part.

Business Response:

Mr. ******* called us because his shower faucet was leaking and would not properly temper the water. The solution for the leaking faucet was to replace the cartridge. This cartridge was frozen up when we attempted to work on it and when we checked with our distributor it was an uncommon part and required us to order a replacement.  All of this information was conveyed and approved by Mr. *******.

The work was completed and a follow up warranty visit was made because the valve was still not putting out satisfactory water temperature. A few weeks after the work was complete Mr. ******* called and said he wanted a significant refund. I offered in the spirit of good customer service to refund him $150 but he stated he would still be making complaints to the BBB and on the internet even with the refund so I retracted my offer because in my mind the point of a refund is to create customer happiness and satisfaction.  The customer stated I was blackmailing him and hung up on me.

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because:

 
Some of the statements in the response are simply not true.  
 
I did not call for service because the shower faucet was leaking.  I called because I could not get hot water from the faucet.
 
The cartridge was not frozen up.  You could turn it to get water - but only cold.
 
A fews days after the work was done (not weeks) I called the company to talk with the manager.  He offered to decrease the bill by $100 - not $150.  (I probably would have accepted $150).
 
I told the manager that I felt it was going to be necessary to make a complaint to BBB since I felt the charges were so escessive.  He said in that case he was going to withdraw all offers and make none further.  I asked if he was trying to blackmail me into accepting his $100 offer.
 
I also asked the manager for a detailed statement of the work provided showing charges for labor and for parts.  TO DATE I HAVE NOT RECEIVED SUCH A STATEMENT.  Somehow I thought it was a requirement that the vendor provide the customer with such documentation.  The only invoice I received showed a charge of $69.50 for a service call.
 

Sincerely,

*******

Business Response:

We would still be wiling to refund $150 if this would satisfy Mr. *******. We did send a copy of the invoice to Mr. ******* address and it would sound like he never received it so I am enclosing an attachment copy that can be forwarded to him.

 

Thank you,

***** *****

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

******* *******

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

11/15/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The company installed a piece or equipment 2 years ago which was of the wrong type. Company agreed to remedy but when came to do job they declined to. Our home has a septic system that requires using a pump to transfer sewage water into a leach field. The original pump that was installed was a Little Giant, effluent sump pump That pump was replaced on October 5, 2004, with a Goulds pump model ST31AV. That pump is described as a Submersible Sump/Effluent Pump. On June 3, 2010, I contracted with ACE Plumbing to replace that pump. The work order of that date shows that the company "Removed existing pump & replaced w/new (same spec) pump..." Unfortunately the pump that was the replacement was not of the "(same spec)". The pump installed by ACE was a PROFLO model PFXXXXX and its application is: Sump. The pump that should have been installed was a PFXXXXX with an application for Effluent. At the time of installation, I was not given any options regarding the pump to be installed and I relied upon the expertise of the plumbers. The reason I say the company installed the wrong pump is because when I was getting estimates from other plumbing companies, one cited that "Current pump is not rated for sewage." Following that revelation, I did some investigation. Multiple sources clearly point out that there is a significant difference between a pump used in a typical sump setting and a pump designed for effluent pumping. I think it is important to point out that an effluent pump is a sump pump but just any sump pump is not an effluent pump. The evidence seems to have had an influence on ACE Plumbing, because when I faxed some of the material to ******, a manager with ACE he offered to reduce the price he quoted me to replace the pump by $400. I agreed to that and asked also for installation to be within 48 hours and for the company to warranty its work for three years. ****** agreed with those provisions, said he would order the pump that afternoon and would have installation begun the next day. At that point I feel we had a valid contract. Friday afternoon, around 2:30, I still had not heard on when installation would begin so I called ACE. The plumber said he would be out later in the afternoon. On or around 4:50 on October 5, a master plumber with ACE presented me with an invoice/contract to sign permitting him to perform work involving replacing a pump that is required for our septic system. The invoice presented to me was notable in three aspects: 1) while the pump I asked to be installed was cited, there was also wording to the effect that the company had recommended an LE51 which I rejected. 2)The invoice specified that the existing plumbing was to be utilized which I questioned, again because of information provided by three other plumbers. At a minimum, a new check valve is part of customary installation because as one plumber stated "it doesn't make sense to install an expensive pump and only to have problems because of a relatively inexpensive check valve." Laird said he would not be changing the plumbing under the current price terms. In fact, he said "I don't know how you got the $400 discount." At this point, I lost my temper, raised my arms, palms up, as a sign of dismay and said "Because you gave me the wrong ******* pump before". At that point, he grabbed back the invoice started walking back to his truck. I asked him where he was going as he had a contract to fulfill. He replied that he would not be doing so because I harassed him. I asked him how I had done so and he said I "approached him" and that was harassment. 3) The invoice was silent as to the extension of the warranty. After the plumber left I called ****** at ACE and asked when they would be sending out another pljmber to complete the contract. ****** later replied that they did not want to do the work for me and that they would give me a new pump and "we'd call it square" or else I "could go after them". I have multiple documents to support my claim and will provide them to the BBB upon initiation of this complaint.

Desired Settlement: As a result of ACE not providing the right pump for the job, I incurred significant, premature expenses totaling $1,657.50 and I am seeking a judgment to have ACE reimburse me as follows: $132.50 service charge to clean drains (this would have not been needed had the pump performed to reasonable expectations). $575 service charge to pump out sewage from septic system so work to replace pump could be performed (would not have been needed for at least 3 more years if the pump performed as expected). $950 cost to have a different company replace the pump. Breach of contract by ACE necessitated finding another company to get my septic system working.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
In the spirit of good customer service we offered to replace the pump that was installed two years ago at a discounted price even though our work and the pump were out of warranty. When our plumber arrived at the jobsite ot perform the replacement, Mr. ****** became upset that we would not replace a check valve and shoved our plumber's metal clipboard into his chest which actually caused a bruise. Our plumber did not want to do any work for someone that would attack him like that. We declined to do work for this customer after the assault on our plumber.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) While it is good to see that the company is willing to compromise the compensation ($428) is not close to the expenses I incurred in repairing my septic system. I would consider a settlement in between my total costs ($1,657.50) and the sum that the company is offering. Specifically, in addition to the $428 dollars being offered I also feel I should be reimbursed for the difference in cost between what I had to pay for a new pump installation and what the company initially agreed to do. That is, ACE agreed to install the new pump for $710 minus a $400 discount for a total of $310. I paid $950, so the difference is $640. A settlement of $1,028 ($428 + $640) is warranted and is the minimum I expect. I wish to avoid further legal consultations in this matter as well as the time I have been forced to devote to this matter.

Business' Final Response
The cost Mr. ****** claims to have incurred is not the responsiblity of Ace Plumbing. We have made a more than fair offer of $428, which is our final offer.

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

9/3/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Water leak not repaired, demanding additional $1600 for further work, damage to property. I was required to waive my right to cancel contract. July 25, 2012 Ace responded to a water leak compliant at my home. The serviceman told my husband that we would have water that evening, but "they may not be completely finshed with the job". He then produced a contract for $4,800 for the job that required signing before any work could begin. Next he required a sentence example be copied on my own paper and signed waiving my three day right to cancel the contract. Lastly he insisted on a check for $480 dollars (10%) of the bill. He left to go back to the shop and obtain a leak detector. He returned and later consulted with at least two unknown men outside my house. Later that afternoon several people were in my garage requesting my husband sign a contract for a cleanup company before any work could begin. My husband refused. Thursday July 26th work began to fix the leak and by 4pm no leak was determined. My son dropped by and pointed out the sound and potential site of the leak. My son left, no leak repair transpired by the serviceman and his assistant. Tile removed, a large hole in my bathroom floor open to the outside, and my tub had been cut in half and placed on my patio along with tile and debris. Friday July 27th the serviceman requested another contract signature for an additional $1600. My husband and I refused to sign and our insurer AAA agreeded. Water damage was discovered in an additional room which also had a hole and rebar cut, which led to concerns that our slab may have been a post-tension slab and the stability of the house could be compromised. The serviceman was in contact with AAA concerned sbout money. He worked all day Friday with his helper in the bathroom and the bedroom holes and delayed the work of the Restoration Management Company called by AAA to deal with water damage and begin the drying process. The bedroom was used as a computer room and housed my Apple computer, an electric organ, and other furniture. No effort was made to protect any of my belongings. The wet carpet was simply folded back on lamp and radio cords, nothing was covered, and everything was exposed to cement dust. We had no water the leak was not repaired day three. The serviceman stated he would be back Saturday July 28th, he did not show up and Sunday was his day off. Monday July 30th (day 6 without water) the serviceman requested the additional $1600, the agent at AAA was not in on Monday and we would not ok more money so he left that day. Tuesday July 31 the serviceman was notified that his services were no longer desired. We had no confidence that if he ever fixed the leak that it would be reliable and we could no longer tolerate the destruction of our home. Wednesday August 1st he placed a bill in our doorway demanding $3,922. We arrived at that time and I told him he was destroying our home and ordered him off my property. Wednesday afternoon I received a call from Alan at Ace regarding their bill and payment. I informed him that I found their practice of waving contract cancellation rights shady, the work/destruction unacceptable, that my husband and I are retired on a fixed income , and I referred him to AAA and told him to leave us alone. My husband has Parkingsons, so the stress of this experience has been extremely miserable for the both of us and resulted in us living in a motel since July 26th. Today is August 3rd 10 days without water we wait while another company attempts to correct the mess that Ace created.

Desired Settlement: I request they waive the $3,992 and retain the $480 10%. Ace also needs to hire experienced service people, use state-of-the art equipment, and know when and where to seek assistance when a job is above their knowledge base.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** ****** Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *****@aceplumbing.com In the spirit of good customer service, Ace Plumbing agrees to what the customer is proposes to have no futher cost incurred.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

7/12/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Consumer states that she hired this company to fix her thermostat. It took the company two times to fix it. The first time they came out, ****** told her she wouldn't be charged for labor for the second visit. Whey they came out the second time, she feels they over charged her for parts. After going to price it at Home Depot, she called the manager to complain about the charge. The manager told her she would get a refund but had to figure it out. She hasn't received a call back since.

Desired Settlement: Consumer states she wants a refund of at least $100.00.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

12/6/2011 Problems with Product/Service