Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Sierra BioScience

Phone: (530) 344-7236 PO Box 4, Pollock Pines, CA 95726 http://www.glacierpointforcats.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Sierra BioScience meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Sierra BioScience include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Sierra BioScience
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 11, 2010 Business started: 09/01/2008 Business started locally: 09/01/2008
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Patricia Nichols Mr. Barry Farris, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Patricia Nichols
Business Category

Pet Services Pet Supplies & Foods - Retail

Alternate Business Names
Glacier Point for Cats

Additional Locations

  • PO Box 4

    Pollock Pines, CA 95726 (530) 344-7236

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Cat fountain is not safe as promised. I contacted the seller and got a replacement filter and still the water is dirty! contacted seller after receiving the replacement to get a refund because I was still not satisfied - all of a sudden they will not return any emails or phone calls! I want full refund! I paid almost $300 and they robbed me!!! They promise refund on their site and website states must contacted seller for approved refund or they will not accept it! It's a scam! They never returned my call after I left several messages for refund!! They just wanted to send replacement and then abandoned me once I asked for my promised refund!

Desired Settlement: Full refund with shipping! Shipping was $60!!!! and the product is a scam!!!!

Business Response: Initial Business Response
Company's website states that the product purchased by customer (Perfect Pet Fountain) is non-returnable. (Note: The company's introductory model - Basic Fountain - has an unconditional 60-day return policy but customer purchased the more expensive Perfect Pet Fountain instead, which is non-returnable.) The shipping cost on customer's original purchase and replacement parts was free to customer. The customer was not charged for shipping on either the original purchase or the replacement parts. Product was purchased in July 2013, but customer did not contact company until September 2013 and then alleged that the ceramic basin was cracked. Company's website states that defective parts or parts damaged in shipping will be replaced at no charge if company is notified within 10 days of delivery, but customer waited 2 months to contact company. A new ceramic basin and new filters were sent to customer in September 2013 at no cost to customer, with a request that customer contact company upon receipt to ensure that parts were installed and working properly, but customer did not contact company for assistance and instead demanded a refund. Customer has never returned the product to the company, so no refund can be issued as customer still has the product in her possession, including the original product and the new replacement parts sent to her in September. Customer has submitted the dispute to her credit card company for chargeback, so no further action is needed as the credit card company will determine whether a refund should be given.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) That is a lie it was changed! N I read the step by step instructions n set it up according to the directions that came w the fountain. You dnt have to be a rocket scientist to follow the simple directions! That is NOT the issue!! The fountain is defective! HOW MANY TIMES DO I HAVE TO SAY IT'S SPITTING OUT BLACK JUNK INTO THE WATER!!! So basically this person is trying to justify not refunding money for a fountain that could have made my cat SICK and NEVER worked properly bc of a so called no refund policy???? So I am supposed to just lose $300 bc he is greedy for money? N clearly cAres NOTHING about cats like he claims!! It's disgusting! I sent it back! I have proof from the post office. I want full refund period!!! That is EVIL!!

Final Business Response
Consumer filed a chargeback with her credit card company on October 7 and the money paid by consumer was deducted from the company's Paypal account. Paypal has advised us that it is the credit card company's responsibility to pay the consumer and the consumer should discuss the matter with her credit card company as the company no longer has the money. There is nothing more that can be done by the company. Any payment by the company would constitute a double payment. As stated previously, the company's refund policy has been in place since 2009. The company did not go through the expense of revising an entire website just to prevent one person (consumer) from being able to return a product. Consumer simply did not read the terms before purchasing the item.