Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Dial One Excel Painting

Phone: (916) 383-7835 View Additional Phone Numbers 6805 McComber St., Sacramento, CA 95828


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Dial One Excel Painting meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Dial One Excel Painting include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Dial One Excel Painting
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 28, 1991 Business started: 11/20/1986 in CA Business started locally: 11/20/1986 Business incorporated 02/07/2002 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752
The number is 501668.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mrs. Joyce Haskell, CEO Mr. Brad Haskell, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mrs. Joyce Haskell, CEO
Business Category

Paving Contractors Painting Contractors

Alternate Business Names
Dial One Excel Painting & Striping Diversified Applications & Coating, Inc
Products & Services

This company offers painting and paving contracting services.

Industry Tips
Hiring a Contractor in California: Essential Tips

Additional Locations

  • 6805 McComber St.

    Sacramento, CA 95828

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/26/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint:  On 9-3-14 Excel Painting came and painted the lines of the apartment complex located at the address of **** ** ********* **. My vehicle was parked where I was told to park on the street and after they painted the lines I noticed there was white overspray on my car. You can see tiny white paint dots even after washing which is the white paint from the lines they painted in the parking lot. It was a somewhat windy day on the 3rd so the wind blew the paint right from their sprayer to my vehicle on the street. The apartment complex assisted in getting the companies information as the landlord knew our vehicle didn't have white overspray all over it before the job.We contacted the company and they stated its impossible for the paint to blow away in the wind, even though you can see overspray in the parking spots showing that the wind was blowing the white paint around. After multiple contacts with the company, they still don't want to handle the issue and insist its impossible for the wind to blow the paint from their sprayer. Since they don't want to take any action on cleaning the paint off the car I am filing a BBB report. The overspray just looks like dust on the windows and car, but it won't come off when you try to clean it off. When you look at it closely you can see that its small white paint particles.

Desired Settlement: I request that they handle the overspray on the car and clean it off. Anything which is damaged from the overspray to be cleaned, or replaced if needed. I already have got a quote from my local car wash saying its $185 to do the complete clean of the exterior and get all overspray off. They seem to be sure it will get it all off, so all I ask is for the company to pay for the cost of the $185 service.

Business Response:

Based on the information that we received on this complaint, we do not have a valid reason to believe that the overspray is the result of our company’s work.

At Excel Painting and Striping, we do our best to ensure that no damage is done to vehicles and personal property while applying traffic paint to the parking lot surfaces. In the 32+ years as a painting/striping contractor, not once have we received a complaint regarding paint overspray. And certainly not from someone claiming to be parked outside of our work zone! That is because we only work in good weather conditions, our equipment is well maintained, and our employees are trained to use the equipment properly and safely to prevent these types of incidents. 

 Our acetone based traffic paint (as with any sprayed paint product) can cause overspray, but because it is sprayed approximately 6 inches from the ground the overspray does not exceed a couple of feet away from the painted line. According to the accuser, his car was parked at least 20 feet away from any painted surface. Also, due to the structure of the acetone paint itself, when applying this product any overspray of the paint results in the paint drying before it hits the ground causing dust like particles to be seen. These do not travel more than a foot or two, certainly not 20 feet or more, and can be wiped off as though they are dust. This is contrary to the complaint that this individual has paint spots that will not come off the car. That type of overspray is typical of water based paints such as house paint that is sprayed. In my professional opinion, IF the complainant does indeed have any paint overspray on his car then it would be a result of being parked near or around someone who was painting a house or apt complex.  

Additionally, we did try to cooperate with this individual. We asked for photographic evidence of his car and the overspray, which he refused to give. Had we gotten evidence of the claim we would have traveled to look at the damage to further assess the situation. All the statements made by this individual and for all the reasons stated above we believe that, in our professional experience of over 32 years, we did not cause this damage, that this complaint is unwarranted and we will not pay for something that we did not do!

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because:

On the day it happened, it was a windy day and the way the wind was blowing was right towards the car. I use the vehicle often and wash it often and would notice the overspray right away, which is why I did notice it as soon as I was told to move my car back into its spot. It looked like it may be dusty because it was parked in the dirt, but after washing it we found it to be overspray. The car was clean before this and didn't have anything on it. Since it is my new car, I always make sure its clean and it never has dirt on it, so for sure I would of noticed it right after it happened. There are multiple people who are a witness to the day you guys came out and sprayed that it was a windy day. Sue, The Manager of the complex which is around our car on a daily basis knew our car didn't have that on it at all. Right after the job she looked at it and agreed it was overspray from you guys from the wind blowing when you were spraying. 
In the parking spots where the lines were sprayed, there is a lot of overspray from it and it is the exact same stuff that was on our car. You guys say you only work in good weather conditions, but you didn't really have a choice since they just re-did the parking lot and you guys had to come in and spray lines that day no matter what, so I know weather couldn't of been in your planning because it was indeed a windy day.
 
As for the evidence, We offered to give you pictures of the vehicle, but told you that it looked like little dirt particles. We told you that we would rather drive it to your business when you had time available for you to look at it in person. I didn't car where I had to drive the car to get it fixed, and I told you multiple times that I would bring it to you. We asked if you would travel and come see the car, and your exact words to quote were, "We didn't do the damage so why would I come and see the car". You guys never offered any help whatsoever to get this fixed. And it couldn't be just wiped off else it would of came off in the car wash. If the tiny white dots can't travel that far, how did they end up all over the car right after your job when for sure they were not there before? 
 
The overspray is now off my vehicle, and I paid out of pocket to do so. I didn't want it sitting on there baking in the sun every day. I still have photo evidence of pictures of the lot the day after spraying and how much overspray was being blown around, and we also have pictures of the car with the overspray on it. You never wanted pictures else I would of sent them since I was taking them.  With that being said, Multiple witnesses at the complex that our car was covered in the same overspray that was all over the lot, including the Manager Sue which would agree it was a windy day and right after the job we had the overspray.
Car-izma, the local car wash I go to wash my car initially wanted almost $200 to get it done, because it needed the entire clay bar treatment and entire wax/polish after the clay bar.  I told them the situation I was having and how I am a disabled vet on SSI Disability every month living off $800 and they offered to help out and do the job cheaper. They ended up doing it for $95 to help out and did a great job getting it off everything. Car looks as it did before, since I did just buy it from the dealer less than 6 months ago.
 
As for you guys, You know it was windy, and there is no denying that. Since Car-izma did the job for way cheaper than they initially quoted us I am hoping you guys can help out and just take care of this issue.  If you don't want to take care of the issue then I'll just keep the complaint on BBB active since you guys are refusing to fix damage you guys did. Since there hasn't been a final decision from you guys, I have not wrote any bad reviews about your company. I would love to go and write a good review on how you guys did a good looking job on the lot, besides all the white dots all over the place, and how you took care of the issue, but if you guys don't wanna take care of it then we all know what goes around comes around - you guys are straight up lieing about how you tried to cooperate and karma sucks. 
 
So all I ask is you take care of the issue you caused so we can end this. I mean seriously, it's only $95, to you guys it may not be much but for me it made my meals smaller this month since I lost a $100 from your damage to my vehicle. So can we just settle this already? 
 
******

Business Response:

It is obvious that we are not going to come to a satisfactory resolution in your eyes regarding this complaint so I will address your main fabrications and then I see nothing to be gained from continuing this matter any further as my company is innocent of this charge so this will be my last response.

To reiterate, we did ask you for pictures which you REFUSED to send. We did offer to come look at your car and you told our general manager on the phone: "no, I don't want you coming up here" (you even confirm this by your own statements in paragraph 2 of your rebuttal message saying you would rather drive it to our business).

You keep insisting that it was a windy day and that you have witnesses etc. That your car was parked 20 feet away (first you said it was parked on the street then you said it was parked in the dirt) and it was so windy that the wind blew the paint over-spray onto it. If it was as windy as you claim, then why was there paint over-spray ONLY on your vehicle? There were cars parked all over. There should have been over-spray on the other vehicles too - not just on your car.

The bottom line is: your whole claim is based on the fact that it was a windy day and that is how the paint got on your car.

I have proof from 2 different nationally recognized weather sites that on September 3rd 2014 (the day that we painted the parking lot) that there was NO WIND!! Since there was in fact NO WIND that day then our company could not have gotten over-spray on your vehicle which was parked outside of the work zone (you don’t even dispute this fact). It is not possible!

Based on this irrefutable documented fact, there is nothing more to discuss. If(?) you have over-spray on your car then you have received it elsewhere and are trying to place the blame on our company. As a small business owner who is just trying to provide for my family and keep my small crew of employees working so that they may also keep food on their table, I cannot allow anyone to blackmail and bully me with threats of smearing my good name and writing bad reviews because I won't pay for something that I didn't do.

I would hope that you would end this now after reading the above facts and not be such a vindictive human being! However, if you do go thru with your threats I will stand on the knowledge that our company has been in business for 32 yrs and completed thousands of paint jobs satisfactorily, we have an outstanding reputation and one person with an axe to grind will not destroy that. As far as we are concerned, this matter is now closed.

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because:

 
You NEVER asked for pictures. We offered to send you pictures but told you that it was hard to see in the pictures and we offered to drive it to you since you said exactly "All my employees are working and we won't be able to get up there for a few days". After you said that we offered to drive it to your work whenever would be a good time for you so you could look at it and you said No because you didn't do it. You wouldn't even look at the car. And when we said to come up when you can you were already going off about "I didn't do it so no I won't look at it".
We never said we didn't want you coming up here, that is a straight up lie and you know it. Why would we not want you to come up here when we just wanted the issue fixed? That would be dumb. 
 
It was a windy day that day and the Manager of the APT's can confirm it along with a lot of other people. If I can find archived weather data then that will prove it also. You also act like I've changed where my car was parked, which is way off and I never did change where it was parked. I always said it was parked on the street, which when you park on the street you are parking in dirt. There is no room to park on the asphalt, and there is a dirt turnout where I was parked. The day you guys were spraying was mid day and every car is normally gone, and just like 5 cars total in our lot. That is why other cars may not of been hit since our car was the only car off the street right there by the parking lot you guys sprayed. The car was ~ 20 feet away from the last few lines you guys sprayed, and I am guessing that is when it hit the car. There is NO doubt you guys did this to the car, we know for sure it was not there when we were told to move the car for you guys to spray. It appear right after your job. 
 
I don't dispute it was parked out of the work zone, but it was close enough to the work zone to get overspray, since the car has overspray all over it. Funny you say I am "blackmailing" you when I am just trying to get what is rightfully owed to me from damage you have done to my vehicle. Even the Manager doesn't dispute you guys have done the damage, and she feels bad about it since she knows it wasn't there before. If you don't want to take care of it, I will go write my review on my experience with your business so others know what type of business you are. This isn't right for a business to do damage to someones car and not take responsibility when they know damn right they did it. Well what can you expect with Sac companies? Also you are smearing your own name when you do damage to someones car and won't take care of it.
 
Before submitting this I looked for archived weather data, and it shows the wind was indeed blowing that day. Instead of you saying you have proof and not showing it, I'll put my link up.
*******************************************************************************************************************************************
 
Was blowing between 5-10 MPH winds. And please don't try to say there was no wind, I've lived in Cameron Park for over 5 years and this place always has a wind. Sometimes its a slight wind but seems we always have one. And the way the wind was blowing in, it was going right up the parking lot and toward the car. Wind whips through the APT buildings and up the hill like it would in a valley. 
 
I am a disabled vet just trying to get what is owed to me by a business damaging my vehicle. If that is too hard for you to handle damages you have caused, then I don't think you should own a business. 
 
So your entire argument is "NO WIND" (In caps too!), so why would archived data show that? That was just a quick search trying to find archived data, sure I could find more. 
 
Anyways, Please take care of the damages you have caused so this doesn't need to go on. I've been very nice about this and haven't went and left one review and haven't caused any issues besides asking for you to handle this issue, I don't want to have to go write a bad review about you, but it just seems like you don't want to do anything so that is where it's leading. 
 
Have a good one.