BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Northeast California
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Clark Wagaman Designs Inc.?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Clark Wagaman Designs Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Clark Wagaman Designs Inc. include:

  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Clark Wagaman Designs Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: June 15, 2010 Business started: 08/31/2009 in CA Business started locally: 08/31/2009 Business incorporated: 06/30/2010 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752
The number is 960703.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Clark Wagaman, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Clark Wagaman, Owner
Business Category

Patio Cover Awnings & Canopies Patio Design

Alternate Business Names
C W Designs Sacramento Patio Designs
Industry Tips
Hiring a Contractor in California: Essential Tips

Additional Locations

  • 4300 82nd Street Suite B

    Sacramento, CA 95826 (855) 924-2626 (916) 825-4736

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (916) 825-4736(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

9/11/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I sign and gave a deposit of $1000 to CW Design for the install of a sun room on an existing slab and covered roof patio. I signed the doc on Feb 27 2014. The project was delayed by CW Design at least 7 times. Once for incomplete drawings submitted to the City of Roseville. Then two other times for reasons I am not sure why. Then the project was to move forward in June but got delayed for a reason that there is an non permitted structure adjacent to the new work. Then in late July work was to start but CW Design could not get the product. I accepted the delay and requested a discount which CW Designed agreed to. This was the forth or firth delay in starting the project. Then in August I got another start date, which I again to accepted. Then I was told the product would not be the same as stated in February 2014 and that work would commence on August 21st. By this time I was fed up with this back and forth talk. So I told Mr ***** (the Engineer) that if they don't show on That date then I was no longer interested in them completing the project. I got a call from their workman at 2:30pm telling me that they would not be starting the project until the next day and that they were only coming to look at the project and maybe lay it out on August 21st. I told him that was not acceptable and that work was suppose to start that day.That is when I call the office and Spoke with Mr *******. I told him that they could not deliver the project as promised and to cancel the project and to return my deposit of $1000.00I have call and emailed several time since August 21 and have had not responds.

Desired Settlement: Refund my $1000 deposit.

Business Response:

 
 
As of 9/4/2014  we have decided to refund the full $1,000 deposit to Mr. ******** , but 

would suggest reading the following which will explain the story from our end.


Any delays relating to this project were completely out of our hands, as is described in 

detail here:


The  building department had some issues with the backyard and a pre existing

situation Mr. ******** had, which we have decided to leave out of this response because it

does not pertain to this situation in any way other than it extended the time it took to 

obtain necessary legal permits for this project ( 8 additional weeks ).We where however able to obtain a permit

for the structure in question after an agreement with the building department.

The project also required special engineering due to height restrictions,which we obtained

and paid for. All of these things continually extended the time line and or build , completion time.

We order the materials, custom color only offered by one manufacturer and encountered

major delays in the process. Unfortunately our manufacturer failed to notify us of these issues

each time they occurred, therefor we had to repeatedly cancel our install dates with Mr. ********.

In July MR. ******** decided he would like to cancel and we where at that time going to allow

him to do so with a full refund as we had not yet purchased the materials (still waiting for manufacturer

delays). At this time our manufacturer granted a large discount due to the delays . We notified Mr. ********

that we would be happy to pass this discount on to him if he was interested in pursuing the project.

Mr. ******** agreed to give us the chance to build this project with a substantial discount.

We finally received the materials and had an install date set. Our crew was 3/4 of a day behind and

wasn't able to start construction at Mr. ********'s until the following day. We where in contact with Mr. ********

thruout this time frame, notifying him of these changes. Mr ******** got frustrated and decided to cancel the

project one final time. We now have over $4,000 in actual material debt not to mention in house labor, permits, drawings

design time. 

As stated (and allowed in California) in our Terms and Conditions signed by all of our customers, we cannot be held

liable for delays in material or delays by the building department or any delay that is out of our hands.

The customer has a three day right to rescission and after this time cancellation is not possible without a fee

of not less than 40% of the agreed contract price. We however have never pursued this right and don't intend to ever have

to do so. As consumers please be aware of this right your contractors posses and make sure you are making educated

decisions with regards to your projects. Sometimes construction projects are much more time consuming than any of use

would hope, for that we are sorry but cannot change.

Thank you

President

***** ******* 

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to my concern, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.