Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Clark Wagaman Designs, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Clark Wagaman Designs, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Clark Wagaman Designs, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 15, 2010 Business started: 08/31/2009 in CA Business incorporated 06/30/2010 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752
The number is 960703.

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Clark Wagaman, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Clark Wagaman, Owner
Business Category

Patio Cover Awnings & Canopies Patio Design

Alternate Business Names
C W Designs Sacramento Patio Designs
Industry Tips
Hiring a Contractor in California: Essential Tips

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Clark Wagaman Designs, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 3500 Power Inn Rd Ste. C

    Sacramento, CA 95826


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/24/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: On March 14, 2015 we had our patio covered installed. I noticed the patio covered had gaps and splits and after the rain we had water was filtering thru. My husband called ******** at the office to notify of the issue. He was told a Service Request form was going to be mailed to our home. Weeks passed by and we never received anything. I called the office and spoke to ******** and again nothing was mailed or emailed to us. After that I called the Project Manager Jarrett Tabor and told him our situation a form was mailed to our office. On 4/17/15 I filled out the service request form and texted a copy of the form and information to 916-825-4736. I also attached photos as the form requested. I received a text back indicating it was going to be placed on the schedule and we should see a technician coming over our home soon. I never heard from anyone. On 4/25/15 after another rain, I sent a text to the same number along with photos indicating we had a new leak by the connection of the electrical pannel that was installed by CW Design. I also attached photos. I never heard from anyone, not a call or a text response. On 04/30/15 I sent another text indicating that we sent a request along with photos and referred to all my texting and that no one was responding. I received a text back indicating that "I apologize for the delay ******** is currently out of the office but I will forward this information to her so she could contact you". As of today 05/22/15 I have not heard from anyone. I am very disappointed in the customer service this company has and the product that was installed is defective and I am afraid that if one of the leaks hits the electrical pannel something wrong can happen to our home.They charge us $3500, I already paid them $2500 and have a balance of $1000. I have not submitted payment because I feel the product installed is defective and I am not getting ANY response from the company regarding the issues.

Desired Settlement: I would like for ** ****** to fix the issue of the leaks and the gaps. Also, I feel we should not be responsible for paying the balance of $1000 for a product that is defective. I am extremly disappointed in all this!!!

Business Response: We apologize for any delay in service requests. At this time we have scheduled a technician to

inspect the possibility of defect. We are not requesting final $1,000 payment until we have conducted

a full inspection.

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because:
I just received a call on Friday 5/29/15 at 5 pm indicating that a technician will be sent out to take a look at the problem. ******** is trying to schedule a technician at 11:00 am on a Tuesday, I told her me and my husband work and cannot be there.  I asked for a Saturday appointment and she inidcated they don't have Saturday appointments.  She was very rude and very short tempered wth me.  When I questioned ******** why it took so long for us to get a response back she indicated "Sorry but your issue is not important for us to rush and schedule a technician right away, we are booked six weeks out"  This is terrible customer service!!!!  It is not my problem that they are booked, I paid them to have a patio installed and they provided me with a defective product.  I  do not want to have any communication with ********, she is extremly rude!  I should not be responsible for paying the $1000 balance, I am not happy with the product, it is defective, the customer service and the rudness of how these people conduct business.  I am very disappointed I used them for my patio!!!

Business Response: We responded to this customer concern 5 days ago.
The customer is now satisfied as of the day we made the corrections.
The structure was built correctly and with in manufacturers specs.
We are happy to oblige to customer miss understandings or
dissastisfaction. We apologize for any delay in response time as it
is our busiest time of year.
The $1,000 balance has not been paid.

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because:
  I am not sure were this company is getting their information, but we are extremly unhappy with the patio and the work the technician did when he showed up unexpectedly just a few weeks ago. We are not willing to pay the balance for a work that we are not happy with. 

Business Response: This concern has been addressed to the satisfaction of
the customer. Customer is refusing to pay the final balance due to
inconvenience .

8/21/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: On April 30,2015, I met with salesman **** and reached an agreement with him to have his company install a patio cover at my house. I was required to make a deposit of $400.00, ten percent of the $4000.00 cost of the project. The project was to be completed by 07-15-15. On 06-12-15, their installer ***** came out to install the patio cover but couldn't because he didn't know how to remove the roof tiles. I had several more phone conversations with ********, the office worker, and ****, the salesman, between 06-30-15 and 07-22-15, and was assured that their installer and my roofer would arrive at my house on 07-23-15 to install the patio cover. Their installer showed up but not the roofer. The installer said he would not be able to install the patio cover because he didn't want to risk breaking the roof tiles and said he would have trouble installing the patio cover extension brackets in the gutters. I called **** immediately and told him I wanted to cancel the project and wanted my deposit back. I spoke with ******* by phone on 08-15-15 and she told me she had just sent my check out in the mail. Five days later, no check. _

Desired Settlement: I want by deposit back

Business Response: Confirmation letter and check where sent out last week.

Please let us know if you did or did not receive the confirmation of cancellation and

the check.

Thank you


Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to my concern, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

5/16/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Patio cover installed March 23 & 24, 2015. Building inspection on March 26 FAILED TO PASS inspection. Calls placed to contractor on 3/26 and again 3/30, 4/7 and again today 4/15. No action taken. They said it was an engineering issue that they would correct -- 3 weeks later this has not been done. Appears that they also failed to give us the design we requested as they did not measure patio cover from fence, but from lattice planter in yard.Absolutely no customer support. Quick to take our money, slow to provide remedial services.

Desired Settlement: Submit engineering or other needed info to City so that patio cover will pass inspection. If not, then replace the cover to comply with Building Codes. This is what we paid for.

Business Response: Then patio design for this customer is cutting edge custom and was approved by the

Sacramento Building Department plan / building review.

The field inspector for this job site has requested additional information before final

permit approval.

We have requested this additional information from our Material Manufacturers Engineer and

are currently awaiting these additional plans.

We are tending to this situation as quickly as possible and apologize for any delay.

We have not requested any payments beyond the original deposit and will not ask for 

payment until the job is finalized.

Occasionally the project completion process is out of our control and we sincerely apologize for any

discomfort this may cause. 

The additional costs relate to the plans requested will be paid for by CW Designs and will not be

passed on to our customer. 

The job is currently finished and we are waiting only for additional plans to appease the Sacramento 

Building Department field inspector.

We have not been made aware of any incompletion or plan discrepancies as per the original

agreement between the customer and Cw Designs.

***** *******


CW Designs Inc

9/11/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I sign and gave a deposit of $1000 to CW Design for the install of a sun room on an existing slab and covered roof patio. I signed the doc on Feb 27 2014. The project was delayed by CW Design at least 7 times. Once for incomplete drawings submitted to the City of Roseville. Then two other times for reasons I am not sure why. Then the project was to move forward in June but got delayed for a reason that there is an non permitted structure adjacent to the new work. Then in late July work was to start but CW Design could not get the product. I accepted the delay and requested a discount which CW Designed agreed to. This was the forth or firth delay in starting the project. Then in August I got another start date, which I again to accepted. Then I was told the product would not be the same as stated in February 2014 and that work would commence on August 21st. By this time I was fed up with this back and forth talk. So I told Mr ***** (the Engineer) that if they don't show on That date then I was no longer interested in them completing the project. I got a call from their workman at 2:30pm telling me that they would not be starting the project until the next day and that they were only coming to look at the project and maybe lay it out on August 21st. I told him that was not acceptable and that work was suppose to start that day.That is when I call the office and Spoke with Mr *******. I told him that they could not deliver the project as promised and to cancel the project and to return my deposit of $1000.00I have call and emailed several time since August 21 and have had not responds.

Desired Settlement: Refund my $1000 deposit.

Business Response:

As of 9/4/2014  we have decided to refund the full $1,000 deposit to Mr. ******** , but 

would suggest reading the following which will explain the story from our end.

Any delays relating to this project were completely out of our hands, as is described in 

detail here:

The  building department had some issues with the backyard and a pre existing

situation Mr. ******** had, which we have decided to leave out of this response because it

does not pertain to this situation in any way other than it extended the time it took to 

obtain necessary legal permits for this project ( 8 additional weeks ).We where however able to obtain a permit

for the structure in question after an agreement with the building department.

The project also required special engineering due to height restrictions,which we obtained

and paid for. All of these things continually extended the time line and or build , completion time.

We order the materials, custom color only offered by one manufacturer and encountered

major delays in the process. Unfortunately our manufacturer failed to notify us of these issues

each time they occurred, therefor we had to repeatedly cancel our install dates with Mr. ********.

In July MR. ******** decided he would like to cancel and we where at that time going to allow

him to do so with a full refund as we had not yet purchased the materials (still waiting for manufacturer

delays). At this time our manufacturer granted a large discount due to the delays . We notified Mr. ********

that we would be happy to pass this discount on to him if he was interested in pursuing the project.

Mr. ******** agreed to give us the chance to build this project with a substantial discount.

We finally received the materials and had an install date set. Our crew was 3/4 of a day behind and

wasn't able to start construction at Mr. ********'s until the following day. We where in contact with Mr. ********

thruout this time frame, notifying him of these changes. Mr ******** got frustrated and decided to cancel the

project one final time. We now have over $4,000 in actual material debt not to mention in house labor, permits, drawings

design time. 

As stated (and allowed in California) in our Terms and Conditions signed by all of our customers, we cannot be held

liable for delays in material or delays by the building department or any delay that is out of our hands.

The customer has a three day right to rescission and after this time cancellation is not possible without a fee

of not less than 40% of the agreed contract price. We however have never pursued this right and don't intend to ever have

to do so. As consumers please be aware of this right your contractors posses and make sure you are making educated

decisions with regards to your projects. Sometimes construction projects are much more time consuming than any of use

would hope, for that we are sorry but cannot change.

Thank you


***** ******* 

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to my concern, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.