BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Northeast California

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Patio Perfections, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Patio Perfections, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Patio Perfections, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: August 04, 2006 Business started: 08/01/2003 Business started locally: 08/01/2003 Business incorporated: 09/01/2005 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. George "Wally" Petersen III, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. George "Wally" Petersen III, Owner
Business Category

Patio & Deck Builders Patio Cover Awnings & Canopies Contractors - Retaining Wall Outdoor Kitchens

Service Area
Patio Perfections provides quality service to the following areas in Central and Northern California: Carmichael, Chico, Citrus Heights, Davis, El Dorado, Elk Grove, Fair Oaks, Folsom, Galt, Lodi, Manteca, North Highlands, Placerville, Rancho Cordova, Rocklin, Roseville, Sacramento, Stockton, Tracy, Woodland, Yuba City. If you do not recognize your city please contact us and our staff will gladly assist you with your Patio Cover needs.
Products & Services

Patio Perfections, Inc. provides full service patio and deck building services.

Industry Tips
Hiring a Contractor in California: Essential Tips

Additional Locations

  • 2024 Opportunity Dr Ste 120

    Roseville, CA 95678 (916) 871-6318

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

2/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company abandoned a quoted 1-2 day job as promised and to customer satisfaction. Its been 6 months and they contacted me 2 times for money only. In June 2013, after getting several bids, I met with, and signed an agreement with Patio Perfections to construct a Patio cover in my backyard. Total cost of the job was $6339. I paid a deposit of $600, bringing the balance down to $5739. I was promised that the job would take 1.5-2 days to complete. This was important to me because I have a dog that runs free in the backyard that would need to be locked up in a kennel in the garage during construction. On day one, a different company called *** ******* showed up to start the job. I was not happy about this because I thought I hired Patio Perfections. I chose not to say anything. After 2 weeks of construction, the job was still not finished. Each day I would receive a call from Patio Perfections asking that I leave full payment because the job would be finished this time (which thankfully I didn't do), and each day the job was not finished. Over the course of the 2 weeks, I came home to outlets left open with exposed wiring and no cover plates, the beams had deep scratches in them exposing the aluminum core, and the column was facing the wrong direction. (I had requested and it was drawn into the plan for the outlet to face away from the patio so it would not be seen, but instead it was facing inwards.) The downspout was left lying on the ground without being attached to the cover. Even the slightest wind would blow the end caps off the latticed end pieces, and my dog would ultimately chew them up once on the ground. This was very frustrating. After 2 weeks and several calls to Patio Perfections to ask when they would be finished with the cover, I was told by the owner, *****, that they were really busy this time of year but they would be out in a week or two to finish the job. After much back and forth, the owner offered $239 off for the inconvenience. Three months passed, and **** from the office called and asked me to pay my balance of $5,500. I explained to her that I was still waiting for the job to be completed, and she stated that I needed to pay the amount due or at least a portion of it. She further stated they would be out soon to finish the work. I declined to send any money but told her I would pay the balance once the work was completed. Three more months passed, and on December 11, 2013, the owner ***** calls me and tells me I owe him $5,500. He was very indignant about it. I was so appalled by this. I told him the work was still not completed, and he proceeded to tell me that it was completed or at least he thought it was. I told the owner I have fixed some of the problems myself, and am just going to live with the rest of it as is. I further stated that I feel I am due a substantial discount for all of this. I offered to pay for his material costs only. To my mind, this would be around $3500 and was more then fair considering the horrible experience with this company. He vehemently refused and instead offered $400 dollars off to bring the balance from $5500 to $5100. I was disgusted by this offer, but not wanting to go any further with him or his company, I begrudgingly agreed. I asked him to email me a new invoice, reflecting the new amount of $5100 which he agreed to do at once. Another week passed and on December 18, 2013, I finally receive an email with a total of $5139, and a demand to be paid in person within 2 days at my home. I sent an email stating that they needed to correct the amount to $5100, as agreed upon, and that I would mail the check. This was by far, the worst customer service I have ever experienced. The only time this company showed any concern or contacted me was to collect money. To date, almost 7 months after signing the contract with Patio Perfections, the job has still not been completed as promised. I have chosen to take the high road, and against legal advice, paid the company $5100 anyway. My sincere hope is that after reading what I went through, you will go with another company.

Desired Settlement: I feel I am due a substantial discount for the horrible service, abandoned and incomplete job I received. I offered to pay for the material costs only. To my mind, this would be around $3000-$3500 max.

Business Response: In June 2013, after getting several bids, I met with, and signed an agreement with Patio Perfections to construct a Patio cover in my backyard. Total cost of the job was $6339. I paid a deposit of $600, bringing the balance down to $5739. I was promised that the job would take 1.5-2 days to complete. This was important to me because I have a dog that runs free in the backyard that would need to be locked up in a kennel in the garage during construction. On day one, a different company called *** ******* showed up to start the job. I was not happy about this because I thought I hired Patio Perfections. I chose not to say anything.

CONTRACT DATED 6/1/13 STATES START DATE AS 4 WEEKS AND COMPLETION DATE AS 5 WEEKS. WE ACTUALLY STARTED THE JOB WITHIN 2 WEEKS (AHEAD OF SCHEDULE). OUR INSTALLERS HELPER HAD PREVIOUSLY WORKED FOR SUN BUSTERS AND MADE A SIMPLE MISTAKE AT THE SECURITY GUARD AND STATED HIS FORMER EMPLOYER. HE WAS, IN FACT, WORKING FOR PATIO PERFECTIONS.

After 2 weeks of construction, the job was still not finished. Each day I would receive a call from Patio Perfections asking that I leave full payment because the job would be finished this time (which thankfully I didn't do), and each day the job was not finished. Over the course of the 2 weeks, I came home to outlets left open with exposed wiring and no cover plates, the beams had deep scratches in them exposing the aluminum core, and the column was facing the wrong direction. (I had requested and it was drawn into the plan for the outlet to face away from the patio so it would not be seen, but instead it was facing inwards.) The downspout was left lying on the ground without being attached to the cover. Even the slightest wind would blow the end caps off the latticed end pieces, and my dog would ultimately chew them up once on the ground. This was very frustrating.

WE RECEIVED A CALL FROM THE CUSTOMER REQUESTING ADDITIONAL OUTLET ON 6/14/13. THE DOWNSPOUT MOUNTS TO THE COLUMN AND WAS INTENTIONALLY LEFT OFF SO THE COLUMN COULD BE PAINTED. THE COLUMNS WERE PAINTED ON 6/21/13 AND WE RETURNED 6/24/13 TO INSTALL THE DOWNSPOUT. ON 6/25/13 THE CUSTOMER REQUESTED TO CHANGE THE COLUMN DIRECTION, REPLACE THE DOWNSPOUT WITH A RAIN CHAIN AND TO PATCH & REPAINT THE COLUMN WHERE THE DOWN SPOUT HAD BEEN MOUNTED. WE WOULD WAIT TO BE NOTIFIED OF HIM PURCHASING A RAIN CHAIN AND AS A COURTESY WE WOULD INSTALL IT.

After 2 weeks and several calls to Patio Perfections to ask when they would be finished with the cover, I was told by the owner, *****, that they were really busy this time of year but they would be out in a week or two to finish the job. After much back and forth, the owner offered $239 off for the inconvenience.

AT THIS POINT ALL WORK ON THE CONTRACT HAD BEEN COMPLETED. HOWEVER, WE STILL GAVE THE CUSTOMER A $239 CUSTOMER SATISFACTION DISCOUNT.

Three months passed, and **** from the office called and asked me to pay my balance of $5,500. I explained to her that I was still waiting for the job to be completed, and she stated that I needed to pay the amount due or at least a portion of it. She further stated they would be out soon to finish the work. I declined to send any money but told her I would pay the balance once the work was completed.

WE NEVER RECEIVED ANOTHER CALL FROM THE CUSTOMER ASKING ABOUT COMPLETING HIS PROJECT. AS THE ORIGINAL CONTRACT HAD BEEN FULFILLED WE ASSUMED HE CHANGED HIS MIND ABOUT THE RAIN CHAIN.

Three more months passed, and on December 11, 2013, the owner ***** calls me and tells me I owe him $5,500. He was very indignant about it. I was so appalled by this. I told him the work was still not completed, and he proceeded to tell me that it was completed or at least he thought it was.

AGAIN, AT THIS POINT WE HAD NO CONTACT FROM THE CUSTOMER REGARDING ADDITIONAL WORK TO BE DONE. THE BALANCE WAS OVER 6 MONTHS PAST DUE.

I told the owner I have fixed some of the problems myself, and am just going to live with the rest of it as is. I further stated that I feel I am due a substantial discount for all of this. I offered to pay for his material costs only. To my mind, this would be around $3500 and was more then fair considering the horrible experience with this company. He vehemently refused and instead offered $400 dollars off to bring the balance from $5500 to $5100. I was disgusted by this offer, but not wanting to go any further with him or his company, I begrudgingly agreed.
I asked him to email me a new invoice, reflecting the new amount of $5100 which he agreed to do at once. Another week passed and on December 18, 2013, I finally receive an email with a total of $5139, and a demand to be paid in person within 2 days at my home. I sent an email stating that they needed to correct the amount to $5100, as agreed upon, and that I would mail the check.
This was by far, the worst customer service I have ever experienced. The only time this company showed any concern or contacted me was to collect money. To date, almost 7 months after signing the contract with Patio Perfections, the job has still not been completed as promised. I have chosen to take the high road, and against legal advice, paid the company $5100 anyway. My sincere hope is that after reading what I went through, you will go with another company.

THE DISCOUNT WAS MORE THAN GENEROUS IN LIGHT OF THE FACT THAT ALL WORK ON THE CONTRACT HAD BEEN COMPLETED. THIS CUSTOMER IS JUST TRYING TO GET OUT OF PAYING FOR HIS PATIO COVER AND STILL HAS NOT PAID $5100 AS STATED IN HIS COMPLAINT. ON 1/7/13 WE SENT AN EMAIL REQUESTING FINAL PAYMENT AS IT IS NOW 7 MONTHS PAST DUE. HE REPLIED THAT HE WOULD NOT PAY US UNTIL THIS RESPONSE IS SUBMITTED. WE LOOK FORWARD TO RESOLVING THIS MATTER AND COLLECTING THE GENEROUSLY DISCOUNTED BALANCE OF $5100.

Consumer Response: It's astounding to me how Patio Perfections is refusing to accept responsibility for their horrendous actions and inactions in this matter. Their response is so full of untruths and fabrications I will respond to each paragraph of their response...

CONTRACT DATED 6/1/13 STATES START DATE AS 4 WEEKS AND COMPLETION DATE AS 5 WEEKS. WE ACTUALLY STARTED THE JOB WITHIN 2 WEEKS (AHEAD OF SCHEDULE). OUR INSTALLERS HELPER HAD PREVIOUSLY WORKED FOR SUN BUSTERS AND MADE A SIMPLE MISTAKE AT THE SECURITY GUARD AND STATED HIS FORMER EMPLOYER. HE WAS, IN FACT, WORKING FOR PATIO PERFECTIONS.

-The installer and helper arrived at the gate together in a "Sun Buster" company truck complete with company logo decals on it, per the security guard at the gate. The guard even called me at work since I had only advised them Patio Perfections would be coming.

-I applaud Patio Perfections for starting the job within two weeks, the problem is that they assured me it would take 1.5-2 days to complete but they were there on and off for 2 weeks! I have a dog that usually runs free in the backyard that had to be locked up in a crate for two weeks!

WE RECEIVED A CALL FROM THE CUSTOMER REQUESTING ADDITIONAL OUTLET ON 6/14/13. THE DOWNSPOUT MOUNTS TO THE COLUMN AND WAS INTENTIONALLY LEFT OFF SO THE COLUMN COULD BE PAINTED. THE COLUMNS WERE PAINTED ON 6/21/13 AND WE RETURNED 6/24/13 TO INSTALL THE DOWNSPOUT. ON 6/25/13 THE CUSTOMER REQUESTED TO CHANGE THE COLUMN DIRECTION, REPLACE THE DOWNSPOUT WITH A RAIN CHAIN AND TO PATCH & REPAINT THE COLUMN WHERE THE DOWN SPOUT HAD BEEN MOUNTED. WE WOULD WAIT TO BE NOTIFIED OF HIM PURCHASING A RAIN CHAIN AND AS A COURTESY WE WOULD INSTALL IT.

-I did request a second outlet be installed, before construction started, so I am not sure why this is relevant. I specifically requested that the outlet face away from the patio so not to be seen as I was plugging a fountain into it from the grass. I arrived home and the outlet was facing inward, toward the patio.

-Contrary to Patio Perfections claim, when I called the owner about the column on 6/25/13, he apologized for the column error. He stated they were really busy this time of year, but promised to come back out, lift the roof of the cover and turn the column the right way. He further stated that he would upgrade the downspout to a chain one and take off $239 for the inconvenience. This was acceptable to me. This is where the problems really started, they simply abandoned the job. They never showed up to fix their mistake. I was called one time by Patio Perfections over the next six months requesting payment and they assured me they would be out to finish the job soon.

-It is preposterous to claim that they were waiting for me to call back once I had "purchased a rain chain"...first of all; the owner said he would be supplying it at no cost, but even if he expected me to buy it, why wouldn't I just buy it from them? This is such a complete fabrication and it's easy to see that this is simply a poor attempt to cover up their abandoning the job.

AT THIS POINT ALL WORK ON THE CONTRACT HAD BEEN COMPLETED. HOWEVER, WE STILL GAVE THE CUSTOMER A $239 CUSTOMER SATISFACTION DISCOUNT.

-The job remains, to this day, incomplete. The work to correct their mistake on the column has still not been done. They failed in their response to address the end caps, which have mostly all fallen off (and secured back by me) since they were never secured to the cover in the first place.

WE NEVER RECEIVED ANOTHER CALL FROM THE CUSTOMER ASKING ABOUT COMPLETING HIS PROJECT. AS THE ORIGINAL CONTRACT HAD BEEN FULFILLED WE ASSUMED HE CHANGED HIS MIND ABOUT THE RAIN CHAIN.

-Correct. They called me! It is an absolute lie to state that they thought I "changed my mind" because I specifically told **** and she acknowledged the job still needed to be completed. She assured me they would be out soon to complete it.

AGAIN, AT THIS POINT WE HAD NO CONTACT FROM THE CUSTOMER REGARDING ADDITIONAL WORK TO BE DONE. THE BALANCE WAS OVER 6 MONTHS PAST DUE.

False...3 months prior to this I spoke to **** who promised the work would be done.

THE DISCOUNT WAS MORE THAN GENEROUS IN LIGHT OF THE FACT THAT ALL WORK ON THE CONTRACT HAD BEEN COMPLETED. THIS CUSTOMER IS JUST TRYING TO GET OUT OF PAYING FOR HIS PATIO COVER AND STILL HAS NOT PAID $5100 AS STATED IN HIS COMPLAINT. ON 1/7/13 WE SENT AN EMAIL REQUESTING FINAL PAYMENT AS IT IS NOW 7 MONTHS PAST DUE. HE REPLIED THAT HE WOULD NOT PAY US UNTIL THIS RESPONSE IS SUBMITTED. WE LOOK FORWARD TO RESOLVING THIS MATTER AND COLLECTING THE GENEROUSLY DISCOUNTED BALANCE OF $5100.

This is just insulting to claim I am trying to "get out of paying for his patio cover" In the last 15 years, I have had no less then 10 contractors do work for me at my homes. Not one time, have I ever had an issue with them, or their service. I have always paid in full and on time. This is the first complaint I have ever made with the BBB. I have never had such horrendous service on what should have been the simplest and quickest project I've ever had done.

This is not about money; this is about horrible customer service and a lack of follow through on the part of Patio Perfections. If it was about money, I would have gone with another company that came to me with a lower bid. I chose this company because they are a local business (about 2 miles from my house) and they appeared on the surface to be a dependable company.

Business Response:

It has been brought to our attention by a mutual interest that you indicated you wish to settle this case with a final payment of $4500,00 and we agreed to those terms.  In addition, this will deem the job complete and no additional changes will be made. Any & all collection actions will be terminated at once and your contract will be considered "PAID IN FULL".

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

****** ******

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

12/11/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We paid this company $9,000 for a patio cover system that does not work in the way that was promised to us. On Sept. 13,2012, we sifned a contract with this company to build for us a patio cover system. At the time of the signing, we were assured by the sales rep that this cover would keep most of the glaring sun and heat from coming onto our deck and into our family room. We insisted that this is what we wanted this cover to do for us and he said it would - so we signed the contract. The design of the cover was very high (10' 81/2"). We questioned this with the sales rep because of our concern that the height would allow the sun and heat tp penetrate too much. Once again, he assured us that this design would give us the protection that we wanted. As the cover was being built, the workmen even commented that the cover was quite high, but they said it should be "all right". However, once the cover was completed, we immediately noticed that the sun and heat were coming straight onto our deck and into our family room, causing an even more uncomfortable situation than before the cover was built. On Oct. 5, 2012, we sent an e-mail to the company's owner, Mr. ***** ********, explaining our concern. We never received a reply from him. On Oct. 10, 2012, we sent a copy of this e-mail to Mr. ******** by Certified Mail. On Oct. 12, 2012, we received notice from the Post Office that the company's office received it and signed for it. A week has now gone by, and we still have not received a response from this company. We also feel that this company has treated us very unprofessionally. The sales rep told us that he would come out to the house when the job was started, and then again when it was finished, to check it out. This never happened. The last time we saw him was the day we signed the contract and he took our $900 deposit. There was never any follow-up by anyone else in the company to see how we liked the finished work. We simply received a thank you note for our business. We must also say that we were not treated properly after we signed the contract. The sales rep told us that the job could start in "a few days". We had to put all of our plans on hold waiting to hear on a start date. The job did not start for another two weeks. During this time we never received any courtesy updates to inform us when the job might actually start. Also,we were told by the sales rep that we would receive a detailed drawing of the plans for the cover - something we needed to see before the job started. On Sept. 18, 2012, we finally had to contact the sales rep to ask him where the plans were. He told us he would have them drawn up and sent out to us. The drawings that were sent to us looked like they were quickly thrown together - no measurements, details, or dimensions on it. We had to call Mr. ********, to ask him for the proper kind of drawings, which he had sent to us. We believe that the lack of response, the poor treatment, and of course the failure of receiving the promised kind of cover from this company has been appalling.

Desired Settlement: We understand that to tear down the cover and start ovet would be very difficult. We are trying to be reasonable about this and we believe that it is reasonable to pay for and awning system and installation of our choice in order to finally get the protection that this company promised us but did not deliver on - even though we have paid the full price for it.We believe it is reasonable for Patio Perfections, Inc. to pay for an awning system and installation of our choice.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Customer has received exactly what they requested. Plans were drawn up and confirmed by the customer. The project was completed as per all agreements and in a very professional manner and quality. They had a patio cover that they wanted us to replace with our system. They requested the additional height and we accomodated them. There issue is that this side of there house faces due west and the sun eventually shines in directly under any patio cover regardless of the height. By requesting us to raise the height obviously means the sun will come in sooner in the day. This is common with western exposures and clients often will install drop sun shades to address this option. It appears they are trying to make us pay for something that they should be paying for like every other customer in the past has done. We have contacted the customer to discuss the matter. We informed the customer that we would have a conference call to include our designer, the owner of Patio Perfections and them so we can try to eliminate the he said she said issue and resolve this matter.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) We cannot allow this company's statement to go unanswered: 1. We did not "request" to have a higher-level patio cover. Our original intent was to ask for a lower, one-level cover that would afford us more sun protection. The sales rep suggested a higher, 2-tier cover because it would look more interesting and different. We liked the idea but told him that we must be assured that his design would give us the protection we insisted upon. Mrs. ****** said it would be nice not to have to see the cover with the higher level, but only as long as the cover would still afford us protection. 2. Not once did the sales rep mention the possibility of applying a sun shade. All he would have had to do was to tell us that with this kind of height, the possibility of using a sun shade might be necessary. At least then we could have considered it, and even worked it into our final budget. We never saw any pictures on their web site which show this kind of application. 3. We are very aware of western exposure. However, we relied upon the expertise and knowledge of the sales rep and his company that this cover system would do what we asked for based on the design that was given to us. 4. After paying this company $9,000, for the owner to say that we are trying to get "something for nothing" is just plain insulting. We still feel it is reasonable to ask this company to help defray the cost and installation of a sun shade that we now must put up bcause of the flawed design. 5. The customer service has been appalling. It took this company one month to finally return our concerns and complaints. In order to "close the deal" we were promised that this system and design would work the in the way that we requested. Once the money was paid, that was the end of any checking on us or the job by this company. 6. Yes, we signed a contract showing all of the specifications. However, at the same time, we made a verbal agreement and a handshake with the rep that this design would handle all of our concerns regarding the cover's protection capability. We would be foolish to have requested a higher-level cover knowing that we would get no protection from it. I pointed this fact out to the owner during our phone conversation on Nov. 6.

Business' Final Response
For the record; we raised the upper level of the new patio cover up a mere 8 inches higher than the level of the rest of the patio cover, again as requested by the owner. This difference in height would not have that great of an impact on the western sun exposure, as the sun is higher in the sky and at an angle therefore only encroaching into the patio a percentage of the 8 inches. This being said, the minimal impact of the sun from the change in height, regardless of whose idea it was to raise it, does not justify the unreasonable solution that the customer has demanded. We have installed many drop shades for customers over the years that have provided the same solution for $100 to $150. As we do aim to provide excellent customer service, even when we do not feel we are in the wrong, we might have offered to provide this solution which we deem as reasonable and above and beyond the contract. When I offered to discuss the situation and any possible solution with the customer and our sales rep they stated that they were not interested any discussion and demanded that we pay for another contractor to come in and install an extremely overpriced drop shade for $950. This I found offensive and unreasonable. At that point I felt there was no reason for further contact with them since they stated they weren't interested in discussing the matter further unless we met their demands. We are dissapointed that the customer feels the way they do but do not feel they gave us the opportunity to come to any reasonable resolution. If they had been less demanding and more flexible I am sure we could have solved there problem for them.

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.