BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Northeast California

BBB Accredited Business since

Cali Custom Coatings

Phone: (916) 281-4838 Sacramento, Sacramento, CA 95821 http://www.calicustomcoatings.com View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Cali Custom Coatings meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Cali Custom Coatings include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Cali Custom Coatings
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: December 30, 2011 Business started: 09/27/2001 Business started locally: 09/27/2001
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Robert White, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Robert White, Owner
Business Category

Painting Contractors Painters - Commercial or Residential Floor Coatings - Epoxy/Polyurethane

Products & Services

Cali Custom Coatings provides paint and stain services but specializes in interior & exterior painting, as well as wood, deck & fence stain.

Industry Tips
Hiring a Contractor in California: Essential Tips

Additional Locations

  • Sacramento

    Sacramento, CA 95821 (916) 281-4838

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

3/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: contractor violated state contractors license laws, contractor did not complete work according to contract, attempted to charge more than contract am contractor demanded a 50% nonrefundable down payment before work began which is against state contractor law, contractor attempted to raise the price after work began by threatening/pressuring owner, contractor attempted to raise the price without written change order against state contractor law, contractor did not complete the scope of work for the specified price as contracted for, contractor did not complete the scope of work (did not pressure wash or remove gray areas from fence), contractor did not complete work in a proffesional manner, contractor has attempted to over exaggerate cost of work to increase payment, contractor did not use amount of materials owner paid for, contractor was operating without Sacramento county business license

Desired Settlement: to refund deposit which was collected against state contractor license law, and pay for correction of work to be completed by a better contractor

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
We are writing in regards to a complaint made by one of our customer. ****** ******. We contracted this project in October 2012 originally for a pressure wash, oxalic acid wash and spray on stain to fence surface. The original estimate amount was for $1500.00. Upon speaking with the customer after the original bid was sent she explained that she'd like to have the wood sanded first and a brush on application of stain with no excess to be wiped off. It was explained to her that this would cot more, as it would take more time for sanding and brush on application. We also highly recommended excess stain to be wiped off. Added amount to contract on day of signing was $200 for sanding, $480 for brush on application making total contract amount for $2180. Initial payment was for stain product and materials in amount of $410.20 and a 10% labor fee of $218.00; total check amount was $750.00 (we understand this is more then 10% but check was cashed after first day of completed work on a 3 day job and legally we could have invoiced for 33% of total labor due). This check was successfully cashed on 10-19-12. upon completion of project on XX-XX-XX customer issued 2 remaining checks, 1 for $950.00 and 1 for $380.00 after a verbal agreement to a $100 discount to total. The check for $950.00 cashed on 10/19/12 was bounced (please see attached page showing bounced check). Remaining $380.00 was to be cashed on 11/1/12 which was agreed upon by ****** ****** as a convenience to the customer. Upon notification that the check was bounced , we decided to not cash the remaining check in fear of it bouncing as well. We tried contacting the customer via email, mail and phone to collect remaining payment. customer finally answered when called on a blocked number and stated, "I don't have the money...I felt pressured into this" We tried negotiating with the customer to come to an agreed upon payment amount but no payment was ever received to close to this account. It was reiterated as well that we could place a mechanic's lien on the customers property if payment was not received. On December 5th, 2012 after trying to contact customer numerous amounts of times with no success we placed a mechanic's lien on her property that was effective 12/7/12. We sent a copy via certified mail with receipt to her address. We hadn't received the the receipt for certified mail and decided to email her a copy of the lien. Immediately after her awareness of a possible foreclosure to her property the customer made complaints with Yelp, CSLB & BBB We would like to resolve this project but feel we have been more than lenient towards the situation. We are requesting the remaining balance of $1280.00 a %50.00 bounced check fee, $30.00 for lien recording and any fees that arise out of small claims court for filing/serving.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) this response does not address the issues in original complaint, contractor violated state contractors license laws, contractor did not complete work according to contract, attempted to charge more than contract am contractor demanded a 50% nonrefundable down payment before work began which is against state contractor law, contractor attempted to raise the price after work began by threatening/pressuring owner, contractor attempted to raise the price without written change order against state contractor law, contractor did not complete the scope of work for the specified price as contracted for, contractor did not complete the scope of work (did not pressure wash or remove gray areas from fence), contractor did not complete work in a proffesional manner, contractor has attempted to over exaggerate cost of work to increase payment, contractor did not use amount of materials owner paid for, contractor was operating without Sacramento county business license

Business' Final Response
Customer was unable to obtain sufficient proof work was done incorrectly or not finished at all via the Contractors State Licensing Board's investigation team. All previous rebuttals made by Cali Custom Coatings towards this case remain true, accurate and unchanged. We are still requesting payment in full with any charges incurred to Cali Custom Coatings on behalf of obtaining payment to be added to payment owed.

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

1