BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Northeast California

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Painting for your home, business, or projects. Commercial and residential painting. Cabinet refinishing. Interior and Exterior painting. 

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Alliance Painting and Decorating, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Alliance Painting and Decorating, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Alliance Painting and Decorating, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: January 23, 2012 Business started: 04/01/2006 in CA Business started locally: 04/01/2006 Business incorporated: 05/23/2011 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Todd Minner, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Todd Minner, President
Business Category

Painting Contractors Commercial Painting Contractor Painters - Commercial or Residential

Products & Services

Alliance Painting and Decorating, Inc. sells the following brand(s): Kelly Moore, Sherwin Williams, Vista, Benjamin Moore, PPG, Glidden, Behr, Olympic, Rustoleum, Monopole, are all paints I use.

Method(s) of Payment
Cash, check, or credit card. 
Products & Services

Alliance Painting and Decorating, Inc. specializes in residential and commercial painting services.

Industry Tips
Hiring a Contractor in California: Essential Tips

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Alliance Painting and Decorating, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 6711 Kilconnell Dr

    Elk Grove, CA 95758 (916) 804-8806

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

10/7/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We hired Allied to do wood repair & paint our home. The job was not completed to our satisfaction and unable to get it finished properly. The company in question started work on paint and repair of our home on 9/19/12. To start out with during the repair work several holes were put in our interior walls while doing demolition work to replace exterior wood and siding. When painting finally began, they came to the job with a pump that wouldn't work properly. The crew had to repeatedly beat it with a hammer to keep it working. This resulted in an inferior layer of the base coat required for our specific paint. Then the crew sprayed our home with the main coat of paint and never rolled it to complete the coat as we were specifically told they would. This has resulted in numerous areas that the original blue paint was still visible and within 3 weeks paint was peeling up and cracking. There are also multiple areas that you can see through the paint down into the grain of the wood and others that the coverage is so insignificant that the wood is not protected against the weather. . These paint problems will open up the siding of our home to wood rot due to water seeping into it resulting in further future problems. We ended up paying $5707 for this job and do not feel that we have received the quality paint job we were promised. We tried repeatedly to get the contractor to repair the problem areas to no avail. I work full time as a city truck driver and must leave for work no later than 8 am and not home until 8pm. We have requested multiple times that **** come by to meet me either early morning or Saturday to allow significant daylight to go through all the problem areas. He finally came out one morning when I had very little time to go around the house with him prior to leaving for my job. When he finally agreed to repair the problems we were pushed off again and again until the weather was not sufficient to do so due to temperature. Finally on 3/22/13, he sent 2 men out. They arrived shortly before 8 am (with no **** there to show them the problem areas) I was able to point out a few before I had to leave with the promise that **** would be there shortly in order to go over the rest with them. My wife works from home and never saw **** show up. At approximately 11:30 that morning my wife looked outside and the painters were gone to never return.

Desired Settlement: We are requesting that Alliance either come back and completely repaint our home in a matter that will preserve the wood and to our satisfaction OR a refund in the amount that will allow us to get another company to do the job properly.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
The job was finished and a list of items were given to us to touch up concerning the Painting work. We addressed the items he listed on an email and the customer was satisfied and paid. Some time later he decided he was still unsatisfied with a number of things. He had arranged for his home to be re-roofed so he did not want us around till that was finished. Prior to the bad weather we offered him a Painter for a day to go through the house with him to supervise to paint anywhere he wanted again. We also asked for a list so we could check it off. He insisted **** ****** walk the job with him. **** was out of town working but a time was set and indeed he walked the job with him. A painter was selected to come out and address the problems he wanted painted again. More paint on upper siding that was weathered on the roof, some areas he personally showed the painters in the morning were done. On 03-22-2013, **** Showed up at Aprox. 9:15AM last Friday and showed the two painters other places *** showed him. More caulking and more painting. Heavy nap roller was used to fill grain as much as possible in areas *** was concerned with. That day I called *** to see if I could come by again the following Thursday or Friday when he was off work to go over the job. *** had called upset that the two painters left at half a day. I explained via email and text the 2 painters at half a day is equal to one painter for a full day. The painters were actually another licensed company ***** *********** ******* ******* Owner. He fulfilled what he was told and assessed the paint work as well. Even though we thought we caught much of what *** wanted done, *** was upset that we missed some areas. I offered to come the following Thursday or Friday when he was home to go over the job with him, and or have him make a list, however, he felt he had done enough and wanted to go to BBB instead. We are still happy to consider a list of items he showed me on the day we walked the job together that we may have missed. The painters did complain of a dog that tried to bite them when working on the side of the house and back yard. At Mr. ********** admittance he felt he may have lost his train of thought during that time and may have forgot about some of the things I showed him to do in certain areas. We are still willing to come and attack items *** is still concerned with. We will continue to use another licensed contractor such as *** Painting to accomplish anything forgotten on the touch up list. We can also provide a list of what was done so he can inspect it. Again, we are more than willing to come back and finish anything he felt he had asked for. *** was told that and written that and so knows this.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Once again this is not an acceptable solution to the problem. This is the same solution that has been offered time and again. We were foolish enough to accept it months ago and were sent 2 men for only a few hours and nothing was accomplished. The only way to not have to deal with Mr. ****** time and again over the next 5 years (what we were told was his personal warranty) is to have the house painted again from the base coat up and a new main coat applied correctly. This problem has been going on for almost a year now and is getting old. Either Mr. ****** can send out a crew to accomplish this or it can be done by another company of our choice and Mr. ***** pay for their services. We have been dealing with this for almost a year now and it is beginning to be a great source of stress that is uncalled for. Nothing in our last submission was addressed by Mr. Miner in the last response and this is becoming ridiculous. We agreed to take this to arbitration but nothing has transpired at this time. Please let's bring this matter to a close in a timely fashion.

Business' Final Response
We do feel that the home was painted in a way that will preserve the wood and siding, however, not all the wood was replaced and some was showing additional signs of wear and tear since it was original, and we do believe so was the paint job the original. We know that the wood trim has 2-3 coats for the most part of paint as it was a white over another color and so took that many to cover. We painted in areas the original painters did not paint to satisfy the customer. We did work and complete items on a list prior to being fully paid. We came back and ran more coats of paint in areas of concern directly spoken to the painters in March 2013 and more items I also had written down from a previous meeting with *** ******. I had certain elevations and old weathered siding painted again on the roof to help fill in weather checking on older exposed T1-11 siding. Rolled twice in those areas. Around areas by the Chimney as well. We are willing to roll more coats where-ever *** ****** would like again. We are willing to give him a Painter for a day to do things he felt we missed not on his original list we were paid on, and or items he feels we missed after verbally talking to Mr. ****** and items he did not mention to the Painters that were sent in March of 2013, or what he feels they missed or did not do. We truly believe his home is much better than before work was accomplished and we stand behind that. We will come back on a Saturday or when he is home to verify agreed upon items are accomplished. A picture of the area will be taken, before and after to verify and confirm. Please let us know what days are available to accomplish this. We will try to comply. Also a job visit from the Manufacturers rep to verify any areas may also be in order so as to make sure product is being used and to explain any abnormalities, deficiencies, characteristics of paint and issues to the customer directly.

Consumer Response
He didn't show up until 10:40 and sent his worker out and then sat in the truck the entire time. I'm not 100% sure the job is done. I'll have my husband check it out either tonight or tomorrow to make sure. We'll contact the BBB office with our findings.

Consumer Response
Ok, *** was finally able to get up there and check things out. They aren't exactly as we would like but in order to get on with our lives and get Mr ****** out of them we will allow it to pass.