BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Northeast California

This Business is not BBB accredited

A Wills Painting

Phone: (916) 801-0307  

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for A Wills Painting include:

  • Failure to respond to 3 complaints filed against business
  • 1 complaint filed against business that was not resolved


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on A Wills Painting
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: August 29, 2005 Business started: 08/01/1992 Business started locally: 08/01/1992
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Greg Wills, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Greg Wills, President
Business Category

Painting Contractors


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    Carmichael, CA 95608

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

12/13/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Exterior/Interior paint job inferior. The exterior of the home has many sections missing paint - incomplete coverage. The interior had to be repainted Painting was done the week of 9/9/2013. The total bill was $2425. The gray paint on the majority of the house is unfinished. The color is missing on several portions of the exterior - not fully covered. I have a bill of sale for $2425 that was paid via check. The owner contacted me stating that the bill was $300 more, so another check for $300 was given to him with the agreement that the updated bill of sale would be given to me - it was not. I was out of town when this transpired, my husband wrote the large check. Upon close inspection of the house upon my return, the discovery of all the issues with the paint occurred. The owners phone number (XXX) XXX-XXXX has been called numerous times. I have left numerous messages requesting an updated bill of sale as well as the fixing of the exterior paint. No calls have been returned. For the majority of the time, the phone goes straight to mailbox which states that it is full. The phone finally answered 11/11/2013 - it was someone who would not identify himself but stated that he does not know where the owner is. I explained to him the complaints I had. He was very rude on the phone, stating that the owner's wife left him and that he is running things for now while he gets his life back on track. He states that he does not know how to get ahold of the owner. He did not offer any solutions to the problem. I have a contract from the owner with a 10 year warranty on the work. I want the original work fixed. All I want is to be made whole - finish the exterior paint job.

Desired Settlement: At this point, I have fixed the interior myself. I would like the exterior touched up with full coverage of the color, whether it be a whole repaint needed or just touch up.

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

12/13/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: exterior paint was suppose to have lifetime guarantee. paint is bubbling and we cannot get a response from A Wills. Hired A Wills to paint the exterior of our home. The paint job was guaranteed. We have alot of paint bubbling around trim. We have tried several times to reach A Wills. No answer to messages left/ was ill one time and asked to call back / answering machine is full and no message can be left.

Desired Settlement: If guarantee is not honored we will ask for payment to cover the cost of prep and paint from another company.

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

5/28/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After painting my house, the paint on my front door blistered. They will not return calls or texts. This has been since last summer! I wrote him a check for $2600.00 to paint my house. They told me I had a 10 year warranty. I have left may texts and phone call since July 7th when I paid them. Th door blistered right away. I called **** the owner and he sent somone out to fix it, but they just painted over the blisters and didn't even use the same color. I called him again and texted him and he didn't call me back. I finally got a hold of him and he said he deleted the texts and calls because he said he thought they were old messages. He said he would check with someone about the job and never called me back. I called and texted againa week ago and still haven't heard from him. This has been going on for months. When ever I actually talk to him, he is rude. He has no customer service! I wil tell my friends and neighbors not to use them!! He is the worst person I have ever workd with!! RUDE!!

Desired Settlement: I would like him to fix the door now and give me touch up paint for the house and door. I want to make sure I will get the guarantee that was promised!! If I can't get that I would like my money refunded! I want great customer service! I don't want to have to beg for something I was guaranteed to get when I paid for it!

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

2/8/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Company states a "10 step method" for painting your house, including scraping, sanding, priming, etc. The house was poorly prepped. Company sent two men to prep house for painting. Priming done sparingly, no sanding done at all. Had several conversations with Owner who stated "we aren't done yet". Next day, painters came and painted over unsanded paint. It's instantly obvious that the wood was not prepped prior to painting. It's a decent paint job over very bad prep work and it shows. I have pictures. When I questioned the painters, they said the owner had cancer and they needed to finish and get paid so he could have treatments. Owner provided guarantee, but would not fulfill any repairs.

Desired Settlement: Return of $1000 of $2000 paid for poor prep work.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
We followed the ten step process, which included scraping,sanding & priming. We received a "C" from ****** on ******* list and she was happy until she had read a bad review about us from 2 years ago. Not sure why she would send in the complaint to BBB she has never contacted me about any problems or issues. I did have cancer 5 years ago and it is not true that my employees told her that I need the money for the treatment. She panicked through out the whole process, we even left the project for one day so she could inspect the prep work before we started painting. If she would like to contact me i would be happy to meet with her.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The owner and I had full contact thru the procedure and I have texts and photos to prove that. He kept saying "we aren't finished", and no, they did not take a day off from prepping. I arrived home the day after prepping to find the painters nearly done. All throughout the days they were there, the owner and I corresponded by text. I sent him pictures of the poor prep and his response was "we aren't finished". The owner also stated he was rated A on ******* list and I informed him he was not. He did not even JOIN ******* list until after my job was completed. The employees told me he needed money for his cancer treatments, and when I responded "he told me he beat cancer", the employees said "no, he's still having treatment". So for the owner to outright LIE about not speaking with me about my unhappiness with this job is ludicrous. I have all the texts. My complaint stands.

BBB's Final Determination: The business failed to resolve the complaint issues.

1