This business is not BBB accredited.

A Wills Painting

Phone: (916) 801-0307  


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for A Wills Painting include:

  • Failure to respond to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • 1 complaint(s) filed against business that were not resolved

Factors that raised the rating for A Wills Painting include:

  • Length of time business has been operating


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on A Wills Painting
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 29, 2005 Business started: 08/01/1992 Business started locally: 08/01/1992
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractor's State License Board
9821 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.cslb.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (800) 321-2752
The number is 00947276.

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Greg Wills, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Greg Wills, President
Business Category

Painting Contractors

Industry Tips
Hiring a Contractor in California: Essential Tips

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    Carmichael, CA 95608

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/13/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My wife and I have repeatedly tried to get **** ***** (owner of A Wills Painting) to remedy our problem to no avail. The problem is extensive peeling of the paint placed on our pool deck. We have tried over the last approximately two years to resolve our problem. We have called **** not less than about 15 times over this period. Most of the time the calls simply go to voice mail with no return call. **** has repeatedly stated a whole string of personal problems. **** said our formal complaint would kill his business so we gave him plenty of breathing room. We sent him an email earlier this week and stated in writing that we had no choice but to move forward with this complaint if he did not respond by 3 Dec 2014,and at this time (6 Dec 2014)we have received no feedback. At the beginning **** came to our house for an estimate for painting our house and our pool decking. This complaint is about our pool decking only. We asked **** if he had experience painting pool decks and he stated yes that he had painted about ten pool decks to date and he would warranty the house for 10 years and the pool deck for five years. We told him our beautiful pool was about a $75,000 pool and we wanted to make sure the pool decking was painted properly. **** said no problem and he was fully licensed and bonded so we preceded with the job. Several months after the pool deck was painted we noted that the paint was starting to severely bubble and peel on about one thousand square feet of our pool decking. **** came back out to add a clear coat over the concrete stain, but the problem got even worst after that. Finally we got **** to come inspect the pool deck and he brought a Sherwin Williams regional representative (Mr. ******) with him. They both agreed there was a serious problem. Mr ****** suggested stripping and using a new paint which he would supply free. Everyone left with the understanding **** would fix the problem but nothing has been done to date. The deck is a mess and pictures are available.

Desired Settlement: Suggested settlement is to strip the current paint and reapply a new paint suggested by the Sherwin Williams representative (Mr. ******). Mr ****** said he has seen this problem before and the new paint is better intended for wet environments. Refund is not a good option as correction of the problem is more costly than simply painting.Further action is to submit a complaint to the California License Board and to the insurance/bonding company. Legal action will be another option.

Business Response: Dear Sir,
i a more than willing to do the work as requested. I had given **** ****** my new phone number in Nov. 2013. He said he would call me in a couple months so that we could make a plan. He called my old number where I seldom receive messages in a timely fashion. My new number is ###-###-####. I had been waiting on his phone call when I recently saw this complaint. I will be happy to work out a satisfactory resolution. 
Sincerely,

**** *****
A. Wills Painting

Consumer Response: I am temporarily rejecting this response because:   In summary, I received a call from **** ***** (owner of A Wills Painting) about 11 am this morning right before I was going to send a detailed package to the Sacramento Better Business Bureau (BBB).  Right now I am set to meet with Greg on Wed at 10 am at my house.  I am rejecting this because I want to keep this open until we reach a final solution.  If we reach a satisfactory solution I will retract this complaint.  A special thanks to Mr. ******* ***** (BBB) for helping establish communication and for the guidance he provided.  

Consumer Response:  
Customer states that the Sherwin Williams rep. did make it out and determined that the paint was bad and would provide 5 gallons for A Will's to apply. A Will's has met with me and wants to reconcile the situation and will apply the new paint. I will continue to work with the company until things get resolved but will call back should the paint and quality not turn out as agreed.

12/13/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: exterior paint was suppose to have lifetime guarantee. paint is bubbling and we cannot get a response from A Wills. Hired A Wills to paint the exterior of our home. The paint job was guaranteed. We have alot of paint bubbling around trim. We have tried several times to reach A Wills. No answer to messages left/ was ill one time and asked to call back / answering machine is full and no message can be left.

Desired Settlement: If guarantee is not honored we will ask for payment to cover the cost of prep and paint from another company.

12/13/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Exterior/Interior paint job inferior. The exterior of the home has many sections missing paint - incomplete coverage. The interior had to be repainted Painting was done the week of 9/9/2013. The total bill was $2425. The gray paint on the majority of the house is unfinished. The color is missing on several portions of the exterior - not fully covered. I have a bill of sale for $2425 that was paid via check. The owner contacted me stating that the bill was $300 more, so another check for $300 was given to him with the agreement that the updated bill of sale would be given to me - it was not. I was out of town when this transpired, my husband wrote the large check. Upon close inspection of the house upon my return, the discovery of all the issues with the paint occurred. The owners phone number (XXX) XXX-XXXX has been called numerous times. I have left numerous messages requesting an updated bill of sale as well as the fixing of the exterior paint. No calls have been returned. For the majority of the time, the phone goes straight to mailbox which states that it is full. The phone finally answered 11/11/2013 - it was someone who would not identify himself but stated that he does not know where the owner is. I explained to him the complaints I had. He was very rude on the phone, stating that the owner's wife left him and that he is running things for now while he gets his life back on track. He states that he does not know how to get ahold of the owner. He did not offer any solutions to the problem. I have a contract from the owner with a 10 year warranty on the work. I want the original work fixed. All I want is to be made whole - finish the exterior paint job.

Desired Settlement: At this point, I have fixed the interior myself. I would like the exterior touched up with full coverage of the color, whether it be a whole repaint needed or just touch up.

5/28/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After painting my house, the paint on my front door blistered. They will not return calls or texts. This has been since last summer! I wrote him a check for $2600.00 to paint my house. They told me I had a 10 year warranty. I have left may texts and phone call since July 7th when I paid them. Th door blistered right away. I called **** the owner and he sent somone out to fix it, but they just painted over the blisters and didn't even use the same color. I called him again and texted him and he didn't call me back. I finally got a hold of him and he said he deleted the texts and calls because he said he thought they were old messages. He said he would check with someone about the job and never called me back. I called and texted againa week ago and still haven't heard from him. This has been going on for months. When ever I actually talk to him, he is rude. He has no customer service! I wil tell my friends and neighbors not to use them!! He is the worst person I have ever workd with!! RUDE!!

Desired Settlement: I would like him to fix the door now and give me touch up paint for the house and door. I want to make sure I will get the guarantee that was promised!! If I can't get that I would like my money refunded! I want great customer service! I don't want to have to beg for something I was guaranteed to get when I paid for it!

2/8/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Company states a "10 step method" for painting your house, including scraping, sanding, priming, etc. The house was poorly prepped. Company sent two men to prep house for painting. Priming done sparingly, no sanding done at all. Had several conversations with Owner who stated "we aren't done yet". Next day, painters came and painted over unsanded paint. It's instantly obvious that the wood was not prepped prior to painting. It's a decent paint job over very bad prep work and it shows. I have pictures. When I questioned the painters, they said the owner had cancer and they needed to finish and get paid so he could have treatments. Owner provided guarantee, but would not fulfill any repairs.

Desired Settlement: Return of $1000 of $2000 paid for poor prep work.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
We followed the ten step process, which included scraping,sanding & priming. We received a "C" from ****** on ******* list and she was happy until she had read a bad review about us from 2 years ago. Not sure why she would send in the complaint to BBB she has never contacted me about any problems or issues. I did have cancer 5 years ago and it is not true that my employees told her that I need the money for the treatment. She panicked through out the whole process, we even left the project for one day so she could inspect the prep work before we started painting. If she would like to contact me i would be happy to meet with her.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The owner and I had full contact thru the procedure and I have texts and photos to prove that. He kept saying "we aren't finished", and no, they did not take a day off from prepping. I arrived home the day after prepping to find the painters nearly done. All throughout the days they were there, the owner and I corresponded by text. I sent him pictures of the poor prep and his response was "we aren't finished". The owner also stated he was rated A on ******* list and I informed him he was not. He did not even JOIN ******* list until after my job was completed. The employees told me he needed money for his cancer treatments, and when I responded "he told me he beat cancer", the employees said "no, he's still having treatment". So for the owner to outright LIE about not speaking with me about my unhappiness with this job is ludicrous. I have all the texts. My complaint stands.