BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Northeast California

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Peaceful Valley Farm & Garden Supply meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Peaceful Valley Farm & Garden Supply include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Peaceful Valley Farm & Garden Supply
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: May 29, 1998 Business started: 01/01/1976 Business started locally: 01/01/1976 Business incorporated: 03/28/1990 in CA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Eric Boudier, President Ms. Katie Wagner, Administration Jaime Prince, Supervisor
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Eric Boudier, President
Customer Contact: Jaime Prince, Supervisor
Principal: Ms. Katie Wagner, Administration
Business Category

Nurseries - Plants, Trees Food Products - Organic

Alternate Business Names
Peaceful Valley Farm Supply, Inc.

Additional Locations

  • 125 Clydesdale Ct

    Grass Valley, CA 95945

  • PO Box 2209

    Grass Valley, CA 95945 (888) 784-1722

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

8/9/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The business shipped me the following products in January 4 months before any other business would ship them because the weather does not allow these products to be shipped to WI in the winter. I called 3 times begging them not to ship them, I then had to buy multiple buckets and dirt from ******* and put them into my rootcellar in an attempt to keep them from dying. Only 4 of the trees leaved out. I missunderstood thinking I had to wait until after June 1st to file a warranty claim. I ordered 100 more trees from ******* which were shipped in April like they were suppose to be and all 100 lived. So it was not my planting practices it was the fact that they shipped the trees when it was -20 degrees outside.I am asking for a refund of the payment of the trees.2 ***** Peach Redhaven SmDwf Tr 19.992 ***** Peach Eva's Pride SmDwf Tr 19.992 ***** Nectarine Harko SmDwf Tr 19.992 ***** Nectarine Honey Kist SmDwf Tr 19.992 ***** Plum/Prune Italian SmDwf Tr 19.9910 ***** Apple Honey Crisp SmDwf Tr 19.99

Desired Settlement: They need to reimburst me for the dead trees

Business Response: Hi ****,

 
I have attached a copy of our shipping details for bare root trees, as well as a copy of our Dormant Tree Limited Replacement Guarantee. We have both of these listed in several places on our website, as well as in our catalog. Your order was placed online, which means this information was on several of the pages you viewed when searching through our trees on our website. I have also attached our Return Policy, which you received with your trees. This policy, in bold and underlined, gives the June 1st deadline, as well.
 
Here is a list of the links where the information in question is listed: 
  • Our return policy page: **************************************************
  • Fruit trees general info page: **********************************************************
  • Redhaven Peach page: *********************************************************
  • Eva's Pride Peach page: *************************************************************
  • Harko Nectarine page: **********************************************************
  • Honey Kist Nectarine page: *****************************************************************
  • Italian Plum/Prune page: ****************************************************************
  • Honey Crisp Apple page: ************************************************************
The shipping details for our bare root trees states, "Your order will ship out of our warehouse as soon as we receive your trees. (Dec-Jan). We cannot hold bare root items in CA, as they will begin to bud or flower. Once they break dormancy, they can no longer be shipped. We do not have the refrigerator capacity to hold all orders, which is why all trees will ship out as soon as we receive them. If you won't be ready to plant when the trees arrive, watch our 'Heeling in Bare Root Trees' video and learn how to keep your trees healthy until you are ready to plant." This is highlighted in red to make it very noticeable. 
 
If you called us and begged us to hold the trees from shipping we would have provided you with two options, as we did with all customers who made the same request. You can cancel the order and place it closer to the time you want the trees, although we cannot guarantee inventory; or we can ship them now and you can heel them in until you are able to plant. The trees start breaking dormancy here in March, and would have been totally un-shippable in April. We don't show that you called until your order arrived on 1/13/14, because you were displeased with the arrival date. We tried to explain our policy, but you were yelling, cursing and then hung up before we could do so. You didn't call again until 7/29/14, cursing and yelling again - resulting is us not being able to assist you a second time.
 
We ship bare root trees to customers all over the U.S., and most customers do not have any issues with the trees as long as they are heeled in properly. Now with this being said, even trees that are heeled in properly may still fail to leaf out, which is why we offer our Dormant Tree Limited Replacement Guarantee. 
 
Our Dormant Tree Limited Replacement Guarantee states, "If your dormant bare-root fruit or nut tree (incl. potted fig or pomegranate), does not leaf out in Spring, contact our Customer Service by June 1st and return the dead plant to us for inspection. We will issue you a credit for the paid price of that plant (excluding shipping charges if any), provided it does not show damage (from rodent, mechanical...) or root rot. This credit is redeemable toward the purchase of any other bare-root item of your choice the following season. We reserve the right to not issue credit for replacement of already replaced items."

We were not contacted or notified by June 1st in regards to the trees not leafing out, therefore we are declining your request for reimbursement of the failed trees.

 

Sincerely,

***** ******   •   Customer Service  •   Peaceful Valley Farm & Garden Supply

888.784.1722   •   ************  * ***  ********************** •   *******************

Check out this week's organic how-to video! ***************************************************

Subscribe to our ************ and receive our videos directly to your inbox. Join us on ******** and ******* too!

Information contained in this e-mail and any attachments thereto is intended solely for use of the recipient(s) named above and may be privileged, confidential, and/or proprietary. If you are not the intended recipient, please do not read, distribute, or reproduce this transmission. You are advised that unauthorized use of this e-mail by any unintended recipient may be unlawful and could subject the user to civil damages and other penalties. If you have received this e-mail transmission in error, please notify the sender immediately by reply e-mail and delete this e-mail. Thank you.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

3/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Do NOT rely on Peaceful Valley for your garden needs. I've never been so disgusted w/ a business--and this is a nursery--but PV's employees like ***** Tietjen conducted themselves in such an unprofessional manner so as to go out of their way to create and exacerbate problems that never should have emerged! They abandoned common sense and ignored my clear written instructions when the website kept failing. This resulted in a several avoidable problems and created unanticipated ones b/c PV disregarded my express wishes. ***** ****** was "in charge" of resolving these problems but only compounded them--and created new ones--by repeatedly exhibiting her lack of business acumen and professionalism. I am bewildered how anyone rewarded such characteristics with being in charge of anything.Here is a synopsis of what transpired:-Ordered $400 gift card which qualified for a 20% coupon.-Tried to place two separate online orders. Website malfunctioning, wouldn't recognize gift card. Used credit card instead to at least keep the items in the cart but included a note in the "instructions" section, describing the problems and to combine orders for free shipping and seeds offer.-PV emailed that they saw the note and corrected the problems, i.e., charged the gift card and not the credit card, and would combine the items for the free shipping and seeds.-Placed 3rd online order a week later. Now problem w/ shipping fees which used up remainder of gift card and had to charge on credit card. I advised that I had two other orders, to combine, that shipping fees should be credited.-PV emailed that they received the note, but CHOSE TO IGNORE it. PV fed ex'ed five free seeds (I had 10 others pending) & a rubber tie--and charged me $10 for shipping!-***** admitted this made no sense.-I asked to change payment of the orders from gift card to credit card, ***** cancelled entire order, then advised that several hard-to-find items were no longer avail. Now I have no order, and a $400 card that I cannot use

Desired Settlement: ***** ****** ignored my express wish to change the payment method. Instead she independently cancelled all of our orders which took us a very long time to place on PV's user-unfriendly website (which she and ***** admitted was useless and discouraged customers from using it at all). We lost our priority and several items sold out. We carefully chose $400 as the gift card amount b/c that was the cost of everything we ordered. B/c of PV's irresponsibility, we cannot use it as intended.

Business Response:

This customer purchased over $400 worth of products on our website and attempted to pay with a gift card she had previously purchased. We had a temporary glitch on our site at that time that didn’t allow her to use that payment method (gift card). Our web team was aware of the issue and it was their top priority to fix. The customer then decided to pay with a credit card to force the order to go through. She then contacted us to inform us of her predicament and we subsequently refunded her credit card and applied said purchase against her gift card.

Because of the large number of seasonal items she ordered that were either not combinable (to ship together, in order to prevent them being damaged) and/or became ready to ship at different time, her order was set to ship in a total of seven boxes and were split into that many orders. This was clearly explained on our website and catalog during the checkout process.  

Along with her order, she wrote a note instructing us to combine (as best we could) items to save on shipping. There were only two orders that could be combined, potentially saving her $9.99 in shipping. Our sales rep that worked on the order overlooked her note and did not act upon the customer's request. This was our mistake and we promptly refunded her that charge. We did apologize and notify her of the $9.99 refund.

See email exchange below when the customer asked to have all the money put back on the gift card, wanted to return the gift card and would call with her credit card. We do not accept returns on gift cards, this policy is clearly noted on our website. We never cancel an order without telling the customer and she received notification in the last email.

 Customer email on 12/12/12 at 12:18PM: Rather than paying with the gift card, I need to pay for the orders with my credit card to keep everything straight. Thus everything should be refunded to the gift card to restore the original $400 balance and I would like to return it. Please let me know once this is reversed and when you are ready to take my payment over the phone.

 PVFS rep email on 12/12/13 at 1:08PM: This is in the gift card description on our website:

Please Note that there are no returns for gift cards.

 Customer email on 12/12/13 at 1:15PM: This a request to change the method of payment. Pls reverse the payments on the orders to restore the original balance on the gift card.  I will pay w/ my credit card when you are ready to take the information on the phone.

 PVFS rep email on 12/12/13 at 1:55PM: All three orders have been refunded back to the gift card. Attached are copies of the unpaid proposals. Since there is not payment on them, we will not hold the inventory.

 We subsequently never received a phone call from her providing payment for her order, which was turned into a proposal.

 Regarding the $400 gift card: the gift card is usable and has its original full credit balance just under $400. 

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because it is factually incorrect.  Peaceful Valley (PV) exploits and engages in charging exorbitant shipping fees for items that can clearly be shipped together, e.g., I had 15 FREE packets of seeds and it sent me only five of them plus a tiny item that cost 19 cents for a $10 shipping fee.  Yes, PV indeed charged $10 for items that cost no more than 48 cents to mail AND failed to combine them with other items that could be shipped together.   I had to ask repeatedly for the incompetent supervisor ***** ****** to refund the shipping charge which she did reluctantly.  Then she cancelled the entire order without calling me as I clearly requested.  

 
PV employees including ***** ****** the supervisor advised me NOT to use the online ordering system b/c it had MANY glitches, several of which I experienced in these few instances, so it is impossible for a new customer like myself to be able to discern what statements are true.  PV is negligent in its presumption that any customer should know the difference between what is stated on its website and what actually takes place.   
 
PV has admitted to its repeated failure to follow my clear instructions which has left me with a gift card that I cannot use nor would I subject any of my loved ones to endure the unpleasant and frustrating experience I have had dealing with PV This has been the most inhospitable experience with a company that engages in subterfuge and negligence to defraud its unwitting customers rather than take responsibility for its failures, poor designed website which its own employees advise customers NOT to use, and poorly trained employees including supervisors like ***** ******. 
 
I have NEVER filed a complaint with my credit card company, the BBB, and potentially a court of law because of an unscrupulous company that is not at all motivated to provide satisfaction or reasonable resolution to its customers, even when it has admitted to multiple failures and engaged in unreliable practices and poor judgment by several of its employees.  PV is more interested in emphasizing its policy about gift cards rather than trying to resolve a situation and achieve customer satisfaction.  If PV would rather war over how it defrauds customers by locking them into gift cards that could not be used as stated on its website, than simply allowing a customer who experienced multiple DOCUMENTED problems with its website and employees alike to change the form of payment, then the CA Attorney General's office and other unsuspecting potential customers will need to know about that.  Peaceful Valley is anything but and thanks to social media and BBB for publishing this complaint, others will be warned taking their business elsewhere to more reputable companies.
 
Sincerely,

** ***

Business Response: The facts:

 
1.  On 11/6/13, customer buys online and for herself a $400 Gift Card.
 
2. Ten days later (11/16/13), customer pre-orders online 5 bare-root fruit trees (for late December shipping), plus 1/2 a pound of Fava beans (for later shipping as well), qualifying her for 5 free vegetable seed packs, a retail value of $14.95 (as for any orders over $100 worth of merchandise).
Our online checkout charged her our $20 flat-rate bare-root tree shipping (bare-root trees are segregated to ship in their own 12" x 12" x 60" special box), plus "regular" $9.99 flat-rate shipping (per box up to 40 lbs) for the 1/2 a pound of Fava beans that the system pushed into another box.
Her gift card didn't work so she used a normal credit card.
 
3. One Day later (11/17/13), customer pre-orders online 5 additional bare-root fruit trees (for late December shipping), costing again $20 flat-rate bare-root tree shipping, but qualifying her again for 5 free vegetable seed packs, a retail value of $14.95.
Her gift card didn't work so she used a normal credit card.
4. Almost a week later (on 11/21/13), customer pre-orders online (a) 4 potted fruit trees (for late December shipping), costing her $9.99 in shipping (under our "potted tree" $9.99 flat rate shipping), plus (b) 2 additional bare-root fruit trees, costing her $20 under our "bare-root tree" $20 flat-rate shipping, (c) a pole fruit picker, costing her $21.02 in shipping as is item doesn't qualify for any Flat Rate Shipping (it's too long and in two separate boxes), and (d) one Easi-Tie Rubber Tree Ties for $0.29, albeit costing her $9.99 in shipping (under our "regular" $9.99 flat rate shipping) and qualifying her again 5 free vegetable seed packs, a retail value of $14.95, as this order totaled over $100.
Her gift card worked this time
 
It needs to be established that customer was fully informed (and agreed) to all these charges on every of these 4 orders, for merchandise and shipping, as we break down the shipping charges per box on each order.  
 
While it seems egregious to order $0.29 worth of merchandise and pay $9.99 in shipping, she was asked to approve said purchase and she did.
 
To her credit, she added notes to each of these 3 orders (subsequent to her gift card purchase) bringing to our attention that the gift card was not working on the first 2 (orders), and asking us to try to consolidate her orders to minimize shipping where possible, which our Order Processor un-explainingly and inexcusably failed to act upon.
 
However and as she requested, we refunded her "regular" credit card (that she used on the 2 orders where the gift card didn't work) and charged her gift card instead.
 
Then, we shipped her the $0.29 item, charging her $9.99 in shipping which we promptly refunded after customer called us to complaint about it.
 
Customer then requested to refund the gift card for all open orders (which had yet to ship anyway) which we promptly refunded. She was going to call with her credit card to pay for the products. All of the orders were changed to quotes, which do not allocate inventory, and she was notified they would remain that way until payment was received, which she never provided.
 
Accordingly, her gift card now stands with a credit of $399.61 ($400.00-0.29), which she absolutely can use now.
 
Customer has a valid issue about the fact that the gift card she bought was not working as it was supposed to, at least during part of the time frame she planned to use it.
 
We also didn't exercise our best effort to pro-actively help her minimize shipping.
 
Based on these circumstances, and this customer likely never going to be happy buying from us after her experience, we decided to refund her the full $400, letting her keep the $0.29 item and the free seeds she got with it as well which she no longer qualifies for.
 
**** *******, President

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

7/25/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Prices ring up differently then marked on their shelves. When Challenged they they refuse to talk and throw you out I went to purchase an item at this business today it was marked on the shelve as $12.99 it was rung up to me for $109. The checker said that the items (being more then one) were in the wrong place and she wasn't able to honor the advertised price. The manager admitted that his staff had stocked the shelves incorrectly but wasn't going to honor the price. The owner came down in a confrontational manner and said he was "Absolutely would not honor the marked price" he also told me to read the fine print on the label under the price. I told him I thought that was a horrible business practice he to me to "Get out of his store and never come back". I took pictures to prove my claims

Desired Settlement: I want the item sold to me for what the price on it was labeled as. I have pic to prove my claims

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Let's first establish for the record that Peaceful Valley is in full compliance with CA state law requiring (1) the price of displayed merchandise be adequately marked and (2) the merchandise be sold for the price it is marked for (California B&P Code, XXXXX.2) Furthermore, Peaceful Valley's shelf tags have detailed descriptions and part numbers, along with the price, to prevent any confusion in case items are moved as they often are by customers (inadvertently or not). The Claber Electronic Water Timer "Duplo" (duplo stands for 2 outlets) in question was on the shelf above its own tag very clearly bearing its own description along with its correct price ($109.00). To the right of the spot for the Claber Electronic Water Timer "Duplo" were displayed two other Claber Electronic Water Timers (models Video 6 and Logica), and then the Gilmour Mechanical Timer Single Outlet retailing for $12.99 and finally the Gilmour Mechanical Timer Double Outlet retailing for $21.99. The spot for the Gilmour Mechanical Timer Single Outlet was empty as this item was out-of-stock (having being discontinued). When the customer checked out, he was informed that the Claber Electronic Water Timer "Duplo" he was purchasing retailed for $109, to which he retorted that it was tagged for $12.99. The Lead Sales Associate then went to check the display which is when the customer told him to have allegedly found that Claber Electronic Water Timer "Duplo" sitting on the shelf right above Gilmour Mechanical Timer Single Outlet price tag. When told that the $12.99 price tag was clearly marked for the Gilmour Mechanical Timer Single Outlet, not for the Claber Electronic Water Timer "Duplo", the customer insisted on being able to purchase the Claber Electronic Water Timer Double Outlet (priced at $109.00) for the price of a Gilmour Mechanical Water Timer Single Outlet ($12.99). The Lead Sales Associate told him he couldn't do that as the price tags were very clear as to what is being sold at what price. The customer then insisted to talk to a manager which is when the Lead Sales Associate went upstairs to seek Peaceful Valley's President's help. When the President re-iterated to the customer that we wouldn't accept to sell him a Claber Electronic Water Timer Double Outlet (priced at $109.00) for the price of a Gilmour Mechanical Water Timer Single Outlet (priced at $12.99), the customer proceeded by telling Peaceful Valley's President that (1) Peaceful Valley was "breaking the law and would be reported for it" and that (2) the customer would "post bad reviews on social media" if Peaceful Valley would not accept to proceed as he demanded. Facing what Peaceful Valley's President perceived to be both a threat and a blackmail, he asked the customer to leave the premises and invited him to no longer patronize the business. As the proverb says, there is always two sides to the story and this pushy customer really went beyond the pale.

Consumer's Final Response
I disagree completely with their response. At this point I want nothing from them other then a bad mark on their file. I have photos that back up my claim showing where on the shelve the entire inventory was stocked. In addition this owner didn't look into this manner as she should have because she Identified the sales clerk as a him instead of a her. This leads me to believe she didn't do her due diligence. At the end of the day had the manager approached me in a mature professional manner, explained someone made a mistake, stated that he couldn't honor the price but could give me a discount we wouldn't be here having this discussion. I did not black mail or threaten them I told them what I was going to do which was the only recourse available to me. If you review their yelp page you will see they have 9 reviews 7 of which are poor and most of them it has to do with how they treat their customer. This is the third bad experience I have has with them the previous two had to do with their posted return practices not matching their actual practices and their staff not being properly educated on those practices at the time of sale. If you have any other questions please feel free to let me know ***********

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

3/2/2012 Delivery Issues
1