BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Northeast California

BBB Accredited Business since

Greater Bay Relocation Services, Inc.

Phone: (877) 858-9534 Fax: (209) 830-7402 View Additional Phone Numbers 1000 E Grant Line Rd  Suite 300, Tracy, CA 95304 http://www.GreaterBayMoving.com View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Greater Bay Relocation Services, Inc. specializes in Residential, Commercial & Corporate relocation services. It was established in 1961, and has been family owned and operated since 1992. We are a full service moving & storage company. We have been a North American Van Lines agent for over 50 years of dedicated service.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Greater Bay Relocation Services, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Greater Bay Relocation Services, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Greater Bay Relocation Services, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: October 06, 2011 Business started: 01/16/1961 in CA Business started locally: 04/01/1995 Business incorporated: 12/18/2003 in CA
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

California Public Utilities Commission- CPUC
505 Van Ness Ave Rm 4300, San Francisco CA 94102
Phone Number: (800) 649-7570

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Norm Mangskau, Owner Ms. Brooke Bullard, Office Administrator
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Brooke Bullard, Office Administrator
Principal: Mr. Norm Mangskau, Owner
Business Category

Moving & Storage Company Moving Services - Labor & Materials Moving Assistance - Packing, Unpacking, Organizing Moving Supplies Piano & Organ Moving Relocation Service

Products & Services

Greater Bay Relocation Services, Inc. sells the following brand(s): North American Van Lines

Greater Bay Relocation Services, Inc. offers the following product(s): Packing Materials

Method(s) of Payment
All major credit cards, cashier's checks or certified funds, cash, business checks - no Personal Checks unless cleared with management
Refund and Exchange Policy
100% Guaranteed, Binding, Not-To-Exceed Moving Estimates
Service Area
United States
Alternate Business Names
North American Van Lines Agent
Products & Services

Packing, unpacking, loading, unloading, storage & SIT (Storage In Transit), office & industrial, housing project relocations, residential, inter & intra state services, International Agent for North American Van Lines for over 25 years


Additional Locations

  • 1000 E Grant Line Rd  Suite 300

    Tracy, CA 95304 (877) 858-9534

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (209) 830-4435(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

2/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I hired Greater Bay Relocation Services to move me from a two bedroom apartment in Fremont, CA., to a house in Tracy, CA., on January 11, 2014. I paid for a full service move which means Greater Bay Relocation Services would pack, ship, and unpack my items. A lot of items where moved and overall the move went well. However, there are two issues.First, I had a number of items that were lost/went missing during the move. I had a brand new Leatherman Knife set, still in the original package, go missing during the move. I had two cases of brand new golf balls go missing during the move. There are some miscellaneous items (golf tees, ball towel, tennis balls) that went missing during the move.Second, I have a stereo system that worked prior to the move, but does not work now after the move. The stereo system has power but there is no audio output. I've checked and rechecked the connections and all is in order. I promplty called Greater Bay Relocation Services, ****** *******, to report the missing knife set and the the broken stereo. Without looking into the matter, ****** immediately started making stamenents why they could not have broken the stereo. I requested to file an insurance claim. I personally delivered the completed form to Greater Bay Relocation Services on January 17, 2014, along with receipts for thes items.The Insurance Company, *******, informed me on January 24, 2014, that my claim was denied. ******* said one of the reasons it was denied is because I packed the stereo equipment. I told ******* that that was not true because as I stated above, this was a full service move. In all, my claim was denied by stements made by Greater Bay Relocation Services. I had no say in the matter.In summary, I had items that were missing and a stereo broken during the move. Greater Bay Relocation Services failed to accept responsibility for their negligent actions and reimburse me for the missing items and to restore my stereo to its original working condition.

Desired Settlement: I would like reimbursement for the Leatherman Knife set, valued at $70.00, and the two cases of golf balls, valued together at $60.00.I would like to see the stereo system get repaired. If not, then a cash settlement. I paid a $1000.00 for that stereo system and understand it is now not new. I would accept anywhere from $300.00 to $400.00 for the stereo system.

Business Response: This customer filed a claim for the following two items:

Audio System - no sound - stated value $999
Knife Set - missing - stated value $69.99

We informed the customer that the insurance company would process his claim.  However, we also informed him that the insurance company may deny his stereo based on the fact that we do not assume liability for disconnecting and reconnecting appliances and electronics.  Customers must do this themselves.  There was also no visible outside damage to the stereo, and prior condition was unknown.  Customer did provide the original purchase receipt dated 1/29/94 to confirm the stereo was 20 years old.

That being said, we asked the customer to get back to us once the insurance company reached their final determination so that we could work out any unresolved matters.  Instead we received a notice of credit card dispute, and a BBB complaint.

We contacted the customer to follow up.  Even though he did not select or pay for full value replacement coverage for his move, he expected as such.  In the interest of customer relationships, we compensated him for the knife set, and additional golf balls that he added to his claim.  We also picked up his stereo at no charge to see if we could get a diagnostic test done to determine its condition.

After much effort we found a technician who would run a diagnostic on a 20 year old stereo.  Most would not because replacement parts are out-dated and unavailable.  Going direct to the manufacturer, they advised us our only option was the sales department for a replacement upgrade.

The technician plugged in the stereo, and much to our delight it worked!  He advised us that it was probably not hooked up correctly, or required an antenna wire to receive local central valley stations.  We informed the customer, and delivered it back to him at no charge.

We feel that our company has gone ABOVE and BEYOND reasonable expectations to resolve this complaint.  And we hope that potential customers will recognize our efforts to maintain high integrity and quality service.

Sincerely,
Greater Bay Relocation Services



Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

**** ******

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

1