BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Northeast California

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that D & D Motorsports meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for D & D Motorsports include:

  • Length of time business has been operating

Factors that raised the rating for D & D Motorsports include:

  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on D & D Motorsports
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: October 05, 2011 Business started: 04/26/2010 Business started locally: 04/26/2010 Business incorporated: 04/26/2010 in CA
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

CA Department of Motor Vehicles- Licensing
2120 Broadway, Sacramento CA 95818
http://dmv.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (916) 657-8056

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Ronald Davis, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Ronald Davis, Owner
Business Category

Motorcycle Sales - Consignments Motorcycles - Repairing & Service Motorcycles - Supplies & Parts Snowmobiles Jetski/Personal Watercraft

Products & Services

D&D is Northern California's premier shop for sales of used Motorcycles, ATV's, Side by Sides, Snowmobiles, Personal Watercraft along with service, parts and accessories!


Additional Locations

  • 431 5th St

    Marysville, CA 95901 (530) 741-9300

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Web Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

1/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On June 27, 2013, I ***** ******* took my 2001 SEA DOO GTS jet ski to D&D motorsports in Marysville CA to have my engine rebuilt. I had picked it up on July 10 2013 where owner **** ***** was one who returned my jet ski to me and he discussed what he had fixed and replaced on it he then showed it started up and ran. Immediately one I had got my jet ski back I went to river to test drive once jet ski was in water I notice I wouldn't start I then call **** ***** he said I need a new battery cause it is not turning over engine fast enough so that I night I bought a new battery July 10 2013 the next day July 11th I returned to the river to try jet ski with new battery once again it will start out of water but would not start in water so I took jet ski back to D&D talked to **** ***** he said that I need to replace the stator, and the water box. I felt I never had these issues before so I wanted a second opinion so on July 12, 2013 I took my jet ski to ********************* in Woodland CA upon diagnostic from ********************* they noticed that carburetor was never rebuilt was not adjust right and that timing of engine was way off (THOOSE BOTH BEING PART OF REBUILD AND PAID FOR AT D&D MOTORSPORTS) so 189.54$ was the total to fix carburetor that D&D miss adjusted and also fix timing that was miss adjusted. PROBLEM #2 After 2 hours of riding jet ski It had broke down after being lied to from D&D I returned jet ski to 4 Season recreational for a second diagnostic they had figured out that when D&D put engine back together they had installed cylinder base gasket wrong and punctured it with a bolt causing it to blow out causing jet ski to break down that cost 356.10$ to fix.

Desired Settlement: A refund of $189.54 to fix carburetor and timing. A refund of $356.10 for gasket they installed wrong. A refund of $170.00 D and D charged for test drive and carburetor clean for a total refund of $715.64.

Business Response: Initial Business Response
Mr. ******* brought in his "basket case" engine with PWC and asked if we could install top end on his PWC and asked if we could finish the assembly of the engine. After examining his engine we found a bad crankshaft with burnt rods due to lack of lubrication and rusty bearings from water ingestion. We denied repair and gave him a estimate of $1800-2500 for a proper repair. He denied and said he would pickup the unit, his bill at this point was $90. The next day Mr. ******* brought in a used crankshaft in with all parts to assemble and asked if we would install with the used parts he had purchased elsewhere. We told him we would install parts BUT there would be no warranty because of the use of used parts to assemble. He agreed and stated that he is "over" the PWC, and that it's been problem after problem and only wanted it to run so he could sell the unit. All he wanted us to do was assemble and install the engine and he would do whatever else the ski needed. When we called Mr. ******* to let him know we had assembled the engine he asked if we had started it, we replied no because he was to finish the PWC on his own. We noticed a lot of other issues with the unit and it appeared that the ski had been sunk numerous times and had a lot of rust and debris in the fuel tank. He then approved us to do what we needed to do to get the ski running and he would do anything else it needed on his own. We got the water out of the tank and cleaned carburetor. We then had to install a new battery off the shelf to start as his battery was low. We took ski to the water to test where it tested fine and brought it back to the shop where we took our new battery back out and reinstalled his battery. We called Mr. ******* to pick up the unit and he did. We started it for him here at the shop and it ran fine when it left. The next day he returned and said the ski was hard to start, we asked if he recharged/replaced battery and he said he was jump starting the unit. We advised Mr. ******* that jump starting the unit is very hard on them and that it can cause damage electronics. We offered free advise and trouble shooting to chase other possible issues. He demanded that we fix the problem at no charge which we told him that if he had paid us to fix the problem the correct way with all new parts he would have had warranty from us. We told him before we did the "patch job" repair that he requested that there was no warranty because you never know what you're going to get when trying to use used parts. Here are the facts: We didn't do a full rebuild, we reassembled a basket case engine with used parts at customers request. We advised him that this wasn't the correct way to do the repair but he insisted that it be done this way so that the bill was as cheap as possible as all he wanted was for it to run so he could sell it. We also never claimed to have rebuilt the carburetor, we did clean it though. We specialize in PWCs including Sea Doos and rebuild 100s of skis with over 30 years of experience. It's obvious this ski wasn't taken care of and had rust and water damage everywhere. We offered a proper repair with warranty and customer denied! We went out of our way to help Mr. ******* out as much as possible with parts supplied and offered free advise and troubleshooting. We went as far as we could with this repair as we could for the amount of money spent. He told us that all he wanted was for it to run so he could sell it, that he wasn't even going to ride it because every time he does something else happens to it. The ski started and ran when it left our shop.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) first off what corners were cut? what am i piecing together? i brought in to d and d in a complete jetski minus cylinder head was taking off of for inspection i had also brought to d and d a complete preium engine rebuild kit, and had the orgional cylinders bored out by a local shop prosessionally. so piced togheter no it is not. so the problem lies on dand ds shady labor the first problem with jet ski it that timing was off the miss adjusted the rotary valve they had 2 chances to do that right once when they took engine completley apart and replaced rotary valve, and also during his supposed carburetor cleaning either time was the timing address or was carburetor clean it cabe back out of adjustment leaking and caused me to get it fully rebuilt. if jet ski didnt run on water why did i get charged a 170.00$ water test fee and carburetor tune and clean when neither of them where done . this is the problem that made jetski only start on land and not on water where a load was on engine where it wouldnt start or run i had called d and d as stated in my first statment he came up with excuse and excuse i replaced battery as he stated still did not work aftyer he tride to sell me further labor and parts to then make my jet ski run i went to get a second opnion from 4 season rercreational where he then fix my jets ski and made due to d and d mototsports marysville shady tweaker labor it had cost me 189.54 to fix this problem peoblem 2 as statsed in my reciepts from 4 season recreational that when engine was re assembeled that d and d didnt aling the cylinder base gasket to the pre dertrmined holes (this was part a complete rebuild kit desinged for my jetski so no mods were needed) well they made there own holes so after the first 2 hours of riding jet ski it caused the gasket to blow out of bottom of cylinders now to them cost me another out of pocket expense this time for 356.10$ this is a fresh rebuilt engine with quality parts its a assemblers error this ist a warrnty item as no warrnty was ever discussed so that is a bold lie iam asking for what is fair they had messed up on there end i had to pay the price that is not rite the error done fall back on the assembler there is no reason with the seadoo and engine i have shouldnt be a running and reliable jetski like it is now once it is put together rite and d and d mess has been cleand u .

Final Business Response
The mechanics have a combined 30+ years of experience working on personal watercraft. There is no way they would have modified the gasket to make it fit like Mr. ******* is stating. If we didn't have the right gasket in stock we would have ordered the right gasket. The story is already changing... First it was "installed incorrectly" and now we "modified it to make it work so it failed"? The bottom line on this story is that Mr. ******* tried to cut corners on a repair and it came back to bite him. We did as much as we could for the amount of money he wanted to spend. We recommended a COMPLETE REBUILD in which he declined. With that full rebuild he would have got a warranty and had there been any issues he would have been covered. We made sure that he knew that trying to piece together a motor wasn't the correct way to do but he insisted that it be done that way, therefore we came to a verbal agreement that there would be absolutely NO WARRANTY. There are risks taken when you don't fix stuff the right way and unfortunately this time it didn't work out for Mr. ******* but we feel like we are in no way responsible for the refund he is requesting.

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

1