Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

GFL Capital Mortgage, Inc

Phone: (888) 557-8836 Fax: (888) 241-1443 View Additional Phone Numbers 1215 K St Ste 1700, Sacramento, CA 95814

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that GFL Capital Mortgage, Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for GFL Capital Mortgage, Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on GFL Capital Mortgage, Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 29, 2008 Business started: 08/30/2007 in CA Business started locally: 08/30/2007 Business incorporated 04/18/2008 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

CA Bureau of Real Estate
1651 Exposition Blvd., Sacramento CA 95815
Phone Number: (877) 373-4542
Fax Number: (916) 263-8943
The number is 01846524.

National Mortgage Licensing System- NMLS

The number is 64367.

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Greg Louie, Broker
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Greg Louie, Broker
Business Category

Mortgage Brokers Reverse Mortgage Mortgage Bankers Real Estate Services Loan Servicing

Alternate Business Names
The GFL Capital Group Inc.

Additional Locations

  • 1215 K St Ste 1700

    Sacramento, CA 95814 (888) 828-8180 (916) 442-0897 (888) 557-8836


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/28/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Received a misleading letter from this group. The envelope indicates "time sensitive material", Does not indicate the sender, reads "Importand Notice", comes at tax time (February) and is one of those that requires ripping the perforated sides off in order to open.This mailing is a deliberate attempt to mislead the consumer into thinking this is some sort of official document that must be opened, read, and addressed promptly, when in fact this is just another solicitation for mortgage services.

Desired Settlement: I'd like this company, GFL Capital Group, Inc., to be compelled to change the way they send out these mailers so that there is a clear return address indicator, a message that indicates this is NOT a government document or otherwise requires "immediate attention", and an indication that this is a solicitation for business.

Business Response:

This letter represents the response for a complaint made against The GFL Capital Group, Inc. The GFL Capital Group, Inc. sends out direct mail marketing to prospective consumers to generate business. The data is researched and the mailings are targeted to certain homeowners with a recorded mortgage within our search criteria. Our marketing and Data Company closely monitor and manage our mailing campaigns. Consumers who contact us and wish to be taken off of our list have their requests granted and no future mailings are sent out to the consumer.

Our advertisements do not quote rate or any other numbers involving loan terms. In addition the advertisements do not provide any guarantees or promises. When prospective clients phone into our office our employees make it clear that they are not employed by their current lender. In addition our disclaimer states:

“The GFL Capital Group, Inc. (State name and license info). NMLS #64367. We are not sponsored by or affiliated with the lender and the solicitation is not authorized by the lender. We may not be licensed in your state and you may have received this letter in error. We do not conduct business in states where we are not licensed. Preapproval is subject to current conventional product guidelines.”

Early this year there were a couple of mail campaigns that were sent out with incorrect data to consumers in Oregon and Washington. Our disclaimer clearly states “you may have received this letter in error.” Unfortunately the error resulted with consumers receiving mail that may’ve been annoying. Since the data was incorrect for those mail campaigns our company never had a chance of capitalizing on potential business from the advertisements therefore those advertising campaigns costs our company a lot of money.

The GFL Capital Group, Inc. is a small independent brokerage. We don’t have the resources that larger banks and lenders have therefore we want to provide a positive experience that the consumer may not get from a larger institution. Our goal is to educate our clients and provide them with excellent customer service during and after their mortgage process.

Business Response: Hello ****, We are not violating any laws. There is a full disclosure statement on the letter. The front of the mailer doesn't contain any government symbols and the letter doesn't state "MUST BE OPENED IMMEDIATELY". The front of the letter contains a law. Here is the definition of 18 U.S. Code § 1702 - Obstruction of correspondence: "Whoever takes any letter, postal card, or package out of any post office or any authorized depository for mail matter, or from any letter or mail carrier, or which has been in any post office or authorized depository, or in the custody of any letter or mail carrier, before it has been delivered to the person to whom it was directed, with design to obstruct the correspondence, or to pry into the business or secrets of another, or opens, secretes, embezzles, or destroys the same, shall be fined under this title or imprisoned not more than five years, or both. " This disclaimer is for people who tampers with mail. (if someone opens the letter that wasn't addressed to he/she.) We've been marketing this piece for years. We send this mailer to people through public records. Once again, we are NOT violating any laws. If you didn't appreciate the mailer just give us a call and we can remove you from the list. You won't get anymore mail from us and it will help us save money. We have plenty of customer testimonials from people in Oregon that received that same mail piece. The letter maybe an issue for you but that letter has led to hundreds of homeowners finding help through our company. A lot of people that receive the letter went to their large local bank and got denied. Please feel free to contact me if you have any additional issues with our company. You can reply through the BBB or contact me directly at 888-557-8836 ext ***. Thank you. - **** *****

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because:

I never claimed laws were being violated.  It is an unfair and misleading advertising practice.  Had laws been broken, I would have complained to the FTC, not the BBB.  

I do, indeed, wish to be removed from your list.


**** *********

2/12/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: The BBB recommended (A+ rating) this company to re-finance my mortgage. What I was told and promised has not been the truth of what is happening. I contacted ******* *********** with GFL capital back in Sept. 2012 to refinance my loan. He told me I would be getting a 3.5%, and that the total of my mortgage would only raise by $200. I asked several times, "When we are finished my morgage balance on my statements now showing approximately $131,000 will show $131,200... right? I was assured several times that yes, it would only go up $200. I also was told I would need to pay for an appraisal, which I did ($500). The process started. I got all the paperwork he asked for, usually getting it back to him the same day. To the extent that he told me I was great, and a mortgage broker's dream client! These were my monthly salary receipts, my HOA dues statements from my condo management company, my tax statements, bank statements, my Home Equity statements etc. Yet, it seems every week something more was needed. I always complied. He always told me the excuse for the loan not going through was the lender needed more paperwork. Or the previous paperwork I had submitted had now been too long ago, and now they needed it again to be more current. For example, they said my salary statement from October, was no longer accepted, as it was now December. There was always some excuse why the loan was delayed. He told me the mortgage statements I would be getting once the loan was processed would show I owe approximately $135,000 not the $130.200 I was told when we started this. He had many excuses why this was. Then, last week on January 31, 2012, almost 5 months after starting this refi, I got an email from him saying he had good news and bad news. The good news was that the loan application was almost complete and ready for signing. The bad new was that he could no longer get me the 3.5 rate I was told I would be getting. He told me now rates had gone up to 3.875. He said if I wanted the 3.5, he could get it, but it would now have to add anothet $736 to my mortgage balance, and also $1,850 which had been what he called before a 3rd party credit. He never locked in my loan, and never gave me a 'Good faith' estimate. The person who has been dealing with me is ******* J *********** His contact numbers are: NMLS#XXXXXX, DRE#XXXXXXX, his telephone number is: XXX-XXX-XXXX ext 104, his fax number is XXX-XXXX XXX. I do not wish to further attempt to get this loan application completed. What I do want is my $500 that I paid for the appraisal. I went with this company because I saw the BBB had given it an A+ rating. Please help me get my $500 back. I am a school teacher, and worked hard for this money. Thank you

Desired Settlement: The $500 I spent getting the appraisal.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
When management was notified, the mortgage loan originator was reprimanded. From the moment management was notified, the branch manager took over the transaction and was the sole point of contact with the consumer. All of the consumers requests were met and the loan funded and recorded, much to the satisfaction of the consumer. The original mortgage loan originator was both reprimanded, as well as trained on how to ensure that this never happens again. The GFL Capital Group, Inc prides itself on doing business the right way, with an emphasis on full disclosure and customer service every step of the way.