BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Northeast California

This Business is not BBB accredited

Indoor Restore Environmental Services

Additional Locations

Phone: (877) 800-9712 Fax: (888) 390-7502 View Additional Phone Numbers 1024 Iron Point Rd, Folsom, CA 95630 http://www.envirosvs.com View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

On 2/11/2014 this business's accreditation in the BBB was revoked by the BBB's Board of Directors due to its failure to adhere to the BBB requirement that Accredited Businesses meet and abide by the following standards:

  • 1D. Be free of an unsatisfactory rating and maintain at least a B rating at the accrediting BBB and the BBB where it is headquartered, if different.
  • 6A. Promptly respond to all complaints forwarded by BBB by:
    1. Resolving the complaint directly with the complainant and notifying BBB, or
    2. Providing BBB with a response that BBB determines:
      • is professional,
      • addresses all of the issues raised by the complainant,
      • includes appropriate evidence and documents supporting the business' position, and
      • explains why any relief sought by the complainant cannot or should not be granted.
  • 6B. Make a good faith effort to resolve disputes, which includes mediation if requested by BBB. Other dispute resolution options, including arbitration, may be recommended by BBB when other efforts to resolve a dispute have failed. BBB may consider a business' willingness to participate in recommended dispute resolution options in determining compliance with these standards.

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Indoor Restore Environmental Services include:

  • 14 complaints filed against business
  • 1 complaint filed against business that was not resolved
  • BBB Accreditation was revoked because the business failed to honor its accreditation agreement with BBB.

Factors that raised the rating for Indoor Restore Environmental Services include:

  • Response to 14 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

14 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 7 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 2
Problems with Product/Service 11
Total Closed Complaints 14

Additional Complaint Information

Consumers generally allege the company does not complete mold remediation services as agreed. In some cases, complainants allege that the company overcharged. Consumers allege that the company does not directly address the extent of the mold issues or how they determined the damages.

The company generally responds to the complaints by outlining the agreement and state that some of the specific mold issues are not covered under warranty. In some cases, the company apologizes for delays.

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on Indoor Restore Environmental Services
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 3
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: April 26, 2010 Business started: 03/26/2009 Business started locally: 03/26/2009 Business incorporated: 03/15/2012 in CA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Greg Miller, Office Manager Mr. Adam Fullner, President
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Adam Fullner, President
Principal: Mr. Greg Miller, Office Manager
Business Category

Mold & Mildew Inspection/Removal/Remediation Crime Scene/Trauma Clean up Environmental & Ecological Services Fire & Smoke & Water Clean Up

Alternate Business Names
Environmental Services Inc of California - ESI

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Indoor Restore Environmental Services has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of C-.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1024 Iron Point Rd

    Folsom, CA 95630 (877) 318-0988

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    705-2 E Bidwell St Ste 118

    Folsom, CA 95630 (916) 760-3247

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    980 9th St Ste 200 Fl 16

    Sacramento, CA 95814

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (877) 318-0988(Phone)
X

Additional Web Addresses

  • http://www.indoorrestore.com
  • http://www.indoorrestoreca.com
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

7/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We discovered a major leak under our bathtub, once that was fixed we had a mold issue. We called this company, a tech came out and took samples of the walls and air, he was told at that time that the leak we had was under the bathtub, however I've since found out, no samples were taken from there even though there's a vent that would provide access. An estimate was provided which included the bathtub walls area. When the workers showed up they were punctual and polite and completed the work in one day. Let me say here that my husband is fighting lung and brain cancer so my priority was getting the work done, but I was not able to give my focus to the work. Bottom line the bathtub area was not done as "the paperwork did not specify bathtub removal and completion of the mold eradication from those walls would involve removing the bathtub". So they claim they've lived up to the contract and now the walls that still have mold are exposed to the bathroom. However, they'd be more than happy to provide another estimate and finish the work, for extra cost of course. In the meantime I still have mold in the walls and will now have to hire a professional company to remove. Oh and the Restore in their company name, not sure what that is referring to but there is no restoration done at all, it was never offered to me and I was never told that was an option they provide. I decided to pay the company due to receiving 2 collections letters, threatening foreclosure, a day from them was to much for my husband. I sent the cashiers check 6/13. I checked the status today and it was refused by the company 6/16, the day they told me I needed to pay them or they were going to file a $25,000 lawsuit and refer me to a collection lawyer for $7,500. How can I pay the company if they refuse to sign for the envelope with full amount $4,902.40 cashiers check in it? No where on the collections letters does it say they they won't accept a certified, return receipt envelope.

Desired Settlement: I want any and all collections they are taking to stop as of 6/13 since I can prove I tried to pay them before 6/16 as their collections letters asked. If they have started a lawsuit against me or refereed me to a collection lawyer I want it stopped. I want a manager to contact me, come to my home and take the cashiers check from me for $4,902.40, once they take it I want something in writing showing I have paid. I want a $500 refund. Tracking number for check can be provided. I want an apology

Business Response:

BBB Case #********

 The envelope that Ms. ******, our client, is stating was refused, was never received nor refused by us.  It seems that the envelope was misdirected.  Either the lobby personnel in the building (operated by the building owner and not our employees) may have refused delivery due to incorrect addressing or the mail carrier delivered it to the wrong address. 

 We contacted Ms. ******, our client, as soon as we received notification through the BBB email system and are making arrangements with the client to receive the envelope containing the cashier’s check as soon as it is returned to her.  Both of us thought she would have the envelope back by now, but as you can see by the attached tracking, it is still stuck at the processing center.

 We would not have turned Ms. ****** over to the collection agency had she responded to our attempted comunication and let us know that she was paying the debt and give us the tracking information.  But she didn’t return our calls nor send us an email with her intentions.  In fact, we waited until 06/19/14 to actually give the account over which is several days past the deadline.  Had she returned our calls or sent an email, perhaps this could have all been avoided.  Hopefully, the envelope will show up in the next few days and we can make arrangements to actually get it this time.

 After having received an email from the BBB, it was brought to our attention the Ms. ****** attempted to send us an envelope containing payment as specified in the collection letter.  

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because: #1 - I sent the payment to the correct address (return receipt requested) and since I finally received the letter back from the post office I have the envelope to prove it, to imply that the rejection of the envelope at their end is somehow my fault is par for the course with this company. Someone refused that envelope at 1024 Iron Point Road, Folsom, CA 95630, it was not misaddressed. #2 - The only contact I had from this company was in the form of numerous threatening letters and email, no phone calls. However, I did try the day I found out my landlord stopped payment on his check, to talk to someone regarding this. After being transferred around and talking to scheduling, accounting, receptionist and even HR I was assured a call back, that didn't happen. My cell phone records would show this, that experience was such that I did not bother to call regarding payment, they'd just claim I never contacted them. I have telephoned the one person from the company who did call me, at the number on the email and that she provided ###-###-####, that I finally received the envelope and she can contact me to make further arrangements. This whole thing could have been avoided if the work had been completed in the first place. As the work was never completed by this company the complaint cannot be called resolved.

6/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Indoor Restore was hired for multiple services. They were first hired by another person to do an inspection of my house to find any mold problems. Indoor was told by the real estate agent during the inspection that there was an active leak in the roof and that the area of the ceiling of the master bedroom that was bowed had water damage. Indoor's inspector claimed that drilling a hole in the ceiling wasn't necessary to check for mold and that he thought it was fine. Their inspector wrote a statement of work describing what needed to be cleaned to make the house safe in the master bedroom and one of the bathrooms. I was given the statement of work and hired Indoor Restore to clean out the mold in those two areas. Indoor Restore came to the house and claimed they cleaned. In the bathroom they had tore out part of the drywall and sprayed something white on the inside of the wall. They took test samples of the air and surfaces and claimed it was clear of mold in those areas. However they also insisted that other areas of the house that they previously inspected and said were fine needed cleaning. The supplemental work estimate was way bigger than their first estimate. So I suspected it was a scam to get more money. I hired an inspector from another company after they left to verify if the house really was clean. This other inspector found extensive mold in the ceiling of the master bedroom where Indoor's inspector ignored. Also, mold was later found in the bathroom underneath the white stuff that Indoor sprayed in the wall. I have pictures of the mold they left behind. I mailed a letter to Indoor Restore asking for a refund since they didn't really clean thoroughly as they claimed. I also sent an email and left a voice mail. No one from Indoor has contacted me.

Desired Settlement: I paid Indoor Restore a total $2,142.50. I want a refund for $1,862.50 which is the amount of the remediation services.

Business Response: We are currently working directly with the client to resolve the issues.

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because the business has not responded to my complaint. They said they have been investigating the issue but have not resolved anything. Please do not close this case.

Business Response:

********* **, left a voicemail message at 5 pm on 05/19/14 and then filed a complaint with the BBB later that evening.  We did not receive her message until the following morning when we returned to work, at which time we contacted her. 

 The client states that we were hired by another person to do the initial inspection.  The person that hired us was a real estate agent.  We assume that this is the person the client refers to as having been present with our inspector when he was performing the inspection. 

 As one reads through the report, at Location 2 –Page 8 of the report - (the area where the 2nd inspector found the mold in the ceiling the client is talking about in her complaint) it states:

 “Suspect mold was observed on the window. Ceiling area shows evidence of previous water intrusion. Room also has a musty odor indicating possible active growth. A precautionary air sample was taken to rule out possible airborne contamination. No elevated moisture levels were detected at the time of the inspection. Recommend inner-ceiling sampling.

 YOU WILL NOTICE THAT WE RECOMMENDED AN INNER-CEILING SAMPLE and this is contained in the report that was given to the client.  The real estate agent decided not to go forward with that sample.  Had that sample been taken, we would have discovered the mold in the ceiling and the estimate provided would have included it in the remediation.  The client’s statement that the inspector said it wasn’t necessary is not true as evidenced by the report the client received.  I can understand the real estate agent’s reluctance since the home was in escrow at the time we performed the inspection.  The client was the buyer – she didn’t own the home.  I can only imagine what would have happened had we drilled holes throughout the house and then the buyer backed out of purchasing it.  But to claim we ignored the issue all together is a complete falsehood.

The client’s characterization of our estimate is outright misleading.  We state on the inspection invoice, which the real estate agent initialed “The remediation estimate will only include areas tested at the time of this inspection that receive laboratory confirmation for mold presence.”  If we’re not allowed to test, we cannot state that there IS OR IS NOT mold present in an area.  Our inspection reports reflect this.

 The “something white on the inside of the wall” which we sprayed on was encapsulation.  It was outlined in the estimate and is an industry standard.  It is sprayed on after all the mold has been scrubbed, sanded, wiped and vacumumed away.  Although the 2nd inspector may disagree with this industry standard, it is just his opinion and not a violation of any governmental standard nor is it part of some ploy to cover up mold.  It inhibits any further mold growth.  The client’s statement that mold was found under the white stuff has not been substantiated by the report supplied by the 2nd inspector – or anything else.

 We asked *** ** for a copy of the lab results as well as the 2nd inspector’s report and pictures to substantiate her claims.  The client has stated that she doesn’t have any lab reports.  She states that the inspector simply drilled holes in walls and showed her the mold.  As stated previously, we recommended an inner-ceiling sample which the real estate agent didn’t allow us to do. 

 The inspection report we received from the client consisted of what looks to be an edited email.  Typically, one would see a several page report with pictures showing the areas tested, naming those areas, and explaining what was found.  This is the first time I’ve ever seen a simple email.  That being said, we did review his email.  The 2nd opinion agreed with the additional work we found needed to be performed that was outside our original estimate.  In fact, he found bit more mold through the “drilling and showing the client” method.  The inspector also understood that his steps were not the last word on what had to be done nor can there be any guarantee that all the mold would be found during the inspection.  As he states: 

 “The remediation firm may take additional or different steps as dictated by their judgment and/or operating procedures to adequately abate the mold contamination.  In mold remediation situations, it is always possible that additional hidden mold growth may occur over time and/or exist in walls beyond the specific areas investigated.”   

 As the news show, ** *******, has pointed out time and again, there are a lot of things that can look like mold (including eye shadow) that isn’t.  We do not bid remediation if we cannot confirm via a third-party lab that mold actually exists.  We also do not bid for removal of any item if we cannot confirm via a third party lab that mold actually exists on that item.  This is clearly stated on the inspection invoice and the estimate (if an estimate is needed).  Clients can always assume that what they see is mold but we cannot.  If they wish to assume contamination, we would then revise the estimate appropriately.  They can also agree to have additional testing done prior to remediation in order to get a more accurate estimate.  Most clients opt to not assume contamination and not to have additional testing (since we will do pre-job testing of non-work areas as part of the remediation process prior to performing the remediation) and then deal with the situation if something shows up in the pre-job tests.  This is gone over with the client when the reports and data are reviewed with them.  Taking the course of action that the client took is the least expensive option should the pre-jobs come back clean and no additional work is found during remediation.  But also the most subject to change.  In this client’s case there was more work to be done and it was not due to a poor inspection or trying to scam as stated by the client. 

 The client has not produced any documentation that would substantiate any claim to a refund and certainly not the entire amount of the remediation that was, in fact, performed and performed properly.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to my concern, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. Please forward the following information to the company.

 
I did not receive a copy of a report from Indoor Restore that recommended that further testing be done for the ceiling area. I simply relied on the real estate agent's first hand account of how the inspection went. So i cannot dispute their report, and I retract my request for a refund.
 
I did try to contact the company multiple times before i filed a complaint with BBB and this is something they may want to investigate internally. I sent an email to ******* **** on May 5. I also mailed a copy of that same email to ********* attention at the company's mailing address on May 5.  I also left a voicemail in their accounting department the week of May 12.  As a last resort I filed with the BBB because no one was responding.  ******* **** called me to discuss my complaint and I reforwarded him my email from May 5. The original May 5 email appeared to have been delivered successfully according to ******** email program.
 
Thank you for investigating my complaint.

4/1/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We hired Environmental Services to remediate mold in our home. The work was scheduled for November 18th and we emptied the contents of each room to prep for the remediation. It was a huge undertaking. This not only cost us money for storage of furniture and other items, but we were expecting a child, who was born on Nov 27, so there was an urgency to complete the work in a timely manner for the health and well being of our new baby. I let the two workers into our home and left for work after discussing what needed to be done per my agreement with the company. Part of the services included the following (copied/pasted from their service agreement): "All accessible surfaces (walls, floors, ceilings, ledges) in the work areas will be decontaminated (HEPA vacuumed, biocide treatments, antifungal agent wipes)." Upon returning from work that day, I thought the work was completed but we noticed there was still visible dust/debris on surfaces and ledges in the living room and bedroom closet. And I have photos to prove that these surfaces were clearly not wiped, vacuumed or decontaminated as promised. I emailed to complain, letting them know I would contact the BBB and overnight I received an email offering a $250 refund so long as I signed a 'Client Release Form' stating the following: "...I agree not to pursue any legal action towards Environmental Services or subsidiaries and/or file complaints with any professional organizations (independent, state or federal) including but not limited to the BBB, attorney general, etc.". And the refund would only be processed if I signed and returned the form.At this moment I felt as if the company was admitting fault and wanted to pay us this small amount just to shut us up. I replied to let them know that $250 was too low considering the total cost was $2239.94. We can provide you with all email correspondence and necessary photos. We are at a loss, feel taken and would love your help to rectify this situation fairly. Thank you,****** *******

Desired Settlement: Total cost was $2239.94, broken down as follows:$992.82 Bedroom 1$683.40 Baby's Bedroom$576.35 Living RoomBedroom 1 was completed to our satisfaction but the other 2 rooms were not. We're not even sure anything was done in these 2 other rooms given the most basic task, wiping down the surfaces was not even done and we have the photos to prove it and emails as back up. We asked for a 50% refund for the 2 incomplete rooms totaling $629.88. We've been completely ignored since.Please help!

Business Response: As of today's date we have not been allowed access to this site in order to substantiate the client's claims or address any project issues. We requested access so our regional inspector could confirm the client's statements. We had no idea when the client took the pictures and needed onsite confirmation before we could move forward with any appropriate resolution. When the client denied our inspector access, we asked to send back the original Project Manager and just assume that the client's statements were correct. The original Project Manager would be most familiar with the site and would be able to ensure all of the client demands were met. This too was declined by the client. We then requested to send out the Regional Senior Project Manager, and just take the client's word that something was amiss with the job. And once again, the client refused. The only thing the client wanted was money to be returned - not the problem to be resolved for the health and well-being of their new baby as the client stated. We wanted, and tried every which way we could, to solve the problem. Since all the client would accept was money, we offered what we could site unseen.

Below is a time line showing that we continue to try to resolve the issue:
11/21/13 at 10:27pm: Client sends email stating that they aren't happy with the work and threaten to contact the BBB if we don't give them a full refund for the areas they believe were not done correctly.

11/22/13 at 1:00pm: We sent out offer of $250 since client would not allow us on the site to confirm client complaints or to fix the problems. The pictures the client sent are of a single window sill and a single shelf. There is also several pictures of a doorway where the containment tape removed some paint.

12/03/13 at 10:59pm: Client responded and stated that the $250 was not enough and wanted a full refund for those areas. We continued to offer to send someone out or refund $250.

12/19/13 at 9:16am: Client responded and asked for 50% refund for those areas. Client still will not allow us to fix the problem. we must still decline and offer $250.

More emails were sent back and forth between the client and the Project Coordinator with the client wanting more money and the Project Coordinator offering $250.

01/21/14 at 5:22pm: Client requests to hear from the Project Coordinator's supervisor in order to resolve the issue.

01/22/14 at 8:58am: Client is sent an email from the Project Coordinator's supervisor stating that they were reviewing the client's allegations and supporting documents. The client was also asked if they would like to submit further documentation. The client was notified at that time they would receive a response by 4 pm on 01/24/14.

01/22/14 at 1:51pm: Client states that they don't have any further documentation than what has already been submitted.

01/24/14: All of the documentation provided by the client as well as the crew that was on site was reviewed. It was determined that the crew photos did not show any items left undone. However, it could not be determined if the ALL the shelves had been wiped down properly nor ALL windowsills since pictures of all shelves and window sills had not been taken. As such, the offer of $250 still stood should the client decide to accept it. The clients request for $629.88 was declined since the client's documentation did not show more than a single window sill nor a single shelf had been insufficiently cleaned. The client could not substantiate that "no work had been done".

Based on the documentation provided by the client, it seems that a single shelf wasn't wiped down completely along with a single windowsill. Again, this is based entirely on the client's pictures. We were never allowed to verify it. We would have preferred that the client allows us to come back and rectify the issue. The only thing we can do at this point is continue to offer $250.00.

Consumer Response:

Hello.

I am rejecting this response because the offer of $250 was sent as "hush money" stating that if we sign the document that we could NOT contact the BBB.  It felt like a bribe to shut us up and take the paltry sum and go away.  That was unacceptable to us considering the shoddy and incomplete work that was done for the price we paid, not to mention the moving and storage fees and the time and energy spent preparing for this remediation.  I sent the email with the letter offering us $250 not to complain to the BBB.

Remediation is a very exhausting and labor intensive process for the homeowner.  We had to move EVERY ITEM out of EACH ROOM and we did so in order to have the work done properly the 1st time.  Upon completion of the job, and clearance from the company, we moved EVERYTHING back into the home and while doing so took photos of the areas in question.  I have dates and can prove when these photos were taken (after the job was competed) as they are recorded on my phone the date they were taken.

Their service agreement CLEARLY states that they will wipe down all surfaces, which is the most basic part of the services they provided.  They failed to do that and I felt that if this company could not perform the most basic of tasks, wiping dust and debris from the shelves and surfaces, then what else did they not do?  Upon supposed completion of the job, when I see that even this simplest task, which I could have done with a cleaning solution and a few paper towels, was NOT done, they were in breach and violation of the service agreement. 

On top of the impact a remediation has on a household, we were also expecting a new baby, who was born on November 27, 2013, so we did not have time to allow them to come back into our home to do the work they were supposed to do the 1st time.  My argument remains the same.  Did the company really think that moving everything back out of the house, with a baby due any day, so they could come back and do the work that they were supposed to do right the 1st time, was a reasonable and viable option?  It most definitely was not and we did not pay all that money to be inconvenienced and then told that they only solution is for them to come back and do it again?!?

I have already sent all the emails, photos and correspondence which detail the history of this complaint and happy to re-submit any emails or photos needed to further prove that the company did not satisfactorily complete the job per the service agreement.  Given the amount we initially thought was fair and the offer that still stands at $250, I think a reasonable new offer of $500 would be sufficient.  We would happily accept that amount to close this case and move on with our lives.

Sincerely,

****** *******

Business Response: Indoor Restore Environmental Services is accepting Mr. and Mrs. ******’s settlement offer and refund them $500.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

****** *******

4/1/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We have mold in our house. Indoor restore gave us an estimate for $2,500. We agreed on Thursday that the company would show up Monday morning for mold remediation. The company called Friday and said they needed to reschedule for Tuesday. They volunteered a 5% discount for my troubles which I am grateful for. Keep in mind we moved out of our house already due to mold levels. Also, this company has a policy of charging customers a 50% cancellation fee and a 25% rescheduling fee. The company then called Monday at 4 pm and said they were having trouble processing my payment. I called discover credit card and they said the charge went through without problem on Friday. The company then said we needed to wait 1-2 business days for the payment problem to be resolved on their end. I called the company asking to terminate the contract so I can get another company out there ASAP to handle the problem. They said I would be charged a 50% cancellation fee ($1,187.33 just to have them NOT come out). I asked them if they would give me a 25% discount because they rescheduled last minute on me, reminding them politely that is what they would have charged me if I had to reschedule. They said no. So I am stuck with keeping them for the job and I'm at their mercy as to when they will show up. In my opinion, they have a double standard that they won't keep themselves accountable for. I would have liked them to cancel the contract or give me a 25% discount. To me that seems fair because they didn't hold up their side of the contract.

Desired Settlement: I still have not received any services almost a week later, my credit card has been charged for almost a week, and my family (wife and 2 kids under 2) are living out of a single room with a nearby family member which was supposed to be for 3 days max. We will have to get a hotel soon if they delay any longer. Either refund me my accommodation costs, terminate the contract/estimate of $2500, or give me a 25% discount and come out ASAP and fix the problem like you agreed to in the contract.

Business Response: Attached is a copy of the client's signed contract (ITEM 1). The contract clearly states on page 3 that the starting payment must be received 2 business days prior to the commencement of work. The client's payment via credit card was initiated on 01/31/14 (Friday). On the next business day, 02/03/14 (Monday), we were notified by Intuit Merchant Services that fraud was suspected on that credit card (ITEM 2) and, therefore, Intuit Merchant Services had opened a case on our behalf. We didn't initiate the case; Intuit Merchant Services thought that someone may be committing fraud against us and opened it on our behalf. We submitted all of the items the credit card company requested (copies of signed contracts, signed credit card authorizations, and even a copy of the Fraud Detection screen that showed everything provided by the client was on the up-and-up). As of today's date, that credit card payment has never been honored (ITEM 3).

 
In an effort to get the work started, we accepted another form of payment - not by credit card of course. However, after we received payment the client didn't want the original contract performed. He wanted to renegotiate the scope of work. Basically, he wanted some other type of work performed around his home that he felt was equal to the amount of the cancellation fee. We perform mold inspections and remediation, not handy-man services. Since the client no longer wants the contract to be performed the cancellation fee applies as stated in the terms and conditions (ITEM 1 Page 4).
 
I honestly don't know if the client was really attempting to commit fraud against us since he did make a starting payment that wasn't a credit card but his behavior just doesn't add up. He states that he should get a discount because we rescheduled at the last minute. We rescheduled because his starting payment wasn't honored. We sent him copies of the documents we received showing that the credit card company wasn't honoring the charge and once we got the real starting payment we kept trying to schedule the contracted work but he no longer wanted what he signed for and he didn't want to pay a cancellation fee. He said he would go to the BBB if we didn't do what he wanted and here we are.

Business Response: After investigating Mr. ******’s claim that he was offered a reduced cancellation fee of $593.66, we found that his claim was true and are honoring the offer.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9914160, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

*** ******

4/1/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company performs mold testing. I sent in samples on March 3, 2014. According to their website, turnaround is usually 3-4 days. Today is March 19, 2014 and I've not received any information from the company. I've sent them emails and left voicemails and haven't heard back. I'm worried that I've sent money to a company that isn't legitimate.I'm not sure if BBB can help me with this or not.

Desired Settlement: I would simply like to hear from the company with some sort of response.

Business Response:  Samples were received and processed on 03/20/14 and all reports have been supplied.  We do not know why her samples were so delayed in arriving. We did notice they were coming from Hawaii. When they did arrive, we did provide rush service on them without any additional cost to the client.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

****** ********

3/11/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The salesperson represented to me that all the mold in my basement would be removed, including cutting and removing wood, porous material and all item 8/10 I discovered mold in my basement. On approximately 8/14 inspector **** came out to take samples. I paid Environmental Services $295. for the samples to be analyzed by a lab they contracted as they told me the pretest was mandatory before they could give me an estimate. They told me not to disturb anything down in the basement as that could make the mold airborne. So for almost a week a wet rug remained down there creating more moisture and damaging my hardwood floors above. On 8/22 an email with an estimate invoice XXXXX and the air samples results were sent to me from *** ******** The estimate for the contract was $2946.20 plus air sampling costs. I asked for an estimate contract that didn't include the bathroom as I thought that the mold they found there was superficial mildew ( as it indeed turned out to be, per the worker the company sent to do it after I agreed to include that as part of the job). The estimate for the contract not including the bathroom was $2193.70 (same invoice number). Due to the language in the contract, I had numerous questions about what would be removed and how the job would be done. *** ******** who had emailed me the contract, answered my questions and lied to me. He represented to me that all the mold in my basement would be removed completely, as I didn't understand all the descriptions in the contract. Specifically, his crew would remove most of the materials in the dark room anything that was porous and had mold in it - the wood, cabinetry in and around the dark room, including the desk table adjacent to the room. His crew would remove all materials, including toys, boxes, everything down there would be bagged and removed since the mold could spread airborne if not removed. This is the work that other mold companies were representing needed to be done, too. He informed me that his crew would need 1- 2 days to remediate and then see if the job was done per the post-joh lab results. I signed invoice XXXXX with the bathroom part of the job on 9/10. On that same date I authorized my bank to pay the company $1500, that day as half of the payment was due on signing and the other half due on completion. On Saturday 9/14 the crew which consisted of 1 person came out and spent half a day and did barely anything. They took half the payment up front when the contract was signed, and the other half was automatically drawn from my bank 9/16 without my approval on the morning after his "crew" came out to the house. *** ******* called me on 9/17 to say his "crew" said the project was bigger than first thought so they would send me a supplemental contract if their work passed *** results. I informed *** ******* that he would not rob me, that he would go out and finish the job at my house that they contracted for. Late that afternoon, after work hours, I received an email from Mr. ******* saying they passed lab results, and he attached a supplemental work order, invoice XXXXX. I went into my sealed basement with my sister in law and saw everything remaining. The worker had torn out just part of the inside piece of the small wall of the dark room. Mold was left all over in that room and the rest of the basement. The worker painted over other mold. I had to contract with another air quality company and another mold remediation company to remove the mold completely. I took pictures of what Environmental Services did and did not do. This company robbed me of $2946.20 for the remediation and $275. for the clearance test that was falsified as the air quality company hired by Environmental Services characterized the post job report as a pre-job report, indicating that there was still mold. Another company I hired after agreed, and found lots of mold spores. I hired another company and another air company to get the job. *** ******* verbally assured me that the initial contract would remove the mold. That is why I hired a mold company, to remove it all. I had to hire another company

Desired Settlement: I would like a full refund from this company that robbed me. I would like the BBB to reflect this complaint so that consumers are warned. I want an apology from *** ******* to accompany the refund. I would like to see *** ******* and his company sued or prosecuted for fraud.

Business Response: Attached is a copy of estimate  #***** signed by the client, *** ******, on 9/10/13. The client states in her complaint that she didn't understand the contract and had lots of questions. She also states that she was assured verbally by *** *******, our Project Coordinator that all of the mold would be removed along with all of the contaminated belongings. Unfortunately, there is nothing to document the verbal transactions she had with our Project Coordinator and none of it is in the notes on the account. The only thing we have is the signed estimate to attest to our agreement.

 
That agreement states that we will perform specific work in specific area of the Basement and the Hallway Bathroom at the back of her home. We even specified the maximum amount of building material that we would remove that was included in the contract. Unfortunately, it seems that the client misunderstood the scope of work though we walked her through it.
 
As for the contaminated belongings, we can remove those items but there's an additional fee for it. Our fee does include the removal, bagging, and disposal of the building material we remove but not personal belongings. One would be surprised at what clients want to keep even when you explain that those items may contaminate their home once again. The only thing I can think of where she thought personal belongings would be removed is the third line of the second page of the contract which reads "All debris will  be disposed of properly...". That sentence is connected to one in regards to building materials being bagged etc but she may have considered her belongings to be "debris". Outside of that I cannot find anything in the contract that would lead anyone to believe that it included removing all of the stuff (and it was really packed) in her basement/dark room.
 
The client also states that we removed funds without her permission from her bank account. The client signed a credit card authorization slip and gave us a credit card number. The credit card authorization form allowed us to charge her card for both the starting fee and the completion fee. I'm not sure why she would believe we could just pull money out of her account.
 
I honestly cannot tell if the client truly didn't understand the contract and the credit card authorization form or was just very upset because we performed the scope of work but was unwilling to do the additional work for free.
 
No one lied to the client. Everything was outlined in the contract, the client signed the contract and the contract was completed. We did find additional mold outside of our scope of work, but we are not willing to do work for free which is what the client wanted.

1/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Made deposit($3609)to Environmental Svcs.for mold removal.Agreed dates twice,they could not honor and agreed to refund deposit in July.No refund yet. I had contracted Environmental Services for mold removal at my home in Jnue of 2013. When the date for which the work was scheduled approached, I called to confirm and was told that thier crews were extended on another job and would not be available. A new tentative date was set, and when I called to confirm that date, was told it would be at least 60 days before they could do the work. At that point I indicated to them that given the urgency of the mold situation, I would have to make other arrangements, and it was AGREED that the deposit I has made ($3609.20) would be returned, This occured on July 9 (see attached letter). When the deposit had not been returned by the end of July I began a series of calls to determine the status. The parties I spoke to consistently referred to elsewhere in the company - until one finally referred me to the payments department. By this time, we are well into September. I repeatedly called this department (8-10 times) and NONE of my calls were ever returned. Finally, on September 24th, I was told via the attached email that the check had been sent in July, and had never been cashed (or recieved for that matter), and that a new check would be sent out on September 27th. As of today, October 28th, I have still not recieved any check, nor have I gotten any response to the follow-up calls and emails I've sent. The attached materials document my efforts to contact them and resolve the issue; thier one response indicating that the check would be forthcoming, and the original check, invoice, and agreement. This is not an insignificant sum of money for me and I need to resolve this as soon as possible.

Desired Settlement: I made a good faith deposit for work they never did - because of issues on thier end re' availability of resources. In trying to resolve this they have never once returned a call, and other than 1 email, communicated with me on this matter. I want my money - $3609.20 - back immediately - preferably via a wire transafer to my account.

7/8/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Did not complete mold remediation as contracted. When I called to inform them that the work was not done properly, I was given excuses why not. I had hired them to take care of a mold problem in my house that was built in 1941. These people came and did the demolition work without a license. The walls most likely has lead in them and they did not do proper testing before tearing them down. I have found that it was not necessary to cut the walls but just to wipe it with chemicals. The company had charged me over $4,000 for a 4 hour job. I was informed that it was to be a full day job until 8:00pm if necessary and they would return the next day to complete everything. The contractors were in a hurry to leave because they didn't want to hit the rush hour traffic going back to their area. They had damaged my house and didn't take all the contaminated debris away as they had agreed to. They did not clean the infected areas with chemical as agreed. They said I must wait 5-7 days for testing results to come back from the lab. They did the testing on the same day that they had treated the walls. When I called to complain, they email me the test results that I had clearance the following day. This does not sound right, didn't give it a chance for the house to be treated before testing. They said they would get back to me and they never did. They had asked me to send them pictures of the work that was not done and I did. They just ignored it. I have all the documents and pictures. I also found that it was illegal for them to charge my credit card online, which they did.

Desired Settlement: I want them to refund my total of $4,412.90, plus my cost in repairing the damages they did on the property.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
The client states that we did not complete the mold remediation as contracted. I have induded a copy of the contract (Item 1) and pictures of the completed work areas (Item 2). The pictures clearly show that the.work as described in the contrad has been completed. We performed mold remediation at the clients request in those areas where laboratory results confirmed the presence of mold. The mold remediation included the removal of drywall/plaster among other construction material. However, this work is considered to be emergency janitorial services and not demolition as the client suggests. Ihe client states that we did not test for lead prior to removing the various building material. None of the areas where the building materials were removed were in excess of 100 square feet. Therefore, no lead testing was warranted. The client claims that the walls just needed to be wiped down with chemicals. I am assuming she is talking about the biodde solutions we use There are cases in which all that is needed is decontamination. Those cases are where the laboratory finds mold spores but no active mold growth. That was not the case in this situation. 1 have included a copy of the mold inspedion report from April 1, 2013 (Item 3). The inspector reported that there was visible suspect mold (later confirmed as mold by the laboratory) in all of the areas where the building materials where removed as per protocol. Although the client claims that no chemical was used, the pictures of the completed remediation dearly show that it was. There's no way the encapsulate (the white stuff you see in the photos)(Ifem 2) will not stick to the remaining building maten`als if any dust or debris is left behind. The site must be free of debris which means IfEPA vacuuming and biodde wipes must be used. The client claims that not enough time was spent at the site. The contract is not a time and materials contracf, it is priced to perform specific tasks (Item 1). Once those tasks are completed, the remediation crew is free to leave. Since we never know what we will find once the removal process begins, we do attempt to leave some leeway in regards to time. We have found it to be much better to overestimate the needed time`than to underestimate. But again, our estimate pricing is not a time and materials contract. The client doesn't believe that enough time had elapsed for the remediation process to work Prior w the taking of clearance samples. Once the remediation process is complete, clearance testing can commence There's no reason to wait. Either the work area is clean or it's not. If the other areas in the house test clean and our work areas do not, then the remediation was not success and my staff must continue. That's why It's lfnPeratlve for tfrfl Client to wait until we have laboratory confirmation Cs-7 days) that the remediation was successful; we don't want them cross- contaminating areas. I have provided copies of the laboratory reports showing the drastic difference between the base line sample and those taken in the work areas (item 4) . Based on the laboratory results, the work areas were dean'

6/10/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Environmental Services failed to honor their "10 year warranty". I used Environmental Services in May - June 2012. I had a mold issue in my home that they discovered and remediated. My home got a certificate of clearance that showed "All remediation work receives a 10 year warranty from reoccurring mold growth. Any future mold growth reoccurring in the work areas as described in the contract will have remediation completed at no charge to the client. All time, materials, equipment, labor, and clearance testing will be the responsibility of Environmental Services, Inc." I have a severe reaction to mold and get very sick if I am in contact with it. In early 2013, I started to feel sick so I called Environmental services to inquire about getting another test done on my home. I scheduled an appointment, had my home retested, and got results back that show there is mold existing in one of the same rooms Environmental Services "cleared" just 9 months earlier. I received the report showing the mold growth along with an estimate showing they wanted to charge me in full for having the room remediated from mold. I received the mold report and estimate for work via email on 4/2/13 at 12:17pm. Within an hour of receiving that email, I called the company to inquire about the charge for the room already treated and "Cleared" by their company. I also responded to the email asking to get a call back because I had some questions. I NEVER got a call back, nor an email. I followed up with phone calls to Environmental Services every day last week. On 4/3/13 I got **** who stated ***** was not in yet (the call was placed around 10:30am) and she would leave her a message for me. on 4/4/13 I spoke to **** again. I told her I had not heard back and I would like to speak to *****'s manager. **** told me that "***** didn't have a boss, she was the manager." I asked if there was anyone else who could help and **** transferred me to *******. ******* stated that I really have to talk to ***** about this, but she wasn't in her office. He said he would leave her a message to call me back. On 4/5/13 I spoke to *********. She stated that ***** was in a meeting. ********* messaged ***** while I was on the phone with her and told me that ***** would call me back later. It seemed like everyone was "covering" for *****, the one and only individual I had to speak to regarding the warranty according to each person I spoke to. Finally on 4/8/13 I called I asked to speak with any manager. I was told that no mangers were in the building and ****, who answered the call, would send them a message and have them call me back. I was very leery of getting off the phone without speaking with anyone but was assured that the managers get their messages on their phones so they will reply quickly. Needless to say, NO ONE ever called me back. I had to pay $265.50 to have the testing done which they will credit back when being billed on the work they suggested. I now am out that money because I have to find another company to come in and complete the work to get the mold removed. I have been living in my home for 10 days now knowing there is mold waiting for Environmental Services to get back to me. My health is deteriorating so I do not have time to waste. Overall, I feel that this company is a complete scam. I have spent upwards of $6,000 over the last year with them and this is how I am treated. Had this occurred without a health problem associated I would still be shocked at the treatment I received, or should I say lack of treatment.

Desired Settlement: I paid $265.50 to Environmental Services for mold testing on my home on 3/22/13. They found mold so I was supposed to get a credit for $265.50 on the work they suggested doing to clear the mold. Since I never heard back from them, the work didn't get done. I now have to hire another company to come in and get rid of the mold. Since I am not getting my warranty honored and I am unable to schedule work to be done by them (not that I even trust them to do the work anymore) I feel I should be reimbursed for the testing since I now have to pay a new company to test and treat.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Company states: Reviewing that above case, I have come to realize that there are several issues involved. 1. Client calls not being returned by our Warranty Department. I am truly aghast that the client calls were not returned by the Warranty Department. The information the client received in regards to who they needed to speak to in reference to a warranty claim was correct and those employees did follow protocol in regards to forwarding the information to the Warranty Department. We are now putting together a team to see why our protocol failed in an effort to ensure this doesn't happen in the future. 2. Client expectation that mold found anywhere in her home would be remediated under warranty. I reviewed the previous remediation work (Item 1 and Item 2) against the current remediation work (Item 3) and was able to determine that the remediation on the estimate in question is not a warranty work issue. Remediation has never been performed by us in the HVAC air return area. As such it is not a warranty item as stated by the client. The decontamination of the family room is also not a warranty item. The lab found Stachybotrys in the family room air sample taken on 03/22/2013 (Item 6). I looked back at all the lab results for the family room samples in 2012 (Item 4 and Item 5). Neither one of them showed this mold type. Stachybotrys is a moisture indicator mold and is not usually found in a normal outside setting. This means that it was somehow brought into the home AFTER we performed decontamination. It also means that there is or was a moisture issue in the room. Moisture MUST be present for this mold to grow. Additionally, as stated in the warranty, all moisture issues must be reported to Environmental Services within 48 hours of occurrence. No such notification was given. Unfortunately, had the client calls been returned, all of this could have been relayed to her and we would not be where we are now. If Ms. ******* would like to proceed with the remediation work she can contact me directly and I will make sure it happens and follow the progress. It is not, however, warranty work.

4/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We find that the Company Environmental Services did not adequately consider our request for a partial refund for work never done. On 1/2/13 we received an e-mail from Frank Earls in the Client Resolution Department responding to our request for a partial refund of our deposit for work never done. He stated there would be no reduction in our cancellation fee in the amount of $2,468.10 Previously, on 12/3/12 our tenant met an Inspector from the Environmental Services company on site to do a mold inspection on their mobile office. Owner was not present as the meeting happened earlier than Owner was advised. Tenant paid for inspection. We received the inspection Reports and spoke with Project Manager Greg Morris about the reports.We were advised to do remediation work to address the mold problem. The remediation work discussion, in writing and reports did not speak to the need to examine the structure beyond what the inspector did to determine if there were other issues related to mold; i.e. water damage in exterior or floor boards. Having no experience with mold, we did not know we had to consider the entire building. We followed the recommendation of the company. To schedule work, we were required to make a 50% starting payment in the amount of $2,468.10. We signed a contract for work and paid the required deposit of $2,468.10 on our company credit card using a credit card authorization form on 12/13/12. After a couple of scheduling e-mails, we set a start date or 12/20/12. The day before the remediation work was to begin, we began to empty mobile office of furniture so work cold begin the next day and found mold in the flooring. We then looked at the siding and found more water damage. We determined the mobile office was unsalvageable. I contacted the company on 12/20/12 to cancel. I inquired to Project Manager about a refund and was told he would look in to a possible refund. He followed up that he was not able to secure any refund, but we could submit a Customer Resolution Form. I filled out and submitted the form on 12/27/12. Contrary to the form, I did not hear back from the company within 2 business days. On 1/2/13, I followed up with the company several times and finally received an e-mail stating there would be no refund. There was no discussion from the company and no attempt to resolve our issue. The basis for our request included the fact we received no advice that there could be mold in other parts of the office contributing to the mold the inspector found. As we did not order inspection and were not on site to meet inspector (inspector was early and finished before owner arrived for scheduled time), we had no direct involvement with the inspection. We based our decision to schedule the work on the report recommendations and the project manager's comments. Project Manager was never on site and we never personally spoke with the inspector. The contract says, "A 50% cancellation fee may be charged if the job is cancelled after being signed or a payment made." The word "may" implies there is room for resolution on this point and the company in our view, made no attempt to work with us on a significant deposit that we were required to pay in order to schedule work. The invoice # on the work order is 25579.We are willing and to pay $500.00 as a cancellation fee, but find the entire 50% deposit grossly excessive under the circumstances.

Desired Settlement: We are seeking a refund of $!,968.10 on the deposit of $2,468.10 that we paid by company credit card for work that was never done.

12/4/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was charged an excessive cancelation fee of 50% with no work done, the other 50% was not returned to my credit card in the following two weeks. I contracted Environmental Services to inspect my property for mold around the first of August and paid them $350 dollars for that service. Once the report came back in an email dated 8/30/12, my wife contacted the company for an interpretation because the report was not done in layman vocabulary. The interpreter, ***** ****** explained to my wife that there was indeed mold present in the home and what they would do to remove it. My wife took from the conversation that the mold was a serious type and had to be removed right away, paid the full amount on a our credit card with a rush to get more testing done. Later that day in further conversation with my wife and research I discovered not it was not an emergency situation, the mold was not of the serious type. I had my wife call ***** to see if we could cancel and she stated that we would have to pay 50% of the total amount to do the work, which was a cost of $1,091.85, I believe that this is an excessive amount and the usual cancelation fee for contractors is 10%. I decided to cancel the work anyways. However, they did not return the other 50% to my credit card even though we contacted them 10 days later on 8/30/12 inquiring about the return and they said it should be there within a few business days a week later it still was not returned. At that point I disputed the charges with my credit card company because I was worried that they were never going to return my money, especially when no work was performed and we paid for the testing.

Desired Settlement: I am requesting my money back I believe that they mis-informed my wife making the matter seem more then it was, and it was very unprofessional for them not to give me my refund in a timely manner, which makes me wonder if there might be fraudulent activity happening.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
November 19, 2012 I have enclosed the following items: 1. Signed Estimate #XXXXX which discloses cancellation fee on page 4. 2. Email sent from ****** on 08/23/12 expressing knowledge of cancellation policy. 3. Authorization from ****** to charge the credit card for the full amount of the transaction. 4. My request to Merchant services to return 50% of $2,283.70 ($1141.85) once it was discovered through the chargeback process that the credit had not gone through. 5. Copy of credit to return the overpayment to ****** when Merchant Services returned the full amount of $2,283.70 to our account instead of $1,141.85 as requested. 6. Mold Inspection Report (6 pages of 29) showing that the information ****** states was not written in plain English, was, in fact written in plain English and even had pictures, in addition to a live report interpretation and Q&A session with ****** ******. In ****** statement, he claims that he was charged an excessive cancellation fee. That fee was fully disclosed (Item 1) to ****** at the time the contract was signed and payment rendered and ****** was aware of the cancellation fee per the email sent from him/her to ****** ****** acknowledging it (ITEM 2). If the ******'s objected to any of the terms and conditions, they were under no obligation to have the remediation work performed by Environmental Services. We provide a written estimate because that is what clients always seem to want even if they plan to do the work themselves. Their statement that the balance of the funds paid in excess of the cancellation fee where not returned to them timely is correct. We use QuickBooks with an integrated credit card processing system. Something happened to where QuickBooks showed the amount was returned on the credit card but the transaction was never processed by Merchant Services. Unfortunately, this wasn't discovered until ****** issued a chargeback. As shown in the letter to Merchant Services (ITEM 4), we acknowledged that ****** should receive 50% of the funds back and asked them to do so. Because a chargeback had been issued, we couldn't do it ourselves. However, once the full amount was returned to us, a credit was immediately issued and verified (ITEM 5) I've also included 6 pages of the Mold Inspection report (ITEM 6) that was provided to ****** in addition to 1-hour consultation time. As you can see, it is pretty plain and simple and even includes pictures. The lab results can be a little difficult to understand, be we even include a glossary. All of this plus being able to talk to Ms. ****** should have made it very understandable. As far as making it "seem more than it was" we can only speak to the inspector's observations, pictures, notes, and lab results. We don't make it more or less than it is. We just speak to the facts. Additionally, these concerns were never voiced by ****** when they cancelled the remediation as evidenced by their cancellation email (ITEM 2). As far as we knew, they just needed to wait until their tenants moved out. As for what the cancellation fee is in the construction arena, I have no idea. We are considered to be emergency janitorial services and don't fall under the construction umbrella. Regardless, ****** agreed to the terms and conditions when they signed the estimate and authorized the credit card payment. Please feel free to contact me with any questions or concerns. Thank you, ***** ***** Environmental Services ** There are a couple of things that I couldn't send in this email because I can't shrink them. Item 3 wasn't included because it has information that must be confidential. It's included in the original response because I could black the info out. Item 6 wasn't included because there's just no way for me to make it any smaller.

10/1/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They did everything except what I needed the to do. They wewre hired to check out an odor in the bathroom, and suggested made suggestions about fixing eveyuthing but what was needed.

Desired Settlement: They should return at least the money for the extra tests that were not performed to ascertain the problem they were hired to fix.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Company states : Re: Mold Inspection on July 28, 2012 and subsequent report Enclosed you will find signed Invoice #XXXXX (ITEM 1) for service performed, 13 pages of the 30 page report (ITEM 2) supplied as outlined in the invoice, the lab report from ****** ************ (ITEM 3) showing all 6 tests were, in fact, taken and analyzed, and copy of page 1 of Estimate #XXXXX (ITEM 4) outlining what needs to be done to fix the problems at the location. We supply an estimate because that's typically the next question after discussing the findings. However, we always stress that the client is under absolutely no requirement to hire us and we will discuss the estimates and findings with anyone of their choice. Only July 28, 2012, we performed a mold inspection at Mr. ******'s property located at 117 Pierpont Place, Staten Island, NY. We took a total of 6 samples while we were on site as stated on the signed invoice (ITEM 1). He paid for this inspection by credit card. When we received the lab results (ITEM 2) we prepared a 30 page full report (ITEM 3) as outlined in the invoice (ITEM 1) along with Estimate #XXXXX (ITEM 4) outlining what we believe needs to be fixed and how to fix it. All documentation was sent to him on August 7, 2012. A few days later a report interpretation was performed over the phone to explain what was in the report and how each item was addressed in the estimate as well as to answer any questions the client may have. As stated previously, we supply the estimate because that's what clients ask for right after we explain the findings. Mr. ****** stated in his complaint that we didn't make any suggestions about fixing the odor in his bathroom. However, both his Inspector and his Project Coordinator made several suggestions. During the time of inspection, there was no elevated moisture per meter readings, staining or any abnormal smell in the bathroom. As such, the inspector suspected that the odor may be coming from somewhere else; other areas that did exhibit these tell-tell signs or possible mold growth within the wall cavity of the bathroom itself. The inspector suggested an inner-wall sample but the client declined. Mr. ****** was also told that the smell could be coming from the plumbing due to drain flaps not working properly in which place he would need to contact a plumber as this is not one of the items we can test for. Once the Project Coordinator performed the report interpretation, she recommended air scrubbing (Work Area 3 on the Estimate) when the air sample taken in his bathroom came back with such a large amount of background debris that the slide could not be read. He has really poor air quality in that room. Keep in mind that background debris cannot be seen with the naked eye. There's no way to tell prior to the sample being analyzed. She, too, suggested that he have inner-wall samples taken to see if mold was growing on the inside of the wall cavity. Again, this is not something that would be visible until the wall was actually opened up. He wasn't willing to do that since we would charge him for the test. Mr. ****** also stated that we should return money for the extra tests that were not performed. As shown on the lab report from ****** ************ (ITEM 3), all 6 samples were analyzed. I don't have any idea which test he thinks we didn't perform. We've done everything we can for Mr. ****** to help locate the odor issue in his bathroom. As the report demonstrates, Mr. ****** has many issues at his property caused by water leaks, water intrusion, mold and so on. Any and all of these issues may be causing an odor in his bathroom. As such, we recommended that those possible sources be remedied. We also made recommendations as to other possible source which we could not test for. Nowhere did we say that we would provide an unlimited number of tests for an indeterminable amount of time in order to find where the odor is coming from. We provided everything we said we would utilizing our expert knowledge and experience. Unfortunately, his issue needs further investigation and he refuses to pay for it. Please feel free to contact me with any further questions or concerns. Frank Earls

5/29/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
4/9/2012 Problems with Product/Service