BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Northeast California

BBB Accredited Business since

Apptology LLC

Phone: (877) 990-2777 2260 East Bidwell Street #1243, Folsom, CA 95630 http://www.apptology.com View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Apptology LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Apptology LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Apptology LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: June 22, 2010 Business started: 04/01/2006 Business started locally: 04/01/2006 Business incorporated: 04/06/2010 in CA
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Rich Foreman, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Rich Foreman, Owner
Business Category

Mobile Apps Computers Hardware, Software & Services Computer Software Publishers & Developers Telecommunication Equipment & Systems Service & Repair

Products & Services

Apptology LLC creates and customizes apps for iPhone, iPad, Android and Blackberries.


Additional Locations

  • 2260 East Bidwell Street #1243

    Folsom, CA 95630 (877) 990-2777

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

3/28/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Misrepresented ability to produce and deliver In May 2012 I hired Apptology (AKA Appcellence LLC) to produce and deliver an App by August 2012. They were unable to deliver the App and as such our firm lost thousands of dollars in Marketing as well as income. We subsequently agreed to allow them to another opportunity continue, as we were already committed. The result was 5 more failures to deliver, with the last being Feb 25, 2013. Note the date of this email in response to my needing an update: From: **** ***** <*****@apptology.basecamphq.com> Date: Mon, Feb 25, 2013 at 8:17 AM Subject: Re: SporeRx iPhone App Need NEW BUILD! To: ****** ****** <*****@gmail.com> **** ***** commented on the message: Need NEW BUILD! ******, ****** just got back to office today and has been working on the app while Ankit has been working on the backend. I will ask them to post a response soon. **** Further evidence of the project not being completed! Which ultimately ended in our ending the relation after they failed for the last time to deliver the App in time for our industry's top conference. What finally broke our relationship was two issues: 1. The revelation that Apptology/Appcellence had mislead us with their development abilities, such that upon review by their CTO (Mr **** ***** in India) during one of our conference calls, we (he and myself) noticed that his "programmers" lied to him and had failed to disclose to him and I that they were using our server here in the USA to "display" data on the App. This was contrary to the agreed ability of the App to function independent from a Internet Connection. Mr. ***** placed the call on MUTE after addressing his team in a LOUD fashion. 2. Their continued inability to deliver as agreed a final product. During our last teleconference with the CEO, CTO, and our project manager ******** *********, both myself and our CTO Mr *** ******* noted that they continued to lie about their ability to deliver as promised as well as the method in with the App was being developed. I reached out to Mr ****** to inquire as to his desire to "resolve" this issue and was met with an email stating that he was not. Apptology/Appcellence has lied to our firm and manipulated us into believing that they were capable of providing the service for which they had been contracted. Further, as opposed to their beginning communications which were by Mr ****** and Mr *****, they failed to provide an interpreter after dropping us off to a Indian Programmer which further complicated our relationship, and was not whom we perceived would be the developer as we were made to believe that Mr ***** would be handling the programming. Apptology/Appcellence preyed on our lack of knowledge related to the programming functions of the IPhone, as well as our urgent need of product...we have tried our best to work with them, even to the point that members of their staff had hinted to the pending demise of the project due to their limitations. We humbly ask for the assistance of the BBB in helping us resolve this matter.

Desired Settlement: Refund, or release of the Binary Code through Build 3.3

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
The value of the contract with the client is $30,000 of which the client only has paid only $7500. The customer unilaterally pulled away breached the contract which we consider about 98% complete. Our estimated development cost that we have put into this project is about $12,000. I have told the client that I have been advised by our legal counsel to cease communication with the client as we determine our legal options. I have told them that I will present them with several options on March 11th.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) First let me begin by stating that I am personally offended and hurt by Mr. ******'s desire to reveal my personal health matters in a Public forum. I consider this TOTALLY unprofessional and it shows his desperate attempt to hide his failed ability to perform as agreed - ONCE AGAIN! I will only say this, while it is true that I have unfortunately been diagnosed with Leukemia and my family and I have had to battle this sad disease, my Partner/CTO did not and remained available to the Apptology/Appcellence team. That being said, we are his CLIENT NOT HIS TEAM...we did not hire Apptology/Appcellence so that we could program the App. but did so in good faith believing Mr. ****** that Apptology/Appcellence would be able to deliver as contracted. Mr. ******, in revealing my disease, failed to mention that I was asked multiple times, while I was in the hospital undergoing Chemotherapy Induction, to be on multiple calls with his programming team in India from Midnight EST to sometimes 2AM EST. This despite not ONE of his USA teams members were present to provide "clear language translation" of his India programming team, making the situation even more frustrating. Let's address the "time period". Even if Mr. ****** was correct about timelines, he fails again to see his failure to deliver. We signed the agreement in June X XXXX for an agreed delivery July 11, 2012 (37 days)...how is it that, even by his own admission, we restarted in October 2012 and as of Feb 25, 2013 (over 120 days) his programming team had still not managed to provide a completed app. This is simply a smoke screen to hide Apptology/Appcellence inability to deliver! As you can further see in his 3/21/2013 response statement, he stated "We have about a week's worth of development" immediately followed by "We have offered to complete the project in a month's time period.", this is the same bait and switch that we have dealt with from Mr. ****** and his team in India, only to time after time be told that they "need another month, week,..."! In addressing Mr ******'s own statement that, "I told client we couldn't start until we received the second milestone payment. I wasn't told that there was a deadline that he wanted to meet. It was two weeks before client actually sent payment." let me point out: 1. Mr. ****** did ask for additional funds. Not as he stated that it was because they had reached a 2nd Milestone, but because he told me that he "had miscalculated his costs" and "was in need of funds to motivate his partner in India". Besides, he said that it would be a "show of good faith" by our firm! 2. Payment for the 2nd Milestone was to be once there was a "Beta SDK for FIELD TESTING"...to date this has not been achieved! His team's constant inability to program as stated, his inability to meet agreed milestones, his inability to deliver on time, his nonfactual statements, and his desire to hide behind his disconnect from his team, is why we have lost all respect for Mr. ****** and Apptology/Appcellence's ability to perform as contracted. We again humbly ask that BBB assist us bringing this nightmare to an end. We again ask that Mr. ****** refund 100% of the monies paid to him, or provide the source code through build 3.3.

Business' Final Response
We estimate that we have lost over $5 K in development time over the initial deposit that client has provided. There is still $23 K in the contract that the client still owes us for this contract. We did offer client the source code if he just pays for cost of development and he refuses. In my conversation with client on 3/22/13, we agreed to walk away from the project and just accept our mutual loses.

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

1