Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since


Phone: (877) 990-2777 Fax: (888) 600-0409 2260 East Bidwell Street #1243, Folsom, CA 95630 View Additional Email Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Apptology meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Apptology include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Apptology
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 22, 2010 Business started: 04/01/2006 in CA Business started locally: 04/01/2006 Business incorporated 04/06/2010 in CA
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Rich Foreman, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Rich Foreman, Owner
Business Category

Mobile Apps Computers Hardware, Software & Services Computer Software Publishers & Developers Telecommunication Equipment & Systems Service & Repair

Alternate Business Names
Appcellence LLC
Products & Services

Apptology LLC creates and customizes apps for iPhone, iPad, Android and Blackberries.

Additional Locations

  • 2260 East Bidwell Street #1243

    Folsom, CA 95630 (877) 990-2777


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/28/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Misrepresented ability to produce and deliver In May 2012 I hired Apptology (AKA Appcellence LLC) to produce and deliver an App by August 2012. They were unable to deliver the App and as such our firm lost thousands of dollars in Marketing as well as income. We subsequently agreed to allow them to another opportunity continue, as we were already committed. The result was 5 more failures to deliver, with the last being Feb 25, 2013. Note the date of this email in response to my needing an update: From: **** ***** <*****> Date: Mon, Feb 25, 2013 at 8:17 AM Subject: Re: SporeRx iPhone App Need NEW BUILD! To: ****** ****** <*****> **** ***** commented on the message: Need NEW BUILD! ******, ****** just got back to office today and has been working on the app while Ankit has been working on the backend. I will ask them to post a response soon. **** Further evidence of the project not being completed! Which ultimately ended in our ending the relation after they failed for the last time to deliver the App in time for our industry's top conference. What finally broke our relationship was two issues: 1. The revelation that Apptology/Appcellence had mislead us with their development abilities, such that upon review by their CTO (Mr **** ***** in India) during one of our conference calls, we (he and myself) noticed that his "programmers" lied to him and had failed to disclose to him and I that they were using our server here in the USA to "display" data on the App. This was contrary to the agreed ability of the App to function independent from a Internet Connection. Mr. ***** placed the call on MUTE after addressing his team in a LOUD fashion. 2. Their continued inability to deliver as agreed a final product. During our last teleconference with the CEO, CTO, and our project manager ******** *********, both myself and our CTO Mr *** ******* noted that they continued to lie about their ability to deliver as promised as well as the method in with the App was being developed. I reached out to Mr ****** to inquire as to his desire to "resolve" this issue and was met with an email stating that he was not. Apptology/Appcellence has lied to our firm and manipulated us into believing that they were capable of providing the service for which they had been contracted. Further, as opposed to their beginning communications which were by Mr ****** and Mr *****, they failed to provide an interpreter after dropping us off to a Indian Programmer which further complicated our relationship, and was not whom we perceived would be the developer as we were made to believe that Mr ***** would be handling the programming. Apptology/Appcellence preyed on our lack of knowledge related to the programming functions of the IPhone, as well as our urgent need of product...we have tried our best to work with them, even to the point that members of their staff had hinted to the pending demise of the project due to their limitations. We humbly ask for the assistance of the BBB in helping us resolve this matter.

Desired Settlement: Refund, or release of the Binary Code through Build 3.3

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
The value of the contract with the client is $30,000 of which the client only has paid only $7500. The customer unilaterally pulled away breached the contract which we consider about 98% complete. Our estimated development cost that we have put into this project is about $12,000. I have told the client that I have been advised by our legal counsel to cease communication with the client as we determine our legal options. I have told them that I will present them with several options on March 11th.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) First let me begin by stating that I am personally offended and hurt by Mr. ******'s desire to reveal my personal health matters in a Public forum. I consider this TOTALLY unprofessional and it shows his desperate attempt to hide his failed ability to perform as agreed - ONCE AGAIN! I will only say this, while it is true that I have unfortunately been diagnosed with Leukemia and my family and I have had to battle this sad disease, my Partner/CTO did not and remained available to the Apptology/Appcellence team. That being said, we are his CLIENT NOT HIS TEAM...we did not hire Apptology/Appcellence so that we could program the App. but did so in good faith believing Mr. ****** that Apptology/Appcellence would be able to deliver as contracted. Mr. ******, in revealing my disease, failed to mention that I was asked multiple times, while I was in the hospital undergoing Chemotherapy Induction, to be on multiple calls with his programming team in India from Midnight EST to sometimes 2AM EST. This despite not ONE of his USA teams members were present to provide "clear language translation" of his India programming team, making the situation even more frustrating. Let's address the "time period". Even if Mr. ****** was correct about timelines, he fails again to see his failure to deliver. We signed the agreement in June X XXXX for an agreed delivery July 11, 2012 (37 days) is it that, even by his own admission, we restarted in October 2012 and as of Feb 25, 2013 (over 120 days) his programming team had still not managed to provide a completed app. This is simply a smoke screen to hide Apptology/Appcellence inability to deliver! As you can further see in his 3/21/2013 response statement, he stated "We have about a week's worth of development" immediately followed by "We have offered to complete the project in a month's time period.", this is the same bait and switch that we have dealt with from Mr. ****** and his team in India, only to time after time be told that they "need another month, week,..."! In addressing Mr ******'s own statement that, "I told client we couldn't start until we received the second milestone payment. I wasn't told that there was a deadline that he wanted to meet. It was two weeks before client actually sent payment." let me point out: 1. Mr. ****** did ask for additional funds. Not as he stated that it was because they had reached a 2nd Milestone, but because he told me that he "had miscalculated his costs" and "was in need of funds to motivate his partner in India". Besides, he said that it would be a "show of good faith" by our firm! 2. Payment for the 2nd Milestone was to be once there was a "Beta SDK for FIELD TESTING" date this has not been achieved! His team's constant inability to program as stated, his inability to meet agreed milestones, his inability to deliver on time, his nonfactual statements, and his desire to hide behind his disconnect from his team, is why we have lost all respect for Mr. ****** and Apptology/Appcellence's ability to perform as contracted. We again humbly ask that BBB assist us bringing this nightmare to an end. We again ask that Mr. ****** refund 100% of the monies paid to him, or provide the source code through build 3.3.

Business' Final Response
We estimate that we have lost over $5 K in development time over the initial deposit that client has provided. There is still $23 K in the contract that the client still owes us for this contract. We did offer client the source code if he just pays for cost of development and he refuses. In my conversation with client on 3/22/13, we agreed to walk away from the project and just accept our mutual loses.