Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Creson's Mattress Gallery

Phone: (530) 229-9371 2355 Athens Ave, Redding, CA 96001 http://www.cresonsmattress.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

We are a family owned and operated business, our mission statement is to improve your quality of life one day at a time thru quality sleep.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Creson's Mattress Gallery meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Creson's Mattress Gallery include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Creson's Mattress Gallery
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 29, 1999 Business started: 04/01/1994 in CA Business started locally: 04/01/1994 Business incorporated 04/27/2010 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Bureau of Home Furnishings and Thermal Insulation
4244 S Market Ct Ste D, Sacramento CA 95834
Phone Number: (916) 999-2041
homeproducts@dca.ca.gov
The number is 158694.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Steven Drewek, Vice President Mrs. Linda Drewek, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Steven Drewek, Vice President
Business Category

Mattresses Bedding Beds - Retail

Hours of Operation
M: 9:00 AM - 6:00 AM
T: 9:00 AM - 6:00 AM
W: 9:00 AM - 6:00 AM
Th: 9:00 AM - 6:00 AM
F: 9:00 AM - 6:00 AM
S: 9:00 AM - 6:00 AM
Su: 9:00 AM - 6:00 AM
Refund and Exchange Policy
We have a Sixty night comfort guarantee which allows you to buy with confidence knowing if you need firmer or softer we are here to help you find that.
Alternate Business Names
Cresons Furniture Mattress Center Drewek Inc.
Products & Services

We carry many different styles of mattresses which include innerspring, latex, memory foam and Gel. All of which can be an adjustable bed.


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Creson's Mattress Gallery has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/5/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a mattress from Cresons Mattress in November of 2011. (Not sure exact date, but definitely in November 2011) It came with a 10 year warranty. Shortly after I purchased the mattress, about a month, I informed the owner that the mattress was breaking down. He came out and put blankets under the mattress. He said I couldn't return the mattress because I needed to return it within two weeks of purchase. He said I would get used to it. I contacted him again today explaining that the mattress now was totally broken down now and there was now a hole in the middle that you would fall into when sleeping on it. His response to me today was that the manufacture was out of business therefore he couldn't do anything about it. Besides, he said, he didn't own the business until 2012. I KNOW THE PREVIOUS OWNER, HE'S MY BROTHER-IN-LAW! ***** ******, the previous owner, was already retired at this time when I purchased the mattress and this fellow was running the business and was proud and bragged about owning it. I was told that I could come in and he would sell me another mattress and he would discount it. He blamed the situation on business owner/consumer crime and that all one needs to do is set up a different business so they don't have to keep the warranties. He's the one who sold me the mattress, he's the one who gave me a 10 year warranty on it. Telling me that it isn't his problem isn't right. I paid somewhere around $3500.00 for the mattress. Again, he states it's not his problem. He's refused to take the mattress back, stating I just needed time to get used to it. He's simply comes up with one excuse after another why he can't take the mattress back, and has refused to pick the mattress up. He's refused to process it under warranty, when supposedly the company was still in business. He stated that I couldn't use the warranty to return because I hadn't owned it that long. He also said a month after I bought it ,he couldn't take the mattress back because it was already used.

Desired Settlement: Since I complained about the mattress before, a month after I bought it, I want a full refund. He told me since I owned the mattress for over TWO WEEKS he couldn't take it back. I asked about the warranty on it and he said I would get used to the mattress. I have complained about this mattress since a month after I purchased it. He has only come up with excuses why he can't take it back. I want a FULL REFUND. He owns the business, he owned it back when I bought it. He's responsible

Business Response: REFUND POLICY

All sales are final at Creson’s Mattress Gallery. NO Refunds. Please refer to our 60 Night Comfort Guarantee. 

Comfort Guarantee.

We at Creson’s want you to make your purchase with confidence and we know that even after making a careful selection, sometimes people need a different level of comfort. If you wish to exchange your mattress, we will make one comfort exchange for you on another selection of equal or greater value for up to 60 days after delivery. (An increase in price requires payment for the price difference.) All you have to pay is a 10% processing fee, minimum charge $100.00.  A $55 re-delivery fee for a local delivered exchange; all out of town delivery fees are $1.00 per mile. The manufacturer's law label must remain intact and sewn into its original position to qualify for any exchange. Stained or damaged products, clearance or closeout products, Organic Mattresses and Foundations, adjustable bases, "AS-IS" purchases, special order products, floor models and exchanges for a different size are not covered by our 60-Night Comfort Guarantee.  We ask that you spend at least 30 nights to ensure that the padding settles properly and your body has the time to adjust to the feel of your new mattress before we process an exchange. Sleeping on a new (or any different) mattress takes a few days to get used to, and with that familiarity you can know for sure you're making the right decision. 
The comfort guarantee does not apply to pillows, toppers, comforters, mattress protectors, sheets or pillowcases.

As you see by these (Refund Policy, Comfort guarantee) she had up to sixty days to exchange it for another mattress, I did do an inspection several months after she received the mattress where the mattress did not meet the warranty of one and a half inches body impression so I did a fix to help her untill it did. The next time I heard from her was on 12/30/14 and she wanted me to inspect her mattress again for a warranty. I informed her the company went out of business (was sold and new company did not take on the warranties of old company) I explained that I would do what I could by giving her a 25% discount on a new mattress. She said she had a long distance call coming in and would call me back. She did not call.




Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because:  I have talked to the now owner at different times since I bought this mattress.  He always had excuses as to why he shouldn't do anything about it.  He said I didn't turn the mattress, I told him I have turned the mattress.  I complained about a month after I purchased the mattress.  He said I would get used to it.  After that, when he did come out, he put blankets under the mattress for more support and said my body would adjust to the mattress.  A NEW MATTRESS SHOULDN'T NEED BLANKETS PUT UNDER IT FOR SUPPORT.   He simply has not wanted to work with me.  When I asked about the guarantee on the mattress, he said I didn't own it long enough.  I showed him when he came out and put extra blankets under the mattress and used his 'ruler' to measure it, that as soon as you lay on it, the mattress no longer supports you.  You sink into the mattress likes there's a hole in it.  He also told me that he didn't own the business when I purchased the mattress, so he wasn't responsible or obligated to honor the warranty.  With the price I spent for this mattress (which is supposed be for spinal patients) and since I have complained about this mattress from about a month after the purchase, I still feel that he should honor the warranty.  Telling me it's not his problem because he didn't own the business then is another excuse.  As hard as it's been to work with this fellow who has refused to deal with the break down issues of the mattress, I should be entitled to a refund.  He's given me one excuse after another why he will not take the mattress back.  He sold the mattress to me, he gave me the 10 year warranty, he should honor it.  He's only continues to buy more time so he doesn't have to address the matter.   Better put, to date he has REFUSED to address the issue.  He has refused to work with me.  Now we can't use the mattress at all because when you lay on it, you instantly go into the 'hole' in the middle of the mattress.  He said he would give me a discount if I wanted to buy another mattress from him.  First, he didn't tell me what kind of a discount he would give me, just said he would discount it for me.  This is the first time I have heard about a 25% discount.  Secondly, after doing Business with this fellow, why would I trust him to do right, when he hasn't done right so far.  Bottom line, I WANT A REFUND WITHOUT ANYMORE EXCESSES WHY HE CAN'T WORK WITH THE ISSUES.   ...and I would never do business with him again.  I don't want to buy anything else from him, you can't trust him.  I'm going to ***** ***** on Monday, January 5th to get a copy of the transaction to show exactly what I paid for it.  I believe it was just under $3500.00 and for that price, I should be able to get a good mattress that fits our needs.  Since I can't trust the man to do good business, I don't want to do business with him again. The mattress is THREE YEARS OLD!  

Business Response: On the back of every receipt it states that your mattress is covered by the manufacture's limited, an as in the case of Mrs ********* it states that she had a 30 day comfort guarantee in which she could have exchanged it no question asked. After the 30 day period then the only option comes from the manufactures warranty using their guidelines. Several months after Mrs ********* purchase, she contacted me about inspecting the mattress, I did so and at that time the mattress did not meet the manufactures guidelines for replacement. The next time I heard from Mrs ********* was 12/30/14 when she called and ask me to inspect her mattress. I informed her at that time the manufacture was out of business and there was no warranty. I felt bad and told her I would give her a 25% discount on a replacement mattress.

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because: He came up with every excuse in the book why he shouldn't pick the mattress up.  "You will get used to it."  "You need to give it more time"  He didn't want to loose the sale.  ...and that I didn't contact him for months later is a bald face lie.  I didn't receive a written guarantee because he said they take care of that at the store, on computer.  I trusted him because it was originally *****'s business and doubted that ***** would sell it to someone so dishonest.   I see that's it's going to be his word against mine, and obviously he's not going to be honest, ie: he didn't own the story then.  My brother-in-law was retired at that time.  He probably didn't believe me when I said ***** was my brother-in-law.  He said he gave me a "family discount on the mattress"  I don't believe that either.  He's not an honest man. Maybe it would be a good idea to set up a sting operation on this fellow.  ...or have someone come out from BBB to inspect the mattress their self.  Coming out a month after I purchased it and putting blankets under the mattress for support and telling me that I would get used to it, is proof right there.  He's a crook!  Set up a sting operation on him and send someone out from BBB to inspect the THREE year old mattress.  I'm tired of his excuses.