Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that PowerON Services, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for PowerON Services, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 3
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on PowerON Services, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 16, 1995 Business started: 01/01/1994 Business started locally: 01/01/1994 Business incorporated 11/25/2008 in CA
Type of Entity


Business Management
Ms. Nancy Dakin, Marketing Director Mr. Brent Kelley, CEO Mr. Jeremy White, Customer Service Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Nancy Dakin, Marketing Director
Customer Contact: Mr. Jeremy White, Customer Service Manager
Business Category

Marketing Consultants

Additional Information

PowerON Services Inc. provides our Fortune 500 customers with "turn-key" TakeBack Solutions for their Consumer Direct, Educational, Small Business and Enterprise accounts. PowerON's team has the experience and professionalism you can rely on to work directly with your customers to complete a full service TakeBack experience. We also provide a completely automated back-end quoting solution that includes training and process support, which allows our clients to run their own "in house" branded TakeBack program.

Products & Services

PowerON Services, Inc. offers full-service, managed Trade-In Solutions for Manufacturers and Retailers.

Additional Locations

  • 8801 Washington Blvd Ste 101

    Roseville, CA 95678 (800) 673-6227


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/23/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I sent old laptop for recycle/exchange for $43.20 towards new Apple products. (I went to Apple Store prior to sending in my laptop and they told me was in great condition and I could get a lot more through other services but, I thought this method was less of a hassle.) I rejected offer of $25.00 because they said my laptop was in poor condition due to defective battery. Poweron send back laptop and it was not mine. First, my laptop does not close correctly and because hinge is slightly off. Second, color was a bright white. Mine was yellow white due to age. Third, this laptop had old sticker residue. I never had sticker on mine. I called and spoke with Robert who refused to give me his last name and said he does not give out personal information (Poweron has all my personal information). I explained that I did not receive correct laptop back. He told me I would have to prove that they sent me the wrong laptop. I tried to explain two of the three points I made about his response:First, my laptop does not close correctly and because hinge is slightly off. Poweron resonse: said they fixed it. My question is why would you fix something that you have not secured an agreement on?Third, this laptop had old sticker residue. Poweron resonse: We put a sticker on it for identification purposes. My question why is the sticker residue old and black and not from a freshly placed sticker?Told the Poweron they were NOT honest and I will go to BBB and Media. I have reached out to Apple as well. Left unresolved.

Desired Settlement: If they cannot provide my original laptop. I would like $43.20 per their quote. All I want is what is fair!

Business Response: We have reached out to the customer again regarding her displeasure with the trade-in program. Since she has refused to provide a serial number for the computer on multiple occasions, we have opted to send her a pre-paid return shipping label for the computer. The serial number is logged for every system that arrives through the trade-in program and is used to identify each specific unit. Once we receive the laptop at our facility, we will verify the serial number and process a gift card in full for her requested amount of $43.20.

All quotes that are generated using the online web tool are subject to an audit and verification process. The quoted value is based off of the following description: "The Notebook powers on. Has functional display. No cracked glass or defective internal components." The battery was deemed defective due to it being swollen. This also poses a safety hazard for all parties involved. During the audit, a flickering screen was observed which is an indication of a defective LCD Inverter. Despite these issues, a modified offer was sent for the $25. Since the adjusted final value was rejected, we shipped the item back to the customer at no expense to her.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to my concern, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me only because I want this bad experience to be over. I'm very disappointed that poweron refused to accept any culpability regarding me receiving the wrong laptop.  I have attached their response for your review (they are sorry with a caveat).

I will send back laptop and let you know what happens after that.

Thank you,

********* *******

12/17/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes



Business Response: Initial Business Response
The customer initially stated his computer was in "Good" condition using the web tool. This is defined as very light scuffing due to normal use. After the audit was completed, he was sent pictures of the bent housing and Hinge Misalignment. The customer contacted us stating that the images provided to him were not of his computer. We asked him to verify his serial number and provided him with what we have in our database. His other option was to have us return the item at no cost to him. Instead he responded with, "Your company is one crooked company. I've already submitted a complaint to the Better Business Bureau, I will wait for their mediation in this matter." Since none of the solutions would work for him, we have authorized payment in full for his quote. We strive for 100% customer satisfaction. He will have an email gift card within 24 hours.

10/14/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I rejected their quote and PowerOn returned my computer faulty I kept getting an email from Apple to recycle my old Dell computer after purchasing a macbook pro with retina. I did not want to but when I got a quote (Quote Number XXXXXX) for $132.85 from PowerOn after participating in Apple's Reuse and Recycling program, I decided to send my dell laptop. It was working perfectly fine and I sent it with a working battery (I also included the original dell battery which I had replaced), a working charger, the setup guide and the drivers and utilities CD from Dell. My laptop was working PERFECTLY well, in EXCELLENT condition. I only replaced it because it was too heavy, and I needed something portable for school. After sending the laptop to PowerOn, I got an email with a revised quote of $92.06, with the option of accepting or rejecting the quote. I rejected the quote and asked for my laptop back. I got an email from ****** ***** that my laptop will be sent back to me. My friends thought I should have taken the quote, and I replied to ask if i could change my mind and accept the quote. I received an email from ****** a few days later saying my laptop had been shipped, but I didn't mind. I wanted to still have a Windows 7 laptop handy. I got my Dell laptop back and on powering it on, I can't get beyond the Dell screen. I keep getting error messages to reboot. I've used the drivers and utilities disk, but it has proven futile. Dell support will only repair it if I purchase a warranty and I cannot afford one right now. I called Poweron on XXX-XXX-XXXX and spoke to a lady who took down my email, phone number and name. She said someone will call me back. I asked her when and she said as soon as possible. I asked her if I could call them myself and she said no. I asked why and she said someone will call me, and told me to have a nice day, then she hung up on me. I feel terrible. The laptop I sent has been tampered with and PowerOn sent me a faulty laptop, JUST BECAUSE I REJECTED THEIR OFFER. I can't determine what is wrong with it as I am not computer-tech savvy. Sending my laptop to them means I have to spend more money to repair the laptop. I regret sending my laptop PC to PowerOn. It would have saved me all the money and all the stress. I went on their website to check the status of the quote and it says AUDIT ACCEPTED and PAYMENT SENT. I'm not sure what that means because I have a faulty Dell PC here with me. The link to the status is here:*********************************XXXXXX All I want is my FULLY FUNCTIONING LAPTOP BACK!

Desired Settlement: I would like the original quote of $132.86, otherwise I want my laptop functioning the way it was when I sent it to PowerOn.

Business Response: Initial Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** ***** Manager Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ***** The unit in question was sent to us for an audit evaluation. Once the audit was complete, it was deemed to be worth a value of $92.06. The reduced value was due to physical imperfections such as scratches on the casing and LCD keyboard abrasions. Per the terms and conditions of the agreement, the customer does have the ability to have the unit returned. This item was returned as requested. We do take customer service seriously, thus want to make sure a rapid and efficient solution is reached. The number displayed was typed incorrectly, but when dialed as a "966" number it reaches a different company. Our customer support technicians have been waiting for her call to assist her with the issue. Please call us at the correct phone number (XXX) XXX-XXXX or email to ***** We are ready to assist you immediately. Without direct communication, it is hard to determine the exact issue at hand. It sounds to me as though you have not re-installed the Operating System. For customer security, all data is erased from the computer during the audit process. This ensures that if the item is re-sold, the customer's private files will not be jeopardized.

6/4/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Bait&Switch. PowerOn quoted me $234 for my iMac, which I sent to them in perfect working condition. They claim it's damaged. Offer is now $52. PowerOn quoted me $234 for my iMac that was in perfect working condition with no physical damage. They received my iMac on May 6 and completed on audit on 5/14, saying my computer was in "poor" condition with three different types of damage. They sent blurry photos "documenting" this so-called damage, which I believe are not of my machine. Their adjusted quote is now $52.

Desired Settlement: I want my computer back and for other consumers to understand that PowerOn is running a scam. Please check the Apple Support Community board for extensive complaints about their bait and switch tactics.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Thank you for using the trade-in program and we hope we are able to serve you in the future. As stated on the site's FAQ page, "the value depends on a variety of factors, including the demand for your specific item in the secondary electronics market and its condition. When you visit the website, you'll answer a few simple questions about your computer and describe its overall condition as good, fair, or poor. Based on the information you provide, the estimated fair market value of your computer and a quote is displayed instantly." After your computer is run through a thorough audit and inspection process, "PowerON will contact you if the final value differs from the initial quoted value. You can either accept the final value or have your product returned to you at no cost." During the audit process, it was found that the computer in question has vertical lines that are visible on the display. Since the computer possessed such defects, the value of the computer was reduced. The item was in "Poor"condition, rather than "Good". Since you are unhappy with the audit results and final value, we will be more than happy to fulfill our obligation and return the computer to you at no cost. We have also taken additional steps to expedite this process and have sent the item back using FedEx Express Saver instead of the traditional Ground shipping method. Please feel free to contact us if you have any further questions. Returned Date: 5/16/13 Method: FedEx Express Saver Tracking number: XXXXXXXXXXXX

3/29/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: 2009 Apple Macbook, Serial # XXXXXXZQFYT received cracked casing and no longer receiving AC charge since March 13, 2013 I purchased 2009 Apple MacBook, Serial # XXXXXXZQFYT on August23, 2012. I received 2009 MacBook with crackef plastic casing around AC adapter plugin area. On Wednesday, March 13, 2013, The 2009 MacBook stopped receiving nor accepting charge from AC adapter. I contacted Authorized Apple Genius support. Apple Genius determined that $649.00 would be required repair faulty 2009 Macbook which I received faulty from Power On. I contacted 'Power On' who has refused to freely repair. Power On also refused to exchange nor replace the faulty 2009 Macbook, Serial # XXXXXXZQFYT, which they sold me.

Desired Settlement: $441.99 Refund OR EXCHANGE WITH NO COST, NO SHIPPING .

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
On August 23, 2012 this 2009 model year laptop was purchased from our eBay store. The item was posted on eBay for the cosmetic flaws that were displayed on the auction. Images and a description of the item stated that it was a fully functional unit, but it did have cosmetic imperfections such as a crack on the casing. Also stated on our auction was that the unit includes a 30 day repair or replacement warranty. This warranty is designed to allow time for the customer to receive the product and make sure that it is in good working condition as stated on the eBay auction. Due to the nature of used computer equipment, there are extended warranty insurance programs available through companies such as Square Trade. This would allow customers who purchase used computers on eBay to ensure they work for an extended period of time. The customer contacted us on March 14, 2013 (7 months after purchase)to let us know that the unit stopped working. We agreed to send him a replacement AC adapter at no charge to him since he thought this was the problem. He took the computer to a repair facility and they stated that the AC was not the problem. Further repairs were needed costing $650 through their service department. At that point, there was no need to send an AC adapter, because that was not defective according to the technicians. We strive to maintain high customer service standards and have managed to maintain a 99.8% positive feedback rating on over 29,000 responses. We achieve this through going above and beyond for customer service issues. We were willing to send an AC adapter if that were the problem, but it is not indeed the problem. We even accept returns or refunds outside of the 30 day period, but it has to be within reason. The computer worked perfectly fine for 7 months before having any issues. Any requests at this point would be considered unreasonable. A purchase of a NEW computer would only yield a 1 year warranty. This was purchased as a used computer with known cosmetic defects at a discounted price on a discount web store.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I am unsatisfied as I did take the 2009 Apple MacBook, 'Under 3 Year, Apple Care Extended Warranty,' Apple Authorized Genius specialist determined that $650.00 would be needed, above the'3 Year Apple Care' warranty. And the 2009 Apple Macbook, received from merchant with crack in plastic frame around Apple AC adapter insertion location. 2009 Macbook stopped accepting nor receiving AC charge from Apple AC adapter for 2009 Macbook, Serial # XXXXXXZQFYT, on March 13th-2013. The merchant Never notified me of 'former existing' cracks in plastic around ac adapter insertion area. Had the merchant notified me prior, I would have not purchased the 2009 Apple MacBook. 'Power On' stated, on their website and on 'Ebay' that the 2009 Apple MacBook only had 'Cosmetic' surface damage to plastic. Yet, Authorized Apple Genius Specialist determined that the 'Cosmetic' 'Surface' was Not indeed, 'Cosmetic.' And I have documentation, providing, proving and showing that $649.00 would be needed to repair the 2009 Apple MacBook. Therefore 'Power On' did not properly describe, list the 2009 Apple MacBook. They deluded me in believing their term 'Cosmetic.' I contest, with Authorized Apple Genius, that the description 'cosmetic' was indeed an fallacy and not 100% of the truth. I purchased this 2009 Apple MacBook in good faith, believing 'Power On's' information provided. This information is false, misleading. Otherwise, Authorized Apple Genius Specialist would Not have made a bid of $649.00 to repair something 'Cosmetic!' Thus, I still stand invoking my 'Consumer Protection Laws' and my 'Consumer Protection Rights!'

Business' Final Response
The customer was also notified by Paypal and eBay that this item was purchased a lengthy time ago and is not eligible for a refund. He has also attempted a credit card charge back and it has been denied.

1/7/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Apple recycling program - condition of computer received I recently received a revised quote for the computer I sent to PowerOn. It was 2008 ****** macbook, in what I considered good condition. The original quote was for approximately $280, but when the audit was complete they said that my computer was in 'poor' condition and were offering me only $85 because of a cracked housing. The housing WAS NOT cracked when I put it in the box to send to them. Since this is a pretty large difference, I checked all their reasons for such a low price. The reasons were cracked housing, missing power adaptor and LCD keyboard abrasion. I know for a fact that my computer was in no such condition, I took pictures of it before I sent it - there were NO cracks in the housing. I believed the crack occurred during shipping. But when I called PowerOn they said they took a picture of the box and there was no way it happened during shipping. So they probably dropped it themselves when they opened the box. Overall, I'm pretty disappointed and more than a little suspicious of this business MacBook Core 2 Duo 2.26 Ghz 13.3" ****** 2009 - purchase price of $979.

Desired Settlement: I am requesting the company honor the original quote of $283.00 since they are obviously the ones who damaged the computer.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
In researching this complaint, we have been able to provide some detailed information. We take customer complaints very seriously and strive to achieve 100% customer satisfaction in every transaction that we have. As stated by the customer, she had selected that the computer was in "good" condition using he web tool provided. This condition represents units that have normal wear and tear, but are free from cracks, scratches on the LCD, and defective parts. Unfortunately, upon the computers arrival, the condition of the computer did not match what was stated. The end result was a "poor" condition grading. We first inspect the packaging as the item arrives at our facility, and no shipping damaged was noticed upon this inspection. The item then went through the audit process where pictures were taken of two small cracks on the plastic housing, marks on the LCD, and the AC adapter was deemed to be defective. It was also found that the keyboard has defective keys as well as a defective track pad. All of these items play a role in the evaluation and final value of the computer. Based on the stated condition "good" using the web tool, the customer received an estimated value of $283 pending an audit inspection. After the audit was completed, the value was reduced to $85 due to the extensive imperfections that were found. As a result, the customer has the opportunity to accept this revised value, or deny it and have the computer returned to him/her at no expense to the customer. In this particular situation, the customer called our customer service representatives and threatened BBB action if we did not pay her. Our customer service representative then added $100 to the value of the computer in the interest of making her satisfied. This additional offer was accepted over the phone on the 27th, the same day this dispute was filed. The gift card in the amount of $185 was shipped to the customer on the 28th. Apple order number is (WXXXXXXXXX). Thank you very much for the opportunity to explain and please feel free to contact us if you have any further questions.