Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of 1STOPlighting?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

1STOPlighting

Phone: (866) 203-5392 1333 Howe Ave Ste 211, Sacramento, CA 95825 http://www.1stoplighting.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that 1STOPlighting meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for 1STOPlighting include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 28 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

28 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 12 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 10
Billing/Collection Issues 3
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 14
Total Closed Complaints 28

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on 1STOPlighting
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 29, 2009 Business started: 01/01/2001 Business incorporated: 03/10/2003 in CA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Geoff Dawe, Operations Manager Mr. Mihran Berejikian, President Mrs. Nancy Berejikian, CFO Matt Stocks, Management
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Geoff Dawe, Operations Manager
Business Category

Lighting Fixtures - Retail Landscape Lighting Lighting Systems & Equipment Fans - Household Lamps & Lamp Shades - Retail

Alternate Business Names
Belami, Inc.
Products & Services

1STOPlighting is a retail lighting store offering indoor and outdoor lighting and fixtures.


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

1STOPlighting has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1333 Howe Ave Ste 211

    Sacramento, CA 95825 (866) 203-5392

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/17/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased a lampshade (leatherette) through ****** with this company and when it arrived it wasn't what it was described as being. (*** ******** ******* ******* **** *********** *****) It was more plastic than leatherette. I proceeded to return the item for a full refund. What I didn't expect was to pay $45.77 to have this item shipped back because of it's unusual size. Since I was supposed to get a full refund I thought the company would reimburse me for this. Sadly they did not. They did reimburse $9.99 (original shipping charge) plus the cost of the shade but nothing more. I contacted the company and asked for a full refund and they told me that I received a shipping refund per their policy. This is really not acceptable as now I am out $35.77 and have nothing to show for it! I thought ordering through ****** was a safe way to go but unfortunately I was wrong. If I had known that the company wouldn't reimburse me I would have kept the lampshade. Definitely was not worth it.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund of the cost of shipping the item back to the company.

Business Response: I do apologize about the shipping charges you occurred but our return policy is clearly laid out on this page on the ********** website: 

*******************************************************************************************************************************************************
In which it states the following "The customer is responsible for return shipping fees."  

Regards,

****

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because:  I don't understand why it would only cost the company $9.99 to ship it to us but $45 for us to ship it back.  

3/27/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The company advertises as Canada Lighting Experts, no where on site does it say US dollars. Even at check out! I spoke to a sales rep they took the order, first gave my total as 2780 until they got my address and heard I was Canadian. Then he apologized and said he couldn't give me the same deal as US as they pay shipping and duties for canadians. Then gave me new price of $2920.00 BUT never said that was in US dollars. Only when I checked my visa statement did I see exchange rate that increased order by $900 so dollars!!

Desired Settlement: Not sure what can be done, BUT I would have shopped around if I had known it was US to get a better deal or shop in CANADA!! I feel I got scammed and paid more than I should have if known I was on US site.

Business Response: Hi ******* *******,

I apologize that you felt that it was not clearly posted that we're a US based company.  It does state on the website the following:

*************************************************************************

Are your prices in Canadian or US dollars?

All listed prices are in USD. Our payment processor will apply the appropriate currency conversion at time of purchase. You may incur a small foreign transaction fee. We are not responsible for any of these charges or timing differences that your bank may charge you for any transaction, refund or credit. If you have any questions about your exchange rate or credit card fees please contact your credit card company or bank for more details

I looked over your order and have credited you back some money today to accommodate you, I credited you back on your visa $312.01 in USD so you will get more back then that as it will come back to you in CAD.  This is to help in covering some of those costs.

Regards,

****

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to my concern, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.
However, it is not marked on web address as their response showed OR is it anywhere on natural navigation pages. One would need to know to go to



-contact us-About us-Canadian shoppers-frequently asked questioners and that is NOT obvious at all when Canada is all over the site.

-I do like the company, but don't appreciate getting tricked on technicalities of wording hidden in site. To be open and transparent, the main page should state i't US dollars.  
I have checked my **** and to this date nothing has been posted. I am currently looking at sites to complete my inventory of new lights for house and would still consider "canadian lighting experts" is this happens. Going forward I now know I am dealing with a US company and will make my choices according to US dollar pricing.
*******

3/12/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I still do not have an order #from this company..I placed an order on 2/11/15 on the web and received a Pre Authorization thru ****** for the transaction of $232.75...was not sent an order# or verification so 2/19/15 I went on the web asked about my order. I received an email to contact CS. I called CS 2/20/15 and was told that my card had a problem but when I said I received a preauthorization I was then told that my address was a problem because it had USA as the country?? I was also told that CS tried to contact me by phone but there was something wrong with my phone..so I had no order number; my credit card was wrong even though I received a pre authorization and my phone was not working even though I work from home and use it all of the time.In an effort to receive my order I had CS place the order over the phone, gave them my CC info which was authorized, checked my address with them which was correct and checked my phone number with them which was also correct. again on on 2/20/15received pre authorization from my credit card company but heard nothing from you regarding my order..called CS again on the 24th and spoke to ****** who said he only knew what the screen notes told him ..and that he saw nothing from the 2/11/15 order so the $60.00 quartet did not apply but did have the 2/20/15 order but there must be something wrong with my e mail since I never received an oder #. I asked where the order was and was told it was to ship on the 25th and that I should receive the tracking in 48 hoursI am so over this order! I still have no order number!! I hope my lights arrive and I will never order from this site again. ****** acted like I did not have a right to question where my order was or if I would ever receive it. Hope this helps improve their poor and customer service which needs a total overhaul.

Desired Settlement: $60.00 advertised refund for not delivering product within 7 days...ordered on 2/11/2015. I have a PreAuthorization e-mail from ****** and all back up documentation on this complaint.

Business Response: Hi **** *** ******,


I apologize about the issue with your order but it did ship out today with FedEx ************.  I have also issued you a 60 dollar credit since we missed the 1 week delivery.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to my concern, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.
I want to thank you for having someone finally review the circumstances of my order; I also appreciate that you have stood behind your order guarantee.  I realize that businesses have employee training issues and I am sure that you will correct some of the issues that subject your business to valid customer complaints.

Consumer Response:

First I want to thank BBB for being here because without you consumers would not have any recourse to resolve valid complaints.This message is in regard to my complaint submitted on 2/24/2015 11:18:37 AM against 1STOPlighting. My complaint was assigned ID ********. I thought that it was resolved when the business said they had issued a $60.00 refund to cover their 7 day delivery guarantee. The refund has not been issued to my Credit Card or has the company sent any info saying it was issued.After reading other reviews I find that credits that have been promised have never been issued so I am asking to leave my complaint ID ******** open until a refund is issued because in accepting the refund I thought the company would follow through.Thank you again

Business Response: Business states that the $60 credit was processed on 02/25/2015 to the original credit card used at the time of purchase. It usually takes between 24-48 hours for the funds to show up on customer's account. Please be advised that the credit card used at  the time of purchase was a **** with the last 4 numbers being ****.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to my concern, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

11/18/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company is representing itself online as Canadian: www.CanadaLightingExperts.com; "Canada's #1 Shop for Residential Lighting".I thus made a purchase with the understanding that I was paying in Canadian dollars from what was touted as a Canadian retailer. There was no indication whatsoever, on the advertised prices on the website, on the phone, or on the invoice, that the billing was to be in USD.I have tried already to resolve this with the company, and they have informed me that they knew about this problem already because they have had previous complaints from Canadian customers. BUT they refused to refund the difference in my billing and they still have not changed the website to display the currency honestly.The company is representing itself as Canadian. If the currency is not Canadian, this should be clearly stated in all advertising and billing. My card was charged in USD. I paid 278.74, but the advertised and invoiced price was $247.57.

Desired Settlement: I am requesting a reversal of charges in the amount of $31.17. I am requesting that the company display the currency type (USD) on all advertising and billing.

Business Response: Good Afternoon,

Thank you for your inquiry,

In regards to your order # ******* we have already issued a $60 credit to your credit card for the delivery guarantee which brought your total for the two items to #187.57. In regards to our advertisements, we do advertise No Duties, Taxes or shipping on all of our products shipped into Canada. However we also have a page for Canadian customers that states we do charge in US dollars. Please see link : www.canadalightingexperts.com/content/canada-ad/info.aspx

We are up front with all of out customers that we are a California Based company that offers the best service and prices for Canadian customers. I apologize if there was some confusion with the name of our website however I also see that you have placed a previous order with us in October 2013 (1206000) in which you were also charged in US dollars for that order.

I would love to earn your continued business as we do offer the best prices for lighting products into Canada however we do charge in US dollars and any conversion rates applied by your bank we are not able to adjust.

Sorry for the inconvenience and I hope that you still feel you received the best price for the products that you purchased.

*** ******
Sales & Operations Manager

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because:

It fails to address the complaint. 

It is clear that this company is benefiting from advertising prices that are ostensibly Canadian. The company has received previous complaints on this matter from Canadian customers, including here through the BBB, and has failed to address the matter.

Furthermore, hiding the information deep in a page of the website instead of on the advertising pages that customers shop from, and on the BILLING information is evasive and dishonest, especially since the problem is already known to the company. 

I would also like to add that the credit mentioned in the company's response was in no way related to the currency of the transaction and is no way relevant to the topic of this complaint. That credit was related to their own shipping guarantee because they failed to deliver the package in the promised time-frame. I find the attempt to blur the lines by raising this issue additionally dishonest.

It's clear there is a problem here. It should be corrected. Billing practices should be clear, honest, and transparent.


10/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I placed an order online through 1 Stop Lighting on 8/30/14 for (9) outdoor Sea Gull Lighting lights ($315.78.) They were advertised as antique brushed nickel but had more of a pewter color which was not going to work for our home so we returned them. Return was shipped 9/5/14 via FedEx as the website instructed the item should be shipped back that way - tracking confirms it was received by 1 Stop Lighting 9/11/14. When I have gone online to check status of my return/refund it shows status as "Manufacturer is inspecting returned product." I sent an e-mail inquiring about status on 10/4/14 and got a generic reply back from customer service as follows:Dear ********, Thank you for contacting 1STOPlighting.com, weappreciate your interest. We wanted you to know we have received your request andwe will get back to you as soon as possible. Our goal is torespond within the next business day (Monday throughFriday), but some responses may take longer due to thecurrent high volume of customer inquiries. Thank you for visiting 1STOPlighting.com. We lookforward to working with you!I did not receive any further response from them following this so I sent another e-mail on 10/15/14 inquiring about the status again and got the same exact reply. I do not understand why it is taking more than 6 weeks to process a return/refund and also why I have not gotten any additional follow up after multiple status inquiries.

Desired Settlement: I would like/expect a full refund.

Business Response: Good Afternoon *****,

I do apologize for the inconvience. I have issued a full refund of $315.78 back onto your Mastercard. I looked for any emails in regards to your order and unfortunately I was unable to locate any. It must have been a technical issue on our end. Again I truly apologize and you should see your refund post back to your credit card in the next48 hours.

Please contact me directly if you have any further issue or concerns.

*** ******
Sales & Operations Manager

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to my concern, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

10/14/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hello, I purchased the lighting fixture found on the following link via one of the web based companies owned by 1stoplighting: http://www.canadalightingexperts.com/lighting/18-463-638-0-350834/Dolan-Designs_Monaco---Three-Light-Semi-Flush-Mount-1885-09.htmAs you can see, it describes the bulb type as 'medium base'. Upon arrival, the fixture was installed by my contractor during renovations, and only after installation did I find that it was in fact a candelabra bulb fixture. The lighting is completely different then what a medium base (standard household - aka A17 bulb type) provides, making the fixture not suitable for the room.After notifying 1stoplighting of this issue, I was offered a 15% credit, as the fixture itself would not be refunded by the manufacturer as it had been installed. I acknowledged that it would have been prudent for me to check the bulb type before installation, but it's not something I would have ever thought to be wrong. That said, I felt that holding me 85% responsible for what was essentially their inaccurate advertising was unfair, as had it been properly described I would not have purchased that fixture. In an email, an employee of 1stoplighting explained that their offer of 15% was the best they could do as the fixture description of 'medium base' includes all bulb types with a screw base - so their product description was accurate and the error was completely mine. That is just crazy! NO WAY does medium base include a candelabra bulb - I could refer them to the internet to see for themselves but they should already know this! In addition, the product manufacturer clearly shows this fixture as being a candelabra bulb type on their website, so why 1stoplighting would use a different description on their website makes no sense, particularly when they do use 'candelabra bulb' to describe many other fixtures on their website. Bottom line - they should take much more responsibility for their error, and accept my very fair offer of 50% credit request.

Desired Settlement: 50% of the original purchase price as a credit towards a replacement fixture.

Business Response: Good Morning ***,


Thank you for the email to the BBB. I first want to apologize that not only was the site incorrect but you were also provided incorrect information from one of my team members. Though not an excuse that person is fairly new and not as experienced in the lighting and electrical components. In regards to your order # 2496948 I have placed notes on the order for you to receive $150.00 off your next lighting fixture to replace this one. This was a clear mistake on our website and due to the fixture being installed we are not able to have it returned however you may have a friend or another location in your home that would be a great fit for the Dolan Fixture.

Again I am very sorry for any confusion and hope that this offer is acceptable for your. Also if you choose to not order another fixture from our website, please let me know and I will simply refund you the $150 USD.

Thank you in advance for your time and assistance,

*** ******
Sales & Operations Manager

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to my concern, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.


Thank You, 

***

9/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In February I ordered a number of lights for a new house project I was working on. Prior to ordering I contacted **** light direct knowing I would need extensions for one of the lights due to the ceiling height. **** was very helpful and provided the 2 part numbers for the extensions I required. When I ordered through 1StopLighting I again confirmed with them the 2 part numbers required and they confirmed they were correct. To make a long story short 3 times I received the wrong extensions, 6 months later all 1stop does is ignore me. The worst customer service in the world. I have escalated to 3 people in management and all they do is ignore your requests. I couldn't wait any longer and because I was being ignored I worked with my electrician to buy parts and resolve the issue. This cost me $300. 1StopLighting won't return any of my emails or phone calls to see about getting some sort of credit for the parts I had to buy to resolve the issue. I have paid for wrong parts they won't even credit me for,I can't believe they won't even communicate with you they just ignore you and hope you go away. Customer Service means NOTHING to them.

Desired Settlement: I would like the amount I had to payout to make the light work so it wasn't an entire waste of money refunded or credited. I had to payout $150 for the parts $150 and another $150 for the electricians time.

Business Response: Good Afternoon, 

 
In regards to original order # *******. Customer placed original order on February 13, 2014. We ordered the customer the exact product numbers that she requested via email. Customer reached out to us around March 25, 2014 to let us know that she received the wrong finish color of the **** lighting 25-4121 and 25-4122. We reached out to **** Lighting and they stated that this was their error and they would send out replacements. The warehouse appears to have been delayed in shipped however replacements were shipped to customer and arrive on 5/12/2014 via ********* tracking ************. Customer has spoken to several customer service agents that have stated to her we can issue a replacement or refund for the amount of the down rods (Total $13.44 US$) if she does not want a replacement. Per our policies we do not reimburse for electrical or contractor fees.  We have tried to work with this customer to assist her in all of her needs however I find the request for $300 reimbursement for $13 down rods to be excessive. We usually are willing to work with and accommodate customers as we know how shopping online can be complicated however in this case we did everything in our power to assist this customer and unfortunately may not be able to come to an amicable agreement. 
 
Thank you in advance for your time and assistance, 
 

Business Response: Good Afternoon *****, 

 
I do sympathize with your situation and apologize that you were shipped the incorrect rods for the island pendant by Nuvo Lighting. As previously stated we shipped replacements to you at no charge and made every attempt to resolve this for you. The issue in regards to the down rods was a manufacturer shipping error that we had no control over. In regards to the electrical costs. Unfortunately per our policy we are not responsible for electrical costs to install fixtures. 
 
In an attempt to resolve this matter I will make a one time concession of $100 in a check that will be mailed out to you by the end of this week.
 
Thank you in for your time and consideration in this matter. 
 
*** ******
 

Consumer Response:

 
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to my concern, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

 


 

8/14/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company is representing itself as Canadian. With a name like Canada Lighting Experts and a tagline of "Canada's #1 Shop for Residential Lighting" it seemed safe to assume that prices are quoted in Canadian dollars. On checking my credit card statement I found that the price had been converted from 451.78 US dollars to 496.74 CDN dollars.On enquiry with the company, the explanation I was give was that "Our website notes that All Prices are shown in USD. Your bank will convert the charge into the CAD value on the homepage shop and during checkout."I don't find it sufficient or reasonable for this statement to be hidden at the bottom of a homepage and nowhere else on the website. The company is representing itself as Canadian and as such should be very clear if the currency is other than CDN dollars.

Desired Settlement: I strongly suggest that every price quoted on this website should be suffixed by "US dollars" and request a refund of 44.96 CDN dollars.

Business Response: Good Afternoon *****, 

 
Thank you for contacting the BBB to discuss your concern. 
 
I first want to apologize for any confusion that you may have had on our CanadaLightingExperts Website. We have several websites that are specific to not only different regions of the country but also to specific brands that we carry. Because we do not ship all of our brands into Canada we have created the CanadaLightingExperts Website to clearly display  only the products that we are able to ship across the border. We advertise No Taxes, Duties or Broker Fees on almost every page of the site to showcase the fact that the products are coming from the United States. Due to the fact that we do not have a physical location in Canada we are unable to bill customers in Canadian Dollars. Our intentions are not to mislead customers into thinking that we are in Canada as the site is a .com and not .ca. We are simply providing the best shopping experience to that part of North America. 
 
In regards to your request, we offer the best prices into Canada as we know how difficult and expensive it is to get our products. In order to do so we pay for all of the taxes, shipping, duties and broker fees, as well as, ship the items directly to your door steps. If you are able to provide another company that can provide a lower price based on our Price Match policy I am more than happy to offer an adjustment on the order.  I am also showing that you received a 10% coupon discount on your order that resulted in further price breaks off our already low price. 
 
Ultimately I am very interested in working with you and offering you the best price for the items that you purchased. I hope that my response is thorough and addresses all of your concerns. I hope to come to an amicable resolution to your request. 
 
Thank you in advance for your time and assistance, 
 
*** ******
Sales & Operations Manager

Consumer Response: I am rejecting this response because:

 
I still believe the website leads visitors to believe it is Canadian, whether intentional or not. Plenty of Canadian or other international websites use .com domains, which are not exclusive to US websites. Also the "No duties" statement is not prominently located on the page and is not found unless you scroll to the bottom. The problem would be easily resolved by clearly stating that prices are in US dollars wherever a price is quoted. I am much more interested in modification to the website than in my request for a refund. The refund would act only as a show of faith that the principle of my complaint was understood.

Business Response: Good Afternoon, 

 
This email is to state that I have read you response and unfortunately a complete over haul of our website and pricing structure is not cost effective nor easily accommodated at this time. I have submitted this request for budget reviews in 2015 however, at this time we are unable to make the website changes that you are requesting. 
 
I apologize that we were unable to reach an amicable resolution to your concerns, 
 
Thank you in advance for your time and feedback. 
 
*** ******
Sales & Operations Manager,

8/12/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I placed an order with 1StopLighting online on June 26, 2014 and my credit card was billed in full for that order on the same date. To this point (July 30, 2014), I've received no merchandise associated with my order. The "estimated ship date" provided on 1StopLighting's website continues to shift out into the future. While I understand that 1StopLighting does not have the ability to exercise complete control over their suppliers, I do find 1StopLighting's ethics, as they relate to charging the customer and providing no material goods/services in return for that payment, to be highly questionable.

Desired Settlement: Credit my account for the full amount billed on June 26, 2014, provide a reasonable/achievable estimated shipment date for the merchandise order, and subsequently bill my account on the actual date of shipment.

Business Response: Good Afternoon *******, 

 
Thank you for your email, 
 
In researching your order I am showing that all of the products on your order have already shipped. I do show that you were very patient in waiting for the items however I am showing that they arrived to you via UPS on 8/7/2014. 
 
We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused, please let me know immediately if there are still outstanding issues on your order and I am more than happy to resolve those for you in a timely manner. 
 
I have also issued a $40 credit to your credit card as an accommodation for your patience.
 
Thank you again for contact us, 
 
Have a great week!
 
*** ****** 
Sales and Operations Manager

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to my concern, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

7/10/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My credit card was charged on the date of the order. The order has not shipped and is subject to delays. The vendor (1stoplighting) is unable to influence the timely performance of their supplier. My funds are at risk and I have no confidence the order will be fulfilled. I sincerely doubt that a business like 1stoplighting or belami pays in advance for product. This is a thinly disguised ruse to maximize cash flow.

Desired Settlement: Refund the charge. Keep the order open and charge my card when the product ships. This is common practice for online retailers and should not be difficult.

Business Response: Good Afternoon ********, 

 
Thank you for the inquiry. Unfortunately because your paid through your Paypal we do not have access to your credit card information. I am more than happy to refund your PayPal account and still hold the order if you would like to provide me your credit card number to charge at the time of shipment. In regards to the back order date that Kenroy has provided us. We are an authorized retailer for Kenroy and do not control the manufacturing process or timelines of the fixtures. What we do have flexibility with is the price. If you would like to provide your credit card information to be re charged at the time of shipping I am more than happy to provide you a 15% discount on the item as an accommodation for your patience.  
 
Please advise how you would like to proceed with your order. We can keep everything the same and I can refund your PayPal account the 15% discount as stated above or we can post your credit card on file to charge 48 hours prior to shipping. 
 
Thank you in advance for your time and patience, 
 
Have a great day!
 
*** ******
Sales & Operations Manager

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to my concern, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

7/8/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Company advertises on one of their sites (they have several) http://www.montecarlofanlights.com/ that they have a 150% price guarantee along with the formula on how they calculate that discount. I sent them a note over the weekend with the note that I found a lower price (from Amazon.com) of the item and was looking for their price guarantee. I received no response so I then sent another email with a screen capture of the lower price. Still no response. So finally I called. Went through the full story, the rep on the phone found the item on Amazon and validated the price. He then proceeded asked for my credit card number. I asked how much the final tally was with the 150% guarantee (plus CA sales tax) and he was just matching the Amazon price. I indicated that their website states a 150% match and tells you exactly how they calculate it. He said they can't afford that, they won't make any money on the sale! I said, well then, you shouldn't advertise that you'll do a 150% price match on your site if you're not willing to honor it when someone calls you on it. He reiterated that they won't make money on the sale, take or leave it. I said, let me tell the Better Business Bureau about this, perhaps they can stop you from advertising policies you're not willing to honor.

Desired Settlement: I need the product asap so I will buy on Amazon at the lower price. I would like them to stop advertising this policy if they are unwilling to honor it. It is completely false and misleading. I'd like to know the outcome and resolution of this complaint.

Business Response: Good Afternoon Joanne, 

I apologize if there was some confusion on the Price Match with the person that you spoke with however we absolutely honor our 150% Price Match Policy. In reviewing your screen shot I am showing that the MDC Deals is advertising the 5DI52BSD-L for $142 + 16.50 shipping. The 150% price match is calculated on the Total Price including shipping and any applicable taxes. When I check out on the Amazon Website this company does charge sales tax in the state of California. 
Per Our Price Match Policy for 150% your price would be for (1) 5DI52BSD-L
Their Price $170.57
Our Retail Price $199.00
150% = $168.08
I have placed a PO under your name for the above price if you are still interested in purchasing this Monte Carlo ceiling fan. You may call into the sales center at ###-###-#### and reference PO# *******.
 
Sorry for any inconvenience as we do honor all of our policies advertised on the website. 
 
Thank you in advance for your time and patience, 
 
*** ******
Sales & Operations Manager

7/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered 2 lights from 1 STOP lighting they guaranteed delivery with in 5 business days or they offer a discount. When the product came it was the wrong item. When I called they apologized and told me they would supply me with a return tag (which they did)but when they received my product back and it wasn't damaged or used I would receive my credit back with-in business 2 days. Plus because I didn't have the product I ordered with in 5 days they would give me a discount as per their website on the purchase of the new order which I had to pay for if I wanted it to ship.They also promised to ship the new product overnight without extra charge to me. This was on Wednesday 6/11/14. The product didn't come by Friday as promised, I called them on Monday 6/16 customer service apologized and told me they would call the factory to find out why it didn't ship when they placed a rush order but they did acknowledge that the product I returned was received by them. ******** in customer service told me she would issue the credit for the returned product right away and that she would get back to me regarding the new shipment. I keep trying to call them a week has past they still haven't issued the credit to my account, they charged my account in full the second time when they told me I would get the product with a discount. The second order not only didn't come within 5 days as promised but came on Friday the 20th.

Desired Settlement: I am requesting a refund for the item returned plus interest they have had my money since 6/2/14. Also I am requesting the discount on the second order they promised when the second order was placed I was told they would charge my credit card $300 they did not. They charged me $325. Plus they owe me a discount for late delivery as promised on their web site.

Business Response: Good Afternoon ******, 

 
Thank you for reaching out to us through the BBB. For future reference you can always reach me directly to resolve matters. 
 
I have researched the two orders that were reference in your initial Complaint. I am showing that your first order for the (2) ******* ****** ********************Z pendants placed on 6/2/2014 at 3:37 PM had a promotion that was going on that stated, if your item does not arrive in 5 business days that we would issue a refund of $100. Please see link to complete policy rules here . I am showing that the your items did in fact arrive on time per ***** Tracking # ***************. (Arrived 6/9/2014). I am also showing that a return was filed for this initial order,prepaid shipping labels were provided to you and a full refund was issued on 6/20/2014 for the full amount charged of $337.16.
 
In regards to the incorrect item being shipped, we do apologize for the inconvenience however we did send you a verification order email in which you approved the products that were ordered. This was not a shipping error however there may have been some mis-communication with the sales agent. Ultimately this is the reason that we send verification emails to customers so that you are the last person to review prior to shipping. 
 
I am also showing that a new order was placed for you on 6/22/2014 at 4:21pm. This order was shipped standard ground and received in five business days as advertised online. This item was received by you on 6/18/2014 via ***** Tracking ***************. The amount of the items on your new order is $300 plus ********** ***** *** which we are required by law to charge all customers in the ***** ** **********.
 
I am willing to make an accommodation of a $100 refund on your new order bring the total amount on order # ******* to $225.66. I do however show that your requested a return of these items. If you are needing to return the items unfortunately we do not issue refunds greater than the amount purchased.  
 
Please let me know if you would like to keep the (2) new pendants that were shipped out to you. If you would like to keep the items I will issue a $100 refund back onto the credit card that you used to purchase. Otherwise, if you are returning the items you will receive a refund of those items was returned. Refund will not exceed purchase price. 
 
Thank you in advance for your time and assistance, 
 
*** ******
Sales & Operations Manager

4/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Ordered set of lights and poles in good faith... I was reassured by sales folks on the phone and via email that I was ordering the right poles for my application. I have since returned two sets of poles so obviously the sales force lacks a fundamental understanding of the products they sell. Now Im being told there are no poles available for my intended use. And, they are telling me Im stuck with the lights at ~$1K because they are a discontinued item. Obviously I would not have purchased them knowing I could not get the poles needed for my application.Extremely disappointing experience

Desired Settlement: like to be refunded for these lights

Business Response: Good Morning **** and *******, 

 
First thank you for contact me and I apologize that your experience with 1STOPlighting was less than satisfactory to you. Our customers are of the utmost importance and I have a professional sales staff that is ALA trained. In researching your order I am showing that on your original purchase you chose a Hinkley in ground mounting pole and and Dabmar pier mount. Unfortunately as you experienced the burial poles are not designer for flat surface installation and are not compatible with pier mount accessories. Based on your original order and the new one placed by my Sales Supervisor I am going to assume that your application called for a flat surface (concrete pad or wood deck). If that is the case the SeaGull Covington post 8130-12 would be the correct accessory pole for your application. The only other scenario that is not covered in the products that you have already purchased would be that you are looking for a pole that is compatible with a base in which you can mount into a landscape or with a soft ground burial. If that is the application or design that you are attempting to achieve then all you would need would be the Hinkley pole with the addition of a slip over base cover that slides over the buried pole to provide an nice aesthetic option however is not load bearing. Please understand that post light fixtures are all manufactured with a standard 3" diameter which enables customers to mix and match options without compatibility issues. 
 
I would like to reach an amicable solution to your application needs. If I have not covered all of your options I would love to discuss further by phone. In regards to your return request; All of the items that you purchase except for the post top Seagull Lighting 82115-962 fixtures are returnable. Due to the post top fixture being on closeout at the time of purchase unfortunately we will be unable to accept a return for those per our return and replacement policy. Please click here for link. From time to time I am able to make customer accommodations however I would like to see if we can resolve your application needs prior to final judgement. 
 
Thank you in advance for your time and assistance and I look forward to your response. 
 
*** ******
Sales & Operations Manager
1STOPLighting
************

3/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Before placing Order#*******, I called the online store to verify that if I placed this order and was not completely satisfied that I could return the order. I am trying to return this order but have been denied a RGA number. I requested to return this order for a credit and would like to order a different item. So far, this request has been denied. I am retired and live on a limited income, but would like to reorder another item to replace this one since it is totally unsatisfactory.

Desired Settlement: Would like to return this order for a credit and get a replacement order for 3 each Tacoma One Light Mini-Pendants #65309 at a price of $231.00 each

Consumer Response: This complaint has been resolved since the companies is going to let me return the items in exchange for me ordering a new product.  Thank you for your help with this complaint.

2/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I called 1STOPlighting to exchange a light after accidentally ordering the wrong model. They told me to return it through Amazon and place a new order. I did that, saying I had ordered the wrong model. Then, they denied my return. Twice. Their policy is: we have your money, we don't care." Go to a reputable seller that follows through on what they say when you call them.

Desired Settlement: Take back unused item and provide refund.

Business Response: Good Afternoon,

Thank you for the email.

First, the customer placed his order from Amazon.com that was fulfilled by our company. In researching this customer's order in no way have we ever denied his request for a return. We were notified of this customer's return request on Jan 25, 2014 and on that same day we emailed the customer return instructions on how and where to return the item. Once the item is returned we will issue the customer a full refund.

Below is the email that we issued to this customer regarding how to return the product. There is a possibility that the customer has not been contacting 1STOPlighting in regards to his order and often times customers who purchase through the Amazon marketplace are not sure where the products are actually coming from.

Thank you in advance for your time and assistance in this matter. I will also call the customer this afternoon to make sure that everything is cleared up.

*** ******
Sales & Operations Manager


Date: Jan-25-2014

RETURN INSTRUCTIONS

RE: ***************************

Dear * ****,

Thank you for shopping with 1STOPlighting.com. We have received the Returned Goods Authorization number for your return and we are providing instructions for the return of your item:

*******


Product must be returned within 30 DAYS from the date above via UPS, FedEx, or DHL. This RGA will no longer be valid after 30 days and NO CREDIT will be issued.

The item must be in the original packaging and in re-sellable condition. Any damage incurred during shipping is the responsibility of the sender. We recommend that you purchase insurance sufficient to cover the purchase price of the item.

Please write RGA # *********** on the shipping label when you return item *******.

Please pack the item you are returning in its original packaging and enclose your order information (Your Order # *******, your name and address) and the packing slip, if you have it.

Please ship to:


******* ********
**** * ******** ****** ***
********** ** ****1
United States

IMPORTANT:

  • Please take your time when re-packaging your merchandize to avoid damage.
  • Package must be in its original carton, including all packaging materials and accessories.
  • Merchandise must not have been installed or altered in any way.
  • Refunds for returned products cannot exceed the originally charged amount.
  • Any original shipping charges incurred are not eligible for a refund.


As soon as you have shipped the item, it is required that you provide us with a valid tracking number so we may track your shipment and ensure delivery and timely credit for your return. Proof of delivery would be required before credit can be issued.

Once the shipment has been received and inspected, we will issue a refund to your credit card on file.

Please give us a call with any questions you may have.

Thank You,
Customer Service

12/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Their Website state "Free Returns - No hassle, NO restocking fees & FREE shipping back to us" However, the will not pay for free shipping back. The description of the item I ordered, Livex 4904-07 states that the shade is glass. The items arrived with plastic shade. I request a return and refund, which they agreed to, however the say that I need to pay to ship the items back, unlike the big header on their website and the top of the page from which I ordered the items. I would have had to click through the link to see if the item qualified. I feel that since the item is not like it is described on their website that I should not have to pay for the return. Order # XXXXXX

Desired Settlement: I would like for them to pay for the cost of shipping back the 4 Livex 4904-07 lights. The items were falsely advertised as is their Free Return Policy.

Business Response: Initial Business Response
Good Morning, At 1STOPLighting we pride ourselves in customer service and we take your concern very seriously.We due our best to accommodate customers on a case by case basis. In regards to the return policies: We offer PrePaid Return shipping on select brands and unfortunately the brand that you purchased was not part of the promotion. I have included a link to the policy. www.1stoplighting.com/content/prepaid-returns/info.aspx Based on the details on the product page of the item that you purchased we will be making an accommodation for the return shipping cost as a one time ONLY concession. I apologize for any inconvenience that this may have caused and I hope the we have come to a fair and amicable resolution.

12/9/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Website states "free returns, no restocking, free shipping back... "No footnote/clause/clear link to fine print that only certain brands apply to offer I ordered from this website exclusively because of their website which states across the top in plain sight "free returns--no hassle, no restocking fee, free shipping back to us." I ordered 2 fixtures from this website (Livex Astoria bath vanity fixtures). From the image on the website I thought the light shades were rectangular (no side/3D image), but when I received them they were actually cylindrical. When I went to return them I was notified that I would have to pay return shipping. I sent an e-mail and called a customer service agent/supervisor who told me that I did not click on the link or fully read the policy that this clause applied only to certain brands sold on the website. I stated that there is no asterisk or clause underneath the heading that states that free return shipping applies only to certain brands. I truly thought this was a courtesy of the company as there is a banner clearly stating the free return-no hassle clause front and center on the website. Apparently I did not click a link--however it was not underlined or highlighted, so I didn't even know there was a link to click. I think this is false advertising on the website's behalf.

Desired Settlement: Refund my return shipping. Supervisor to apologize for rude service.

Business Response: Initial Business Response
At 1STOPLighting we pride ourselves in customer service and we take your concern very seriously. We also due our best to accommodate customers on a case by case basis. I have been in communication with the customer and we have come to a fair and amicable resolution. Thank you in advance for your time and patience,

12/6/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 1stoplighting continues to send me marketing emails even though I have unsubcribed numerous times. I unsubscribed on 11/5/12 and 12/10/12. I also sent an email to their customer service on 11/22/12. I just sent another email to their customer service today, 11/28/13.

Desired Settlement: I want my account and personal information permanently deleted from their customer database.

Business Response: Initial Business Response
At 1STOPLighting we pride ourselves in customer service and we take your concern very seriously. I am truly sorry that you receive our Holiday Promotion Email and I have removed you from all future email communication. Please let us know if we can be of any further assistance to you. Thank you in again for your time and patience.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

9/9/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was required to pay $231.24 in return shipping charges for an order shipped in error, as it had been cancelled 2 weeks earlier. I am requestinfg a refund for the shipping charges. Order# XXXXXXXElk Lighting XXXXX-X-LED 2This product was initially ordered May 8 2013. The original estimated ship date was June 21st. The ship date kept getting pushed back, eventually to late August. I called initially July 12th to cancel the order because of the repeated delays. At that time the estimated delivery date was still given as August 24th 2013. I was told I would receive an email detailing the cancellation in 2-3 days, and a refund. I received no further communication until an email July 25th, at that time I received an email that the order (supposedly cancelled) had shipped.I called customer service to find out why a previously cancelled order was shipped, I was then told that the order had already shipped by July 12th (although estimated ship date read as Aug24th on that date) and therefore could not be cancelled. They did not know why I was not told this or provided with any updates. They did have a record of the cancellation from July 12th. On this call I asked about return shipping charges for this order, and was told the company would pay these charges, I would receive these return instructions shortly by email. Return instructions were that I pay the courier charges as well as insurance on the shipping. This was a total charge of $231.24. No mention of any refund.A third call told me I had once again misinformed, charges were my responsibility. I then informed them of my intent to lodge a complaint.The order was cancelled 6 weeks before the estimated ship date, and I was given repeated misinformation, or no information around it. As a customer when given constantly changing and apparently random ship dates, I do not see that it should be my responsibility to pay for this cancellation/return. Product_Or_Service: Island Lights Order_Number: XXXXXXX?

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I am requesting, in addition to the product refund ($1436.00), the refund of the return shipping charges of $231.14.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Good Morning, At 1STOPLighting we pride ourselves in customer service and we take your concern very seriously. I have researched your order and found that the cancellation request that you submitted was received the day the items shipped out to you. I do show that there was some confusion on the exact day that shipment was leaving the warehouse and I recognize that was the reason for the cancellation request. Once shipped, because of your location it can take 7-10 days to arrive to you due to the shipment traveling internationally through customs. All cancellations per our policy page are sent our to the warehouse and unfortunately packages that have already been shipped out prior to the request cannot be stopped. Once items are shipped all orders are subject to our normal return policies. We due our best to accommodate customers on a case by case basis. Due to the details of your case we find that an accommodation is in order. I apologize for any inconvenience that this may have caused and I hope to come to a fair and amicable resolution. Thank you in advance for your time and patience,

8/5/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ordered item back ordered. Waited WEEKS for it; it arrived damaged. They are still charging us 25% restocking fee for the return of the light. Placed order for lighting fixture #XXXXXXX on 3-27-13; it was backordered til 5-15. We waited all the weeks for the fixture (product #XXXXX BLACK) and it was received damaged. When I contacted them about a return and needing the RMA # I left multiple voicemails that went unanswered. When I finally DID reach a live person, I got instructions for the return and did so. I explained to him that I did not want to wait more weeks for a replacement and I just wanted to return the lamp for a refund. I sent the item back and waited for my refund. I called them to make sure they had rec'd the return and their answer was that yes, it had been received a week ago and "it was still sitting there" and they promised to process the return. Days later my credit card statement showed the amount being short over $100. I called them AGAIN and they informed me that had I read the small print on the ad, I'd see that there was a restocking fee - This practice based on the fact of the WAITING/backorder time and receiving the item damaged seemed very unfair to me. I asked for a manager, who said it was the manufacturer's policy. I contacted the manufacturer who told me it was the reseller's policy. Going back to 1ast Stop Lighting, they're still telling me its in the small print. Their practices are highly objectionable. Their customer service is unacceptable and they've lied to me, blaming their practice on their manufacturer, rather than taking responsibility themselves.

Desired Settlement: I want the amount they withheld as restocking fee credited to my Visa.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Good Morning, At 1STOPLighting we pride ourselves in customer service and we take your concern very seriously. I have researched your order and Yes, the PLC fixture does have a restocking Fee for Customer Remorse Returns per the policy. However, We due our best to accommodate customers to the best of our ability and due to the circumstances of your situation I have reversed the restocking fee and issued the remaining refund back onto the credit card you used for the original purchase. I apologize for any inconvenience that this may have caused. Please let me know if I may be of any further assistance.

7/15/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I completed my purchase for two floor lamps on July 4th, 2013. On July 5th they refused the completed order. After selecting a product, making a purchase, disclosing personal data and credit card information and a receipt, the next day I receive an e-mail that they can not deliver the product you advertised and sold. Why do they advertise product they do not have for sale? Why do they continue to advertise this product on both Amazon and their website today July 5, 2013. It would appear they selectively and unilaterally decided not to fulfill their end of our bargain. This, at the very least, is unethical perhaps even illegal. I respectfully request they find the items, substitute a higher priced item from the same manufacture, or at the very least, issue a check in the amount of $110 - the cost difference I will pay for the same items at another store such as Lamps Plus. This is false and misleading advertising and breach of contract.

Desired Settlement: I respectfully request the items they sold me, substitute another similar item by the same manufacturer, or at the very least, issue a check in the amount of $110 - the cost difference I will pay for the same items at another store such as Lamps Plus.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
At 1STOPLighting we make every attempt to provide the best information to our customers in regards to the inventory status of our items. From time to time our manufacturers discontinue items and we make every attempt to remove from those from our site as quickly as possible. The (2) lamps that were purchased have been discontinued and are no longer being manufactured. We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused. Unfortunately these particular items are not available from the manufacture as well as most likely not available anywhere. We would be more than happy and willing to assist you in the purchase of alternatives. Thank you in advance for your time and patience,

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The charged me without shipping the item. This is wrong! Unethical! and perhaps illegal. This practice caused my card to be declined up to July 11, 2013. They had my money without expectation of receiving the product - They breached the contract. They made no effort to substitute the current item by the same manufacturer. There behavior caused me to be damaged and their breach was costly $110.00

Business' Final Response
Thank you for your inquiries, Normal changes for adding and removing products on the site can take time to complete due to the sheer number of items that we carry. I have made a special request to my data team to expedite the removal of these items today. Those changes will take effect and go live to the site in 48 business hours. In regards to the refund, I have submitted the proof of refund that was processed to you on 7/8.

7/1/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 1stoplighting promised a refund for three ceiling fans in March. Repeated emails since then have yielded no result. On August 25, 2012 I ordered five ceiling fans (Litex E-UBW48WW4C1 model) from 1stoplighting.com via their Amazon seller account, for a new house under construction. The cost was $194.01 with no shipping charge, paid by credit card. The electrician had asked for them to be on hand at that time, but it was several months later by the time he actually tried to install them. The two fans installed on flat ceilings worked OK. The three that were for sloped ceilings would not fit --- contrary to the Amazon/1stoplighting/Litex marketing description, which at that time said "sloped ceiling adaptable." (Note, the company still had not changed that statement as of May, 2013, months after I first complained.) I do not blame Amazon. So far this is the fault of Litex, the manufacturer. But it began a saga the rest of which heavily involves 1stoplighting. The resulting chain of emails runs 15 pages, but the basics are: 1. When I called 1stoplighting with my electrician's statement that the fans would not install, they checked with Litex, and told me I had to order an adapter for each fan. (Their phone rep identified himself as *** ********* and in a follow-up email stated "You can use the slope Adaptor 45AD-W by Craftmade which is owned by Litex Industries.") I ordered three of these adapters on January 2, 2013 directly from 1stoplighting.com, order #XXXXXXX, at an additional cost of $57 including shipping. 2. The electrician then tried the adapters, and showed me that there was no way they would work with this design of fan. He concluded that the design precluded *any* adapter from working. 3. I called 1stoplighting again. They said they would check with the manufacturer again. 4. A series of emails (available on request) then became necessary, to prompt any kind of action. After about two months, this finally resulted in a March 12 email from 1stoplighting saying that Litex had issued an RMA number for return of the fans. I returned them promptly by Fedex Ground. On March 22 I emailed the four tracking numbers to 1stoplighting and requested a refund for the fans, the adapters, and the $59.79 shipping cost, since both the fans and the adapters were purchased based on misrepresentations. 5. I have still not received a refund, almost three months after the fans were returned. 1stoplighting has responded to a succession of emails by politely requesting (more than once) the exact same tracking numbers I had already provided. 6. I have been advised by my credit card company that the time limit for disputing a transaction is two statements. Amazon's time limit is similar. And nobody who values his or her time sues for recovery of a few hundred dollars. So I am trying the BBB. The total refund I have requested is $310.80 ($194.01 for the fans + $57.00 for the adapters +$59.79 for the return shipping.) Thanks for whatever you can do. I will be glad to forward receipts and/or a transcript of the email chain on request.

Desired Settlement: I believe a full refund of my costs is due, calculated above at $310.80. (Again, copies of receipts for the return shipping costs as well as the cost of goods are available on request.)

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Good Afternoon ***********, Here at 1STOPLighting we take all customer inquires seriously and I am sincerely sorry that you were not completely satisfied with our services. I apologize the the items that were purchased were not compatible and did not fit the application of your project. I have reviewed and assessed the correspondences of your orders. I know that we will come to a fair conclusion to your requests. I have submitted the details to you via email. Thank you again for your patience and as the manager of the customer service team I know that we will only get better by learning from our customers.

2/8/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Refusal to replace broken, scratched or rusted parts. On September 11, 2012 I purchased on line from 1stoplighting two new ***** ***** sconces #XXXXXS00 and one new ***** ***** chandelier #XXXXXS00 order #XXXXX, customer PO #XXXXXX. I paid with a Visa card a total of $4,216.40. On October 3rd I received the items and after finding damages I filed a replacement order for one of the sconces and the chandelier. Even though I had opened only one of the boxes of the two in which the chandelier came I rejected the whole thing since the damage was in the main shaft. On October 16th after a UPS driver showed up at my door without prior notice, to PICK UP only "a part" of the chandelier I immediately called 1stoplighting Service Dept and talked to ****. He told me that the vendor (***** *****) was "maybe" replacing only parts so he recommended that I should also check the second box in which the chandelier had originally come to see if there were more damages so the proper replacement could be requested. I did this and I called back the Service Dept that afternoon (13 days after receipt) and reported to ******** (**** was not available) the other damages I found in other metals of the chandelier ranging from broken, scratched or rusted pieces. I mentioned to her that because of the kind of damages and the looks of the disintegrated packing material it looked to me that the chandelier was not brand new and had been either previously returned or installed, therefore I wanted a new chandelier not just the parts. She said she would request this. After this date nothing has made sense. I was told by phone or e-mails that tags were being issued to pick up the items but that never happened. On October 22nd a FEDEX driver, also without prior notification DELIVERED "parts" for the sconce and the chandelier. Afterwards on November 1st I was told by ******** that the vendor needed to know exactly what parts were damaged in order to decide if they were going to replace "parts or the whole thing". Because of the inconsistency between what I was being told by these employees and what it was actually happening and the length of time it was taking for this issues to be resolved, on November 2nd in talking to ****, he convinced me to agree to only parts being replaced, instead of whole items as I wanted originally. He requested pictures of the damaged metals in order to (once again) determine the replacement. I sent him the pictures. On November 16th I received an e-mail from him telling me "you are outside of the replacement/return time frame and further replacements will not be available to you" I responded that they had had full knowledge of all the damaged items well within the 21 days from time of receipt that they allow. On Nov 21st I was told to contact the vendor if I wanted a resolution. In response I requested from **** the name and title of the person who had told him for me to contact the vendor, I also asked for the name of his manager. He never gave me this info but on Nov 27th he informed me that they had filed a replacement for the other damaged parts. So I waited again. On December 12th I received a small box containing 7 crystals instead of the damaged seven metal pieces that happen to have crystals attached to them. I informed **** of this new error on their part the same day. He responded that ***** ***** would be unable to replace the parts but didn't say why. On Dec. 14th I requested to know why and also that I wanted the matter to be handled by a manager or the owner of 1stoplighting. I also mentioned I would be filing this complaint. So far, to this last request I have not received any response from anybody at 1stoplighting. (Up to November 2nd I have talked to several customer service employees including ****, Stacey, ********, Chris. After November 2nd I have communicated only trough e-mails with **** Stocks. Due to lack of space here I couldn't include all the details but if needed I have the exact dates and all the facts of each conversation.

Desired Settlement: Because I really like the fixtures in question I never asked for a refund. Instead all I asked and expected from 1stoplighting was brand new WHOLE replacements. This I never received. After many errors and delays on their part I was led to accept parts replacements. This is how the problem with the ****** ****** sconce #XXXXXS00 was resolved and is not longer an issue. I am OK with it. The main metal shaft of the ****** ****** chandelier #XXXXXS00 has also been replaced and even though the replacement part came with a small indentation (this I never reported to any of the reps just to avoid more confusion and errors) I decided I would live with it. What is pending and they are refusing to replace is 3 SILVER METAL PARTS, each with eight "00" Strass crystals ALREADY ATTACHED FROM FACTORY and ORIGINALLY WRAPPED IN PAPERS MARKED WITH A "B". And 4 SILVER METAL PARTS, each with eleven "00" Strass crystals ALREADY ATTACHED FROM FACTORY and ORIGINALLY WRAPPED IN PAPERS MARKED WITH A "C". (These make a total of seven metals with their crystals already attached). If they replace these parts at their cost, with new parts that are undamaged and come in the same format as the original ones, then that would put and end to this. But if they are not willing to do this then I would want a full refund since I cannot put this chandelier together with broken or damaged parts nor can they expect me to accept it the way it is when I paid almost $4,000.00 supposedly for brand new merchandise. If they decide for this last option I expect them to pay for the shipping charges to return whatever is left in my possession.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
While we do not dispute the lack of communication to the customer in regards to the scheduled pick up of the damaged product parts. The pick up was scheduled by the manufacture. However, Due to the complexity of the chandelier in question the original replacement request was interpreted by the customer service agent as a part only request. The Customer Service agent did ask the customer to inspect all other parts of the chandelier in order to submit one request to the manufacturer. Per the customer there were no additional parts that required replacement. Once the customer received the replacement parts she called back stating that there were additional replacement parts needed and that she now wants a full fixture replacement. We have since made contact with the customer and are able to ship out a brand new fixture to avoid the hassle of another complex parts request.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) "The Customer Service agent did ask the customer to inspect all other parts of the chandelier in order to submit one request to the manufacturer." This is TRUE. This occurred on my first phone call to Customer Service for THAT DAY, October 16, 2012 when I talked to the rep. (As I stated in my Consumer's Original Complaint to the BBB.) I do not accept the following: "Per the customer there were no additional parts that required replacement." This is NOT TRUE. I never made such a statement regarding the chandelier. Even more, on my second phone call to Customer Service for that day, October 16, when I talked to a rep I reported to her all the other damages I found and she stated to me she would request a FULL replacement like I wanted from the beginning. (As I stated in my Consumer's Original Complaint to the BBB.) "Once the customer received the replacement parts she called back stating that there were additional replacement parts needed and that she now wants a full replacement fixture" This is NOT TRUE. The first time I received replacement parts was on October 22, 2012. BEFORE then, on October 3rd when I first filed the replacement order I wanted a full replacement from 1stoplighting, even though they may have "interpreted" as a part only request. Also BEFORE then, on October 16th and many times after I told them I wanted a full replacement, not just "NOW". I am glad that finally a full replacement is in the process, however in an e-mail from the Operations Manager *** ****** at 1stoplighting on January 9, 2013 she informed me that there was a delay because the manufacturer was waiting for a shipment to arrive of the particular kind of crystals this chandelier requires before they could actually fulfill and send the replacement order. I understand that this is in the manufacturer's end but because of all the other delays I have been put trough already and the promises that have not been kept I would consider closing this issue only when I receive the new replacement and I find it to be satisfactory.

Business' Final Response
Due to manufacturing delays the replacement was not available immediately. We do apologize for the delays and have received an update from the supplier of the arrival of your item to their facility the first week of February. Once received they will inspect and reship to your location. Once shipped you will receive tracking information via email. Please feel free to contact me with additional questions or concerns.

2/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Two of three pendants were received damaged, and replacements were also damaged and/or mismatched. The company is not responding to my inquiries. Original order number XXXXXX Trade account XXXXXXX PRODUCT DETAILS Qty: 3 Unit Price: $149.40 Total $448.20 Est Delivery: 1 - 2 weeks Manufacturer: Elk Lighting Product: XXXXX/1 Product Description: Reflections - One Light Pendant - Black Chrome Finish SubTotal: $448.20 Your Loyalty Program Discount: ($44.82) Coupon Discount: ($20.17) Shipping & Handling: $15.00 Free Shipping & Handling: ($15.00) Canadian Documentation Fee: $20.00 ================================= Total: $403.21 Payment method: Mastercard History: - September 23, 2011: 3 Elk pendants were ordered on order XXXXXX. - After a long delay (backorder), the lights arrived damaged. Replacement order XXXXXX was made. - Again, after a long delay the shipment arrived damaged. Replacement order XXXXXX was made. - Again, after a long delay the shipment arrived damaged. Replacement order XXXXXX was made. - On the latest order, one glass appeared to be intact, the second glass was cracked. Once the unbroken glass was hung it became evident that the glass colour was not the same as the one original shade. The replacement is much darker in colour. In addition, it has a 1/4 inch diameter spot with no glazing on it at all. It has now been 16 frustrating months since the original order was placed. The company has attempted to ship replacement lights a number of times. Each of these lights has been broken or defective. Also, long waits due to backorders caused this issue to drag out over more than one year. The company is no longer responding to my emails.

Desired Settlement: My first preference would be to obtain acceptable replacement shades. However, if this is not possible, I would like to obtain a refund.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
We apologize for the inconvenience from the arrival of damaged products. I am showing several communications over the past year in regards to this issue and appreciate you patience regarding the back order situation with this particular item. In good faith we will attempt to ship out another set of replacements as agreed upon in our last conversation on 1/24/2013.

1/30/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Lower priced order was denied and reasoning was discontinued product. Higher priced order was fulfilled immediately. I placed an order for a lamp which was advertised at $370. Order went through, credit card was charged. After 2-3 weeks I receive a order cancellation due to item being discontinued. I placed another order for same lamp @ $441. Order went through, credit card charged and item was delivered in perfect condition. All through the process I was chatting with CSR and item was always in stock and never discontinued or out of stock. This is a clear malpractice and I feel I should be refunded $71 for the difference between the two orders. If the company cannot fulfill a lower price order then why are they putting it on their site and why are they giving false reasoning for order cancellation. To top it up, when I tried discussing this with CSR, she was rude and hung up the phone on me. She did not give me her information at all. This is not the way to do business and definitely not a way to treat customers. I called up at 10:30 AM EST on 1/23/13. Kindly take action against this fraudulent business practices.

Desired Settlement: Difference between the two orders $71.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
We strive to provide the most up to date and accurate information on our website and per our policy here http://origin-www.1stoplighting.com/content/low-price-guarantee/info.aspx We absolutely honor any price matches for exact sku number equivalents. The customer's original Order was for sku# 7041.95 and the second order was for a 7041.51. I am also showing that we provided the customer a coupon for his second purchase that resulted in a $49 discount from the retail price. We offered that discount on the second order solely for the inconvenience of the manufacturer no longer having stock of the customers original choice.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) the policy states the following "The item must be identical. For example, it must have the same U.S. manufacturer's warranty. It must also have the same model number and contain the same components. " In my case 1. Model Number is same i.e. 7041 2. Description and details are all same. 3. You place both the products side by side and point out 1 single difference between the two, I will retract my complaint. Same components. 4. The policy is for model number not sku 5. The company is still advertising and selling discontinued product on their website. I have screen shots from yesterday. If it is discontinued product then it should be removed from the website. It is still there even after a month. I appreciate the $49 discount, but it still does not compensate me for my time loss in ordering a discontinued product and waiting for 2-3 weeks to get a status. I lost other deals available in the market.

Business' Final Response
We have made several attempts to contact the customer to discuss the issue and have not received a response. We are willing to come to a mutual agreement however in regards to our policies the customer does not qualify for a price match guarantee as the full sku numbers from both purchases where different as per our original response. We make every attempt to provide the highest level of customer support and we honor all of the policies that are clearly stated on our site.

11/20/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I Contacted 1stop to buy a light. I asked sales rep if the Item was in stock and ready to ship. Salesman states 2 instock. I ordered 1. The company sales rep claimed the product will be delivered in 3 days as it was in stock. They charged my credit card and now the company claims it will not ship for 2 weeks. I need this product now! Just for the sake of it I contacted the Company the next day to see what I would be told if I asked for stock of the same product. The sales rep **** told me it was in stock and available. I aske three times. " is it in stock now and ready to ship. Each time I received a yes. **** even claimed he contacted the vendor or Wherehouse to check stock and then came back and said it was available. I then told him how was this possible as I ordered one and I was now told it was not avalable for weeks. All this company wants to do is take your money. Then they will figure it out from there. All thi

Desired Settlement: I want the product as promised. I also desire that some payment or prosecution to happen that will cause them to cease this type of practice. There is no place for this. If I need to I can report this elsewhere.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
Customer did order an item that was listed as in stock. Due to a inaccurate warehouse count, we believed we had stock when in fact we did not. This error was not intentional and we have given the customer a $100 courtesy credit due to the error. We are in the process of sourcing additional units and this customer's order should ship by 11/14. We apologize for the error, but stress that this was unintentional.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I do not accept the companies explanation as it was essentially intentional as the company knew the actual stock. One stop knew that what stock they had on hand because they contacted the vendor while I was waiting to place the order and in subsequent contacts and yet they still sold the product knowing it was not available and not even in the country. I have copies of written correspondence where the customer service rep (CSR) baited me to purchase the product after he contacted the vendor for inventory. The CSR insisted that the product was in stock an would ship and be in my hands by Wed or Thurs following the order placed by Monday Am. I contacted 4 different CSR's over a 2 day time period and all of them told me they contacted the vendor and the product was ready to ship from Ohio. I was later told by email the product was in a container overseas and had to go through customs. I have the written chat sessions for evidence if necessary. This company uses tactics like to lure customers into placing orders. Tactics like" Delivers in 3 days or $100 credit. or in stock or $100 dollars credit. I do not buy product ever that is not in stock or backorder from ANYONE!!!!! I always contact the company prior to placing a order to verify stock. I make sure I ask : is this your stock or some other fulfillment warehouse" This company charged my credit card when they did not even have the product to sell. This practice is deceitful and a fraud. A customer such as myself would never have purchased from this company knowing that the product was unavailable at the time of order. The company then ships the product out which is going to take a week according to the tracking information. How honest is a company that state delivered in 3 days when they cannot possibly do so! This company needs to cease these alleged unlawful and unfair trade practices. This company will continue this unlawful practices unless they are fined or have to pay for the alleged frauds or other accusations I make here.

Business' Final Response
Customer received the product he ordered on 11/16/12, and has received a $100 courtesy credit for the misunderstanding. Despite the customers protestations, we believe we have acted in good faith. Having received the product he ordered as well as a credit from us as an expression of good will, we believe we have done what we can to satisfy this customer.

10/3/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I made a purchase from their online store. They have on their website guarantees all items are in stock, or they will prove $100 cash. Didn't honor it I made an order for $264.89 (order number XXXXXX). After a few days of not hearing anything about this order, I contacted their customer service via telephone. I was informed they would call me back a few hours later with the reason my item wasn't shipped yet. On their website they advertise 3 day guarnteed delivery of your order or they'll give you $60. On their home page (all over it) they also advertise guaranteed all items found on their website or they give you $100. After NOT receiving a call back later that day as promised, I called them the next day and was told that all the items in my order were no longer in stock and I was issued a refund. When I asked about their two seperate guarantees I qualified for, they told me they wouldn't honor it because they don't make such payments when 100% of the order was out of stock, because then they'd be out money (instead of it being a partial refund). When I asked for a supervisor I was told I had to email my concerns and they'd get back to me. I did and was told the next day the they wouldn't honor the guarantee because now I don't qualify. The policy is written clearly on their website and they are refusing to honor it.

Desired Settlement: I want them to honor their guarantee. $100 cash back because my order was cancelled due to it not being in stock. It cost me an extra week of delays and I had to reschedule my appointment with the electrician that I made as a result of their 3 day shipping guarantee (which also wasn't honored). I had to pay a $60 rescheduling fee...

Business Response: Business' Initial Response
While we do not dispute that the items ordered by the customer are not available, the disclaimer on the In Stock Guarantee clearly state that we cannot refund an amount greater than the originally charged amount. For more detail, see this link- http://www.1stoplighting.com/content/instockguarantee/info.aspx. Visa/MC/AMEX rules specifically prohibit refunding a card for greater than the original purchase amount. In an attempt to deal in good faith, we did offer the customer a significant discount on a replacement order, but the customer declined that offer.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Your website has your warranty/guarntee posted all over it. I found it on more than 5 pages on the site. It clearly guarantees items to be in stock or the consumer gets compensated. If you're going to tell me that this policy only applies when people buy multiple items, some of which are in stock and some aren't, and you only honor your guarantee when you can partially refund those orders, then I say this is not how your policy is written. This is clearly false advertising and misleading to consumers. It sounds like your "fine print" allows you to not honor 99.9% of these warranty claims, making your written, advertised warranty worthless. There are government restrictions preventing such misleading advertising and this should be forwarded to the justice department for fraud. I don't care what Visas / mastercards policy is, id gladly accept a check. And your "significant discount" was 10% off another order. Im not going to do business with a company that practices deceptive business practices and only after I told you I was going to report this to various agencies you offered 20% to prevent me from reporting this. That's hardly a "significant discount."

Business' Final Response
While we understand the customer's frustration with our position on this matter, we believe we have acted within the posted guidelines of our program. We clearly state that refunds cannot be greater than the originally charged amount. The goal for the In Stock Guarantee is to compensate customers who order product that is on back-order. It is not designed, nor will claims be honored, for items that are ordered and are discontinued. This is clearly stated here- http://origin-www.1stoplighting.com/content/instockguarantee/info.aspx. Again, we apologize and understand the customers frustration, and the offer still stands to provide a discount for a replacement purchase.

5/31/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues